HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Hacienda de Pasadena/Amazing Location with Incredible Reviews

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,475 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom House With Pool/Spa, 15 Minutes From The Rose Bowl

This romantic, Spanish get-away is situated near the foothills of Pasadena, 15 minutes from the famous Rose Bowl, Rose Parade, Rose Parade float viewing area and Old Town Pasadena.

Built in 1931, this 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom home has been renovated to feature modern amenities without losing its old world charm. This truly is your own private resort with a completely private backyard. The master bathroom has just be renovated to the highest level of design. You truly won't want to leave this Hacienda! The reviews tell it all.

For the coffee lovers there is a Keurig coffee maker. Prefer a latte or a mocha? We also have a Nepresso expresso machine with an frother.

For the chefs, there is a double oven, All-Clad cooking set, and anything else you would need to cook a wonderful meal. You are welcome to any of our spices that you may have forgotten to pick up at the store. Our kitchen has everything you will need. Want to BBQ? Well you're at the home. There's an outdoor built in BBQ hooked up to a gas line so you will never need to worry about your gas tank running low. The gas BBQ is the top of the line BBQ from BBQ'S Galore.

For the people who like to just simply pick up a book or drink a glass of wine with a loved one your hardest decision will be choosing the space. There are so many wonderful spaces to choose....sitting area by the outside fireplace, lounge chairs by the pool, dining table by the pool, dinning table in the courtyard, outside living room in the courtyard with a brand new gas fire pit that will keep you nice and warm in the cooler evenings or a cozy seat in the living room.

For those who love to hike, you are in the perfect spot. There are amazing hiking spots about a half mile north from the house.

For those who love a great nights sleep, the house has the top of the line Tempur-Pedic king size mattress in the master bedroom, top of the line traditional coil queen mattress in bedroom 2 and bedroom 3 also has a brand new heavenly bed mattress which is also a queen. The master bedroom also has an adjustable base perfect to watch a movie. All three beds have top quality bedding with down comforters, duvets and down pillows. You really won't want to get out of bed.

For those who love resort style living this is the perfect house. You'll have your own private resort complete with an outdoor fireplace, spa, pool, outside shower and bistro lights that makes you feel you're visiting a villa in France! Perfect for a romantic getaway or spending times with friends and family.

For the sight seeing adventurous traveler you'll love visiting all the exciting places In LA and Orange County you're at the perfect location. Think of this house as being in the middle of an equilateral triangle. You're at the epicenter of excitement! Yet nestled in a quiet neighborhood when you're done with the hustle and bustle of the city.

And lastly, for the food lovers, there is no other place than Pasadena. There are so many choices in restaurants you'll have a hard time deciding. There will be a book of recommendations that are my very favorites, however there's still so many I've yet to visit myself! You'll have access to the the local insider info on the "off the beaten path" places to go!

My goal is that you and your family have the most memorable vacation of all time. It really is a special place and you won't regret your stay at the Hacienda de Pasadena where there is something for everyone!

Interior amenities:

• 42' Flat screen HDTV with DirecTV in Living Room + flat screen TV in Master Bedroom with DVD player (no satellite connection)

• 5.1 Surround Sound in Living Room

• Wi-Fi/High speed internet

• Central AC/Heat

• Wood floors, arched doorways and coved ceilings

• Wii video game console plus toys for a boy 3-6 years of age

• Fully equipped kitchen with microwave, toaster, double oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, dishware, silverware, utensils

• Washer and Dryer

Exterior Amenites

• Heated in-ground pool with attached spa

• Outdoor shower (hot & cold water)

• Outdoor fireplace (gas)

• Covered seating area by the pool

• Additional seating area closer to the house

• Water fountain

• Outdoor dining table that seats 6

• BBQ (gas)

• Parking for up to 4 cars in the driveway, plus additional parking on the street

Distances to:

Huntington Hospital - 8 minutes

Caltech - 10 minutes

Old Town Pasadena - 10 minutes

Huntington Library/Gardens - 12 minutes

Rose Bowl - 15 minutes

JPL - 15 minutes

Downtown Los Angeles - 25 minutes

Universal Studios - 25 minutes

Hollywood - 25 minutes

USC Campus - 30 minutes

LAX Airport - 45 minutes

Disneyland/Knotts Berry Farm - 45 minutes

More Details

Owner
Kristin Cook
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2018

Why Kristin Cook chose Altadena

This property has all the comforts of your own home. The kitchen is a fully stocked kitchen with access to anything you would possibly need for a great dinner party. Please ready the description to all the details of this home.

What makes this house unique

Outdoor fireplace

Outdoor shower

Newly remodeled master bath

Fully stocked kitchen

Temper-Pedic mattresses

Adjustable base for the master king bed

Bistro lights

Pool

Spa

Walking distance to a cute market

Walking distance to several restaurants and a Starbucks like coffee place.... so cute!

Plenty of overnight parking on the street

Quiet neighborhood

Top of the line furniture and bedding

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Altadena in Los Angeles County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1475 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Max. adults: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • Parties There are absolutely no parties unless you have cleared a little "family get together or bridal or baby shower" with me ahead of time.
  • STRICT NOISE CURFEW 10:00pm
  • Failure to abide by these house rules with cause you to forfeit your refundable deposit.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Amazing shower with dual shower heads.
  • Tub and Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , A dreamy bed!
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , You won't want to get out of bed!
    Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Top of the line Temper-Pedic mattress and adjustable base.
    Twin aerobed - This aerobed fits nicely if you've got an extra ninth person
    Living Room/ queen sofa bed - Queen sofa bed
  • Master Bedroom includes a flat screen TV with Roku box and the highest quality of bedding. French doors open up to a beautiful courtyard with amazing bistro lights that glimmer in the evening time.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • Racquetball
  • Rock Climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
High end mattresses and bedding will absolutely make your stay that much greater.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(56 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Hacienda de Pasadena/Amazing Location with Incredible Reviews
average rating of 4.892857 based on 56 reviews
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We did a week family get-together with my in-laws and my kids, so there were 7 people in this house. The pool and spa were great, and the house was cozy to hang in all night (we watched winter Olympics every night to wind down). Plenty of little places within walking distance. Kristin was great to respond when we had a couple questions about stuff when we got there. Would definitely stay here again. Wonderful outdoor space, enjoyed all of it!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, you never want to leave!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful decorated charming home, well stocked, wonderful hosts, amazing patio and pool! Love all the outdoor seating areas and fire place and fire pit. Can’t wait to come back.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful California Bungalow

  • 4 of 5

Overall, great experience. However, disappointed that the hot water knob did not work on the faucet in the hall bathroom. Also, would love to have known ahead a time that the cost to heat the pool was an additional $50 a day fee. Truly enjoyed sitting outside around the fire pit. Again, overall great experience.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Megan, Thank you for your review. I’m glad I was able to have it fixed during your stay. Oh dear, I'm sorry you didn't see the additional fee to heat the pool on my site. It's pretty standard in the industry to charge for heating of the pool. It's very costly. However, the heating of the spa is included in the cost of the home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable and convenient

  • 5 of 5

Rented this home with family for 5 nights during the Rose Parade events. We thoroughly enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor spaces, including the fireplace, hot tub and barbecue. The location was convenient to everything we had planned and the neighborhood is very quiet. Photos accurately portray the home. We are glad we chose this property over staying in hotel rooms! The owner, Kris, is very kind and contacted me to ensure everything was OK when we arrived.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
5

This place feels like a home not just a rental. The perfect find.

  • 5 of 5

We loved this beautiful home in Altadena. The rooms were furnished so invitingly and the beds were so cozy we slept soundly every night. We relished the fireplace out by the pool and spent much time there and on the porch. The charming neighborhood setting, quiet and close to everything, was a bonus. It was the perfect find! We would definitely rent here again!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Leawood , Kansas
2

Almost Perfect.

  • 2 of 5

Our adult children and I enjoyed this beautiful home during a family birthday weekend.

The home is perfect and the outdoor living is a retreat.

The owner is helpful.

I will say that the weekend was perfect even despite losing our deposit due to being loud after 10:00 on a Friday night. Absolutely our fault. However, the neighbors behavior is a little to be desired.

The neighbors yelled at us over the wall to shut up at 11:00 , although they told the owners they came over and asked us to keep it down at 12:15.

We give the house a 10.

But the neighbors cause this house to be a 5.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I feel I must respond; your insinuation that my neighbor is the problem is just not valid. My neighbor is a well respected surgeon who had an early morning surgery to perform the next morning and needed his sleep. Our backyard is very inviting and is what our guests enjoy the most about our home. This wasn't merely a quiet conversation out by the fireplace enjoying a glass of wine. My neighbors are very understanding and absolutely know that guests can lose track of time and conversations continue past the noise curfew. And in this case there have been gentle reminders without any lose of the deposit. In your case it was a spirited game of JENGA hovering over the midnight hour. You even stated to me that you all got carried away. Our home is not a party house. I do feel it's unfair of you to rate our home 2 out of 5 stars when you admittedly breached our contract. I bent over backward to make sure your stay was enjoyable i.e. holding the reservation even though payment had not been received, accepting both of your payments late, arranging for an earlier check-in time (which is not easy to do) and setting aside time 3 months prior to your arrival to look at our home. We live in a great neighborhood and it's a priority that our neighbors are respected. 99.9% of our guests have respected our noise curfew. We have never received a 2 out of 5 on a review and hope our 50 reviews tells the story of how "perfect" our home really is. Kris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Burbank Airport
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Altadena Golf Course
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Metro Link Gold Line at Lake Ave.
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
210
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
El Patron
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Mt. Baldy
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Santa Monica Beach
Car: necessary

Centrally located, all Southern California landmarks, theme parks, beaches etc. are within (at most) a one hour drive from our residence.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £185.65
Damage Deposit £371.3

Firewood, candles and a crisp bottle of wine await your arrival.
During holiday season there is a 4 night minimum.

There is an ADDITIONAL FEE for heating the pool. Heating the spa is free of charge. The fees are different depending on the time of the year. Please inquire what those fees will be. If the pool is heated and you have not paid for that fee the cost will come out of your deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals