HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Ski-In Ski-Out Location at the Base of Home Run Ski Run 4000 Sq Ft

Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Spacious4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, sleeps 16

The Highlands gondola serves the new Ritz-Carlton Hotel and mid-mountain The entrance is about 50 yards from our home. You can take it free to the hotel and the hotel restaurants and amenities or use it to access the whole mountain with a lift ticket. The gondola is not really private but it seems that way because we never see a lift line.

This 4000 plus square foot luxury home is wonderful for large families or multi-family groups, reunions and retreats. Sleeps large groups. Unsurpassed access to skiing and village.


We are offering Owner-booked reservations at exceptional rates.


Upper level enclosed bedroom - 4 bunk beds + sleeper loveseat

Main level MBR - Queen

Lower No. BR - 2 bunk beds + double with attached bath

Lower So. BR - Queen

Lower Level Rec Room - Sleeper sofa + futon + available Aerobed upon request.

Main level has spacious living room with gas fireplace and soaring wood ceilings. Seating includes sofa, love seat and easy chair. Enjoy expansive views of mountains, forested back yard and 'Home Run' ski run. View High Definition Flat Screen Satellite TV with DVR, DirecTV with HBO. 2nd TV IN REC ROOM with DirecTv and connections for your game player.

Feast in Gourmet kitchen with granite countertops, professional Dynasty gas stove, double oven, warming oven and Miele dishwasher. Coffee maker, blender, mixer, crock pot and rice cooker provided. Breakfast bar has seating for two and dining room table has seating for eight. Master bedroom with queen bed has marble bath with jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Large stone deck has built-in natural gas BBQ and overlooks forested yard and ski run. Seating for 10.

Lower level has two bedrooms (one with a queen bed and one with a double and twin bunk beds - sleeps 4), two baths and a private four person sauna. The lower recreation room has gas fireplace, sleeper sofa and futon and opens onto the back lower deck. Inflatable air bed adds additional sleeping.

Includes recreation center access. Recreation center has swimming pool, hot tubs, pool tables, video games, sauna, exercise room. Note - The rec center is in the process of implementing a $3.00 per guest daily use fee for all Northstar properties.

Easy walking distance to village and rec center or call for a free shuttle to rec center and Northstar Village with bars, restaurants, shopping and gondola ski access. Truckee Trolley runs from Village to Truckee and from Truckee to Kings Beach.

No Smoking or Pets, please.


Keywords: Luxury Home on Grouse Ridge at Northstar

More Details

Pat Adams
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
11 January, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

The house was gorgeous and amazing, thank you so much for letting us use it for the weekend. We had an absolute blast, the location was extremely convenient and right near everything we could ever need. The snow at the top of the mountain was good for skiing too, which was great for this time of the year.
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 3


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Truckee in Placer County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • village ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Queen size Beds (1) Master bedroom, Lower South Bedroom, Double Beds (1) in lower bedroom with 2 bunk beds., Baby Cribs (1) Portable crib available., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) One sofa bed in rec room lower level. Bunk Beds (1) Two bunk beds on upper level. One bunk bed on lower level in second master with double bed.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Good cell phone coverage for ATT, Sprint and Verizon. No reports on others. UNLIMITED High Speed Internet with Wireless Hot Spot, 2 Fireplaces, Phones and clock radios in each bedroom, DVD/CD Player, Refrigerator with Ice Maker, Gas Grill (BBQ).. Northstar Village has restaurants, shops and sports bar. Free shuttle to village.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(35 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Ski-In Ski-Out Location at the Base of Home Run Ski Run 4000 Sq Ft
average rating of 4.8 based on 38 reviews

Wonderful location and great communication

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was in March of 2017. We were two families coming up for a three night stay to take our little girls skiing for the first time. Communication with Pat pre-trip was pleasant and easy. The driveway was plowed when we arrived and access to the house and garage was a piece of cake. The girls loved sleeping in the upstairs bunk room and the lower level was great for the other family as it gave them some privacy. Kitchen was well stocked, the heater was on when we arrived, and it was a great to have two dryers for drying gear after a day on the slopes.

The other big benefit of this unit was location. You're right above the village. It was an easy 4 minute walk along a snow path to the village to pick our skis up early, buy lift tickets, etc. We did that early in the morning while the kids were eating breakfast so that when we all got down to the village everything was waiting for us, easy peasy.

The same path can also double as a fun small sledding run for the kids (3, 6 and 8 yrs). They sledded and played in the snow for hours.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.



  • Review Submitted: 13-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. This season has been challenging due to the heavy snowfall. Glad everything worked out!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house, my family had a great thanksgiving dinner

  • 5 of 5

North Lake Tahoe was wonderful experience 2017 Thanksgiving for the gaskin family.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great location...great house

  • 5 of 5

we had a company outing and spent time at Northstar and had a great time. You won't be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property, great stay, but...

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a delightful week at this ski-in,ski-out home at Northstar. It was the second week of April, yet the snow was still coming down and Northstar was largely deserted - even over the weekend - it was skiing heaven!

About the house - the house is roughly 15 years old... and showing its age. The kitchen sink is badly cracked and needs replacement; the interior of the house needs painting; the kitchen gas range is missing knobs and has some "quirks"; quite a few lights out in various rooms. More seriously, due to the crazy winter (over 60 feet of snow!), the house crawlspace (NOT the house) was flooded and they had to run TWO sump pumps to keep up with the water. This meant one of the bedrooms was very cold due to the open closet floor for the pumps, an open bedroom door for the hoses running into the shower, and less-than-functional main shower/bathroom to accommodate the hoses running through the house to drain the foundation water into the shower - yikes!

To give them credit - the owner called us two weeks in advance to warn us of the water problem, and the resident who lives in the apartment above the garage (delightful gal) came by each morning and evening to check on the water issue, so they certainly tried to make the best of a freakish situation. It was not so bad as to ruin our stay, but I can see how some folks could have been VERY unhappy about the need to work around the reduced usability of the bedroom/bathroom and need for the neighbor to be in the house frequently to check on it.

More unusual, we had to "evict" two mice in the kitchen; no curtains on the bedroom windows (creeped my wife out a bit); window in the shower that faces the neighbor and actively traveled public pathway (really creeped my wife out). These are easily fixable items if the owners want to address them.

We noticed the issues listed in previous reviews we read WERE fixed, so the owners clearly are paying attention, care about the property, and want renters to be happy.

All-in-all, the house is great and Northstar is awesome. With a bit of effort, the owners could easily make this a "10" ski rental.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well, this winter has certainly been challenging. Rising ground water required an emergency visit by a plumber to pump the crawl space. We installed to temporary pumps to keep up with the water runoff. We will be installing a permanent sump pump as soon as conditions permit. We will evaluate the comments regarding curtains and address these concerns in the off season. We did provide a rebate to partially compensate for the inconvenience experienced.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Francisco, CA

We loved the location but didn't love the house.

  • 3 of 5

We were very happy with the location and the general layout of the house. The great room has a cozy feel and nice furnishings. We loved being so close to the village and we skied in and out.

We would have been much happier with our stay if the house were upgraded in a few ways. First, the house had a musty moldy smell that was hard to get past. I'm guessing this had something to do with the big snow year and rapid melt, but it was unpleasant. The house has many beds, but only a few of them are actually comfortable for adult sleeping. The pull outs are very poor quality. The bedrooms also don't have curtains to block morning sun or light during little kid nap times.

The kitchen had most of what we needed but nothing felt especially clean. We washed/rinsed everything before using it. The coffee maker did not work.

The check out on your final day is relatively early (10am) and the owners expect you do to quite a bit of cleaning despite paying the cleaning deposit. There is no bear bin so you have to drive your garbage out to dumpsters. You are expected to strip beds, gather towels and start laundry. It feels cheeky to ask for a large fee for cleaning.

We had a great weekend skiing at Northstar and we really loved the location of this house. But, we weren't thrilled overall.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Katherine, I am so sorry that the house did not provide a perfect venue for you to enjoy your ski vacation. I take your constructive criticisms very seriously, and will look into each one. I have already gotten a new pullout for the lower rec room which I plan to bring up over Easter weekend. I am sorry about the musty smell. There was water under the house when the rain came over a month ago and washed away huge amounts of snow from above our home. The water was removed, and we made every attempt to deodorize the house, but perhaps the deodorizers need to be replaced. I will ask my housekeeper to do whatever she can. We plan to do more to correct any future issues as soon as the snow melts. This is the first year this has happened, I imagine due to the huge amount of precipitation. I will share your comments about cleaning issues with my housekeeper. I know she is tries very hard to keep the house in good condition and it is all she can do to get thru the entire house when someone is checking in and another checking out on same day. i will ask her about bringing a helper when that is the case. We like not having window coverings on the master bedroom window, but understand if children are sleeping there that could be a problem. Were the lower level bedrooms also too bright or just the upper bunk room? Thank you for helping me make this home a better place for people to enjoy their vacations. Pat
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great Ski Trip

  • 5 of 5

The house provided a great base of operations for a long ski weekend for 14 people. First the good:

- We were able to ski out onto the Highlands Gondola, and ski right back to the house off of Home Run.

- The kitchen was great - double oven, six burners, and a griddle allowed us to easily prepare enough food for everyone (over a dozen pounds of meat at a time)

- The sauna helped recover from skiing hard for several days (max 4 people simultaneously)

- Internet was fast & reliable enough for a few people to get some work done

- Plenty of room for parking, and having two garage spaces was handy when we got 14 inches of snow before checking out.

And now the less good. None of these were a huge deal but I wanted to mention them:

- There were some minor issues with one of the pullout sofas, but the owner gave a heads up and helped with the whole situation.

- One of the garage keypads wasn't working

- Taking out trash during a snowstorm to avoid the excessive fees is a pain in the butt, and took an additional 40 minutes, which combined with an early checkout time makes for a busy morning.

- Checkin time is pretty late at 4pm, and checkout time is pretty early at 10pm. It would be nice to have another hour or two on either end.

That said, I would absolutely stay here again if I had another large group. It was a great value for the amount of people and provided ample amenities that allowed us to truly enjoy our stay in the mountains.


  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the effort to write a review. We take all comments seriously. It is not always possible to get damages repaired between rentals The pull out sofa was broken by a previous renter and we were unable to get it repaired until the weather cleared and we had an open spot on the calendar. We are frequently able to allow late checkouts but this season we have had many back to back rentals which makes it tight to get cleaning scheduled and done between checkout and check in. Thank you again and we look forward to your return next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Point of Interest
1779 Grouse Ridge Rd
Car: not necessary

Glider rides in summer. Visit Truckee and beautiful Lake Tahoe for marvellous restaurants


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Truckee, Lake Tahoe, CA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Christmas Week
17 Dec 2018 - 27 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
New Year's Week
28 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £254.94 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £364.2
Tax Rate 10.0%

5% Fee for Credit Cards
Christmas Week rate: $2100.00 per night
New Year's Week rate: $2500.00 per night
President's Week rate: $2000.00 per night
No refunds on cancellation. Partial refunds if property is re-rented. Contact owner for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals