Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Domaine Saint Baudile

Bedrooms 9
Space 4,305 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Manor with pool in a wooded park, perfect for exceptional marriages

Christine Lapeyre
Member since: 2000
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 August, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone in Hérault

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 4305 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 22
  • Max. adults: 22
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Broadband Access
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 18 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bathrooms with washbasin, bidet, bathtub, shower and toilet serve each floor.
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • 9 Double beds, 3 single beds and 3 baby cots. The bedrooms for summer 2011 have been transformed to accommodate more persons: 2 bedrooms have 160 cm mattress, a 3rd one now has twin beds (90 cm), 7 bedrooms have140 cm beds and the last bedrooms have been transformed into a small dormitory for 4 children. 3 Baby cots are available free of charge for young parents with changing table, high chairs, small bathtubs and baby phones.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden Chairs
  • Garden Table & Chairs
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pétanque Court
  • Terrace
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Bowling center
  • Disco club
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Hydrotherapy
  • Naturism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Thalassotherapy
  • walking
  • Water sports
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
There is table tennis, billiard, board games and boules. The pool is not heated in winter but is located to the south, in a closed area that allows you to go for a swim in October, of large dimensions (11x5 m) as well as a Spa bath on the stairs. It has a pool house and toilet surrounded by three-hundred-year-old pines. Sun beds and sun umbrellas are available.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(45 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
20% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 45 reviews

Great house ,garden and location.

  • 4 of 5

We had our bi-annual family (12adult + 6 children) holiday at Christine's Domaine Saint Baudile , 06 - 13 August 2016.

we had a great time, the garden and pool are amazing and children loved it. the house and facilities are clean and comfortable, also the BBQ and the al fresco dining. somehow everyone found it better than the listing.

the super market very close also the beach at Pilou. we didnt try the local restaurant but the pizza take away was tastey, Christine very charming and helpful....thank you! we hope to come back.

Vakili s -Brighton + Crossley s - London

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Iraj manies thanks for all.I hope to see you again.I hope you a great end year!!!kinds kinds regards.Christine
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Spacious, peaceful, rustic charm

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay in Villeneuve-les-Maguelone this summer, five families consisting of 10 adults and 10 children from age 4 - 12. Outside there was a lovely pool and a large shaded area perfect for BBQs and long leisurely lunches when the weather was hot. Inside the rooms were large and spacious, some are more up to date than others and netting over the windows on the top floor would be beneficial so you can leave the windows open at night without mosquitoes coming in.

Overall we had a wonderful holiday, there is lots nearby to explore (loved Sete) and we loved the pool and the space. Thanks Christine!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Authentic bucket list experience (english/french)

  • 5 of 5

19's century sensation, this magnificent domain answer easily a need of relaxing moment and/or a special event. From quietness of the garden and pool area, to the extension of the lands for a surprising jogging, the space easily welcome a numerous family (or friends meeting) for some days. The owner Christine Lapeyre knows exactly how to make her guests feeling home and can even surprise you on your birthday with an inexpected little gift. The magnificient winepress is a must see when she invites you to hear its story. We recomend this experience to house stone lovers and people who understand richness of nature.

Authentique sensation du 19e siecle, ce magnifique domaine se prete facilement a la detente et/ou une joviale festivite. Depuis la tranquilite de son jardin et sa piscine, jusqu a l extension de ses terres pour un surprenant jogging, l espace acceuille aisemment une famille nombreuse (ou reunion entre amis) durant quelques jours. La proprietaire Christine Lapeyre sait exactement comment faire sentir ses invites a l aise et peut meme vous surprendre le jour de votre anniversaire par un petit cadeau inattendu. Le magnifique pressoir d epoque (plus en fonction) est a voir lorsqu elle vous invitera a en connaitre l histoire. Nous recommendons cette experience aux amoureux de maisons d epoque et surtout tres proche de la nature.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Merci de cette belle appréciation.Ce manoir s'adresse aux amoureux des vieilles pierres,de meubles anciens ,de vieux livres et amoureux de la nature environnante.Le parc contient de nombreuses espèces d'essences et une faune très riche à contempler bien sur!La piscine est très belle,entourée de pins ,d'agaves,de lauriers multicolores et sécurisée(barrières et alarme).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

The house was dirty, broken screens in Windows, no screens on the top floor, no windows in one bedroom, broken floor tiles, dead shrubs, bats in the house, small kitchen with only 6 chairs and disgusting bathrooms where the 1 shower leaked all over the floor and the upstairs bathroom smelled like sewer. The grounds were dirt with no grass. The pool was nice but had dirty outside tables and broken. And to top it off the house is located down the road from a prison. Would not recommend this house. Not good for older people as the steps outside are all uneven and cracked. Very disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What else,i know that the manor is old but it is make for persons who love old stones.I think that you can go in new houses but i don't understant the enterprise of demoliton.When you want housekeepers i put it when you said that it have Something wrong in the bathroom we change but you have leave a tall internet bill more of 400euros in 3 days for movies' kid and you broken a lot of thing that umbrella sun that you have leave open when you go to bed:250euros.What more:chewing-gum plug on the amrchair,blood in all the linen etc.Now i have shooting in all this ugly manor the photograph are crazy?????????
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2

The property is a large manor type house with many sleeping options. Grand and aging gracefully.

  • 4 of 5

We had a full house of 22 persons and the property suited our needs very well. The large number of bedrooms gave us the flexibility to place family members together and give couples their own room.

The kitchen was large and well enough equipped.

The gardens were ideal for an outdoor party during our stay and had enough tables and chairs to cater for 30 people and lit at night. I imagine that arrangements would need to be made to cater for larger events.

The pool area was very suitable and serviced daily. However there was only a few sun loungers and could be improved with another 6-8 loungers.

Having three bathrooms was convenient but showers over the bath and no way to prevent splashes meant swampy floors. Also although linen was supplied there was only 12 towels to be found in the house. We recommend arranging towels in advance or bringing your own.

Our website booking said we could arrive at 4 pm and leave at 11am, however we were instructed locally that access was at 5pm and had to be out at 10am. In actuality it is only a 6.5 day rental and the first day is only an evening.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay. The house is not luxurious but quite grand. Tired in places but forgivable.

The weekly rental is fair. Having rented something similar in Provence, the per person cost is comparable and this property is larger overall. The location is ideal to visit the beaches and sea ports with good access from Monpellier Airport and train station.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Manies thanks Peter for your compliments,i am sure that you are well in MARSAC.Exuse me for the towels but i have not verify with the housekeepers,generally i put 25 was too a little long but we can make the house who is very tall between the renters......Have good time and if you want to go again i put 40 towels only for you.....Kinds regards.Christine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

coup de coeur

  • 4 of 5

great location, spent a rather relaxing holiday!

very friendly host, thank you christine lapeyre.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
8 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
11 Kilometres
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
Car: recommended

Close to

Montpellier: 8 km

Villeneuve-lès-maguelone: 3 km

Sea: 4 km

Shops: 1 km

Town centre: 1 km.

Located in the Languedoc, in Hérault, in 1 hectare of parklands, it gives the opportunity of receiving guests for marriages or having a beautiful beach holiday on the seafront. Montpellier is an important cultural centre where you can listen to classical music, visit the museums or visit the medieval centre of the town, where the old town houses are numerous and where is located one of the oldest faculties of medicine in the world. The Promenade du Peyrou, the Place de la Comédie and the Arc de Triomphe designed during the reign of Louis XIV make this town one of the most beautiful towns of France: a small Paris.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

La caution demandée est de 1000euros non encaissée.Assurance responsabilité civile obligatoire.
La réservation s'effectue au moment de l'encaissement de l'acompte d'un montant de 50 pour cent.Le deuxième versement s'effectue 15 jours avant l entrée dans les lieux.La caution est restitué une semaine après votre départ,elle n'est jamais encaissée.Une assurance habitation est aussi exigée.

Pour la semaine entre 5 et 20 juillet-7000 euros

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals