HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Oceanfront Cottage, South Side Of Old Montauk Highway, Steps To Beach

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Private Decking Overlooking Ocean, Sleeps six.

Perfect family and/or artist getaway. Indoor heated pool. Private ocean beach. Outdoor shower. Modern kitchen with dishwasher. Flat screen cable TV. Wi-fi. Built in 1940. It is a two bed, one and a half bath, cottage, sleeps six with pull out sofa. Indoor heated pool with beautiful views from the large deck overlooking the ocean. Completely surrounded by hedges and separate from the rest of the complex, private. New kitchen and all new appliances put in this year.


Property Manager
Robert Jarmain
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 July, 2017

Why Robert Jarmain chose Hamptons

The breath taking views from the cottage and having cocktails and all meals outside over looking the ocean is priceless. Truly a stress free get-a-way from the cement cells of New York.

What makes this cottage unique

Heated Indoor Pool on Premises. Especially family friendly and fun for all. Quick ride to center of town. Private access to ocean. Outdoor Shower.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Dear Dr. J.

Your cottage is a treasure! Thank you so very much. I had a wonderful stay. Please look forward to a glowing review on VRBO. Montauk is so beautiful: walks on the beach, Shadmoor & the Lighthouse will be remembered forever. Your gracious hospitality is a memory I will hold in my heart all year long! Cheers! Susan
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Montauk in Town of East Hampton

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • city centre ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • resort ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
    Outdoor Shower - Outdoor Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Pull out sofa in main room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
If you are looking for the perfect get away from the stress and pressure of daily life, you must consider living on the ocean and leting the waves put you to sleep. I hope it rains in the night so you can hear the rain drops hitting the roof over your head and making you feel you are on a ship out in the middle of the ocean. Walk the miles of beautiful beach for shells and beach glass. Have a cook out on the beach and build memories for the rest of your lives. This is what Montauk is all about. Stand or sit on your deck and have a cocktail over looking the ocean, or look at the moon and stars above. Love and romance never will be forgotten after living on the ocean.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

44% Complete
44% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront Cottage, South Side Of Old Montauk Highway, Steps To Beach
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 20 reviews
4

Super cute cottage

  • 4 of 5

I want to start by saying we loved our stay at this cottage. You can see the ocean from the porch and it is very close (though not walkable) to the stores and restaurants in Montauk. That said, there were a number of cosmetic issues — no trash liners, no trash bin in the one bathroom, and a lot of dead bugs all over the floors. We called he maintenance guy listed in the welcome email but he never came by to investigate. Also, no dust pan, which was weird. Finally, it is a small cottage. My sister and I stayed (in separate bedrooms) but if we had to use the pullout (as originally planned) it would have been too much. If you have six people (or plan on using the pullout) you might want to pick another place.

Oh, and the coffeemaker uses cone filters. Didn't know that until we got there. Not a huge deal (obviously) but I just thought I would help out the next guests.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah: The first sentence of your review says it all. "We loved our stay at this cottage". Thank you for your review. Interesting, that the review just before yours states, "Immaculate Cottage". I want you to know that I sent your e-mail to my cleaning team. Thank you for your input. We sincerely try to make everyone's vacation at our cozy Ocean Front Cottage a wonderful, relaxing experience. Respectfully, Robert
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
San Antonio Texas
5

Great location immaculately clean ideal for a couple

  • 5 of 5

Easy communication with owner description very accurate

Would return but cannot imagine sharing with another couple

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: PandB: How very romantic! Thank you for the five star rating. Please think of us the next time you return to beautiful Montauk. Respectfully, Dr. J.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice getaway

  • 4 of 5

This is a very nice and cozy place outside of town. You do have the access to the resort amenities. The only issue we kind of had but wasn't the end of the word was the wireless connectivity. It would also cut in and out so it wasn't very reliable.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely clean Cottage

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was a nice size very clean with new furniture and appliances. It was great having a private master half bath.

There was a comfortable couch. Lots of towels and extra sheets. The owner was very responsive and sent a handyman over immediately

to fix some shades that were broken

Very nice size deck with a good size table and umbrella. The waterview was relaxing to look at although at a distance.

The cottage was situated on the side of the hotel parking lot which detracted from the view and althoug there are hedges

you would hear people, cars and trucks go by frequently. It was also a hike down and then up two hills to the beach.

All in all I would recommend it for location access to the beach and I liked the cottage itself which was roomy and could accomodate

a family or even a couple of guests. We had a very enjoyable week there.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A unique Montauk experience

  • 4 of 5

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Oceanfront Cottage from July 22-29, 2016. The interior of the cottage was recently renovated and has new appliances. The central air conditioning worked very well. The bathrooms were clean and functional. The outdoor shower helped to alleviate people getting in each other's way in the morning. The deck, though somewhat dated, provided a table, umbrella and ample seating along with a partial ocean view.

The cottage very comfortably accommodates 4 people with room for 2 more on the pullout sofa bed. The cottage is on the grounds of the Wavecrest Resort so additional guests can stay at its many nearby units at a reasonable price. We were 8 People, 5 adults and 3 children, ages 4, 11 and 13, so 4 of us stayed at the cottage while the other 4 stayed at a room closer to the ocean. The cottage was cozy enough for all of us to be together throughout the day.

We were able to utilize most of the resort amenities and services including the indoor pool, beach umbrellas, lounges and chairs. A food truck with a tasty, varied menu is conveniently located at the beach entrance.

The only inconveniences, which really didn't mar the overall experience, were the frustrating lack of a reliable cell phone signal and the steepness of the hill.

We have visited the Hamptons and Montauk for more than a decade. The towns each have their own abience, vibe and charm. The Oceanfront Cottage is located so that, within less than 20 minutes, you can access the particular ambience you seek; from the joyous hubbub of an authentic, working fishing dock to the sublime elegance of the world-renowned "Hamptons' scene".

Our family is most appreciative of the care and responsiveness of the host and staff. We highly recommend the Oceanfront Cottage for a truly unique and memorable vacation.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John: Thank you for the wonderful review. We just installed a new router for greater reception at the cottage. The trouble is that our cottage is stuck 120 miles out into the middle of the ocean, and reception at times is troublesome. So happy you and your family enjoyed our cozy ocean front cottage and once again thankyou for the review and keeping our cottage in such great shape. Respectfully, Robert
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Cute cottage

  • 3 of 5

This is a cute little cottage for 2 couples with direct access to Montauk's beautiful beach and close to downtown area. However, I do not recommend it for more than 4 people, unless a family with kids. The pullout couch fills the entire living room and the single shower requires a long time to get everyone showered and dressed to go out. The outdoor shower would have made things much better but it did not work when we arrived. Owner did get it turned on sometime after our first day without us knowing so we did not realize it was usable until final morning. The cottage was very clean, linens of high quality and in sufficient number for everyone, and the kitchen was adequately stocked for food prep. Some essentials like garbage bags, sponges, toilet paper, paper towels, dish towels and coffee filters would have been much appreciated. The microwave was not working and several bathroom light bulbs were missing. Also, the master bed was the squeakiest I've ever experienced which in a cottage so small could put a damper on some people's vacation!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Leigh: Thank you for the review. However, it is a 70 year old 1000 sq foot cozy cottage with beamed ceilings on the ocean, with two showers. It is not a winter home which has huge living areas which I believe is what you wanted. We do have a deck out side to sun bath and or have all meals over looking the ocean. We do tell our guests to bring favorite soaps, coffee filters and paper towels. The microwave is brand new? Is it possible you did not know how to use it? Sorry, that everything was not to your liking, but I certainly will check out the bed. First complaint on the bed ever? As much as we try to accommodate our guests, you cannot make everyone happy all the time. Robert
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Ditch Plains Beach
Nearest Airport
8 Miles
East Hampton
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Gurney's Inn
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Shelter Island
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Montauk Downs
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Montauk
Nearest Motorway
50 Metres
Old Montauk Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Gurney's Inn
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
private oceanfront
Car: necessary

Six miles from Montauk Lighthouse on the ocean. Seaside retreat 100 miles from the center of Manhattan.

Surround yourself with nature and commune with Deer, rabbits, fox, turkey's, plovers, and the magnificent sea. You can also hike North from our cottage through the woods to Hidden Lake, where they say Captain Kid hid his tresures which have never been found till this day.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Montauk, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer Rates
5 Jul 2017 - 30 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,452
for 3 nights
From
£395
From
£474
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £40 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day Rates
31 Aug 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
£2,558
for 4 nights
From
£553
From
£632
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £40 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
5 Sep 2017 - 2 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£977
for 3 nights
From
£236
From
£316
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £40 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall Rates
3 Oct 2017 - 12 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£977
for 3 nights
From
£236
From
£316
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £40 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£1,059
for 4 nights
From
£198
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £76
Cleaning Fee £191.93
Tax Rate 3.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals