HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Sandra

Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks English

Great Ocean View - Minutes to the Beach - Private Pool, Hot Tub & Fruit Trees

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Kailua-Kona - Kona Heavens Hideaway

2 Bedroom House - sleeps 5 - Tranquility on 1 Lush Acre of Botanical gardens

This house is a real Gem! Comfortable, spacious, and relaxing; you will feel very spoiled getting to stay at the Kona Heavens Hideaway. Away from the crowds yet close to many beautiful beaches, water activities, fine dining, golf and shopping. Hawaii at it's best ... living in a botanical garden with an 180 degree view of the Ocean and perfectly comfortable weather all year long.

900 feet is the best elevation for many of the delicious, exotic fruits growing here and also allows for great coastline and ocean views. We offer an unwavering commitment to your privacy, relaxation and comfort.

I am a medically trained massage therapist and am available by appointment to erase any stress you may have with a serene and reassuring professionalism from 20 years of practice. My husband and I live quietly upstairs and stay invisible unless you want us.

Come, enjoy the Kona Heavens Hideaway as your home away from home. It feels like you're out in the country, yet everything you need is just a short drive away . Staying here is the best of both worlds!

You will be 3 miles from the coast but the temperature is 10 degrees cooler during the day with far less humidity. In the hills above town you will have stunning views, great comfort and 1 acre of Lush gardens and fruit with privacy.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sandra (Owner)
Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Sandra

Aloha,

My name is Sandra and I have lived in Kona since 1970. I came from California in search of a clean beach to lay on while deciding what major to take in college. Well, as it turned out, I stayed - never went back - and have loved living here ever since. I have traveled the world and must say 'there is no place like home'. When my children grew up and moved away I discovered that this home was too big for just me, so I made a vacation retreat of the downstairs portion, which includes the pool and yard and I'm so very happy to share this precious, peaceful place with visitors and share my knowledge of the Island as requested. I look forward to meeting you.

Sandra purchased this house in 1998

Why Sandra chose Kona Coast

This particular area of Kona is perfect as far as climate and location. I have lived in many different areas of the Island, and this location is, by far, the BEST.

It's at 900 ft. elevation, which allows the great views and the temperate climate. Coastal living can be very hot in Hawaii, while we are enjoying soft trade winds to keep the temperatures perfect. I also love this location because there are approximately 12 world class golf courses within a short drive, and the harbor is just 3 miles away, the launching place for many water activities. We are on one full acre of lush flora and fauna, with no neighbors below us, which gives us all the privacy you could ask for.

What makes this house unique

If you choose to stay home one day and forego the many close, exciting, fun activities that the Big Island has to offer, this is what a typical day may look like. . . Wake up to the lovely sounds of many song birds, lounge around the private pool and soak up the warming rays of the sun while awaiting your turn for an incredible, nurturing, relaxing massage by one of Kona's most experienced and well trained medical Massage Therapists (me : )). Leisurely prepare some breakfast in the outdoor kitchen while enjoying melodious Hawaiian music piped out to the pool area as the palms gently sway and the wind chimes sing to entertain you. IF you feel like going for a little walk, take hold of the fruit pickers and roam around the acre; in season you may find avocados, mangos, papaya, banana, zapote, pineapple and much more / help yourself.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful six days in your Kona paradise. The house was as clean as could be, the pool was great to have, and the yard was absolutely gorgeous. Not to mention ant fabulous view with beautiful sunsets. You and Ken were so pleasant and helpful with advice and recommendations. Hope to see you again someday.



Richard and Karen
Oct 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(95 traveller reviews)
Great Ocean View - Minutes to the Beach - Private Pool, Hot Tub & Fruit Trees
average rating of 4.8105264 based on 96 reviews
Princeton, NJ
5

Excellent place

  • 5 of 5

We were there last week, and it is an amazing place. The pool and spa along with the gardens were great!!! It was also very convenient.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 28, 2007
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Shah, Thank you for your kind words; please come again. I hear from so many people that this place is even better than the pictures, but I'm not a photographer and it's difficult to capture "comfort" and "exquisite" in pictures. I'm happy your family had a good Kona experience and I was able to accommodate you. Much Aloha and Mahalo Sandra
Did you find this review helpful?
19 9
Netherlands
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week. Thanks Sandra for sharing your property! We came all the way from Europe and truly found paradise at your house. We did not really wanted to leave the house for day trips. But is was absolutely great to come home after a day of sightseeing and snorkeling. The fruits in the garden were a real treat. We would love to come back some day.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Henderson, Nevada
5

Absolute Paradise

  • 5 of 5

My family just returned a few days ago from the best vacation we have ever had and a lot of what made it wonderful was our stay here. From the moment we arrived, to a warm welcome from Sandra and a freshly picked pineapple, we knew we were someplace special. The view is beyond words. Waking up and looking out the windows every morning was such a surreal experience. We also has an amazing view of the sunset each night. We tried every night to see the elusive green flash, but alas, we were not that lucky! My husband and I each took advantage of having a masseuse upstairs! That was another amazing experience. The biggest perk for our family was having such a wonderful place to hang out. The pool was probably where we spent most of our time, and we actually have a pool at home so it isn't like it is a novelty for us. We just enjoyed jumping off the diving board, diving to the bottom, and listening to music while we swam in the beautiful setting. The lush, tropical gardens that surround you are beyond compare. Fresh papaya, pineapple and star fruit were on our menu every morning! We had a small issue with the coffee pot and emailed Sandra and within minutes, a new coffee pot was delivered! Some things of note when planning. We are a family of five and I studied the pictures in detail before we arrived and knew in advance the sleeping arrangements were different... But that said, way better than any hotel we could have booked for five people. The unit has an over large closet, it is huge, and my eleven year old is a big Harry Potter fan, so she greatly enjoyed sleeping in there! My other two daughters, teenagers, slept in the other bedroom, which you have to get to from the outside. With their age, I felt extremely comfortable with that, but it might make me nervous with young children, especially with the pool so accessible. I was also worried that I would feel exposed in the big room, but even though we never shut a curtain or a door the entire time we were there, I felt we had plenty of privacy. Sandra was extremely helpful whenever we had a question or concern. All in all, I can not recommend this place enough! It is minutes from Costco, 20 minutes to downtown, 20 - 30 minutes to the beaches. It was never too warm at the rental (although the humidity was terrible on the rest of the island a few times, we never felt too warm at the rental). We can not recommend this place enough! I truly hope we can go back someday! Enjoy!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Campy and Old

  • 3 of 5

There are many positive aspects of this rental clearly stated in the myriad of positive reviews and I agree with all of them. We booked for one month. The online description depicts this as a luxurious stay. On the contrary, it is more akin to staying in an older camp or cottage. All of the furniture, rugs, linens, kitchen utensils, appliances, everything (except for the TV), appears to be around 20 years old, give or take. The varnish has come off much of the furniture and age has taken its toll. The bathroom is in very dire need of renovating - cabinets are old and worn and the mirror has lost some of its reflective paint. The bed has no box spring. We ended up putting a large futon under the mattress to provide extra support. The linens are not new and fresh, scatter rugs are old and dirty looking, cobwebs on the sound speakers, ripped lampshade, very dirty kitchen pantry door, rusted utensils, and a very smelly garbage can (even without anything in it) were some of the other not so luxurious items we found. In our opinion the owners have not put any significant money into keeping this home updated. If it were a hotel, the interior and kitchen would have a 2 star rating. While staying in an older “summer cottage” type is not a bad thing, one should be made fully aware of what they are getting. Concerning privacy, the website states: “I’m careful to guard your privacy while you are visiting” and in a review rebuttal, she states, “while I have guests I do NOT use the patio. I am extremely concerned with the privacy of my guests; I see it as my job to protect their privacy”. Well, during our stay we had a conversation with her grandchildren hanging over the patio railing, others DID use the patio, her mother walked down the back steps while we were sitting outside and to top it off, Sandra suddenly appears one morning unannounced at our kitchen counter. My wife had just put on her nightgown and I was in the hot tub, au natural. She was bringing us papaya – nice gesture, but quite inappropriate! To state under Amenities, “Air Conditioning”, yet require people to move their cursor over the wording to get the pop up message that there is no air conditioning, is misleading. Please note that many nights there is absolutely no breeze at all! I have wondered if we are being too picky, but the things I have described are not subjective, but rather objective facts that people should know about. Unfortunately, for us, it did not turn out to be all that we expected.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I was stunned by this review because you reported to be having such a wonderful visit each time we spoke and never mentioned anything to me in person. Having served in hospitality for 15 years and hosting many hundreds of happy and appreciative guests, your perception is singularly contradictory to all my other guests, as you noted. But let me address some of your perceived differences: The facts are that the kitchen was remodeled less than 2 years ago with new cabinets, granite counter tops, new appliances, utensils, etc. The towels, sheets etc are replaced frequently and are fresh and in good shape. The entire outside of the house was painted last year and new blinds were put in, as we are constantly upgrading to ensure the comfort of our guests. As a painter and artist, I'm particularly concerned with creating a beautiful and aesthetic environment for visitors. This home is in a prestigious upscale residential neighborhood, abundant with peace, joy and love. It's a mystery what happened to you between the time you checked out, full of smiles and laughter, and the time you wrote this review .... but ... thank you for visiting.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Unique, Private and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

This property has a tremendous view from it's perch above Kona, which was unfortunately affected by volcano Vog that prevailed for much of the week we spent at this location. That made for beautiful sunsets, but reduced the color of the ocean and landscape during the day. The height above sea level kept the breezes cooler and refreshing, even on very warm days. We loved the private pool, hot tub and outdoor kitchen. This is a great place to get away from the crowded feeling of hotels and condos complexes. We had the feeling of our own private place on the island.

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Why I hated to leave

  • 5 of 5

had a hard time writing this review, not because it was not good, but too good. I feel selfish and want to keep this sweet spot to myself and not tell anyone else so I could keep it all to myself...but alas I must let go. So loved every minute. Grace and I spent 15 nights here and would definitely go back. Not being close to the ocean did not bother us, we have stayed on the water before, but enjoyed this location because of its privacy and 180 degrees views. A private pool and hot tub with that view helped. Sandra and Ken were gracious and almost invisible. A private parking spot close to the unit also was nice. We liked the homey feeling of the space, in fact spent a couple of days just hanging around the house, sitting outside, playing badminton, making a fish dinner in the outside kitchen and enjoying the fantastic views. When we did go on a trip the house location was centralized for a visit to any of the sights on the big island. Since we went early, only a few fruit trees were producing, so did not taste all the fruit on this property, sad about that, oh well there always is another time.

Mahalo Sandra & Ken Jim & Grace

  • Review Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
KOA
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Harbor House
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Makalei
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Harbor House
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Turtle Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
The Kona Heavens Hideaway-Private Pool-Ocean View
Nearest Point of Interest
Closest Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Makalei Golf Course
Nearest Point of Interest
Kailua Kona
Nearest Point of Interest
Kukio Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Holualoa Art Village
Car: necessary

Public tennis courts, many world class golf courses, great shopping and many ocean sports available close to home.

Kona is known for its world-class marlin fishing. We are almost directly above Honokohau Harbor which has a fun restaurant for lunch and is also where the fishing charters and many other ocean activities (sunset sails, manta ray snorkleing and diving cruises, zodiak tours, whale watching etc.) are based. There are some wonderful white sand beaches and tide pool areas within a 10 or 15 minute drive. Costco is also just about a 5 minute drive and is a great place to stock up for your vacation and it is usually the most economical place to buy gas.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Kailua-Kona, Kona Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
High Season Rates
1 Oct 2016 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£845
for 3 nights
From
£204
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£741
for 3 nights
From
£169
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £60
Cleaning fee £153 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

CANCELLATION POLICY If you need to cancel before the 60 days prior to your stay, you will be Fully refunded except a $50 administration fee will be deducted from your $200 damage deposit. If you need to cancel after 60 days prior to your stay, you will be refunded, IF the suite can be re-rented. You will be refunded for as many nights as are re-rented since these nights were reserved for you. Thank you for your understanding. Please consider rental insurance

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Kailua-Kona in the Big Island Hawaii

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • rural ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Spa
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • This is a very large changing room / bathroom with a walk in closet, a steam shower, a large vanity and a separate Toilet area (W/C).
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 is also the living room / studio type room. This room has a very comfortable King Bed and a sofa the size of a twin. There is lots of floor space (20' x 30') to put futons (provided) on the floor. Bedroom 2 is a small bedroom with two uber-comfortable Twin Beds. This room also has a washer / dryer.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
You will get the advantage of having me to guide you and give you some ' off the beaten track' advice if you need help deciding what to do. You will also have the advantage of privacy as I'm careful to guard your privacy while you are visiting The Kona Heavens Hideaway. Also you are able to make appointments for fabulously relaxing massages .... or therapeutic massages. I'm told they are the best : )

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties