HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Farmhouse Chic Cottage in the heart of Sonoma Wine Country

People3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 400 sq. ft.
Property type cottage

Overview

About the property

Cozy cottage with charming bedroom, bath and kitchen 2 miles from Sonoma Plaza

Our cottage is a brand new, 400 square foot private getaway full of farmhouse inspired charm! It features one bedroom with a comfy queen size bed with handmade reclaimed wood headboard and a spacious armoire.

The kitchen comes equipped with a vintage 1960 GE refrigerator, 4 burner stove, toaster and microwave. It is stocked with cooking utensils and pots/pans should the need to whip up a meal strike you. We also have a French press, tea pot and blender.

The main room has cable TV and a futon that coverts into a queen sized bed. Extra linens and a snuggly duvet are available. We also have a dining table for two and a full supply of glassware and utensils.

The bathroom is a full 3 piece washroom with roomy shower. The shelves are handmade from wine boxes and the hardware from galvanized steel!

Guests have their own dedicated space to relax and enjoy the beauty of wine country. We offer guests a complimentary bottle of wine (with a minimum 2 night stay) as well as all the supplies to make 'smores! In the outdoor space, guests can relax around their own fire pit or grill up dinner on their own BBQ. We will also be extending the use of 2 bikes for guests to use...the Sonoma plaza is a quick 2 mile pedal away!

The cottage is located behind our home, so we are usually here to greet our guests and get them settled in. My husband, Alex, grew up right here in Sonoma and is so knowledgeable about the area. We love to provide guests with suggestions on our favorite wineries, shops, places to eat and things to do from a locals perspective!

The neighborhood is laid back and family oriented, and just a few minute walk to Maxwell Park. It is also conveniently located close to 3 grocery stores, restaurants (including a great Mexican spot with our favorite burritos and salsa verde) and a coffee shop, and is only 2 miles away from the downtown Sonoma Plaza. We are also located just a mile or so from the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn, which has a fantastic spa that features thermal mineral pools unique to Sonoma (they do welcome day guests).

We do offer dedicated parking at the cottage. Having a car is the easiest way to get around but if you want to enjoy the MANY wineries in Sonoma without worry, there are a number of companies that offer car service (we would be happy to provide recommendations!)

More Details

Owner
Heather Barragan
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 August, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Sonoma in Sonoma County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Full size futon in living room for additional guest
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • mountaineering

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(35 traveller reviews)

74% Complete
14% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Farmhouse Chic Cottage in the heart of Sonoma Wine Country
average rating of 4.571429 based on 35 reviews
3

Overall the cottage was delightful with much potential.

  • 3 of 5

This was a cute and perfect size cottage for a couple. It had a few imperfections but nothing that dampened our trip to Sonoma.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great country chic cottage!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the cute rustic decor! Well stocked of all the little things you may have forgotten! The grill was awesome to use!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Relaxing stay

  • 4 of 5

This was a pleasant cottage that pretty much met up to all of our expectations. Great location that made all the attractions of Sonoma within short reach. I would definitely recommend this place and plan to visit again.

  • Review Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Definitely room for improvement

  • 2 of 5

While the overall design of the cottage was cute, there are definitely some very noticeable oversights in its maintenance. I agree with Tony's review. Upon entering the cottage, there was a very distinct rank smell. I chalked it up to be the cushions on the trundle day bed, BUT there was another odor that persisted in the bedroom. We left the widows open to air it out for the duration of our stay. (Made for a pretty chilly stay!!) We also kept the heater on 76 degrees, although I felt it did not to much in terms of warming the house. It was also quite noisy, which disrupted our sleep during the night. That was a bummer.

I also felt there were some functionality issues. While the vintage fridge is cute, I would love it more if it were functional. The freezer is completely frozen over so i could not freeze my ice packs for the journey home. The brita in the fridge had no filter, so it was basically a carafe for the sink water. The sliding barn door to the bedroom is very charming but I think it needs to be oiled or something. it was VERY difficult to slide open and close. My boyfriend had to open and close it as I was too weak. The water heater might be having some issues as well. The sink water would run warm for about 1 minute than turn cold. It also took the shower forever to heat up. You also needed to put the handle precisely in the correct spot for the shower to get warm.

Another downfall I noted was when we entered the premises. You were greeted by very loud barking (from the sounds of it, sounds like big dogs!) This frightened me but especially my small dog. My dog had terrible anxiety the entire stay because he could hear the other dogs barking in the main house. Coming from San Francisco, I was really hoping for a more quiet stay per the other reviews. That was such a let down.

And lastly, there was no complimentary bottle of wine or coffee like advertised in the photo.

I relied heavily on the 5 star reviews but I did not feel like it was a 5 star worthy rental. Pretty disappointing. Hopefully some of these issues will be addressed in the future. Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Gorgeous and Quiet

  • 5 of 5

Love this cozy cottage in a perfect neighborhood. You can walk to a great little brunch at Picazo in the morning. I can't praise the small attention to detail Heather has paid to this cottage. It is full of perfect beautiful decor. It is extremely clean and welcoming. We didn't have a chance to roast smores but the fire pit looked like a great way to spend an evening here. Love this place and Heather was very helpful and accommodating!! She let us park in the parking spot while we were on our wine tour before check in and always answered my emails quickly.

Strongly suggest this place for a romantic getaway, a girls trip or any special occasion!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Cute but some areas were far from clean

  • 2 of 5

The place was very cute. When we walked in we were overwhelmed by a terrible smell which we decided was the smell of someone cooking fish in a non ventilated place. The smell was so overwhelming we had to open everything up (30 -40 degrees) and blast the heater to try and get it to air out. It never did and upon returning home some of our items carried that smell on them.

The bathroom is incredible tiny but that is just the design.

If I could post a picture I would but I will have to just give a description. The refrigerator is adorable however, if you open it and want to make or get ice for a drink you are out of luck. The freezer is needing defrosted so badly the door is pushed open and I could not even get my fingers into it. The ice cube tray was sitting in the refrigerator with mold growing in it. I am not sure how the person who cleans can over look that. I took a picture because I thought I might be able to post it so the readers would not think I was exaggerating.

Not to be nit picky but another thing that was very dirty was the lighting fixtures, they are absolutely adorable. The old jars hanging from the wood but there was so much grease on them from people cooking in the place you could see it from a distance, I am not a clean freak by any means but this was pretty gross. Again, the place is cute however it needs a good cleaning on some areas.. I hope the owners truly read these and maybe they will address these areas.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tony, Thank you for your feedback on my property. I do read each review and appreciate the opportunity to improve my cottage and our guests' experiences. However I feel that your critique was rather harsh and that a 2 star response was not justified. As you can see I have a 5 star average with reviews and I take great pride in keeping my cottage clean and welcoming for my guests. I'm sorry I missed the dirty ice cube tray and I agree that the freezer needs to be defrosted (this is something I need to do when we have a couple of days without guests). However I just cleaned the jars on the light fixtures and they were just dusty, not coated in grease by any means. Unfortunately I cannot control what guests cook in our cottage (I of course would prefer they not cook fish in a small cottage in the winter either but what can you do?) Finally, considering the cottage is less than 400 square feet and designed for 2 people, I don't find the bathroom to be incredibly tiny. The guest bathroom in my house is actually about the same size , if not smaller. I hope if you return to wine country you find a rental that meets your expectations and your budget. thanks, Heather
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Sonoma, Wine Country California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£128
for 1 night
From
£128
From
£147
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £23 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Additional Guest Fee £23.3 per person per night
Pet Fee £38.84

During high season (April 1-October 31) we request a 2 night minimum reservation for weekend nights (Friday and Saturday). One night reservations are accepted during the week (Sunday-Thursday). During low season (November 1-March 31) one night reservations are considered any night of the week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable