Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beachfront Views And Access At Across The Street Pricing

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,536 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9

Island Sand Dollar was exactly what we wanted at St George. A place where we could go to sleep with the sound of the surf in our ears. Beautiful views from inside and outside the house, and no logistic struggles to be on the beach. We wanted this house from the moment we saw her. All ISD needed was some love after being a getaway for 30 years. Karen and I did a fairly complete renovation of ISD in the Fall of 2013. New Baths, Kitchen, Mattresses, Fans etc etc etc. ISD is now fully hurricane code correct, with new windows, doors and Board & Batten siding. New flat screen TV's through out the house. Netflix and full cable tv with HD sports channels for the big game weekends. New stainless appliances and a lovely Surf Green granite bar and counters. Huge deck across the front of the house is the place to enjoy the ocean views and sounds. The path to the beach is straight ahead of the house and it takes about 100 steps to be feet wet. Great Adirondack chairs on the front porch give you the perfect place to relax and enjoy your life at the beach. We have tried to make ISD what we wanted all those years when we visited here. I am sure you will enjoy choosing Island Sand Dollar for your escape.

Our local property manager, Jamie, will be standing by to assist you.

WE NOW OFFER IMMEDIATE ONLINE BOOKING! We offer the option of a $250 refundable damage deposit or a $59 non-refundable damage protection insurance for reservations without pets. Please note, when making an ONLINE BOOKING, the $250 refundable damage deposit will automatically be added (no other option is given) and your credit card will be charged for the dates specified. For the most accurate availability, to avoid immediate credit card processing and to opt for the $59 non-refundable damage protection in place of the $250 refundable damage deposit, please inquire with us via email or phone first. In case of error, credit card refunds take up to 3 business days to process.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 June, 2018

About The Owner

Karen and I (Don) currently live in Newnan, GA. We are working our transition to living on the island but still about 3-4 years away. I'm a Pilot (B737) and Karen sells insurance for Aflac. This picture is Karen, sisters and our Moms on their annual spring girls week.

The Owner purchased this house in 2013

Why The Owner chose Gulf Beaches

I have been restoring historic homes here in Newnan for about 15 years. What started as a hobby has become my second career. This is why ISD was perfect for us. Restoring this house was a labor of love. I finally got to do a house for me instead of just getting it ready to sell. Houses have individual character and this one loved light. We have opened up the kitchen and windows to allow the outside in. I love preparing food or drink at the counter and looking up at the beach. Island Sand Dollar has been the base for a lot of memories and now has been renovated to do just that, even better.

What makes this house unique

Your vacation at the beach should have the beach readily accessible, not requiring a 2-3 block slog. The beach path is right in front of the house and you are on the beach in moments. I believe we have beachfront views and access, at across the street pricing. The relaxing oversize furniture and great location is the perfect place for your affordable getaway.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Gulf Beaches in Eastpoint

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1536 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Master has walk in, full tiled shower. The 2nd bath is accessible from the living rooms via short hallway and serves the two guest bedrooms. It has been freshly tiled and renovated. There is also an outdoor shower under the house. My personal favorite
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , 1 Bunk Bed
  • 3 bedrooms. All have new mattresses. King has a great walk in shower and a flat screen tv. Front guest has a queen with flat screen and the back bedroom has a bunk bed with a full and a single mattress. Also available is a new queen size sleeper sofa.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is a fish cleaning sink ground level.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(54 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
7% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beachfront Views And Access At Across The Street Pricing
average rating of 4.888889 based on 54 reviews
5

Comfy, Cozy, and Close to the Beach!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the Island Sand Dollar. As advertised, the house is just steps from the beach across a very low-traffic road. The interior is super comfortable -- easily accommodating two families with young children and dogs, with a lovely outdoor living room (and plenty of storage for beach gear) under the house. We actually had to evacuate for two nights due to Tropical Storm Alberto, which the hosts were gracious enough to reimburse us for; I know that this would not have been the case with all homeowners/property managers, and our group greatly appreciate their understanding and consideration in the face of this unavoidable inconvenience. Mornings and evenings are great to spend on the huge front porch, enjoying a view of the Gulf and soaking in the sea breeze! We hope to be back soon!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!!!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful place! Great memories were made and fun for all ages!! Can’t wait to come back again some day!!

  • Review Submitted: 26-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Island Sand Dollar for our family's spring break vacation and had a wonderful time. The floor plan of the home is perfectly set up for a family with an open floor plan. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking and eating in. The front deck was perfect for our golden retriever and kids. I enjoyed the view from the deck because I could watch the dolphin daily. It was such a relaxing time for all of our family. The town is very quiet and nice. We enjoyed eating at Blue Parrot and a place called The Station in Apalachicola. We also enjoyed the nature reserve just over the bridge. All in all, this home and the town are a great getaway for a family!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awesome! Your Golden probably felt right at home. Thanks for the kind words, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to host you again. Don
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Macon, GA
5

Exactly what I needed for a week away from work.

  • 5 of 5

This house was very much to my liking with size and comfort. Quick walk to the beach.The owner should take some better photos, very cute.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful decor. Clean and comfortable. Kitchen is well supplied.

  • 5 of 5

Love all the green trees around the front of the property. Very short walk to the beach.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The unit was fine until the pipes burst, and the owner insinuated it was our fault.

  • 3 of 5

We moved to another property which was right on the beach. I’m glad our vacation wasn’t ruined, but we lost an entire day. Not the smoothest of vacations to say the least.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ilene, freezing temperatures are few and far between for the Island, and we were one of many homes that day that experienced burst pipes. It was not my intention to insinuate that the cause was your negligence, and we’re sorry you felt that way. I did ask if you dripped the pipes, due to the 25 degree weather and I’m sure that I also expressed surprise, when you told me you saw no need to. We do expect our occupying guest to care for our homes as their own and we appreciate that you called to notify us when you did. I’m glad Jamie was able to help you settle into another home and upgrade you to beachfront, while we made the necessary repairs. I know you wanted a refund, however since you did stay with us for 5 days and we got you beachfront for the remaining time, we had hoped that would satisfy you. We do hope your next visit to SGI will be a smoother one, and in a different home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Panama City or Tallahassee

Island Sand Dollar is conveniently located in the East Gulf Beach area, just across the street from the Gulf. There are unobstructed views from almost every room in the house. The State Park is right down the street with incredible beaches, huge sand dunes and all the privacy you could want, not that St George is ever crowded. There are a few great places for eating out on the Island such as, The Beach Pit (great breakfast), The Blue Parrot (beach view and light fare), BJ's Pizza (awesome) and a few others like Subway. On the island are a few places for drinks and music. Harry A's is a bit of a tourist place, usually rock and roll, drink specials, dancing etc. Eddy Teach's is a locals place with great atmosphere, usually live music, great oysters and hamburgers, VERY casual. Also Apalachicola is just a short drive across the bridges for outstanding food at Tamara's, The Owl (our favorite 'night out'), Ira's at the Gibson Inn and quite a few others. Cocktails are abundant at The Owl Tap Room (Great Happy Hour 4-630) as well as quite a few other spots. Oyster City Brewing Company is opening this year and should be putting out some amazing local brews. There are so many relaxing things to do around here that you could forget about the best thing St George has going, which is to just relax, go all 'island time' and reconnect with yourself and those you love. This is a great island and our Island Sand Dollar is a great place to experience it.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Gulf Beaches, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer 2018
26 May 2018 - 10 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,642
for 7 nights
£1,642
 
 
Fall 2018
11 Aug 2018 - 5 Nov 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£605
for 3 nights
From
£202
£1,107
 
 
Winter 2018
6 Nov 2018 - 16 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£444
for 3 nights
From
£148
£802
 
 
Thanksgiving 2018
17 Nov 2018 - 23 Nov 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,152
for 5 nights
From
£230
£1,271
 
 
Winter 2018
24 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£444
for 3 nights
From
£148
£802
 
 
Christmas 2018 & New Years
22 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£1,152
for 5 nights
From
£230
£1,271
 
 
Winter 2019
3 Jan 2019 - 3 Mar 2019
3 night minimum stay
£444
for 3 nights
From
£148
£802
£1,934
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £188.72
Pet Fee £56.62 + Tax

We allow up to 2 dogs with advance approval for an additional fee. The first dog is a $75 fee, a second dog is an additional $50 fee.

There is a local property manager available.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals