HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Relax and enjoy Florida summer! Dates still available!

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,250 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Br, 2 Bath, Salt Water Canal Front With Heated Salt Water Pool And Lanai

Come enjoy this restful and spacious 4 BR, 2 bath home that sits on a Gulf access salt water canal. Home has open floor plan with high ceilings, split floor plan with large master bedroom and bath and additional 3 bedrooms and spare bath. You will love the large kitchen with stainless steel appliances, granite counters and center island for preparing those delicious meals! Enjoy dinner and a swim on the lanai with the heated salt water pool, gas grill and patio furniture overlooking quiet canal. Be amused at the mullets jumping out of the water and be awed by the Western exposure sunset from the lanai or eat in dining area. Home has formal dining room, eat in dining area, sitting area and spacious living room. Living room has 55' 3D smart TV with 3D DVD's available for nightly entertainment. Three other rooms also have TV's with Dish Network satellite and wifi. Master bedroom has king bed and sitting area with separate master bath complete with roomy shower, soaking tub, his and hers walk-in closets and his and hers sinks. Spare bedrooms two and three have queen beds, one with with TV. Fourth bedroom has daybed with trundle that can also serve as a kid's getaway with books, games, TV, DVD player and Wii with games. Outdoor activities also include four bikes with bike trails along Veteran's highway, double kayak and 2 single kayaks. There is a floating dock also if you wanted to rent a boat (boat seen in pictures is not available for renter use) as well as a nice fishing spot. Pool also has child gate available for added safety. Home is conveniently located 30 minutes from Fort Myers airport, Fort Myers beach and 35 minutes from beautiful Sanibel Island. Cape Coral also has it's own beach and community center as well as marinas and boat rentals. There are some great restaurants, a mall and plenty of shopping within 15 minutes. We hope you will come and find out why we chose this house as our 'home away from home' and place of rest. Life is a journey that brings along with it busyness and stress. Here is a place you can unwind, relax and enjoy. Come to Journey's Rest Villa to rest, relax and reconnect with those most important in your life.

Tammy Chandler
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 March, 2017

About Tammy Chandler

We have lived in New York since being married 30 years ago and are inching our way to living in a MUCH warmer climate! We have used vrbo for family vacations for about 10 years and had wonderful experiences with them so we naturally wanted to list our home on vrbo for those times we can't be there. We both got certified to scuba dive in the last couple years, enjoy the outdoors and value our down time with family. Some of our most precious memories were those years we spent a week together at various homes throughout Florida with our four children. We hope that our home will also make some memories that you will cherish for a very long time!

Tammy Chandler purchased this house in 2013

Why Tammy Chandler chose Cape Coral

We looked at 20 houses in 2 days when we visited Cape Coral in July and this house was number 20 and when we walked in it was a big WOW for us and the realtor! We felt this was a home that others would find welcoming, comfortable, and fun! We wanted a home on a salt water canal, with a pool, within an hour of an international airport, within a couple hours of diving and within half an hour of the beach. So this house hit the mark! We have set it up with families in mind, to be nice but comfortable and inviting. We hope that you will find it to be a great place to rest, relax and reconnect with those most precious to you!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Pelican in Cape Coral

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Spare bath that opens to lanai and pool, closet, large sink
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Master bath, walk in shower, soaking tub, his & hers sinks
  • Master bath is large and spacious with enclosed toilet, soaking candle, large standup shower, his and hers sinks, linen closet, and walk in closet. All bathrooms have towels, hand towels and wash cloths as well as beach towels for outdoor use. Bathrooms also have spare linens and large sinks with cabinets for storage and personal items
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Warm and comfortable queen bed with large closet
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Nice mission style queen bed and large closet, tv
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Large master BR with sitting area, tv, private pool entry
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed , 4thBR/kid's room with twin & trundle, tv, games
  • Large, spacious master bedroom in separate wing of house with private large bathroom, TV, sitting area for reading, private entrance to pool/lanai area for privacy and a romantic getaway! All bedrooms with spare sheets, large closet space and ample room to rest, relax and reconnect. Port-a- crib also provided.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 bicycles
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
Very quiet area of Cape Coral on gulf access salt water canal. No homes across canal. A great place to relax and unwind but close to beaches, great sunsets, shopping, dining and airport. The home features a spacious open floor plan with high ceilings, lots of window and plenty of room for spreading out and enjoying your vacation. Four bedrooms and 2 baths gives the home sleeping for 6. The heated pool has also been converted to salt water which is easier on the skin and more natural. Lights in the pool and on the lanai make it possible to swim all hours. There is also a kid's gate that is easily assembled to protect your little ones from wandering in the pool. The home also has a security system that allows you to know when doors are being opened for added protection of the little ones. Life jackets are available for boating. There are floating lounges for the pool.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

Relax and enjoy Florida summer! Dates still available!
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews
Portland, Oregon

Spacious House in Great Condition with lots of Perks

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for about a week, loved the size of the house and layout with great separation between the master and other rooms. Used the kayaks and saw an alligator in the canal on our trip and tried to catch some fish off the dock with the provided fishing rods. Jumping fish everyday in the canal... wish they would have landed on my hook. Swam daily in the heated pool and cooked 2 dinners on the gas grill. Fourth stay at a VRBO property and this was by far the best experience.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Journey's Rest! We also love watching the fish jump and occasionally see a gator in the canal. In January we also had manatees at the end of the dock! You never know what you will see!! Please keep us in mind for future trips to Cape Coral!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing home!

  • 5 of 5

This property was very well kept, clean, inviting, spacious, and comfortable. We really enjoyed the pool because it was maintained using salt water, and not chlorine. The pool was really clean and maintained well. The area around the home was quiet and peaceful. It was a really nice change of scenery from our busy lives. You could see the fish jumping in the canal fro m the pool and it was entertaining. We really liked the electronics, especially the kids using the Wii. There was a variety of movies available to watch using the 3-D technology, which was fun. The kitchen was fully equipped with utensils and very well stocked on items that you mean to live there for however long you are staying. The home manager, Jill was very helpful and nice. We are extremely satisfied that we chose this property because it was a great time!

-Agnes and Tom

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your time at journey's rest and were able to take advantage of the pool, wii, and 3d movies! I am also glad you felt you had the amenities in the kitchen.... I like to cook so tried to think of what would be beneficial to those who also like to cook!! I hope that you are settling well back into life and please keep us in mind for the next time!! Al and Tammy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very beautiful home, well thought out amenities.

  • 4 of 5

Over all we loved staying at this location. It was a very beautiful home with great amenities. However, there were a few minor issues. To start, the way sound travels in the home and the security chime made it very uncomfortable at times. Especially when other family members have different sleep patterns. Last but not least , we were only able to use the pool once during our eight day stay. It appeared that the pool pump was not working properly. After several times of reporting the issue to the property manager she stated that she sent someone out to fix the problem. However, we didn't see evidence of anyone actually coming out. Long story short, on the last day of our stay we basically resorted in manueling dipping water out of the pool so that the water levels would be just below the skimmer basket for improved circulation. We also figure out a creative way of getting the tiny ants out of the pool. Besides these little issues, it was a great stay!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry for the troubles you had with the pool! We were there a few weeks before you and initially the level was high also but after my husband got in there and jumped around a little the levels were back to normal... My house manager called me right away after getting your text on that Wednesday and I called our pool service immediately also. They had someone at the house on Tuesday morning during your stay (they are intentionally quiet and try not to be seen or heard and usually come early in the morning). Unfortunately they did not notice the water level or bugs.... I requested that they send someone out to adjust the level of the pool which is supposed to be regulated with by an autofiller, however, they did not send someone until Monday after you left which I did not realize until this past week. Unfortunately you were there during a very rainy time and Florida rains can be fast and furious and result in pool water levels being higher than normal. We have looked into the bug situation and from what I understand, occasionally there are swarms of "no see 'ems", or these little bugs that are small and able to come through the screen. We have not had that situation before that I am aware of. It seems to be ok now per my house manager and the renters who followed you. So I apologize that there was not more that I could have done, but please know that my house manager was keeping me in the loop and also contacting our pool service to try to amend the situation. As for the noise, the tile floors and openness of the main living areas do tend to allow for the sound to travel. We had added the living room area rug in hopes that would help. I will also have my manager make people aware that the security chime can be turned off. For those with younger kids, it is a nice extra safety feature to prevent kids from going out without supervision but I understand that it can be annoying if that is not needed. I will add that to the check in information so thank you for your feedback regarding this. I am glad that otherwise you enjoyed your stay and hope you were able to get some good family time, as that is so important! Thanks again for spending time at Journey's Rest and we wish the best to you and your family! Tammy and Al
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Milford, NJ, USA

A Nice Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This house was very nice and accommodated four adults, a young child and a baby. The house has an open floor plan with a well-equipped kitchen and spacious living room, and all the bedrooms branch off the living room/kitchen area. This was both a great feature and a bit tricky since the floors are all tile and the ceilings are high so noise echoed a lot. This does not detract from the house at all but rather is something to know when thinking about who will be in the house for the week and who goes to bed/wakes up when.

We loved walking in and finding a welcome basket of wine, coffee and chocolates and soft music playing. The master bedroom is spacious as is the master bath. I slept well on the firm mattress. There was a hair dryer and a step stool for kids. The queen bedrooms were spacious enough and there was plenty of room in the dressers and closets. There was a booster seat and pack-n-play. The kid's room was great with the trundle bed and books/toys. (My kiddo loved the "secret bed.") All of the bedrooms and bathrooms were clean. There were plenty of towels/extra pillows. The pool towels were huge and soft!

The lanai area was very comfortable and the baby gate around the pool made us feel very safe with two children. It did cut down on the space on the lanai but was worth it for the added security. (It is removable.) As per a previous review, the chairs are peeling a bit because people probably lay their salt-water swimsuits on the chairs. Perhaps consider a drying rack or hooks? It did not change our opinion of the house, though. The pool is heated and it has a solar cover which we put on each night since it was in the low 60s at night. The pool itself was clean and the pool maintenance company came during our stay and was not intrusive.

Unfortunately we didn't get to use the kayaks or bicycles (though the tires are now inflated and there is a new pump in response to a previous review.) Though we kayak a lot at home, the kayaks seemed hard to put in from the dock area so we didn't attempt it especially knowing alligators are just around the bend! And we ran out of time to bike. We took the Banana Bay Homes and Harbor boat tour which leaves right from the Rum Runners dock (it runs 2:30 - 4 on Sundays and Fridays and Captain JR is great) and had a great dinner there.

Thank you, Tammy, for being flexible with our check-in/check-out time and for answering all of our questions in a timely manner! Great time!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you first of all for choosing to stay at Journey's Rest and so glad you were able to have some nice family time away and enjoyed the gift basket! We added a couple of area carpets last year in response to renter suggestions to cut down the noise. Thank you also for the comments about he patio furniture. We will be addressing this in May when we come down. I do have a drying rack available that I put on the lanaii.... guess I will need to make people aware of that. I have kayaked in the canal a few times but prefer taking the kayak to other places. We do have the soft foam kayak roof top carriers for cares with straps as well and the little one fits in the back of my car! I hope another time you can use them to do one of my favorite things down there.... kayak in the mangroves with my camera in hand! Glad you also enjoyed our favorite restaurant Rum Runners! Thank you again for staying at Journey's Rest, for your thoughts and comments and hope to have you again! ** Just wanted to update... as of July 2016 when we were at the house we did take some time to paint the lanai furniture so that it had a better appearance!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved our stay

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great vacation. The house and pool were great. Thank you to Sylvia for pointing out places to visit in the area.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you could enjoy your time away at Journey's Rest! Keep us in mind if you'll be down in this neck of the woods again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
buffalo, ny

Nice but not exceptional

  • 3 of 5

House was nice but on a very busy street which we had not expected. After letting the owner and manager know prior to our arrival that we would be entering the house late in the evening the alarm was not turned off so as we entered it was on and going off. After getting the code to deactivate it the police arrived. All and all it turned out ok. The house had evrytjing you could need for a week. The pool very nice and warm. The patio furniture outside was rusted and peeling. The master shower was large but looked like it could use an overhaul and updating. The grout was black and un appealing. The master bed was quiet uncomfortable for my liking. The bed was very hard. The bikes in the garage really were not that great with the tires all deflated. The hand pump left was broken and unusable. We have rented at least 20 houses in the past few years and I feel this was just an average one.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry for the let down in some of your experiences with our home. I truly apologize about the security system not being turned off prior to your arrival and tried to contact you when I was made aware. It was the first and hopefully last time that has ever happened! I was shocked that it happened and I am sure it was quite unsettling for you as well. Although we have had good communication, the communication regarding arrival times has been stepped up to prevent this from happening again. Thank you for the comments regarding the patio furniture, master bedroom/bath as we will be addressing these things when are there in May. There is also a new tire pump since your stay but I am sorry this was an inconvenience for you. I have asked others in Florida about the tires not keeping the air and from I have been told it is a problem due to the heat in garages that do not have air conditioning. We don't have that problem here in Upstate NY!! I am glad that all in all you were able to have a nice time with your family and enjoy the house, pool, and area. Again, I deeply apologize for the security.... that was a very unexpected event for which I am very sorry.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Fort Myers International airport (RSW)
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Palmetto Pines Country Club
Nearest Motorway
11 Miles
I 75
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Cape Coral Beach
Car: necessary

Pine Island within 15 minutes and Sanibel Island within 30 minutes. Salt water and fresh water fishing. Eco park with kayaking and biking. Everglades within 45 minutes. Fort Myers within 30 minutes. Lots of great restaurants and sunsets to see!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Pelican, Florida South Central Gulf Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
High season
22 Nov 2016 - 30 Apr 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Low season
1 May 2017 - 9 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
High Season
10 Dec 2017 - 30 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £47
Cleaning fee £119 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties