HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Rustic Elegance in the Beartooth Mountains

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Powell

Rustic Elegance in the Beartooth Mountains

This home is nestled in the beautiful Beartooth Mountains. Enjoy your wonderful rustic western experience with all the comforts of home. This hunting style log home will give you the feel of being out in the wilderness without having to rough it. From the front deck of the home you look out over the Clarks Fork valley and on a clear day you can see the Pryor and Big Horn Mountains 80 miles away. On the back deck you will enjoy astonishing views of the dramatic Beartooth Mountains created by glacier formation.

With access to Line Creek and great fishing, you will also enjoy an abundance of wildlife. Situated next to BLM, you can enjoy riding or hiking in the sandstone formations. National Forest access is about 1 ½ miles up the County road offering endless recreational opportunities. The Clarks Fork of the Yellowstone River flows through the valley offering great fishing. Watch the wildlife from this home and enjoy the brilliant sunrises and mountain sunsets.

The house has 3 bedrooms upstairs, one with a King size bed, and two with Queen beds. There are three full bathrooms, two on the main level, one with a jacuzzi tub.

The main level also has a eat in kitchen and living room. There is a bedroom downstairs with a queen bed and it's own private bathroom. The downstairs also has a family room and a pool room.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Al Raya
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
7 June, 2016
Call Owner

About Al Raya

Al is a school teacher and Patti is in the health care industry. We live in NJ but love to travel. Of the many places we have been, Wyoming made us feel at home. It has enormous natural beauty, and the people are some of the most friendly in the world. We fell in love with the Wyoming lifestyle and plan to retire there.

Al Raya purchased this house in 2013

Why Al Raya chose Wyoming

This property offers everything from non-stop activities to quiet secluded rest and relaxation. You can enjoy the western lifestyle with breath taking views and wonderful wild life right out of the window. Have your coffee while watching some of the world's most beautiful sunrises.

What makes this house unique

Clark, a small community at the base of the Beartooth Mountains, offers 3 public accesses to the National Forest, the grandest being the Clarks Fork Canyon. Situated 30 miles north of Cody, it is an easy drive to the Northeast Entrance of Yellowstone and then exit the East Gate and enjoy dinner and the rodeo in Cody. Red Lodge, a ski resort, is about 30 miles northwest. From there you can climb the Beartooth Highway and enjoy the ‘most scenic highway in North America’ according to Charles Kuralt. From the Beartooth Highway you return back to Clark or Cody via the Chief Joseph Scenic Highway.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

Rustic Elegance in the Beartooth Mountains
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
4

Home everything as described with plenty of room for 7 adults 2 children

  • 4 of 5

Reading previous reviews about lack of air conditioning I was concerned with the teens in our group not liking but no problem. 2 nights nearby forest fires concerning but that made us realize nature needs to be respected. Drive to day trip to Yellowstone was 14 hours long but well worth the short trip to see elk buffalo and even a bear!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I would like to point out for people who don't know, The 14 hour trip included your time at Yellowstone. The park Gate is about 1 1/2 hours from the cabin. We would love to have you back agsin. Please feel free to contact me anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Yellowstone GroupTrip

  • 5 of 5

The house exceeded our expectations and housed 8 people comfortably. The night sky is amazing and the surroundings very quiet. You can sit on the back deck and listen to the creek over the hill. Everything we needed was supplied, but bring extra paper supplies, as you would with any rental when staying a week. The travel to Yellowstone East Entrance is around 2 hours, but very scenic with a convenient stop in Cody. When viewing the north side of Yellowstone, the Northeast Entrance is a better option, with viewing of bison herds and shopping at several small towns. We had one hot day in the 90's, but there were fans available to cool the house. We did most of our cooking in a crockpot (we brought), so dinner was ready upon our return from Yellowstone. There is a blender, toaster, mixer and coffee pot provided, along with full kitchen appliances. There is an additional freezer in the laundry room. The owner was helpful, friendly and answered any questions we had. Would stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We would love to have you back. Please feel free to contact me anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kingman, AZ
5

Cute home, great location!

  • 5 of 5

Great communication with owners, very attentive. If staying in summer, you may want to bring a couple extra fans if you are not used to warm conditions. (Most homes in the area do not have a/c.). The downstairs family room and game room provide a little relief from the heat. If cooking for a large group, you may also want to pack a few extra pots & pans. Neat mountain trails just up the road from the house.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for your comments. They help us keep improving the house for future stays. Keeping the shades down during the day when you are not there helps to keep the house cool. The cooking supplies will be upgraded in Aug. of this year. As with all our guests should you like to stay again please feel free to contact us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful Country

  • 4 of 5

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Beartooth Mountains. The property is very beautiful and the house is nice. I do have a couple of comments to make regarding the accommodations. First, the house was not very clean, the floor was sticky on our arrival and things like cupboards/drawer spaces were sticky. There were no screens on a lot of the windows and no air conditioning so opening windows was important. Luckily for us it was only hot a couple days during our stay. Second, it would be nice if you had a few staples in the house since the nearest shopping is almost 30 miles away and we didn't want to have to purchase some of this stuff. Things like, spatulas, a can opener, baking pans, enough toilet paper/paper towel, trash bags and cleaning supplies for 10 people for week. We had to buy all of this stuff which was a little frustrating. Since we were so far away from restaurants and shopping almost all of our meals were eaten at the house. Also, a nice plus would be things like sugar, flour, salt, pepper and some other spices.

Cody was a nice place to visit and the rodeo is a must.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. I did explain to these guests that there was a misunderstanding between the cleaning people and my self. There was a mix-up on the arrival date. (First and only time this has happened) My cleaning people came right over and cleaned up the house within minutes of my getting a phone call from the guests. As for the screens, they were damaged in a wind storm a week or two before their stay. They are being repaired at this time. Keeping the shades down during the day when you are not there will help to keep the house cool.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South central Kansas
3

Rustic Elegance in the Beartooth Mountains

  • 3 of 5

In general the house was nice with nice furnishings. Excellent views of surrounding area and close to some great rivers to fish, not to mention Yellowstone and other notable destinations in the area. On the down side was the fact that the house does not have air conditioning. Temps reached 92-97 degrees and the house stayed HOT well into the evening hours despite being opened up with fans going. If more than one water source was running water pressure is poor but can be lived with. I just wish more had been said in descriptions about these things prior to renting. Having said that if this property were rented during months with lower temperatures I am sure it would be an enjoyable stay. We chose to leave an evening prior to our intended departure time due to the excessive heat in the house.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the weather, however I do not have control of that. Normally the evenings are cool with a pleasant breeze. I hope you will consider another stay I would love for you to return and will give you special consideration.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Wisconsin
4

The cabin was very nice and comfortable.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the cabin and it was very comfortable for our family of 8. However, our primary goal was to use the cabin as a base camp for exploring Yellowstone. Because of distance and the passes through the mountains, it took us a minimum of 2.5 hours to reach the northeast or the east entrances...making it difficult to sightsee the park.

The other negative is there is no a/c in the cabin and the days we stayed there were in the upper 90's; so returning to the cabin after touring was VERY hot.

The other reviews that discuss the beauty of the cabin and area are correct...it is a very pretty location.

Our contact with the owners was very pleasant as well. Al treated us nicely and was available via phone to answer many questions.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the weather but I do not have control of that. Normally the evenings are cool with a pleasant breeze. I hope you will consider another stay I would love for you to return and will give you special consideration.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: necessary

Access to the East and NE of the entrances to Yellowstone National Park. House is located in a deer, antelope, and elk habitat area. It is normal for deer to walk through the yard headed towards the stream located down the hill behind the house. There are many bird species to view including Golden Eagles and hawks.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Powell, Wyoming

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£898
for 3 nights
From
£253
£1,657
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £71 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £63
Tax Rate 8.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Powell, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Jacuzzi
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot