HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

IS IT SNOWING WHERE YOU ARE?? NOT HERE !!!! SUNNY AND WARM !!!

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Barbecue
  • Private Pool
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Hernando Beach Waterfront

Charming 3 bedroom 2 bath ground level home on Hernando Beach, completely remodeled, located on a canal with direct access to the Gulf of Mexico. The home features a seawall with electric davits and also a dock for your boat and other watercraft. The home has a solar heated screened in swimming pool and large pool patio overlooking the canal. Great location for golfing, fishing (best tarpon fishing in the world), inshore fishing, flats fishing, deep sea fishing, boating, swimming, sun bathing, and many other water sports. Located only 5 minutes away is Hernando Beach Park where you can swim and scuba dive with the manatees in the crystal clear waters of Weeki Wachee springs/river. The home is fully furnished, and has two queen beds, a king size bed and a day bed which opens into 2 twin beds located in the converted garage (3rd bedroom) Wifi and cable and 2 flat screen TV's, whirlpool bathtub, gas bbq, dishwasher, washer and dryer. The garage has been converted to the third bedroom there is A/C but in the middle of the summer it is not very efficient. There are overhead and floor fans only.

There are no provisions for small children. We do not have a crib, highchair and there is no safety fence around the pool.

Pets will be considered and must be approved.

This is a non-smoking property.

More Details

Property Manager
Howard and Carole Currid
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 March, 2017

About Howard and Carole Currid

Howie was born and raised in Northern New Jersey (Colonia). Carole was born and raised in Southern Connecticut (Greenwich). We are both retired and try to travel as often as we can.

Howard and Carole Currid purchased this house in 1996

Why Howard and Carole Currid chose Florida Central Gulf Coast

We love our Hernando Beach house. It is peaceful and relaxing but close enough to everything so as not to be remote. We found we were not using the house as often as we thought we would and it just sat there empty so we decided to turn it into a vacation home for other people to enjoy.

What makes this house unique

Direct access to the Gulf of Mexico. Bring your boat or rent a pontoon boat and you can spend your day out on the Gulf. Rentals are available just at the beginning of the street. Solar heated pool which helps extend the swimming season. Shrimp boats pass every evening on their way out to the Gulf and return in the morning. Dolphins are seen on a regular basis in the canals and I have seen a mother Manatee and her baby right at the dock.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you to our Host and Hostess for being so helpful. The house was spotless and beautiful. Everything we needed was there. Will definitely return.
May 2014
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Hernando Beach in Hernando County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1859 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet , Large vanity with double sink.
  • Completely Remodeled
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , THIS ROOM IS A CONVERTED GARAGE
  • The third bedroom is a converted garage. It has a closet and has minimal heat and A/C. There is also a sink in the bedroom and the full bathroom is just outside the door.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Public boat ramp is less than 2 miles away where you can launch your boat with plenty parking for your boat trailer.. Excellent fishing. The public beach (Pine Island ) is less than 10 miles and there is also a beach at the River (Hernando Beach Park) which is about 3 miles away. The Springs Water Park with our famous mermaids is also about 12 miles away and has a beach, water slides and mermaid shows. Orlando is approximately 70 miles away. If you have misrepresented anything on the Disclosure Form you might forfeit some or all of your deposit.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

IS IT SNOWING WHERE YOU ARE?? NOT HERE !!!! SUNNY AND WARM !!!
average rating of 4.7727275 based on 23 reviews
5

Enjoyable Stay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent 2 weeks at this home and found our stay to be very enjoyable. The home is extremely clean and well-cared for. We enjoyed sitting by the crystal clear pool in the screened in lanai as we watched passing boats and wildlife. On daily walks, the neighbors were always friendly, waving and smiling and at night, we could listen to porpoises swim through the channel. When we needed a replacement coffee-maker, Carol brought one to us the same day. We took in several local attractions as well as large theme parks but enjoyed the Bayport Safari River Cruise the best where we saw at least a dozen manatees. Bayport Inn, also, had the best "all you can eat" fish every day, all day. If we return to Hernando Beach, we will definitely stay here if there is an opening in their schedule! Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely home.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Connie. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Hernando Beach property. You are definitely welcome back and hopefully will come back to Hernando Beach. Thanks for the info on the Safari Cruise. I didn't know anything about it. Also, onaware that Bayport had resumed their all-you-can-eat delicious fish fry dinner again. It. Is truly a peaceful place. Carole
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very comfortable stay

  • 5 of 5

Carole was great to work with. House was well furnished, well stocked & very comfortable. Loved sitting out by the pool & watching the boats go by in the canal. Would love to return for longer than the week that we stayed and in warmer weather where we could enjoy the pool.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Donna, Thank you so much for your review. You are welcome back anytime for as long as you want. It was easy to work with you as well. I want everyone to enjoy every minute of there time at our property. Wish the weather had been nicer. Carole
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice relaxing stay.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just wanted to kick back and not be tourists and we found the ideal house to do just that. Very nice spacious house that gave us A1 accommodations. Carole was great responding to anything we were lacking. All of this led to a very enjoyable stay. Although the pool was not warm enough to get into for us due to the cooler nights it would have been fine for kids. Spent many relaxing hours poolside however just enjoying the sun and quiet. Being on a canal it was neat to see the shrimpers going out and the other boaters as well. Plenty of things to do and explore if you want to do it. I know should we come back to the nature coast I will be giving Carole a call

  • Review Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your gracious comment. You are welcome back anytime. I am always so happy to hear that my guests absolutely enjoyed their stay in Hernando Beach. Hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Patsy B.

  • 3 of 5

We were charged for a door that was already damaged when we arrived. Didn't realize that a door was damaged at the pool area, and the pool was cold. Also not to mention we were without WIFI for 3 days upon arrival, finally got it working late one night. Never was really up to par. Overall the stay was nice. I would recommend anyone staying there to make sure you inspect the property thoroughly & report all damages otherwise you won't get your deposit back.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you are unhappy about your deposit not being returned. The lanai door was not broken before you arrived but was broken when you left. If you had noticed it damaged when you arrived you should have let me know when I was there the next morning. You also had my phone numbers and could have called. The lanai door was a small part of it, the main reason was your neglectfulness of not putting a diaper on a child that still wets the bed. You were without WiFi for 2 days due to a malfunction of the cable companies equipment. They repaired it the day after you reported it to me and I compensated you with two very nice bottles of wine for your inconvenience. The pool is heated with solar heat which is how it is advertised. If the nights get chilly then the pool get chilly, it is an unfortunate thing with solar heating.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
4

The Miller's

  • 4 of 5

The property is very nice and well kept up and all on one floor, I would recommend it to anyone. Surprised to see several things left in the frig but that was ok as there were things that we didn't have to purchase. We would have liked to have had a mop, better cutting knifes, hand mixer and hand rails on the steps to the dock. If we are ever back in the area again, would love to stay there.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting me know about the knives, I will sharpen them. There used to be an electric hand mixer there, and I will see to it being replaced. We do have handrails on the walkway to the dock (so to speak). They are not the best and have to be replaced. I am so glad that you did enjoy your stay and look forward to you returning next time you come to Florida.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

It was wonderful we loved it, my kids got to see Dolphins and stingrays in the canal!

  • 5 of 5

There was plenty of room, more than enough for the 7 people we had, the kids got to o paddle board and canoe in the canal. They loved the pool and fishing, caught tons of fish, highly recommend and we will book again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aaah, I met the kids and they were just great. Full of fun and excitement. I am so glad that they enjoyed themselves, thumbs up to them!! Looking forward to your next visit and hopefully the James can make it too. Carole Currid
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Weeki Wachee Springs
"Water slides and a live underwater mermaid show. Arts and crafts and a small playground area,"
Brian's Place
"Great food, we love it."
Papa Clydes Ice Cream
"Great little ice cream parlor. They have just about any flavor ice cream you can think of. ..."
weeki wachee kayak rentals @ THE KAYAK SHACK
"Canoe and Kayak rentals, located on the Weeki Wachee River. There is a beach area and the w..."
Upper Deck
"Outside deck overlooking the Weeki Wachee River Beach. Great hamburgers."
Rogers Park
Homosassa Springs Wildlife
"Great little wildlife park where you can view a hippo, gators, feed the Manatee and many oth..."
The Freezer
"This is the only place to go for shrimp, crab and smoked mullet spread. On the Homosassa Ri..."
Busch Gardens - Tampa
"Busch Gardens is less than an hour away and a great park to spend the day. Roller Coasters,..."
Blue Pelican Marina
"Bike rentals."
Oak Hills Golf Club
"Nice 18 hole golf course, public."
Tarpon Springs
"Reproduction of the Greek sponge docks. Great little Greek Restaurants, unique shopping, sp..."
Thunder Party Boat
Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Tampa International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
R-Beach, Zig Zag Scallops, Waterfront Pub
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Oak Hills, Seven Hills
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
U.S Highway 19
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tropical Grill, Zig Zag Scallops, Brian's Place
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Pine Island
Car: recommended

Hernando Beach is a rural, residential Gulf Coast community with world class fishing. The area is famous as Tarpon Country-but there’s Grouper, Snapper, Snook, trout and Redfish, too. Nature and wildlife preserves surround Hernando Beach but your close to everything.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Hernando Beach, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Memorial Day
26 May 2017 - 5 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£961
for 7 nights
£961
 
 
July 4,2017
30 Jun 2017 - 8 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£961
for 7 nights
£961
 
 
Labor Day
31 Aug 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£961
for 7 nights
£961
 
 
HOLIDAY SEASON 2017/2018
16 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£961
for 7 nights
£961
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£801
for 7 nights
£801
£2,562
 

Additional pricing information

Extra people (over 4) £40
Pet Fee £80
Refundable Damage Deposit £400
Cleaning £120

Credit Cards or e-checks may be used for the initial deposit. Final payment can be made at check in either in cash or check. The property is on a lock box and the code will be given via email 2 weeks prior to check in.
Refundable Damage Deposit of $500.00 is required and will be refunded within 10 days after check-out.
THE MINIMUM OF 1 NIGHT IS NOT CORRECT. THE REDUCED RATE IS AVAILABLE FOR A MINIMUM OF 3 WEEKS OR THE ENTIRE MONTH.
There are to be no events or groups of people that have not been disclosed at the time of check in. There is also a Noise Ordinance for Hernando Beach which is available to read at the house. Please adhere to the Noise Ordinance because it is a residential community, not every house is a vacation rental. You will be asked to leave and forfeit all monies paid if there are complaints. It hasn't happened yet so lets try to keep it that way.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties