HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Brittsand By The Sea 3 Blocks From The Beach

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps 6, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms

This is an older beach house that is very comfortable. Sleeps 6, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (the second full bathroom is a utility/ bathroom that is accessed through the garage/activity room that includes the washer and dryer). A wonderful private setting 3 blocks from the beach. Many public access entrances to beaches within 5 minutes walking and bicycling distances. Fenced-in private back yard with patio. Roof-top deck with great view, of the Wright Memorial. Pet-friendly (dogs only). Available for use: 3 bicycles, grill, beach cart, beach chairs, skimmer boards. Wifi/Cable TV/DVD, W/D, A/C, Dishwasher, Microwave


Owner
Gay Olsen
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, swedish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 August, 2017

About Gay Olsen

Gay and Sven Olsen live in Richmond, VA and love the OBX!

Gay Olsen purchased this cottage in 2011

Why Gay Olsen chose Outer Banks

It is a great value. We wanted to offer an affordable beach house to those who want a summer vacation at the beach.

What makes this cottage unique

Very private, but very accessible to all the attractions OBX offers.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Kill Devil Hills in Dare County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Monument View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , 1 Cot , The bed is a bunk bed with a full on bottom and twin on top.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
27% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Brittsand By The Sea 3 Blocks From The Beach
average rating of 4.5 based on 18 reviews
5

Britt sand was a wonderful fit for my family. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • 5 of 5

When we walked into the house it just felt like home. It is the perfect layout and lots of room. Couldn't have asked for more. Close to the beach and many other attractions, you could walk or drive to many of them. I would love to stay again in the upcoming year.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Brittsand was great! The house was comfortable , suited our family well.! Everyone enjoyed the backyard and the location . We would love to stay again! Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chattanooga, TN
5

Feels like a beach home!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Brittsand!!! You walk in feel like your at home! It made our week at the beach the best yet!

We brought our own bedding and towels and at the end where able to wash them (a huge perk leaving the beach with clean laundry). The back yard is huge and the dogs loved running around while we got to relax in the hammock! The upper deck is massive with plenty of seating. While you aren't on the beach, it's just across the bipass, a quick walk or drive. And for the price we got the best value out of all our friends!

The carpet is so soft and with cable tv and wifi it made raining nights at the beach just was fun as sunny beach days!

The best part was you feel at home. It's not fancy and unfomfortable. It's home. Thanks again for making out stay wonderful Brittsand! This is a must stay!

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful clean spacious home!!

  • 5 of 5

I highly recommend brittsand by the sea!! The location is great & private! Fenced in yard all around so our dog could run around with no worries! They have a grill & an awesome hammock & a really beautiful upstairs deck! The house itself was so cute & we had a lot of room!! We all absolutely loved it!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very cozy!

  • 4 of 5

My family of four as well as our two pups thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Desperately needs updating

  • 1 of 5

We were in the outer banks visiting for the first time, and here for a beach destination wedding. When we first arrived we realized we were right on the main highway which was quite noisy. Upon entering the home we were overcome by a strong mildew smell (I hear many homes have this issue being near the water). I started unpacking and checking the place out and when I opened the drawer a mouse popped out at me. The second bathroom didn't have a working lightbulb and is located in the garage. When my parents arrived later that day they too Began settling in. When we all got up after eating dinner my moms foot almost went through the floor, so my handy husband looked around the house and realized there is significant water damage to the ceiling, walls and flood. I'm just glad my moms foot didn't completely go through bc she could have ended up in the hospital. The house was also not as clean as we were hoping, toothpaste on the counter, dirt on the bathroom rug, clogged bathroom tub. I think the only positive thing about the home is that it's only a couple blocks from the beach. But there is also no beach view which was also disappointing. The owner offered sending an exteminAtor for the mouse and ants but being we were here for a wedding we couldn't stay at the place all day to let them in.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Heather gave us some good feedback on the house. It is an older house that we have renovated to our liking, but like many older beach houses, there may be some odors. We do not charge high rent on the house because the are some flaws, but most people really like it. We fixed the floor and directed our cleaning service to pay more attention to the bathroom. Lights do go out and we try to keep extra bulbs handy. The mouse was a real surprise, but learned our neighbor had one, too, so that happens. It is gone. We love the house and feel sorry that things didn't go well for Heather.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Norfolk International
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Ocean Bay Beach, Kill Devil Hills
Car: necessary

This is a wonderful, private setting 3 blocks from the Ocean Bay Beach in Kill Devil Hills. Many public access entries to the beach within walking and bicycling distance. Very dog-friendly!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer
11 Jun 2017 - 16 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£769
for 7 nights
£769
 
 
Fall-Winter
17 Sep 2017 - 28 Feb 2018
5 night minimum stay
£427
for 5 nights
From
£85
 

Additional pricing information

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals