HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Carole Williams

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks English

Fully Equipped Self Catering Apartment With Stunning Panoramic Ocean Views

40 Reviews
People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Saint Mary - Oceanview Penthouse

Spacious Ocean View 1 Br Apartment, Full Ensuite Bathroom And 2 Covered Verandas

This 1 bedroom beach apartment is part of 'ReefView Apartments & Cottages' located in lush tropical gardens close to the shores of Cades Bay and the Cades Bay Marine Reserve.

With its covered seating areas outside and cathedral ceilings and quiet efficient fans inside - the Penthouse is a cool, airy and spacious home from home.

The comfortable queen size bed is draped in egyptian cotton sheets and there are comfy cushions aplenty.

The en suite bathroom comes complete with rainfall shower.

The kitchen, fully equipped with double sink plus all cutlery, crockery, cookware and glassware....

- as well as a microwave, toaster, a filter coffee machine and a gas oven/stove.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carole Williams (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Carole Williams

Together Karoll and Nick have lived on this island of Antigua for over 40yrs combined and love to draw on their experiences to help get ReefView guests to get out and about and really feel.... the REAL Antigua!

Carole Williams purchased this apartment in 2005

Why Carole Williams chose Antigua

We purchased this ReefView property because of the amazing panoramic views and cooling breeze afforded to this beautiful unspoiled section of Antigua's south coastline.

The ReefView property itself is set in a profusion of tropical palms and exotic flowering plants - all self cultivated and collected as seeds and cuttings - yet the Penthouse apartment is located close enough to hear the waves lapping on the nearby shoreline.

Take the short 5 minute walk down into the small local fishing village of Urlings, giving our ReefView guests the chance to get to know the gentle local people of the REAL Antigua.

Whether you are rapping about cricket with the old boys over a rum and coke, down at Chappie's Bar - or purchasing bread from the village bakery or sampling any number of delicious local dishes and pastries sold along the road...... At the end of another beautiful day, enjoy a romantic Caribbean sunset cocktail with your bare feet in the warm sand at one of our local beach bars......

Step aboard a local number 22 bus - or jump into your rental vehicle - and within minutes you are nearing Jolly Harbour Marina and Golf Resort. ''Jolly Harbour is notable for its a fully stocked, air conditioned first world proper supermarket!

As well as possessing several banks with ATMs, pharmacy, a couple of bars and several restaurants dotted along the waterfront - Jolly Harbour is a popular start/finish point for many Antiguan water based excursions.

Everything is on offer here - from catamaran cruising and private yacht charters through scuba diving courses and deep sea fishing!!

The ReefView in-house 18ft speedboat Little Mermaid also departs from Jolly Harbour en route to great guided snorkeling at Cades Reef and perhaps even turtle and stingray spotting in Carlisle Bay.

Just ask Nick and Karoll for details on booking your ultimate day afloat.

What makes this apartment unique

The Penthouse apartment is furnished in its own comfortable beachy- Caribbean chic style - with lots of original artwork designed to compliment the stunning panoramic views provided by Mother Nature.

As owners we are on hand 24/7 to assist our guests to maximize their time here on Antigua.

Together we have many years of experience on land and in and on the waters of the nearby Caribbean Sea.

We will set you up with the latest info on: shopping: where to get whatever you need - or where the best restaurants to eat located - or how to find the best snorkeling, beach combing or shelling areas, catching local buses or renting a vehicle and heading off exploring around the island on your own schedule.

We have an in-house ReefView Boston Whaler speedboat available for charter

Guestbook comments from the owner

From John ...

'THIS WAS A FABULOUS GET-AWAY. MY HOSTS KAROLL AND NICK WERE ABSOLUTELY GREAT! I HAD SOME OF THE BEST ENGLISH MORNING BRUNCHES OF ALL MY TRAVELS. THEY HAD LOADS OF EXCELLENT INFO ON PLACES TO GO. THE SCUBA WAS GREAT AND THE VIEW IS FANTASTIC. THE FISH NICK CAUGHT WERE SOME OF THE BEST TASTING, FRESHEST EVER… MAYBE BECAUSE IT WAS 2 HOURS FRESH. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SECLUDED AND PEACEFUL PLACE.'

CAPTAIN JOHN GERAGHTY, CAPE COD, USA



From Lisa & Alex ...

'My boyfriend and I stayed at Reef view last October for two weeks. We could not have been made to feel more welcome and comfortable, and enjoyed every aspect of the accomodation and the location. The apartments are both really well equipped, clean and nicely furnished. Our stay at Reef view was relaxing and tranquil and we really loved it!'

Lisa Jocelyne and Alex Reilly, UK
Nov 2007
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.8
based on 40 holidaymaker reviews

Fully Equipped Self Catering Apartment With Stunning Panoramic Ocean Views
average rating of 4.775 based on 42 reviews
5

The 'Real' Antigua.

  • 5 of 5

Just returned home from our holiday at Karoll & Nick's Reefview Apartments. We found Reefview Apartments was a 'Top Pick' in the Lonely Planet Guide and had good reviews on TripAdvisor. It didn't disappoint!

We stayed for 10 nights in the Penthouse apartment and thoroughly enjoyed our time spent there.

The Penthouse is well furnished in a beach house style with all mod cons. It has has a beautiful west facing balcony where you can eat or just relax and take in stunning views of Cades Bay day and night.

Urlings is a small community full of character and gave us a glimpse of real Antiguan life. We ate at Chappys, bought pastries from Henrietta's, had a few beers in Bloody Mary's and watched the local team play cricket on a sunny Sunday afternoon! We caught the local bus most days sharing rides with many local people of all ages including the school children on their way to or from school. The bus rides were always entertaining with one or two humorous moments!

Just outside Urlings are what must be some of the most beautiful stretches of beaches in Antigua. Turner's was our favourite where we spent more than one very pleasant day with the beach almost to ourselves! Simply stunning.

Further afield we visited Jolly Harbour a few times and the large supermarket there. English Harbour was easy to get to using the bus and well worth a visit. We also went to St Johns where we bought fruit and veg in the local market and ate at King Roti which we would recommend for its food and that local experience.

Antigua is a beautiful island and while possibly under developed in comparison to other parts of the Caribbean it is all the better for it.

Karoll & Nick couldn't do enough for us throughout our holiday. They were always friendly, very helpful with local knowledge and recommendations and a pleasure to stay with.

We will return to Reefview Apartments and the fabulous island of Antigua one day again in the not too distant future.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Experience of a lifetime

  • 5 of 5

Just returned home to Canada from a marvelous 2 week, one of a kind, authentic Antiguan holiday at Karoll and Nicks Reefview apartments. My wife and I stayed in the gardenview (lower-level) apartment, 1 of 3 comfortably decorated,well equipped units set in a beautifully maintained lush tropical garden, 100 meters from the sea. The apartment is spacious and well maintained, and thoughtfully stocked with all the neccessities for a relaxing beach vacation, including superior quality towels, sheets and pillows, paper products and beach neccessities like beach chairs and towels, coolers, etc...the kitchen had nice quality pots and pans, matching sets of dishes, cutlery, plates etc...toaster, microwave, stove fridge-all in great working order. There were even basic kitchen supplies like some spices, sugar, tea, aluminim foil etc.

Karoll picked us up at the airport as planned and brought us first to the large grocery store (Epicurean) in St. Johns so we could stock up on drinks, snacks etc., then on the 30 minute drive to Reefview she filled us in on life on the island with tons of great suggestions of things to do. My main advice to futur visitors is do whatever Karrol says. Her tips and guidance were invaluable and helped make our 2 weeks unforgettable. Karoll reccomended a half dozen great beaches all within 5-10 minutes drive, and also suggested a few further away that were worth the drive: Half Moon Bay was one such outstanding reccomendation, She also suggested we try Smiling Harry for lunch while we were there, where we had the best Chicken Roti I have ever had, and to make sure to take a long walk to the far end of the beach and make our way over the rock shelf to the next outstanding beach....need I say more, Karrol knows the island and does not steer you wrong.

She also arranged a car for us which was delivered to the apartment as planned and at a substantial savings to what was offered at the airport. we kept the car the first week and then stayed more local week 2, which worked well for us. The local bus service is just a few steps from the apartment and for $1 you can get anywhere on the island. There are some great local restaurants (Chappies was excellent) walking distance where we enjoyed local fresh fish dinners for about $15/person. Reefviews beach is a must for snorkelers, located 100 meters from the property, Nick and Karoll have a picnic table and covered sit-out on the beach which is virtually private with wonderful views.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jonathan & Elia, Thankyou for your kind words ~ We are so very glad you found us and that we met your expectations for a relaxed beach holiday down by the Caribbean sea with good snorkeling. I know you enjoyed the quiet privacy of our new coconut thatched cabana by the waters edge ~ Such a stunning panoramic vista of the tranquil bay, other islands and the mountains in the day time, with so many hues of blues and wonderful birds. Its actually my favorite spot for stargazing and sundowners or a spot of night fishing. In season (June - Nov) we are sometimes lucky enough to see mamma turtles coming to shore to lay their eggs. We are now in our 30th year of the HAWKSBILL TURTLE project which I am so proud to be a part of having lived here 25+ years. Looking forward to you coming back for some more adventures! Well done to you both managing to find Rendezvous Bay ~ You are our first guests in 10 years to have made it by 4 X 4. sunny regards Karoll & Nick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United Kingdom
5

Experience the real Antigua

  • 5 of 5

After sailing for the week before our arrival , Karoll picked us up from Falmouth Harbour and then we had a wonderful running commentary / tour as she brought us to her wonderful home. Pointing out many must sees on the way. The Rum cocktail on our arrival was certainly a real treat.

We were in the Penthouse, light airy and with fabulous views across Cades Reef (we loved watching the yachts racing in front of us during the week, as it was Antigua Sailing week). We had everything we could have wanted and more in the apartment. With the sound of the sea to wake up to.

In our rush to escape on our holiday we had completely forgotten driving licenses - not a worry as the frequent local buses made our days out easy and cheap to get around. Karroll was also kind enough to offer us a lift when she went to the supermarket.

We loved walking down to the beach in from of the house, seeing pelicans and ospreys catching fish. A beautiful wild and empty stretch of coastline. The fabulous picture postcard beaches were just a short trip by bus - white sands, bars and restaurants and turquoise seas. Even in walking distance if you are particularly keen!

Our one regret was that we only had a week here so didn't have time to try out all the beaches and places to eat that were available!

  • Review Submitted: May 15, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Montreal, Qc Canada
5

Home away from home for solo traveler

  • 5 of 5

The moment I read Karoll’s response to my inquiry, I knew I had found the jackpot!

Traveling solo, I was looking for a small apartment/cottage in a great location and where I would feel safe. The Beach Cottage at Reefview Apartments provided me with all of that and more! 14 days in the world of "no worry, be happy".

Very personable yet professional, Karoll and Nick are great hosts with a solid knowledge of this island – its people, culture and “must sees”.

I rented car for a few days (with Karoll's help) which was very convenient to visit English Harbor and Falmouth (South) as well as Half Moon Bay (East). Having said that, you can get to some amazing beaches, Jolly Harbor (convenient store) and St-John (main city) simply by hoping on the local bus (route 22). There too, I felt safe at all time.

2 major highlights of my stay were 1) a snorkeling excursion with Nick and Karoll (again, both very knowledgeable) and 2) a day trip to Barbuda which Karoll secured for me with Barbuda Express.

If you are not the "resort/all inclusive" type, well I highly recommend staying at Reefview Apartment for a home away from home. It offers all the comfort one needs and more!

  • Review Submitted: May 6, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
5

A brilliant place to stay

  • 5 of 5

In the twelve years since we last visited Antigua it has become much more developed. These days the best place to stay has to be the South West in general, and Reef View in particular. Firstly, Cades Bay itself, a two minute walk from Reef View, is a delightful, almost always deserted long beach - home to an easily reached fish-filled reef and the best sunsets anywhere. On busy days you may have to share it with a local fisherman looking for octopus, but that apart it will be you, the fish, the pelicans, egrets and heron.

Frequent, cheap and friendly buses can take you the short hop North to fabulous deep, long, white sand beaches which you often get pretty much to yourself : Turner's, Darkwood and Ffreys, - each with a great bar/restaurant tucked away. More restaurants and a big supermarket are just up the road at Jolly Harbour.

Best of all, Nick and Karoll are always on hand to give you great advice on how to get the most out of the island, and that includes their brilliant snorkelling and fishing trips aboard the Little Mermaid.

We don't fish, but we can say that in all our snorkelling experiences, across many years and many locations, this is right at the top of the list. They don't just take you there, they join you to guide you through the adventure, drawing upon their immense experience of and enthusiasm for the reef. So you can see turtles, stingrays, eagle rays, barracuda, lobsters, octopus - even nurse and reef sharks (don't worry, they don't bite, but they are pretty impressive) - plus, of course, the thousands of beautiful tropical fish that throng the reef.

We felt at home right away - the first night supper with Nick & Karoll, plus being adopted by their dogs saw to that! The rooms are fresh and airy, the sunsets sensational, the rum punches suitably relaxing (!) - we could not have enjoyed ourself more.

I unhesitatingly recommend Reef View to anyone who seeks out the sort of gentle, nature-filled holidays we do.

  • Review Submitted: May 5, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Heathrow, London
5

The perfect place to chill

  • 5 of 5

Having just returned from two weeks at the Reefview apartments in Antigua, I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. From the minute we arrived I knew we had picked the perfect place. Karroll met us at the airport and drove us back to apartment, all the while pointing out places of interest, giving us tips and advice for our stay and providing us with refreshing ice cold drinks which was really appreciated. I couldn’t have been happier with the beautiful spacious apartment which provided everything we required. I was amazed at the level of thought that had gone into providing the little things that would be useful – a hairdryer (with diffuser!), ample towels for beach and bath, mosquito repellents (candles and plug in), bookshelves with an assortment of books, reading material and board games (in case we got bored I suppose!!!). Not much chance of that though – the view from the balcony was lovely – you could see and hear the sea and the lovely comfy chairs made it the perfect place to relax in the morning with a cup of tea and evening with a rum punch or two. There were beach mats, chairs and cool boxes available for picnics on the beach which we made good use of and ample information on places to go, where and what to eat, local customs and transport. Watch the fabulous sunsets (great views from the beach), tour the Island there is a perfect view round every corner, walk to the village and chat to the extremely friendly local people (in faIf you don’t have a car (although I would thoroughly recommend that you do - only to ensure you can see the all of the island - not because it is necessary) the buses are fun, cheap and frequent and will stop wherever you are and not only at bus stops. In fact everyone we met across the island was friendly and helpful), chill out on what feels like your own private beach, relax in the comfortable spacious apartment, enjoy the warmth and the refreshing breezes. Nick and Karroll were the perfect hosts – informative, helpful, warm and very friendly, it was a pleasure to meet them they went out of their way to ensure our holiday was perfect in every way. From the minute we booked at the Reefview, I was impressed by Karroll’s helpfulness, the information she provided for us before we arrived and her help in arranging our few days in Monseratt. No one made us feel that we had to ‘do’ anything and we had what we wanted and needed which was a perfectly chilled, relaxing holiday in a perfect place.

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
V.C. Bird International Airport
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Chappies, Seaview Lawn - Bar/ Restaurant, Urlings
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Barbuda Ferry terminal in St Johns Harbour
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Jolly Harbour Golf and Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Chappies, Seaview Lawn - Bar/ Restaurant, Urlings
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Cades Bay Beach
Car: not necessary

Located in quiet rural surroundings down near the beach on the South Coast of Antigua. You can hear the waves lapping the shore from your bed and appreciate the panoramic seaviews from your outside covered patio overlooking Montserrat and the Shekerley Mountains to the North.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Saint Mary, Antigua & Barbuda

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
OCT ~ NOV 2016
3 Oct 2016 - 15 Nov 2016
7 night minimum stay
£964
for 7 nights
From
£138
 
 
NOV ~ DEC 2016
16 Nov 2016 - 14 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£1,017
for 7 nights
From
£145
 
 
XMAS & NEW YEAR
15 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,125
for 7 nights
From
£161
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £308

The price quoted includes all taxes and service charges with no hidden extras.
'complimentary' airport meet-and-greet, with cold drinks included with rum punch cocktails on arrival:)

Regular check out time is at 1030
For extended check out options - contact owner.

For ALL ReefView Terms and Conditions - please refer to our website www.reefviewapartments.com
- and click "Terms and Conditions"

Payment accepted by wire transfer.
In 'high season' months a 50% deposit is required to confirm your reservation with the balance to be settled no less than 6 weeks prior to arrival.
At other times 20% of your total quoted price will be taken as deposit with the remaining 80% to be paid 6 weeks prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Saint Mary, Antigua & Barbuda

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • This is a FULL tiled bathroom - bath with rainfall shower, hand basin and toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    'Bedroom' 2 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • This bright and airy bedroom faces east into the prevailing Tradewinds which with the assistance of fully screened windows and an efficient overhead ceiling fan should keep you cool and comfortable in the tropical heat. Crisp egyptian cotton sheets and comfy pillows atop your comfortable queen size bed to make this room a 'haven within a haven'.... Along with the bed you will find a dressing table with storage in drawers underneath, a closet, additional shelving, bedside table with reading light and a full length mirror. (In the event you run 'hot' there is air conditioning available should you request it.)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
An optional 'welcome barbecue' dinner is available on your arrival evening - served on the deck in our tropical palm garden. With full island orientation the following morning should you wish it.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot