HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautiful Royal Palm Acres a piece of Paradise awaits you and your family.

People5
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms2
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Very comfortable living conditions where you can sit back and relax.

Two acres of beautifully landscaped property. Remote controlled air conditioned cottage, with all the amenities necessary to make your stay unforgettable. . You will want to come back again and again. If you are looking for the best in Paradise our property is the place. We have over 50 fruit trees you may freely pick from, There is nothing like fresh squeezed lemonade or sweet banana's in the morning.

The finest of the Big Island is here and we will make sure your visit is the trip of a lifetime.

Activities ( nearby) :

15 min: Makuu Swap Meet, Pahoa food and shops, zoo, macadamia nut factory shop and tours.

20 min: Airport, movies, Starbucks, Macy’s, Sears, Waiopae Protected Tide Pools (snorkeling heaven)

30 min: Hilo Port, Hilo town shopping, Rainbow Falls, Huge Banyan Tree Park on Hilo Bay, the Japanese gardens on Hilo Bay, Hilo municipal golf course , Volcano Golf Course.40 min: Volcano National Park, Tropical Botanical Gardens, Akaka Falls, scenic drive on Hamakua Coast.Kalapana market every Wednesday night from 4pm till 10pm, live music and many different types of food, this event is a local tradition.and is a MUST visit.

More Details

Owner
Michael Bighaus
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2017

About Michael Bighaus

My wife and I really love making our property as beautiful as possible. My wife Rute is from Brazil and speaks three languages, English, Spanish and Portuguese. I on the other hand speak English and a little Spanish and a little Portuguese, when I say little I mean very little however, I am learning.

We bought the property about 10 years ago. We planted all the trees even before we built. After having the property cleared we put down hundreds of yards of cinder soil over the entire two acres. All the trees you now see, were planted just as starts only a couple feet tall, now the Royal palms are from 25 feet to 30 feet tall. Most of the fruit trees were planted at the same time and are producing delicious fruit. At least once a year we plant a couple more different kinds of fruit trees. Because my wife is from Brazil, we have even found a few varieties from Brazil, one is called Brazilian cherry. A couple years ago we added several different varieties of Banana's, some are cooking banana's.

We really hope you enjoy our place as much as we do and will make it like your own when you are here.

Why Michael Bighaus chose Puna District

I am a Vietnam Veteran and years ago I came from Vietnam for a break from the war, we called it R&R, at that time, I fell in love with the weather and the beauty of the tropics. I decided that if I ever had the chance to live in Hawaii I would do it. I have been blessed to find a wife who loves the same things as myself, the beauty of the ocean and a warm tropical breeze. We both love long walks and the ocean is not but a perfect evening stroll. All our neighbors are wonderful who never seem to be in a hurry and find it easy to talk story. These are just a few of the reasons why we chose this property.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in the Keaau in the Hawaii County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Building Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Outdoor Shower , Bath sink and cabinet
    1 Bathroom - Outdoor Shower , The outside shower is not heated, But really refreshing.
    Bathroom 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • There is a 4 foot inside shower, the bathroom has a toilet, sink and mirror. We furnish all the paper products and clean towels. The outside shower is not heated however is very refreshing on a hot day. The outside shower is located through the laundry room and behind the locked wooden door. Some have stated that they enjoy the outside shower even more then the one inside.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 5
  • Studio - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    1 Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • The cottage is a studio, it has one Queen size bed and a futon that folds out to make another queen size bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
We have streamlined our checkout process to make it easier for guests so they can get back on the road. We have hired a new housekeeping company who will be responsible for making the bed, washing,drying folding and putting away all linen and towels. There will only be a few requirements for our guests. #1 Wash all dishes and put away. #2 Put inside garbage in outside container. #3 Make sure everything is removed from the fridge. Turn off AC and inside lights.#4 Lock all doors and put the key back in the lock box and turn dial. Our cleaning company will come and do a complete inside and outside cleaning to get everything ready for the next guests. Mahalo for checking out before 11:00 am..

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(37 traveller reviews)

Beautiful Royal Palm Acres a piece of Paradise awaits you and your family.
average rating of 4.5675673 based on 37 reviews
5

This cottage is one of the most beautiful I've stayed at!!! Gorgeous, quiet piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5

I absolutely love my stay at Paradise Palm! Everything was well organized, the owner was helpful with the clear instructions to get there. It is quiet, peaceful and tranquil. The landscaping is very nicely maintained. I enjoyed picking fresh lemons every morning to make a drink. There's even a blender there to make smoothies. It has everything one needs for a pleasant and private getaway. It is minutes away from the Wednesday Makuu farmers market. I would definitely go back! Thanks again for such a great experience. Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, my wife Rute and I are really happy you had a good time while visiting Hawaii glad you took advantage of the lemons. Please come back whenever you decide to take a trip to Hawaii. Mahalo Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Cold water showers and hard beds....

  • 1 of 5

My family and I reserved a short stay (2 nights) at the Royal Palms and did NOT enjoy our stay. Water in shower was icy cold after 2 minutes, beds were hard and very uncomfortable, badly stained rug in the kitchen, stained curtains over the bed. In addition to the interior problems, we search high and low for the light switch to turn off the flood light on the outside shed that shown onto our bed, after 45 minutes, we gave up and just put a pillow over our heads. To top off the night, the Coqui frogs were sooooo loud, it felt like they were in our room. Hate to nitpick but we experienced so many little issues that we did not stay the second night. I did request a refund from the owner, but he declined.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Shelly, Glad you were able to stay at our property. We installed a new quick recovery hot water system a couple months ago which will allow a person to take a 20 minute shower without running out of hot water, I am unsure why you were not able to take a longer shower then 2 minutes no other guests have complained about the shower. Our bed is what you will find in most hotels, not to soft or to hard, there are extra pillows and blankets if needed. We installed a flood light on the garage which is about 150 feet away from the house at the request of many guests who arrive late and want more light which makes it easier to see. {closing the curtains will keep out most of the light) The rugs and curtains are almost new and cleaned regularly, I will have the cleaning lady check that out.Sorry about the frog noise, perhaps the windows and curtains were open, when we are there we hardly hear any noise with the windows closed. When I build the cottage, I installed double pained windows and insulated the wall to help keep the cottage cooler and quieter. We always try hard to make a persons stay something they will remember and want to come back.We are happy for all the reviews and any positive suggestion on how we can make your stay even better. Mahalo and Aloha to all the people who have stayed at our property and love it. Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

The property was very big and beautiful awesome fruit trees the house is very nice nice set up insid

  • 5 of 5

I would definitely stay there again very nice oweners. Very nice property nice privacy amazing fruit trees awesome sleeping at night with the window open nice fresh air sleep like a baby. Washer and dryer they have a blenders to make smoothies which is a huge plus unlimited amounts of bananas at your finger tips. Stores not that far away that was nice too. Snorkeling gear and other thing to do in the water. Heated pools not that far away from property. Overall definitely a beautiful place to stay lots of privacy another plus no one to bother you. So if you are thinking about stay here well worth it trust me aloho from Jesse peace :)

  • Review Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jesse for the kind words. Glad everything worked out for you at our place, Sounds like you enjoyed having the windows open at night, glad the frogs singing didn't keep you awake and the flood light on the garage wasn't to bright.You can come back any time. Glad your first time to Hawaii was a good one. Mahalo and Aloha, Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Clean, comfortable, and great location

  • 5 of 5

We loved this cottage! It had everything we needed to be comfortable: towels, comfortable bed, lots of pillows/blankets, stove, range, fridge, microwave, TV, chairs to sit on the porch, washer/dryer. It was nicely decorated and clean. The yard was private and gorgeous with lots of birds and trees. We loved the location.. 20 minutes from Kapoho tide pools (best snorkeling we found out of five different locations on the Kona and Hilo sides), 20 minutes from the Ahalanui warm ponds, 30 minutes from Volcanoes National Park, 20 minutes from Kalapana where we rented bikes to ride out to the active lava flow, 20 minutes from Hilo, and 30 minutes to the first of the waterfalls.

Check in/out was easy and Rute was very helpful.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Really sounds like your vacation was full. We would love having you back on your next trip to Hawaii. You were a pleasure renting to . thanks so much for the kind words about our place. Mahalo Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Grants Pass, Oregon
5

A Hidden Jewel

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I cannot say enough good about this place. If you like quiet, like birds and frog noises, lots of beautiful landscape, fruit trees galore, like a well organized home with plenty of space to put your things, a nice bed and futon couch, internet and cable that work perfectly, grill and all the toys, washer, dryer and everything is clean. Such a short drive from the Hilo airport. We usually go to the beach and hang out but this place was so nice, we mostly stayed put. Thank you to the owners for their quick response always with any questions and the neighbor nearby who could help if need be, but there was no need. We hope to return.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, so glad you had a good time. You are most definitely welcome to come back whenever you want. Mahalo Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5

MY wife and I had a very enjoyable stay at the cottage. It was very clean, comfortable, and well equipped. The fruit trees were a very giant plus to someone from Wyoming. Picking your own citrus fruit from the trees and eating them fresh and juicing them was a new experience for us. The location was great for access to tide pools and the lava viewing which was an amazing experience for us. We would recommend the cottage to anyone who enjoys the hawaiian culture and outdoor life. Thank you very much to the owners Mike and Rute.

Robert and Debbie

  • Review Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, Rute and I welcome you back whenever you are in Hawaii . Thanks for the 5 star rating. It makes us feel good knowing we have done something right.At some point we plan on adding another bedroom and extra bath, once that is completed we will add that information to our website. Mahalo Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
18.6 Miles
Hilo Airport
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 130
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Pahoa Mexican Restaurant
Nearest Beach
14 Miles
Kalapana Black sand beach

Wednesday nights at Kalapana market is a must see from 4pm to 10pm. lots of different foods and local music.

Sunday Makuu market is a great place to get anything you may need such as fresh fruits and veggies or just want to listen to interesting local music.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in the Keaau, Big Island Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£235
for 2 nights
From
£80
From
£89
Fri,Sat,Sun
£599
£2,471
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

House cleaning £66.5 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £156.47
Tax Rate 13.41%

The property is to be left in the same condition as when you arrived. This a a non smoking unit. Pets are not allowed. Check in time is after 4 pm and check out time is before 11 am this will enable the cleaning staff to get the cottage ready for the next guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals