Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Jan's Beach Cabana/Hopkins-Beautiful Private Beach with Spacious Interior

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 720 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

1 bed, 1 ba, sleeps 4

Hopkins House Description

Jan’s Beach Cabana is nestled among palm trees on a quiet stretch of white sandy beach directly on the Caribbean Sea. Secluded, yet minutes from the shops and restaurants of the quaint Garifuna fishing village of Hopkins. Enjoy beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea to your East and the Maya Mountains to your West. Wake up to the sound of waves and tropical birds. Enjoy your coffee on the veranda overlooking the water and pristine cayes offshore. Be on the lookout for dolphins, manatees, pelicans, parrots, magnificent frigate birds, herons, ospreys and hummingbirds just outside your door.

House is painted in the colors of the Caribbean and decorated with local artwork. Designed with an open floor plan, vaulted ceilings, tile floors and ceiling fans, the cabana is surrounded by windows so you can enjoy the incredible Caribbean breezes and sounds of the sea. AC is not necessary but was installed in July 2016. However, for those who need AC the use of the unit is included in the rate. This beach house is perfect for two but can sleep 4. The bedroom has a king size bed and located in the living room is a full size futon. There is a modern tiled bathroom with a hot water shower and a modern kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster, blender and coffee maker. High speed internet, 2 bicycles, beach chairs, chaises and beach toys are all included for your enjoyment. Golf cart and motorbike rentals are also available. Groceries, fresh fruit and vegetables can be bought in Hopkins Village.

Jan’s Beach Cabana is licensed by the Belize Tourism Board.

This can be your ultimate relaxing vacation. Enjoy the day sunning or reading in the beach chairs. Play in the beautiful shallow waters of the Caribbean. A 5 minute stroll will take you to the Sittee River Marina. Here you can rent kayaks, arrange for fishing and boat tours or simply enjoy great food and entertainment at the Curve Restaurant and Bar. Their full menu includes lobster and daily specials at reasonable prices with a great atmosphere.

Visit the restaurants, shops, spas and dive shops at the resorts just minutes away. Just a little further north, but still minutes away, visit the local shops and restaurants of Hopkins Village. Take a drumming lesson at the Garifuna Drumming Center in North Hopkins.

Your visit can also be the adventure of a lifetime. Snorkel or scuba dive the 2nd largest barrier reef in the world. Visit Glovers Atoll and the many pristine cayes located right off shore. If you are interested in hiking, ziplining, repelling, kayaking, tubing, bird and animal watching, the Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Sanctuary and the Mayflower/Bocawina National Parks are close by. You can also visit Mayan Ruins, go caving, windsurfing and fishing.

Our manager Regina Simons can provide you with all the information you need to enjoy your stay. She can arrange transportation, tours, and adventures. Another option is to rent a car and enjoy the area on your own.

More Details

Property Manager
Peer Lutzen
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, German
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
16 June, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Hopkins in Stann Creek

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 720 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , One bedroom with King bed; Full size Futon in living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Stereo
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Jan's Beach Cabana/Hopkins-Beautiful Private Beach with Spacious Interior
average rating of 4.703704 based on 27 reviews
Kitimat bc
1

Pictures and description online was not like it was when we arrived.

  • 1 of 5

The pictures in the add on VBRO is not what the beach looks like. It was very disappointing. We could not swim or enjoy the beach in front of the cabana like you advertise on VBRO. A large part of our choice in staying at this Cabana was because of the beautiful beach you advertised. The outside lights did not work during our stay. We told Rob at Parrot Cove within 3 days of our stay and he said he would have them looked at and fixed right away. We stopped in at Parrot cove a couple days later to pick up water and he advised us that they were fixed. They were not fixed. It gets dark at 6pm it would have been nice to enjoy your beautiful deck in the evenings with some light but we couldn’t as the lights did not work. The screens on the windows do not keep out the ants and other critters. There is a about a half inch gap between the screen and the edge of the window that lets ants in. We made the mistake of not closing the window one night before bed as we wanted fresh air to circulate in the bathroom and bedroom. I got up in the middle of the night to pee and normally I don’t turn on the light but my gut told me to have lights on this time and good thing because there was about 20+ ants crawling inside the toilet. I was not very happy... neither was Shane as he tried to kill them all. These ants are fast and they bite. He didn’t get all of them and we dealt with the ant issue the rest of our stay. Every morning there would be small bugs on the kitchen counter near the blender. I cleaned and scrubbed with bleach to make sure no bugs would be pestering us. 4 days into our stay I lifted the blender to clean under it as we were using it regularly and there was a corpse of a lizard stuck under the blender. You might want to change to a cleaning company that does a more thorough job cleaning. After getting rid of what was left of the lizard there was still bugs on the counter. The bugs are everywhere no matter what. The bed was hard and you could use new pillows. The pillows smell like old sweaty socks. The bath towels & bed sheets were worn, ragged and had a stale smell. Your frying pans are horrible. We love to cook and the kitchen is not very well stocked. Overall we made the best of our stay, this wasn’t going to ruin our trip. We discussed all our concerns with the owner Sandy and she came up with all kinds of excuses but not admitting any issues. Jaguar reef is beautiful and lets non guests enjoy their resort.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have consistently gotten a 5 star rating and do not feel your 1 star rating was fair. We have not heard any of your complaints from recent guests, including a couple who wrote a review and stayed just 9 nights before you. You mentioned you could not swim or enjoy the beach as was advertised. It is very distressing to us and vacationers to many parts of the Caribbean that the Sargassum Seaweed once again made an appearance in 2018. We are very sorry but we cannot control the wind, weather, sea currents or Mother Nature. The Sargassum is a natural phenomena that occasionally comes and goes and is very hard to predict. Please google Sargassum Seaweed Caribbean 2018 for more details. You said in your review that you were in contact with the owners about the issues you were having at the cabana during your stay March 9-23. Our first email correspondence was 3 days after you left when you demanded the return of your 1st night’s stay for March 9th. Your reservation was from March 9-23 but you did not arrive until March 10th. According to our cancellation policy we did not have to refund your 1st night’s stay because you arrived late. However, refunding that night was not a problem and we did so immediately. After agreeing to send you the refund we then received another email from you on March 29th ( 7 days after you left) with a long list of complaints about the cabana. You mentioned that you learned immediately not to leave food or dirty dishes in the sink because it attracted ants. I agree this is a very good idea in a tropical climate. I wish you had spoken to our managers about the issues you were having when you were in Belize. They are very accommodating and we have plenty of supplies for the cabana. They could have dealt with any ant issues, brought you new linens, towels or anything else you needed. The only correspondence I saw with our managers was when you checked out and stated you had a great time. We take all of your comments to heart and if any of your issues are found to be true they will be dealt with immediately. We have a very private, cute and cozy seafront cabana at a very fair price. VRBO rentals are not for everyone, especially if it is the first time you visit a country such as Belize. If you want daily maid service and a staff person on hand to constantly clean the beach during bad weather then a resort would be a better choice but at a significantly higher cost, less privacy, less living space and most likely no kitchen.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manitowoc, WI. USA
5

It was the perfect beachfront place!

  • 5 of 5

It was private enough, but close enough to town to be part of everything! I would recommend for anyone to stay!!! Also check out the Curve Bar right around the corner. Everyone was so nice, can’t wait to go back!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

Couldn't have had a better experience at Jan's cabana. Exactly as expected. Beautiful, well kept, everything you need in a serene setting. Would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

This literally is everything you would want for a beach cabana. My wife and I will thought the pictures did a great job of showing how pretty it is, however, it was even better in person. The cabana has all the amenities you would want- AC (although the windows and fans make it unnecessary), nice kitchen for cooking, outdoor sitting area and nice bathroom. Plus, your view and private beach make it perfect. You can go out in the water and it is nice temperature and shallow too. Finally, Corrie was great to us and even called to check in on us when there was heavy rain. Very nice of her. This is a great place to stay for a relaxing time!!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Springfield MO
5

Second time staying here

  • 5 of 5

House next door is completed and the owners are very nice. My husband wishes they would get a tv for the house. It was cooler than expected so we didn't really get in the water. The house is really more like a studio as there are just thin curtains you can pull between the bedroom area and living space. It was fine for us. Everything was in good working order and we had everything we needed. Hope we are able to stay again!

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
5

Wonderfully relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we arrived, we were in love with Jan’s Cabana. From the decor to the comfortable bed, not to mention available air conditioner and WiFi, to the trees and the sea just a stone throw away. Being our first trip to Belize, we weren’t sure what to expect, regardless, our stay here was more than we had ever imagined it would be.

We had rented a car in Belize City and loved the drive to Hopkins along the Hummingbird highway. We were happy to have the vehicle as we had rain on nearly daily basis but the town would have been more than doable on the bikes that were available to us with the rental. We did get good use out of the floaties and beach chairs which greatly assisted us in our goal of decompressing from the stressors of our real world.

We enjoyed making our own breakfasts that we could enjoy on the deck in the morning sun watching the water, and loved having a blender so we could cool off later in the day by the water when the temperature hit the 80s.

Our stay was absolutely glorious at the Cabana and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
32 Kilometres
Dangriga
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Curve Bar and Restaurant
Nearest Motorway
12 Kilometres
Southern Highway
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Curve Bar and Restaurant
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Hopkins, Central & South America

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£296
for 3 nights
From
£99
£616
 

Additional pricing information

$120 per night/3 night minimum

$750 Weekly Rate

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals