HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Historic Southwest Gardens Neighborhood, Convenient To Everything, King Bed (2E)

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 4 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Southwest Garden - Southwest Gardens Apartment 2E

Large One Bedroom Apartment With A Bonus Room (sleeps 4)

The Southwest Gardens Apartment is a large one-bedroom, one-bathroom home with a bonus room located just one-block west from the Missouri Botanical Gardens, three-blocks north of the historic Tower Grove Park and less than a mile from the Hill neighborhood. This apartment comes with everything you would need for daily life and comfort. I have laundry machines located in the basement, WiFi, a desktop computer and a fenced back yard for your enjoyment. This apartment can sleep up to four guests: one king-sized bed with a memory foam mattress, one twin-sized daybed accompanied by a twin trundle-bed and linens for all. The building is located in the heart of the city, making it a perfect location for getting out and about in St. Louis.

FAQ:

Q: Will you take a single night reservation?

A: Only during some fall/winter months, on NYE, or if it is a last minute reservation (call me for single day last minute reservations, I have to enter them manually)

Q: How far are you from downtown St. Louis and the Edward Jones Dome aka America's Center?

A: 5-6 Miles or about 10-12 minute car ride depending on where you are going.

Q: Is there public transportation close to the apartment?

A: Yes there is a bus stop one block away. However St. Louis is a car city and there is usually free parking or at the most $5.00 parking in most areas.

Q: When can I check in and how do I get the keys for the apartment?

A: You can arrive anytime after 3:00pm. I can do earlier check in times for no extra charge if the apartment is ready, contact me the day of your check in. There is a lock box next to the main entrance of the building with your keys inside.

Q: What time is check out?

A: (10:00am) However I can do later check out times for no charge if I do not have another guest checking in the same day. Contact me the night before you check out.

Q: Is the neighborhood safe?

A: Yes, I have been living in this building since 2009 with no problems of any kind.

Q: Where is parking and does it cost anything?

A: Parking is on the street in front of the building, it is free and there is plenty for everyone.

Q: What do you provide in the apartment?

A: Please review this entire advertisement, I am very detailed in what I DO and DO NOT provide with updated pictures of everything.

Q: Can we bring our pet if it stays in a cage, is really small, house broken or any other reason you could possibly come up with?

A: NO and if I find that you have a pet in my building I will ask you to leave and you will not get a refund. Also I live in the building so do not try to sneak one in, this includes visiting pets of local friends and family members.

Q: What is your cancellation policy?

A: 60-days to receive a refund from me. However the website offers separate cancellation insurance that can be purchased for a small fee. You will be offered this when you make your reservation.

Q: Do you accept paypal, cash or paper check?

A: No, I accept payments through the website in the form of credit card or E check.

Q: Will you waive the service fee and/or cleaning fee?

A: The service fee is charged by the website, I have no control over this fee and I do not get it. NO I will not waive the cleaning fee.

Q: Are large parties allowed?

A: NO, the apartment has a maximum limit for the amount of guest that can stay. Family and friends are welcome to visit but nothing excessive. This includes family reunions, children's birthday parties, retirement parties, adult birthday parties, ETC.

If there is anything at all wrong with your apartment or something that needs to be addressed during your stay please contact me. I live in the building and can take care of any needs you might have at a moment’s notice.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Mike York
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
3 December, 2016
Call Owner

About Mike York

I bought this historic property in 2010 and have been working to upgrade it over the years. I was born and raised in the St. Louis area and enjoy getting out and about in the city by foot, bike and car. Most of my vacations are spent in the mountains either skiing or down-hill mountain biking. I prefer using VRBO for my vacations and have used my experiences to help shape my own. Feel free to ask me for recommendations of good local eats and key attractions on your visit.

Mike York purchased this apartment in 2010

Why Mike York chose Missouri

I bought this building because it is in a quiet, safe, and historic neighborhood. The centrality of the location allows you to drive, walk or bike easily around the city.

What makes this apartment unique

Location, location, location. The apartment is just one-block west of the Missouri Botanical Gardens and three-blocks north of Tower Grove Park. You can walk to several restaurants, shops, parks, the Missouri Botanical Gardens, grocery stores and so much more. Some of the close by neighborhoods that you can walk or bike to include: South Grand, The Hill, Tower Grove South, Shaw, Central West End & The Grove. Also, you have easy freeway access to 64/40, 70, 55 and 44.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(42 traveller reviews)

Historic Southwest Gardens Neighborhood, Convenient To Everything, King Bed (2E)
average rating of 4.7380953 based on 42 reviews
4

Great Little Apartment!

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was clean and decorated beautifully! The owner was exceptional with giving us information about the city, places to eat, etc. The one thing I must be honest with is that there was a strong odor in our apt. We asked if anyone was smoking in the building because it smelled strongly of old ashtrays. The owner offered air fresheners/candles, but we just dealt with it for one more night. I've seen other comments about it being an "old building", and that it is, but this was not an old building smell (that was the smell in the hallway). If not for the odor, this place was really great. Loved the location close to "The Hill", too!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for my property and please come stay again on your next trip to Saint Louis. Also I never smelled the odor you mentioned and I definitely do not allow smoking in the building or smoke myself.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything at VRBO describing the property was very accurate.

  • 5 of 5

This is our second visit to Mike's property. As before, the description at VRBO was matched in reality as we entered the unit. It was just as pictured, and exceptionally clean. The bed seemed new and very firm, which we liked. The property is in an excellent location, only two blocks from the Missouri Botanical Gardens, and less than a mile away from all of the great restaurants on the Hill. It is about a fifteen minute drive to Forest Part and about the same time to Ted Drewes. We recommend Pappy's Smokehouse for BBQ. We also recommend a snack at Gus' Pretzel Stand, just a block from the Budweiser Brewery complex.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for my property, please come stay again on your next trip to Saint Louis.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in St. Louis. The place is convenient to just about anywhere. He provided everything we needed and will stay there again! Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for my property, please come stay again on your next trip to Saint Louis.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Nice place, worked perfect for what we needed. Only problem was the door knob to the bathroom wouldn't open from the inside so we just had to leave it cracked.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for my property, please come stay again on your next trip to Saint Louis. Also had you contacted me during your stay I would have gladly come upstairs and fixed the doorknob for you. If I do not know something is broken I can not fix it. THE DOORKNOB IS NOW FIXED.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Convenient and clean

  • 4 of 5

Property was well-maintained and clean . Mike was always ready to assist if you had questions or problems. My husband & I stayed in one of the units last year which was on the first floor which was easier for us as the unit we rented this year was upstairs and it was harder for us to climb stairs with suitcases etc. All in all, we would recommend the properties. Very convenient for us.

Mary G. St. Joseph, Mo.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review for my property and thank you again for staying with me.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
2

Average experience

  • 2 of 5

For a family, this rental is less than desirable. To start off, I would assume the owner probably is used to renting to college-aged/single travelers. There were no less than 5 signs hanging throughout the residence that were size 50 font, bolded, underlined telling the rental what NOT to do. It was not very welcoming. If i could post pics, i would.

The cons:

If you are bigger (225lb+), good luck using the toilet. It is a very close to the wall/tub.

The tv in the bedroom is 15 inches or so. Very hard to see.

The full size bed was very uncomfortable (very springy)

The sheets were very scratchy.

The air conditioning did not cool the back room well.

Parking at night was difficult to find a spot close.

The wifi in the bedroom was weak (made it difficult to do work)

The building is old and it has a "smell" (there were no less than 6 air fresheners out, but that didnt seem to help)

The pros:

Nightly price is good, as well as the proximity to downtown.

The desktop PC was nice for the kids to use.

The remodeling of the bathroom looked nice.

_________________________________________________

While the owner seemed friendly through both of his visits to see us, his notes hanging everywhere were very condescending. If I were traveling solo, it would be fine, but after a conversation with him, it appeared as if he didnt want families in HIS BUILDING.

I do not like leaving reviews written like this, but of all the VRBOs we have stayed in (10+), this one was the least enjoyable/comfortable. It appeared as if we were bothering him by staying there.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THIS REVIEW IS UNFAIR AND HAS MANY FALSE STATEMENTS. Please read my other 36 reviews before this one to get an idea of what my property has to offer. I rarely say anything to anyone and I hate to bother my guest unless absolutely necessary but I had to ask this guest to quiet down because they were being a disturbance to the whole building. Unfortunately for me they decided to take a childish approach and leave me a nasty review that I have no control over removing. NOW TO CLEAR A FEW THINGS UP: -I do not get many college students here because I have an age minimum of 24 years old. Most of my business is from families looking for a budget vacation to see the sites in the city and I welcome all families. -Inside the apartment on the fridge there is one laminated sign (Check Out Reminders) and a laminated copy of the rental agreement. Inside the closets there is a sign asking you not to put back any used linens(this is for sanitation). There are a few other signs throughout the building in the halls and basement that are either house rules (No Smoking) or basic information for your convenience. -As advertised in my pictures, yes the toilet is in front of the tub. If you are a large person this is probably not the apartment for you. -As advertised the TV in the bedroom is 19" (32" upgrade coming soon) -As advertised the bed is KING SIZED -I buy my sheets at Target, they are the middle grade. -The guest had the HVAC on the wrong setting so the AC was not cooling, only the fan was blowing. The guest never called me about this problem, otherwise I would have addressed it. The AC works perfect and will freeze you out! -Parking here is never a problem, you can almost always get a spot right out front. -The WiFi works perfect, I have the best internet package and router money can buy. UPDATE: I have now added a WiFi range extender and the signal is strong everywhere on the property. -The building is old and I do not hide that. As advertised this is a HISTORIC building built in 1925. The building does not have a "smell" but yes I do have air fresheners out for your comfort. There is one in each hallway and two inside each apartment.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15.6 Miles
Lambert International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sasha's Wine Bar
Nearest Golf
4.8 Miles
Forest Park Golf Course
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
0.8 Miles
Interstate 44
Nearest Restaurant
0.06 Miles
Favazza's
Nearest Ski
26.9 Miles
Hidden Valley Ski Resort
Car: not necessary

Must See Sites: Missouri Botanical Gardens, St. Louis Zoo, Tower Grove Park, The Arch, St. Louis Science Center, Missouri History Museum, Art Museum, City Museum, Union Station, Busch Stadium, Budweiser Brewery, Schlafly Bottle Works, 6 Flags Over Mid America, Forest Park, The Hill, University City Loop, and many more.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Southwest Garden, Missouri

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall Special 2016
3 Dec 2016 - 30 Dec 2016
1 night minimum stay
£99
for 1 night
From
£79
From
£95
Fri,Sat
£493
 
 
NYE
31 Dec 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
1 night minimum stay
£138
for 1 night
From
£118
 
 
Winter Special 2017
1 Jan 2017 - 2 Feb 2017
1 night minimum stay
£91
for 1 night
From
£71
From
£87
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£493
£1,596
 
 
3.5 Miles From Mardi Gras 2017
24 Feb 2017 - 25 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£256
for 2 nights
From
£118
 
 
Travel Season 2017
31 Mar 2017 - 5 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£185
for 2 nights
From
£83
From
£95
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£572
 
 
Turkey Day 2017
22 Nov 2017 - 25 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
£414
for 4 nights
From
£99
 
 
Fall Special 2017
26 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
1 night minimum stay
£99
for 1 night
From
£79
From
£95
Fri,Sat
£493
£1,596
 
 
Christmas 2017
22 Dec 2017 - 25 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£414
for 4 nights
From
£99
 
 
NYE 2018
31 Dec 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
1 night minimum stay
£138
for 1 night
From
£118
 
 
Winter Special 2018
1 Jan 2018 - 1 Feb 2018
1 night minimum stay
£91
for 1 night
From
£71
From
£87
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£493
£1,596
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£185
for 2 nights
From
£83
From
£91
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£532
£1,990
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £20

Please read the full rental agreement and view the entire online advertisement before submitting your reservation. You will find all the information you need for the property including rules, location, how to enter/exit, parking and much more. If you have any questions at all please call me at the contact number I have listed or email me and I will respond immediately. Also I own the entire building and I live in the building, should you have any troubles, need help with anything during your stay or just need some tips on the city, I can be available at a moments notice. However during your stay I will not disturb you unless absolutely necessary but you will see me working around the building most days during business hours, feel free to come say hello.

-THIS APARTMENT ALLOWS A MAXIMUM OF 4 GUEST, I DO NOT ALLOW OVER CROWDING REGARDLESS OF AGE OR SIZE

-NO PETS (I HAVE A MEDIUM SIZED DOG WHO IS VERY FRIENDLY, IF HE IS OUTSIDE I AM OUTSIDE)

-NO LARGE PARTIES

-NO SMOKING INCLUDING E-CIGS

-MUST BE 24 YEARS OF AGE TO RENT

-60-DAY CANCELLATION POLICY TO RECEIVE ANY REFUND. TO MINIMIZE YOUR RISK PURCHASE THE OFFERED CANCELLATION INSURANCE THE WEBSITE OFFERS WHEN MAKING YOUR RESERVATION.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Southwest Garden, USA

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 875 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • One roll of toilet paper, hand soap, towels, travel-sized shampoo, travel-sized conditioner, and travel-sized bar soap. You will need to supply any additional toilet paper, soaps or personal items.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Memory Foam Mattress
    Bonus Room - 2 Single Bed , Day-bed with a pull out trundle-bed
  • Four guests maximum regardless of age or size.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • Racquetball
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
You are welcome to bring your own bicycles and store them in the basement, it is a great way to tour the city and/or the surrounding neighborhoods.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot