HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Sapelo - Bay Front/Plantation, Private Dock, Beautiful White Sandy Beach

People10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 28 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful Home With 5 Bedrooms And 3.5 Baths And Plenty Of Amenities.

Welcome to 'Sapelo' on St. George Island, FL! Located in the beautiful Plantation gated community.

Enjoy sitting out on your screened porch while watching the fabulous sunsets on the bay, or take a stroll down a walkway to 200 feet of private sandy beach. Here you can experience both the Bay and the Gulf, and you're only half a mile from Bob Sike's Cut. There is excellent fishing and crabbing from your own private dock. All from this spacious, recently updated 3,000 sq. ft. builder's custom home. With a large comfortable living area and kitchen, the home features five large bedrooms, two of which are masters on the main floor with king-size beds, two second floor bedrooms have two twin beds in each, and a loft bedroom with a queen-size bed.

BEDS: 2 kings, 1 queen, 4 singles

AMENITIES: 4 TVs, DVD players, CD/stereo, hardwood floors throughout the home except two carpeted bedrooms on upper level. Two master suites, large well-equipped kitchen with granite counter-tops and stainless steel appliances, game/book/DVD library, jetted tub in upper floor bath, large screened porch and furnished sun decks, outdoor shower, park-style charcoal grill, fish cleaning station, under house concrete parking, private 225 foot dock.

Private Beach And Private Dock

No Pets

No Smoking

This house has access to the Plantation Clubhouse with community pool, tennis courts and fitness center.

More Details

Owner
Denise Schmidt
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 August, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Plantation in Eastpoint

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
  • An outdoor shower is also available below the house.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Loft Bedrom - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(30 traveller reviews)

76% Complete
16% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sapelo - Bay Front/Plantation, Private Dock, Beautiful White Sandy Beach
average rating of 4.7 based on 30 reviews
5

My family had an awesome week at The Sapelo House!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week staying at The Sapelo Home. It is beautiful on the inside and out! There were 10 of us that stayed there and a couple that came to visit. I love that we had the large dinning table so that we could all sit together as a family. Plenty of room for everyone. The kitchen was great, had everything we needed, pots, pans, and plenty of dishes, just like being at home. With this many people, we cooked in most of the time.

We caught some crabs at the end of the dock and a enough fish for a meal. We did see some sting rays and a small shovel-nose shark! Lots of Hermit crabs. We rented a boat and got to see a pod of about 20 dolphins, they put on a show for us. Playing and even jumping completely out of the water. Awesome site!

Everyone that we saw at the beach & pool were very friendly and helpful.

Such a nice quite peaceful place. I understand why my Dad was always so fond of St George's Island. We will be coming back again.

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you had a fantastic time! Hope you'll stay at Sapelo again!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
3

Negative outweighs the positive

  • 3 of 5

Let me start by saying it is a spacious home. It is nicely situated on the bay in a quiet neighborhood. The sunsets were spectacular. The fishing was fun but with little success (we weren't as good as we hoped!). Crabbing was a success too.

We only had five staying in the house and found cooking to be a challenge. The pots and pans weren't plentiful or large enough. I was shocked to see there wasn't even any salt or pepper in the house. There were no cleaning supplies to keep the kitchen tidy. Dishes in the cabinet were put away dirty. There was no ice in the icemaker on our arrival. Supplies for the home are only enough to get you started and not enough for a week.

I've stayed at other vacation rentals and haven't encountered this before. So, this is why I am disappointed this time.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just a reminder that you received, signed and returned an email prior to your arrival that included information about our home, directions, key code, grocery stores, "Suggested household items to bring" and "Items we provide". Among the "Suggested household items to bring" are salt & pepper so I don't know why you were shocked that there were none in the house. Among the "Items we provide" are an INITIAL supply of toilet paper, paper towels, dish liquid, dishwasher soap and laundry detergent. You may recall that I responded quickly to several questions you had about the house prior to arrival, including a request for early check-in. When guests pack their cooler to leave the house they empty the ice maker and there are only a few hours before another guest checks in. For that reason, I will add to my list that guests may want to pick up a bag of ice when they arrive on the island. I have reminded my housekeeper to keep an eye out for dishes put away dirty by previous guests. Sounds like some of my larger pots and pans are missing. There have always been ample, including 3 large stock pots to the right of the stove. I will need to check my inventory. If you had contacted me during your stay I could've provided additional pots and pans to make your stay more pleasant.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful home in an awesome part of the country. So much wildlife and marine life in the area. Kitchen was well equipped, we cooked for 8-9 people all week.

Slightly disappointed in the 5th "loft bedroom"... its a bed on the landing outside the two twin bedrooms. We were expecting the "loft" to be on a different floor by itself.

We made it work and an enjoyable time was had by all! Thank you for sharing your home with us!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at Sapelo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect bay location!

  • 5 of 5

Sapelo has a perfect location on the bay. The sunsets are spectacular, the pier is solid, and the sandy beach area is a plus. This was our second stay at Sapelo, and we hope to return again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We would love to have you stay at Sapelo again! Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sapelo is our paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We have been renting Sapelo for years, and it is our favorite vacationing home out of all the others we rent. The water is deep enough at the private dock to bring our 25 foot center console. It is also nice that you can view the dock from the house, which is not the case with most bayside homes on SGI. It appears beach sand was brought in to make a private beach area right out the back door, even though the beach on the gulf side is only two blocks away, its a nice plus. We rented the two kayaks and launched them daily. It sleeps ten, and I love the fact that it has two king suites with private baths. The kitchen is equipped well, and even has a crockpot. The views are amazing, and I can't say enough in words to give justice to how beautiful! Lastly, Denise, the owner is quick to answer any questions or concerns you may have regarding your stay. We LOVE Sapelo and can't wait for next year!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I love to hear that you enjoy our place as much as we do! We are fortunate to have our own little beach there thanks to Mother Nature and a little bit of grooming. So glad you are able to stay at Sapelo year after year. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice location and great sunsets

  • 4 of 5

House well situated on the bay side of the island. Beautiful sunsets from the dock. Saw dolphins up close once. The water around the dock is very shallow (2-3') so not good for swimming but the beach is nice. Interior of house was comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. My only real negative is the mosquitos. Bring plenty of good bug spray. Water stands in part of the yard and mosquitos are plentiful.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Plantation, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
End of Summer 2017
19 Aug 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,001
for 7 nights
£2,001
 
 
Fall 2017
16 Sep 2017 - 17 Nov 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,661
for 7 nights
£1,661
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
18 Nov 2017 - 24 Nov 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,001
for 7 nights
£2,001
 
 
Winter 2017
25 Nov 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,661
for 7 nights
£1,661
 
 
Christmas 2017
16 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,001
for 7 nights
£2,001
 
 
Month of January
6 Jan 2018 - 2 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
28 night minimum stay
£2,347
for 28 nights
£2,511
 
 
Month of February
3 Feb 2018 - 2 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
28 night minimum stay
£2,347
for 28 nights
£2,511
 
 
Early Spring 2018
3 Mar 2018 - 13 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,592
for 7 nights
£2,592
 
 
Late Spring 2018
14 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,086
for 7 nights
£2,086
 
 
Summer 2018
26 May 2018 - 17 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,592
for 7 nights
£2,592
 

Additional pricing information

Damage Insurance £46.01

All rentals are on a weekly basis from Saturday to Saturday.

PLEASE NOTE: Check-in time is 4:00 pm. Check-out time is 10:00 am (not 11:00 am as VRBO indicates).

30 Day Cancellation Policy minus $100 processing fee.

Sorry, No Pets Allowed.

The Plantation Amenities Fee of $75 is included in your rental.

Two single kayaks and a paddle boat available for rental during your stay for $100 each.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable