HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Stunning Home Away from Home

27 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in The Galena Territory - Stunning Home Away from Home

Stunning Home Away From Home.

This home has a relaxing atmosphere, surrounded by woods and wildlife. Though, still easily accessible in the Galena Territory. You'll be sure to have a relaxing and wonderful time, in it's superbly decorated interior. Featuring mission and wine country styles all it's own. The rolling hills of the area are beautiful in every season and the Galena area has lots to offer it visitors, golf, historical buildings, antiquing, fishing and boating on Lake Galena, canoeing and biking along the Galena River, horseback riding, even downhill and cross-country skiing. Tour wineries and breweries as well as shopping along Main Street.

This home is a great place to get away with your family or a group of friends to enjoy all the Territory and Galena has to offer.

We are close to Eagle Ridge Resort's 4 championship PGA ranked golf (3x18,1x9)courses and the Stonedrift Spa where you can book a massage or a full day spa package. You will also be close to the Marina on Lake Galena where you can rent pontoons, canoes, fishing boats and paddle boats. Lake Galena, is one of Illinois’ top fishing lakes, featuring Small and Large Mouth Bass, Muskie and Walleye. Horseback riding is available at the Shenandoah Riding Center with many trail ride choices to entice any rider.

You will also have the use of the Owners Club with a brand new recreation center boasting a outdoor pool, kiddie pool and the new indoor pool for rainy days. State of the art Fitness center and activity room with pool tables, ping pong, video arcade, outdoor tennis courts, and indoor basketball.

Take in the beautiful scenery while hiking, biking or walking any of the numerous trails in the Territory.

A short 6 mile drive to Galena offers many boutiques, unique shops, museums and restaurants to visit and dine at.

Dubuque, IA is 20 miles away with the Mississippi River Aquarium, Eagle Point Park, Dog Track, Stone Cliff Winery, Star Brewery Museum, Casino’s, indoor water park, and much much more.

Security deposit charge is $250.00 or 10% of total rent, whichever is more.

Early check-in is 2pm and when available costs $50.

Late check-out is 12pm (noon) and when available costs $50.

Normal Check-in time is 4 PM, and normal check-out is 10 AM.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Stephen Halm
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 September, 2016
Call Manager


based on 27 holidaymaker reviews

Stunning Home Away from Home
average rating of 4.4814816 based on 27 reviews

Very nice well maintained property

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable for our family of 5. Very convenient to downtown Galena. The owners lodge was very nice and kept the kids and myself occupied for an entire day.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful property!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 8 (6 adults, 2 children, 1 furry friend) stayed in the Galena Territory for a long weekend. We found the property just as advertised, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Saturday morning was misting heavily, so the community center was a perfect place to have family time. Their were 8 entry cards provided for us with specific instructions, as well as where to get our parking passes. This area had something for everyone from swimming to ping pong to books and floor puzzles for the kids. The snack bar was also a hit. Saturday afternoon/evening we did a little exploring in town, went out to eat. Sunday we went to Maquoketa to explore the caves and then ate our dinner in. The kitchen is well supplied with everything you need to prepare a meal. We grilled burgers and had sweetcorn. The grill needed a match to help us light it, so may need to bring a lighter along if you plan on using it. Also, the kitchen could maybe use a couple of more towels, but other than that, we found everything we needed! It was great having 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms and all were very well furnished. The location was ideal for us, close to a nice walking trail and of course golf, which the guys got in a quick 9 holes Sunday afternoon. Thank you for opening your home up to us - we may be back in the future!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review. We recognized that the grill was coming to the end of its life cycle. We have replaced the unit and wish you could come back and enjoy the grill and Galena. Never heard anyone talk about the caves before, I will have to check them out. Thanks for the information
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

house photo's are a little misleading. Not as spacious as we hoped.

  • 4 of 5

We always enjoy our sisters weekend in Galena. House was nice, but not for handicap individuals. All bedrooms are in the basement. Overall we really enjoyed our get away.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response. After reviewing your correspondence Through VRBO I found no mention of concerns about Handicapped access . We did explain the lay out of the home including the layout of the bedrooms with a comment they were in the lower level of the home. We further described the upper level as having a queen sleeper sofa and full bath. The walkway leading to the home is level with the drive with a small threshold through a 36" doorway. I respect your opinion and feel we represented the home fairly. We answered numerous other questions about the accommodations prior to your acceptance. I also believe a number of reviews state that the photos accurately reflect the home and the amount of space. We wish you had enjoyed your stay more but appreciate receiving 4 stars none the less.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Looked Like Pictures

  • 4 of 5

Great location, home was clean and had a picturesque view! Close to everything. The owners attended to any questions we had immediately. The pool and club house was truly enjoyed by our grandchildren. The women had a wonderful experience at the Spa. The vineyard tour was great! Much fun was had by all.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home and property

  • 4 of 5

My family and I loved this house, area, and property. There was plenty of room for all 7 of us. Loved that there was Netflix for the kids on the main T.V. (cause we know they can get a little bored) The only small complaint is the towels for the bathrooms. I'm sure had I read the description better I would have noticed that we should have brought bathroom towels, but of course I didn't.

We still enjoyed our stay and would stay here again in a heart beat.

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with my family and I,


  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Incredibly accommodating place for a small gathering.

  • 4 of 5

Everyone in our group was impressed with how well-stocked the home was, and how helpful/responsive Stephen was. We were there during a winter storm, but the GTA was very helpful about cleaning the roads and getting our driveway cleared out so we could head out (significantly better than our own home association!). The dining room table and living room sectional were great places to chat and play games. It was the perfect-sized rental for our group of 7.

On the flip side, the beds were really hard and left our backs hurting in the morning (at least the pull-out, Queen, and King were)... but that may just be a taste/preference thing. Also, the carbon monoxide detector kept going off--presumably due to a low battery. We bought some batteries and attempted to fix it... but I'm not sure it worked. So, we just took a risk and unplugged it. But that's probably an easy fix.

We enjoyed our time and liked the home--it would probably be even better during the warm months. I'm not sure we would book again, knowing how sore we were from the beds, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone who doesn't mind firm beds.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. You are correct that some of the mattresses are firm. Specifically the King bed. This is a preference/ taste. We will definitely keep this point in mind when we replace our mattresses. The smoke/ carbon monoxide detectors are checked regularly and do function with a battery back up. I wish we would have known about it because we keep a supply of replacement batteries in the house accessible to our guests. We take our rental properties very seriously and always want our guests to be treated as we ourselves would want when we travel. We are available to our guests and a quick phone call away. Update; our king mattress has been replaced by new foam technology. The mattress has a soft top with a egg crate inner spring and firm foam support.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in The Galena Territory, Illinois

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Winter (2016)
1 Nov 2016 - 15 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Thanksgiving 2016
24 Nov 2016 - 26 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
Christmas 2016
23 Dec 2016 - 25 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
New Years 2016 -2017
30 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
Memorial Day 2017
26 May 2017 - 28 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
July 4th 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 3 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day 2017
1 Sep 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
Columbus Day 2017
6 Oct 2017 - 8 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
Winter (2017)
31 Oct 2017 - 15 Apr 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Thanksgiving 2017
23 Nov 2017 - 25 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
Christmas 2017
22 Dec 2017 - 24 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
New Years 2017 - 2018
29 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £41
Refundable Damage Deposit £205
Cleaning £70
Tax Rate 11.0%

Bookings canceled at least 30 days before the start of the stay will receive a 100% refund.

Bookings canceled at least 14 days before the start of the stay will receive a 50% refund.

Cancellations must be made by 12:00 PM CST (Central Standard Time) on the appropriate day.

You will be asked to sign a rental contract via our contract signature service rightsignature.com

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in The Galena Territory in Illinois

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , private bath in Master bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , on Main Level of home,all bedrooms on lower level
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Private bath attached.
    Queen - 1 Large Double Bed , Community bath across hall.
    Double Twin - 2 Single Bed , Community bath down hall.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot