HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Hip Southside Residence

30 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Southside Historic District - Mitchell House

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 7, located close to all the action.

This 1,600 square foot, 2nd floor residence has everything you will need to make your stay in Downtown Chattanooga perfect. This is a fully furnished 3 large Bedrooms (1 King, 1 Queen, 2 twins, with an additional twin mattress if needed), 2 full baths, Kitchen, Laundry Room, Dining Room, and a large Living Room. Ample off street parking is provided as well.

This residence is located in the Hip Southside of Downtown Chattanooga, Walking distance to the best urban restaurants, a gourmet grocery store, and Chattanooga’s free electric shuttle port to the Downtown Riverfront. We even have a Gourmet Chocolatier just down the street to satisfy your sweet tooth !

Chattanooga is home to exceptional music venues, a vast public art collection , the Hunter Museum of American Art and all are within walking distance. If you prefer outdoor adventures such as white water rafting, mountain-bike trail riding, world class rock climbing and hiking, seasonal outdoor festivals, and some of the best motorcycle roads in the country, they’re all are within a short drive. Tourist attractions including the Tennessee Aquarium, Rock City, Ruby Falls, and Chattanooga’s Incline Railway are within ten minutes or less.

We’ll be happy to forward information on all the possibilities to you!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Peggy Petrey
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Peggy Petrey

We are both full-time artist living in the Southside Historical Neighborhood of Chattanooga, just blocks away from the Mitchell House. In 2007 we chose Chattanooga as our new home-base after having searched for property from San Diego to Asheville.

We fell in love with Chattanooga and it's central location. Once we heard of the redevelopment plans for the Southside area into an arts district we knew we had to move here. We purchased a metal industrial building on Main Street and created a wonderful artist live/work space. The space is perfect for us and allows is the room we need to create and flourish.

Peggy Petrey purchased this house in 2009

Why Peggy Petrey chose Chattanooga

Initially we bought the home for our parents, however they only needed the downstairs unit. Since the property is located downtown where all the festivals, sports activities, art events and tourist attractions happen, it made total sense to open the upstairs for others to enjoy a home-like setting while visiting Chattanooga. The house is in a diverse neighborhood that has undergone many changes in the last ten years.

Our neighbors are all friends and welcoming to all. If you sit on the porch for a few moments don't be surprised if one of the neighbors introduce themselves to you, we're a friendly bunch.

What makes this house unique

We love staying in vacation rentals when we travel. Often times we the amenities are minimal and we find ourselves wishing we had a tv, the internet or a few board games to play. We wanted to provide a space that has everything you will need, making your stay that much more enjoyable. You'll find that we've tried to think of everything that you might need in case you decide to stay inside on a rainy day and if we haven't thought of everything we are open to suggestions!


based on 30 holidaymaker reviews

Hip Southside Residence
average rating of 4.9 based on 30 reviews

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay here this past Labor Day weekend. We had four adults and two children so the three-bedroom house was perfect for us. There was room for everyone and the house had everything we needed. The location was perfect - a 15 minute walk from the Sunday farmer's market, a five minute walk to the south station for the electric bus, and lots of restaurants nearby, so the only place we drove was to the mountains. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This property was amazing! It was impeccably clean and comfortable. There were so many nice little touches that made us feel right at home. Several great restaurants and the trolly were within walking distance so we didn't need to drive anywhere. We will be staying here again!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it!!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the Mitchell house. It was decorated so cute and was very clean! The best VRBO we have stayed at by far. Great location too!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Property!

  • 5 of 5

The house was wonderful! Very clean, spacious, and had everything we needed. We appreciated the restaurant suggestions. We tried Alleia (fine Italian), a little pricey but the food and service was great! I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Overland Park, KS/USA

Great property and location

  • 4 of 5

My family of four recently stayed at this property and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is super - in the hip southside area, close to restaurants, shops, and the electric shuttle to downtown. The house was very clean and the beds comfy. All the communication with Peggy was timely and she provided excellent recommendations for the area. Our only complaint was with the wi-fi. It was somewhat iffy; we had to reset the router almost daily (we had seven devices connected to it.) However, for the amount of time we spent in the house, that issue wasn't really all that significant.

We would highly recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Very sorry to hear about the router having issues. A day after your stay we received notification by our internet provider, EBPFI, that they had rebooted their entire system and noticed some homes had not rebooted the internet. This apparently was the issue. The connection is great once again since we rebooted the system. Thank you for letting us know, we only wish we had known earlier to be able to have walked you through the rebooting process so you could have enjoyed EPBFI's fastest internet access in the country!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

An awesome location and great place to call home for awhile.

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 7 enjoyed staying here very much. It was very convenient to many yummy places to eat, but it also had a full kitchen for times when we wanted to eat in. There isn't a dishwasher in the kitchen, but it really wasn't a big deal. The kitchen was very well stocked, with new dishes and pans, coffee makers, etc. Beds were comfortable, and bathrooms were clean. We liked walking just 2 blocks to catch the local free Shuttle, and went all over downtown. It's a wonderful place to stay!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy your family enjoyed your time here in Chattanooga! Our shuttle system is definitely an added perk for our location.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Southside Historic District, Tennessee

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £69 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £48
Tax Rate 17.25%

On occasion we may require a minimum stay of a week during special events.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Southside Historic District in Tennessee

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Extra twin mattress available...not an air mattress.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • caving
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties