HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

MONKEYS GALORE! Luxury Jungle Oasis with Private Pool and Wildlife Everywhere!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Space 200 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 3.5 Bathroom, Sleeps 7

This superb vacation rental comprises of 2 remodeled villas set on half an acre of untouched rainforest. In total there are 3 Master Suites, each with it's own private bathroom, 3 large covered patio areas perfect for relaxing and enjoying the daily 'Monkey Show' (they might be a little late some days but they always come!) and of course, a wonderfully inviting private pool - with no prying eyes it's up to you how close to nature you want to get here!

With 3 bedrooms, 3.5 bath property is the epitome of private, luxury, jungle living. These 2 villas are literally resting in the rain forest surrounded by all the flora and fauna that makes Costa Rica famous and such a popular vacation destination.

In front of each villa is a large covered patio area with a large outdoor dining space, BBQ and rocking chairs. The villas are connected by a beautiful teardrop pool and surrounded by a spacious deck area. Just the place to relax after a hard day working on that vacation tan!

The entire property has been refurbished to an excellent standard from the modern custom fitted kitchen with granite worktops and new state of the art appliances & equipment, to the 400 thread count cotton sheets, orthopedic mattresses and hand painted artwork by renowned local artist, Adrian Valli.

Located in the Central Pacific Coast only 2 hours from San Jose International Airport (SJO). It is easy to get here!

It's a beautiful drive and even more relaxing if you take a private shuttle and start your vacation being treated like rock stars! Don't forget to stop to take the tour of the Crocodile Bridge at Tarcoles and remember to stop for lunch at the seaside town of Jacó where you'll find some great bargains and delicious food!

Imagine your own private villa located within the heart of the rain forest next to one of the top 10 rated parks in the world, Manuel Antonio National Park!

At Villa Monos Bailarines (Home of the Dancing Monkeys), you are conveniently located within minutes of some of the most beautiful white sand beaches, and access to some of the best activities you can experience in a lifetime.

Safe & exciting white water rafting, zip lining over the jungle canopy, crocodile tours, riding quads across rugged trails, surfing in the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean and great deep sea fishing beyond your wildest expectations! Catch a tuna or mahi mahi and have one of the many world class restaurants cook your catch that night for dinner!

Costa Rica is one of the best family or romantic getaways anywhere. If you are looking for an affordable adventure in a country so safe they don't even have an army(!), then catch the next flight to San Jose International Airport (SJO) and you'll be in your villa in time to watch the dancing monkeys while enjoying open air dining.

Costa Rica: Welcome to the most ecologically sound country on planet Earth.

Come for big adventures and lasting memories!

-We ask guests not to use our laundry services as our Costa Rican machines can be delicate. However, if you do have any personal items that you wish to have washed, please let us know and our maids would be happy to do it for you, free of charge.

More Details

Property Manager
Amy Irving
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2017

About Amy Irving

I originally came to Costa Rica on a sabbatical from a busy job in London, England. I intended to stay 3 months but after 7 years I'm still here - What happened?! Well, Costa Rica happened. With so many amazing things to do & see it really is a hard place to leave, be warned! Now I get to live in paradise, hike in the jungle, swim & surf in our beautiful warm ocean, rappel down waterfalls, raft rapids, zip-line through the jungle canopy, and so much more. Lucky me!!! With the help of great friends, I manage vacation villas & run a boutique vacation planning business, My Vacation Costa Rica. We specialize in giving our guests the personal touch & between us, we guide you through all aspects of planning your vacation & make sure you only experience the best of the best - so come us in paradise and start enjoying the pura vida life!

Amy Irving purchased this villa in 2013

Why Amy Irving chose Quepos

Villa Monos Bailarines is a truly delightful villa! Nestled in the jungle, it's surrounded by all of our wonderful Costa Rican flora and fauna. The private pool is the perfect place to cool off and watch the monkeys play.

The villa has the added benefit of a private casita, comprising of a large bedroom and private bathroom. This makes an ideally private space for extended family, nanny or friends to stay.

The property as a whole really is a luxury oasis of peace & calm in nature!

What makes this villa unique

Our wonderful property sits in the monkey corridor so expect some furry visitors morning and evening!

The second villa provides a very private space for extended family members, nanny or friends to stay.

*The property is incredibly secluded and is situated within a private secure development.

There is some much outdoor space to enjoy you will have first hand experience of jungle living

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in El Cerro in Quepos

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , En Suite to Bedroom #1
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , En Suite to Bedroom #2
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , En Suite to Bedroom #3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master Suite #1
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 2 x Twin beds lock together to form a King
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Master Suite #3
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
We provide complimentary vacation planning so will be on hand to help you with anything you may need prior to your arrival. During your vacation, you will have a dedicated concierge to answer any questions you may have and to help you with anything you may need. We like to look after our guests!!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

MONKEYS GALORE! Luxury Jungle Oasis with Private Pool and Wildlife Everywhere!
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
5

Villamonos Bailarines

  • 5 of 5

The house offers great quality, great location, is in excellent condition and is nicely decorated - the experience of being surrounded by monkeys was fascinating for my kids and gran parents - the staff was also having great attitude

  • Review Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay in Manuel Antonio!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 (2 kids ages 11 and 14) just spent a week at the House of the Dancing Monkeys at the end of November. The house was very comfortable and had everything we needed to make it our temporary home away from home. Amy and Johan were great and very responsive. There was some loud tile-cutting next door one day and we spoke with Amy and she said it wouldn't happen again during out stay, and it didn't. We had one air conditioner and a light switch break while we were there and Johan had someone there to fix them pronto. As this is a developing country, the occasional power outage and internet interruption happened and are to be expected. The maids came every other day and did a nice job of cleaning the house and doing our laundry for us. We did have a troop of squirrel monkeys visit the pool one day! There was no shortage of monkeys all around town, mostly capuchins. Johan organized 2 excursions for us: a sportfishing day with the Tres Ninas which was great, and a mangrove kayak tour with Juan with was definitely a highlight! Our favourite restaurant, which we returned to a couple of times, was the Falafel Bar. The schwarma, hummus, and smoothies were amazing!! One tip we learned when driving down to the National Park or the main beach, there are lots of men on the road as you get close trying to flag you down and get you to park in their parking area. But if you just drive on there is a nice parking lot right at the end of the road on the cul-de-sac near the entrance to the park which we found to be cheaper and more secure than the other parking areas. Overall we had an awesome stay in Manual Antonio and would happily stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Northern California
5

Awesome place!

  • 5 of 5

Want to be pampered and stay in a beautiful home in Costa Rica then stay here. Contemporary decor large bedrooms and full kitchen with a lovely pool. The house is romantic and quiet. The cleaning fairy magically came each day washed and folded our clothes and cleaned up the kitchen each day. The home was surrounded by tropical plants and banana trees with the sound of crickets and birds. The concierge was top notch she arranged fun and adventurous jungle excursions with front door pick-up service. The home was central to anything you need, jungle, tropical animals, monkeys, sloths, and tropical birds. We went hiking, zip lining, snorkeling, jet skiing and had a relaxing day at the beach, ate at delicious restaurants with amazing sunset views, and shopped for local art close by. The driveway was a dirt road and there are steps to get down the hill to the home which gave the house a jungle feel. Most of the cabs that picked us up had four wheel drive which way perfect for the terrain. What a beautiful experience you will love it! Especially enjoyed watching the cute little monkeys that come to visit near the pool each afternoon.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver
5

Wonderful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with my family-ages ranging between early 30s and 60-and we all loved it! We had great concierge service, it's not too far from the bus but very private and safe. The layout is fantastic! This is truly a great place to stay, you can't go wrong!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing jungle hideaway!

  • 5 of 5

This house, Hazel (the concierge) and the suggestions she made were the highlights of our vacation.

Amy was great to work with also, we booked in a hurry and she replied quickly and was very helpful. We stayed for 4 nights and everything was perfect!

The guide Hazel booked for us (Henry) was perfect with young kids and we saw things we would have walked right by had he not been there. The massages we had were great and the Chefs we had were also fantastic. In fact having the chefs come saved us money on food. We had leftovers for 2 days which saved us from having to eat out (which is expensive).

We had our almost 3 year old with us and it was good for her too. She loved the pool and the monkeys swinging through the trees.

Only drawback was the driveway was rugged but it also helped with the jungle ambiance.

We will be back!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Mixed Bag - Beautiful location, but theft from villa

  • 2 of 5

This review has two parts. The first about the house and location and the second covering some service issues with the property owners. For starters, the house, the lead up and planning was top notch. Hazel took great care to plan out all our activities (zip lining, rappelling, surfing, nature walks) and make sure our stay would be memorable. We did multiple tours (which I've reviewed separately) and even arranged a local chef to come cook for us. The house has two beautiful villas and pool and is a great place to come back to after a day of activities.

But there was one major issue that left us with a very negative feeling about our accommodations and hosts. During our stay we had multiple items, including a camera, 3 pair of nice sunglasses, money from 3 different wallets and hair dryer (yes, a hair dryer) stolen from the villa. As part of the "service" a cleaning person comes every other day. There was also a private chef who had access to our villa. We informed Hazel of the multiple thefts and she in turn said she'd take it up with the owner and cleaning team. We never got any resolution or response back from the property owner, whom we contacted separately. Hazel told us we could file a police report on the day we were leaving which I found quite laughable. We haven't heard back from Hazel or the property owner since our stay. It was a disappointing way to end our visit given everything about the place was beautiful. Unfortunately the service of the property owner fell down quite flat which means I would not recommend. As someone who's booked accommodations and activities in 19 countries I've never been a victim of theft.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and for highlighting how wonderful the property is. It really is one of the nicest places to stay here in MA. We are very sorry for the experience you had regarding missing items & that this has marred an otherwise positive experience. We strive to provide our clients with the highest level of service, both in the planning stage & during their stay. As previously explained, we do not pay for good reviews nor pay to suppress bad reviews. For this reason we declined your offer of paying you $650 to suppress the review you have submitted here. I also want to be clear that NEVER before have we had a theft from this villa nor have we since your departure. As with travelling in any country, we advise our guests to take precautionary measures such as locking doors & using safes provided to ensure a safe and enjoyable vacation. Below I have covered some points we feel address issues that have negatively impacted your stay. Report Missing KEYS Immediately On Check Out, we discovered a main door key was missing. We changed all the locks immediately. As standard we charge a fee of $150 for lost keys however, as a goodwill gesture we have waived this fee. Report Missing Items Immediately You reported you’d left your camera & sunglasses in a restaurant 2 days later. Hazel did everything she could to find these for you but without success. In cases like this, time is of the essence. At the end of your stay, you reported these same items were missing from the villa. Use Security Safes Provided: There are security safes provided in all our villas. We ask that you use the safes to store any valuables or cash. We are baffled that your children’s hidden wallets ($50 & $20) were raided when valuable electronics were left untouched. Contact your Property Manager At any point during your stay you can always contact your Property Manager who will gladly come to meet you. You requested a meeting a few hours before your late check out. Apologies I was not free to see you at that moment. Sadly 2 hours earlier I was in the office 10 mins away. Again, we are sorry for your negative experience but feel given the unusual circumstances of missing items, delay in reporting missing items, unreported missing key & the time you gave us to react to these issues, we really did have our hands tied somewhat. I hope I’ve managed to address your concerns here, & going forward you have many more exciting adventures filled with only good experiences
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Location

Nearest Airport
160 Kilometres
Juan Santamaria Airport (SJO)
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Kilometres
Mymos
Nearest Golf
70 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Routa 27
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Kilometres
Eve's Garden
Nearest Beach
2.5 Kilometres
Manuel Antonio Beach /Manuel Antonio National Park
Car: not necessary

House of Dancing Monkeys is located in the heart of Manuel Antonio - a wonderful beach town in the Central Pacific of Costa Rica.

Within 5 mins of our wonderful white sandy beach and renowned National Park there are so many things to enjoy here it's hard to know where to begin!

In additional to surfing, swimming, parasailing and general splashing around that you can enjoy at the beach, and the multitude of monkeys, sloths, toucans etc to see at the park there are also all of THESE activities to experience!

World class In Shore / Off Shore Sportfishing

Zip lining

White water rafting

Whale watching

Waterfall rapelling

Mountain and Beach horseback riding

Spice Farm Tour

Jungle ATV

- and that's just to name a few!!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in El Cerro, Puntarenas

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Thanksgiving 2017
18 Nov 2017 - 24 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,987
for 7 nights
£1,987
 
 
Mid Season 2017
25 Nov 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£655
for 3 nights
From
£218
£1,529
 
 
Christmas 2017
23 Dec 2017 - 29 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,887
for 7 nights
£3,887
 
 
New Year 2016/17
30 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£4,149
for 7 nights
£4,149
 
 
Peak Season 2018
6 Jan 2018 - 24 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,987
for 7 nights
From
£284
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£590
for 3 nights
From
£197
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £386.51
Tax Rate 13.0%

Additional Rates:

Presidents Week 2016 - $ 2,695
Easter Week 2016 - $ 2,575
contact us: reservations@myvacationcostarica.com | us tel: +1.646.895.7871 | cr tel: +506.2777.6846

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals