HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Pelican Hideaway--Great Location! Great Condo with a hot tub!

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Pelican L08

Convenient and Comfortable Lanai Condominium in the Pelican Building at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort-Bayside.

There are only a select few of these ground level floor plans with split level balconies allowing for a private gas barbeque grill and easy access to the lazy river.

With free high speed internet access, you’re only a few clicks away from enjoying all the Gulf Coast has to offer.

From the beautiful white sand beaches to fantastic restaurants, great night life, and all the activities in between, this condo is in a premium location for all your family fun. Pelican L08 at DestinWest-Bayside is located across from the pier and Gulfarium, next to Emerald Coast Convention Center. It is five miles West of Destin and fifteen minutes away from the Northwest Florida Regional Airport (formerly known as Okaloosa Regional Airport).

One of the most unique amenities about this property has to be the lazy river. The lazy river is 700 feet long, 4 feet deep, 10 feet wide, with a man-made current. Inner tubes are provided for you to float through this palm tree adventure. It’s like having a water park in your back yard. The lazy river also has a zero entry point, meaning it’s very easy to wade into, even with toddlers.

The many other amenities of DestinWest Bayside include a pool with a waterfall, two hot tubs (one for adults, the other for families), and six charcoal grills with picnic tables. if you prefer that over the gas grill provided on the patio.

A bridge provides safe walking access over highway 98 to the beautiful sugar white sand beach and the amenities associated with the Destin West Gulf property. These amenities include a state-of-the-art work out facility looking over the beach, the largest swimming pool on the island, a smaller partially covered pool that is heated in the cooler months, kiddy splash playground, a kiddy pool, beach access, and hot tub, are all included in your stay.

Pelican L08 is fully loaded for your enjoyment. The master bedroom has a deluxe king-size bed, television with a DVD player. The condo also has a bunk room and a second bath. The couch in the living room pulls out for addition guests to sleep, and a collapsible baby Pack-n-Play and high chair is available. The living room has a television with DVD player and a Sony Blue-Ray for listening to your favorite music.

The kitchen is fully equipped with a full-size fridge with ice maker and filtered water, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, oven, dishes, glass ware, pots and pans, silver ware, etc. This condo unit also has a washer and dryer.

Whether you’re relaxing with one of the many books we have available, watching DVD's we furnish or just simply floating around the Lazy River, you will not want to leave this little slice of paradise.

From our marina you can fish on the translucent bay or watch the sailboats, boats, and jet-ski's motor by. Dolphins swim in the bay and you can see them throughout the year.

IF YOU HAVE FRIENDS OR FAMILY YOU WANT CLOSE BY, we also manage VRBO# 752689 it is right next door to this condo.

**All reservations require either a $39 property damage protection fee which covers up to $1500 in damages or a $500 refundable security deposit. Reservations made online will be billed the $39 automatically unless we hear otherwise from the guest.

***This condo has a private hot tub that is optional for our guests. The fee to use the hot tub is $50 plus tax and will be added to the quote given by VRBO unless we are contacted to state not wanted.

****Please call us to discuss any questions with the price quoted.

****Booking dates must be agreed upon by management company and guests. Minimum dates listed are not guaranteed for rental. For any questions on rentals less than our usual 6 night minimum, please contact us for confirmation.

*****Preferred method of payment is e check. Effective 4/19/2017 any new reservations made using American Express will be added a 2.5% credit card fee automatically.

More Details

Property Manager
Julie Rawson
Member since: 2005
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
22 August, 2017

About Julie Rawson

My husband is a Gastroenterologist and I have spent the last 30 years managing his and his partner's office and surgery center. We are blessed with three wonderful children and three better than wonderful grandchildren. Our children and grandchildren help in the management of our condo rental business.

Why Julie Rawson chose North West Florida

My husband, children and I bought this condo December 2014. We love DestinWest and are so lucky to own this particular condo. It has been a great experience getting to talk to and meet the wonderful guest that we have had stay in our other condos and we look forward to the same with this one.

What makes this condo unique

Pelican L08 is uniquely and conveniently located right next to the entry to the lazy river. It has steps that lead out right to the lazy river and the other door opens right next the bridge to the lazy river. As a lanai or ground floor condo it is allowed to have it's own bar-b-que grill. We feel this condo will help to make our guest experience at DestinWest a favorable one.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Fort Walton Beach in Okaloosa County

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Catering available
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • resort
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath has a tub shower combination and the second bedroom has a large shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 King bed, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 1 Bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 2 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
700 Foot Lazy Lagoon River Large Onsite Fitness Center Marina with boat dock slip available

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
23% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Pelican Hideaway--Great Location! Great Condo with a hot tub!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 21 reviews
Brandon, Mississippi
5

We ❤️ the beach!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Nothing is more important to me than family! This is a wonderful place to make fun-filled memories with those special people in your life!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St Petersburg
5

First Time Destin Visit

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great location, great amenities fantastic staff

  • Review Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jess you were a fantastic guest. We are so happy that you found the condo to your liking and hope you will remember us for your next vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cosby, TN
5

Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great

  • Review Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: DestinWest Vacation Rental Management
Owner's Response: Glenda, thank you for the great review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Destin March 2017

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

It was a fabulous even with the weather on the chilly side. The TV sound would not adjust so someone needs look at that other than that it was great!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: DestinWest Vacation Rental Management
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the tv. We unplugged it and re-plugged it and it worked great. I think the storm must have reset something in it. If we had known during your stay we would have addressed sooner. Please never hesitate to call when something is not working correctly. We hope you will visit with us again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indianapolis, IN
4

Spring Break

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The amenities of the complex are great with plenty of things to do for children. This was our fourth stay at the complex, first in this condo. This condominium had many issues that hampered our stay somewhat. When we arrived, there were no towels. We found them in the dryer which we then folded and put away. The unit's rugs were all in the washer. We finished drying them and also placed them in the condo. There were no dish cloths, we had to purchase some. There was no dish soap either, first time in 4 years we weren't supplied with a small bottle. The knobs on the grill do not work properly, they fill as if they are stripped out so I had some difficulty regulating the temperature and ensuring they were turned off. The area around the hot tub was littered with at least a hundred cigarette butts that were never cleaned during our stay. Lastly, the sliding door was extremely hard to open and eventually broke. It was fixed the next day but was still very difficult to open. We still had a great time there, but it bothers me to pay a $150 cleaning fee when the work doesn't get completed for your stay.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities of the resort. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the condo. Our housekeeper stated that she let you in the condo early with the understanding that you would be taking it as is. We have since explained that she can not allow guest in early and then just leave. Had we known ahead of time we would not have okayed this. We did not know until you wrote your review. I apologize. It is hard for our housekeepers to clean around guest who are let in early. Some of our housekeepers refuse to finish cleaning if the guest keep coming and knocking on the door and disturbing them as they are cleaning. Our phone numbers are on several things throughout the condo and we have an app that allows you to instantly contact us. The only time we heard from you during your stay was regarding the slider. There were dish towels in the condo just not dish cloths. Your clean fee was $100.00. Unfortunately sometimes the guest from above throw their cigarette butts over their balconies onto the ground below. The resort staff does come by and clean the butts up but I think that the week you stayed there were several chain smokers staying in condos above you. The glass company that came in to fix the sliding glass door said it appeared that someone had hit the slider hard enough to knock it off the rollers. We are very clear with what items we supply as a starter for our condos. Most of our condos do have a small bottle of dish detergent but we do not furnish that since most people go to the grocery right after getting to the condo anyway. The grill knobs have to be pushed in before turning or they do strip out. We noticed after your stay that they are now stripped and have ordered new ones. The condo had just undergone a deep clean and the floors had just been professionally cleaned prior to your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Leeds, AL
5

Wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The condo was lovely, and with two kids the walk-down to the lazy river was wonderful. While the kids are little, I would not go higher. :) The condo was clean and well-kept, the bunk beds were fun for the girls, the walkover to the beach was super convenient. The owners communicated with us very well to prepare us for our stay and were prompt to address our few questions while there. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: DestinWest Vacation Rental Management
Owner's Response: Lynn Thanks for the great review. I am so gad that you enjoyed the condo. We look forward to your staying with us again in the near future. Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park
"You and your children will enjoy the Gulfaraium. It is educational as well as entertaining. "
Old Bay Steamer
"If you want good steamed seafood for your family then this is the place to go. About 1 mile..."
Okaloosa Island Pier
"The Okaloosa fishing pier is within walking distance to DestinWest. It is great for fishing..."
Helen Back Cafe
"Pizz and a beer anyone? Helen Back can not be beat when it comes to good pizza."
Emerald Coast Convention Center
"We are proud and lucky to have the Convention Center in our backyard. It is within walking ..."
Indian Temple Mound Museum
"See a little history while in town. It is a pleasant tour for a few hours away from the water."
High Tide Lounge
"If you want raw oysters then this is the place to go. "
Baskin-Robbins
"Ice cream anyone? As always one of my favorite places to go for a dessert. "
Ali's Bistro
"We always try to have at least one meal here while visiting DestinWest. The eggplant Parmes..."
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
"You will be hard pressed to find a resort to match all that DestinWest has to offer. It is ..."

700 foot lazy lagoon river on site rafts provided. Located within two blocks of the new Recreation Center and the Convention Center.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available
Unavailable