HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Pelican Hideaway--Great Location! Great Condo!

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Pelican L08

Convenient and Comfortable Lanai Condominium in the Pelican Building at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort-Bayside.

There are only a select few of these ground level floor plans with split level balconies allowing for a private gas barbeque grill and easy access to the lazy river.

With free high speed internet access, you’re only a few clicks away from enjoying all the Gulf Coast has to offer.

From the beautiful white sand beaches to fantastic restaurants, great night life, and all the activities in between, this condo is in a premium location for all your family fun. Pelican L08 at DestinWest-Bayside is located across from the pier and Gulfarium, next to Emerald Coast Convention Center. It is five miles West of Destin and fifteen minutes away from the Northwest Florida Regional Airport (formerly known as Okaloosa Regional Airport).

One of the most unique amenities about this property has to be the lazy river. The lazy river is 700 feet long, 4 feet deep, 10 feet wide, with a man-made current. Inner tubes are provided for you to float through this palm tree adventure. It’s like having a water park in your back yard. The lazy river also has a zero entry point, meaning it’s very easy to wade into, even with toddlers.

The many other amenities of DestinWest Bayside include a pool with a waterfall, two hot tubs (one for adults, the other for families), and six charcoal grills with picnic tables. if you prefer that over the gas grill provided on the patio.

A bridge provides safe walking access over highway 98 to the beautiful sugar white sand beach and the amenities associated with the Destin West Gulf property. These amenities include a state-of-the-art work out facility looking over the beach, the largest swimming pool on the island, a smaller partially covered pool that is heated in the cooler months, kiddy splash playground, a kiddy pool, beach access, and hot tub, are all included in your stay.

Pelican L08 is fully loaded for your enjoyment. The master bedroom has a deluxe king-size bed, television with a DVD player. The condo also has a bunk room and a second bath. The couch in the living room pulls out for addition guests to sleep, and a collapsible baby Pack-n-Play and high chair is available. The living room has a television with DVD player and a Sony Blue-Ray for listening to your favorite music.

The kitchen is fully equipped with a full-size fridge with ice maker and filtered water, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, oven, dishes, glass ware, pots and pans, silver ware, etc. This condo unit also has a washer and dryer.

Whether you’re relaxing with one of the many books we have available, watching DVD's we furnish or just simply floating around the Lazy River, you will not want to leave this little slice of paradise.

From our marina you can fish on the translucent bay or watch the sailboats, boats, and jet-ski's motor by. Dolphins swim in the bay and you can see them throughout the year.

IF YOU HAVE FRIENDS OR FAMILY YOU WANT CLOSE BY, we also manage VRBO# 752689 it is right next door to this condo.

**All reservations require either a $49 property damage protection fee which covers up to $1500 in damages or a $500 refundable security deposit. Reservations made online will be billed the $49 automatically unless we hear otherwise from the guest.

****Booking dates must be agreed upon by management company and guests. Minimum dates listed are not guaranteed for rental. For any questions on rentals less than our usual 6 night minimum, please contact us for confirmation.

***** Effective 4/19/2017 any new reservations made using American Express will be added a 2.5% credit card fee automatically.

More Details

Property Manager
Julie Rawson
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
21 May, 2018

About Julie Rawson

My husband is a Gastroenterologist and I have spent the last 30 years managing his and his partner's office and surgery center. We are blessed with three wonderful children and three better than wonderful grandchildren. Our children and grandchildren help in the management of our condo rental business.

Why Julie Rawson chose Ft Walton Beach

My husband, children and I bought this condo December 2014. We love DestinWest and are so lucky to own this particular condo. It has been a great experience getting to talk to and meet the wonderful guest that we have had stay in our other condos and we look forward to the same with this one.

What makes this condo unique

Pelican L08 is uniquely and conveniently located right next to the entry to the lazy river. It has steps that lead out right to the lazy river and the other door opens right next the bridge to the lazy river. As a lanai or ground floor condo it is allowed to have it's own bar-b-que grill. We feel this condo will help to make our guest experience at DestinWest a favorable one.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Ft Walton Beach in Okaloosa County

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Catering available
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • resort
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath has a tub shower combination and the second bedroom has a large shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 King bed, 1 Sofa Bed, 1 Bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 2 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
700 Foot Lazy Lagoon River Large Onsite Fitness Center Marina with boat dock slip available

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
20% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Pelican Hideaway--Great Location! Great Condo!
average rating of 4.6 based on 25 reviews
Campbellsville, KY
5

Fall Break 2017

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had an awesome time while staying at the Destin West resort. We have stayed here several times over the past years and they never disappoint. This time when we got into our room, the air had stopped working. We called Jennifer and she got in touch with the AC guy and he was there within the hour and fixed the AC. He said it was just routine maintenance and we shouldn't have any more trouble out of it and we didn't. Both the AC guy and Jennifer were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend anyone who wants to stay in the Ft. Walton/Destin area to look at the Destin West resort! The dock behind the resort had some great fishing too!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mr. Woodcox, I'm so glad we were able to resolve the A/C issue quickly! Your comfort is our number ONE priority. Pelican L-08 is a wonderful unit, and I'm so glad you enjoyed it. We can't wait to help plan for your next arrival!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Birmingham, AL
5

Destin West Trip

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great time. Everything was nice and the management was easy to deal with. We can not wait to visit again. Overall the place was clean, I do suggest that the cleaning crew check hidden areas for paper and wrist bands from previous guest. I do think we were there during the time management was preparing for the summer season, but it was durable. Looking to book for next year when dates are available.

  • Review Submitted: 03-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: DestinWestCondos
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We always take suggestions to heart and appreciate your feedback!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Palestine, Indiana
5

We love it here

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We love it here and will be back in the fall. I always recommend Destin West, it is such a wonderful place to stay and our teenage kids love it there! The only down side was we had wanted the private hot tube but it was broken but it all worked out and we enjoyed the community hot tube.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us such a wonderful review! We will be eagerly awaiting your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lexington, KY
2

Spring Break

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The vacation rental was satisfactory. Not exemplary. We rented the unit advertised as a two bedroom lanianunitnwoth a grill and private hot tub. Three weeks before arrival we were notified that the hot tub was broken. I inquired whether or would be fixed by our arrival. I was told the parts were difficult to find, then I was told the hot tub was being removed. No accommodation was made towards our rental when thenuit was not as advertised. We were not charged the $50 use fee for cleaning and refilling but I believe that was inadequate. The grill propane tank was empty. I called and requested more propane and was told - we provide the tanks but. It the propane. A follow up call from management advised they would bring over a full tank and that was delivered. It turns out the gas grill didn’t work anyway. It was dirty, and greasy and the grill wouldn’t light or cook. The unit was clean but a little worn. Overall I’d rate the experience a ,- or D

  • Review Submitted: 10-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us to better determine which areas to improve. I hope that you will give our properties another chance to impress you in the future, as we are always improving and perfecting our units.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brandon, Mississippi
5

We ❤️ the beach!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Nothing is more important to me than family! This is a wonderful place to make fun-filled memories with those special people in your life!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St Petersburg
5

First Time Destin Visit

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great location, great amenities fantastic staff

  • Review Submitted: 02-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jess you were a fantastic guest. We are so happy that you found the condo to your liking and hope you will remember us for your next vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

700 foot lazy lagoon river on site rafts provided. Located within two blocks of the new Recreation Center and the Convention Center.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • **All reservations require either a $49 property damage protection fee which covers up to $1500 in damages or a $500 refundable security deposit. Reservations made online will be billed the $49 automatically unless we hear otherwise from the guest.

    ***This condo has a private hot tub that is optional for our guests. The fee to use the hot tub is $50 plus tax and will be added to the quote given by VRBO unless we are contacted to state not wanted.

    ****Booking dates must be agreed upon by management company and guests. Minimum dates listed are not guaranteed for rental. For any questions on rentals less than our usual 6 night minimum, please contact us for confirmation.

    *****New Reservations using American Express will have a 2.5% credit card fee added to total.
Available
Unavailable