HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Awesome Park Views. Modern Log Cabin Nestled In The Woods 1-mile Off Parks Hwy.

Bedrooms 1
Space 640 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath-2 Story (640 Sq Ft) Newly Remodel Log Cabin. Views & Wildlife

Our yard is literally millions of acres of pristine wilderness. We are the last power pole in our tiny neighborhood. Our driveway is off a gravel road and the tundra comes up to our door which attracts lots of Moose, Fox, Caribou, Lynx, Snowshoe Hares & last year we saw our first Wolf in the yard.

We have great wildflowers in the yard in June & July and you can pick blueberries right out our front door in August & September. The views of Mt. Healy & the Northern Alaska Range are spectacular.

You stay at The Denali Park View Cabin for the sense of truly being in the Alaska Wilderness, yet you are only 1-mile off The Parks Hwy, with all the creature comforts of a modern cabin.

Our log cabin has recently been completely updated with new furniture and appliances. Upstairs has a brand new kitchen, dining table and wood floors. The views from the sofa are SPECTACULAR. The brand new sofa doubles as a queen bed and as of July 2016 we purchased a 2" memory foam mattress for added comfort.

Downstairs has a newly remodeled modern bathroom with a great shower and a brand new King Size Pillow top bed.

There is a roll-away bed downstairs if you have a 5th person.

The cabin has Direct TV in the upstairs living area with a new HDTV and high speed wireless internet throughout the house. AT&T 4g network provides a strong signal.

The cabin has central heat and all the windows open and have screens.

Other amenities include: an outdoor deck and BBQ.

It's a 10 minute walk to Otto lake which has a playground, fishing and swimming. You can rent a boat or bicycle from Denali Outdoor Center. They also offer White Water Rafting.

Black Diamond resort is also a 10 minute walk. They have a great restaurant along with a 9 hole golf course & a miniature golf course. They also offer ATV tours and wagon ride dining.

There are miles and miles of walking and biking trails right out our front door.

The truth of the matter is you rent our cabin to be with your family and friends and to have a truly Alaskan Experience with all the creature comforts you'd expect.

There is also a 2300 sq. ft. house on our property that sleeps 12 (VRBO 499428). Our other neighbors are close by but you can't see them because we are nestled in the woods.

We really hope you enjoy our cabin. It's the real Alaskan Experience.


Our calendars are always up to date. You can click the “Book Now” button on the VRBO website and book and pay for your reservation online.

We are located 1-mile off the George Parks Hwy (3), 10-miles North of Denali National Park’s only entrance Road. It will take you 10-15 minutes to drive to the Park.

Our property is a 5 hour drive from Anchorage or a 2 hour drive from Fairbanks.

We have 4 VRBO’s in Denali (VRBO Listing #499428, VRBO Listing #501627, VRBO Listing #786417, and VRBO Listing #786419) and pride ourselves on your group having a fantastic experience at our properties.

Check in 4pm. Check out 11am.

We will email you driving directions and key code for entry 30 days prior to your arrival.

Access to our property is via paved road except for the driveways which are maintained gravel. Use of gravel driveways does not violate your rental car agreement.

We collect 100% payment at time of booking. We will refund 75% if you cancel 90 days prior to your reservation. If you cancel with less than 90 days’ notice we refund 75% for the nights the unit is re-rented to another party.

A $100 Refundable Housekeeping Deposit is required. Wash your dishes, take all your garbage out to the dumpster and clean up after yourselves and you will get your deposit returned within 1 week after departure,

The $50 Cleaning Fee is used to pay the housekeepers. When you arrive and see how clean the cabin is you will appreciate this fee.

We highly recommend you buy your groceries and supplies in Anchorage or Fairbanks. Denali has limited goods and is very expensive. We recommend Fred Meyer, Safeway or Walmart for Groceries.

We provide all linens, towels, hand soap, toilet paper, dish soap, sponges, trash bags & paper towels.

The coffee maker does not need filters and we supply coffee.

Our kitchens are well equipped with everything you need to prepare and serve your meals. We provide paper towels, trash bags, sponges and dish soap.

In the bathroom you will find shampoo, conditioner, bath and hand soap. We provide all linens and towels.

We supply the propane for the outdoor BBQ.

You need to supply your own firewood for the outdoor fire pit. You can by bundles of wood when you buy groceries.

You can drink our water. We do not have recycling. We supply an outdoor dumpster for garbage.

95% of people who come to Denali only ride the bus 1 day. We recommend booking your bus trip well in advance. There is only 1 road so a more expensive bus takes the same route as the least expensive bus. We recommend taking the bus to Eielson Visitor Center. It’s an 8-9 hour day and you see the best part of the park. Most people don’t get off the bus except at rest stops. You can get off and hike around and wait for the next bus. If you have a large group you all may not be able to get on the next bus and there may not be seats together. https://www.nps.gov/dena/planyourvisit/bus-fees-reservations.htm

You can access the 1st 15 miles of Denali National Park’s Road with your rental vehicle and there are marked hiking trails and a visitor center.

It’s important to remember the beauty and wilderness does not end at the park border. We can highly recommend 1 day hiking out of the house, having a picnic and enjoying your family and friends. All our properties are on the park boundary and you have traveled a long way. 1 day enjoying the surroundings does not cost anything and can be quite rewarding (You are as likely to view wildlife from our living room as you are inside the park). You are living in the middle of interior Alaska.

As far as all the other organized activities in our area we recommend you book those upon arrival depending on weather and your group’s desires. Rafting, flight seeing, horseback riding, biking, golf, fishing, ATV, Jeep Tours and much more are all available and all their brochures are displayed in our homes. They are all nearby and most will pick you up at our homes.

You may call or text my (Dave) cell phone anytime 970-729-0101. You can also reach me on my local land line at 907-683-0100. I’m happy to answer any questions or make suggestions. My number 1 priority is to make sure your group enjoys their stay in Denali and at our homes.

More Details

David Coleman
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
26 June, 2017

About David Coleman

We have lived in Denali National Park since 1992. We are world travelers and always use VRBO. We have 4 vacation rentals at the park entrance and can assure you your experience at our properties is our highest priority. We are available to answer any questions you may have about our area. Guests rarely need to contact us with issues while at our properties but I can assure you we are close by to remedy any issues. This house is perfect for spending time with your family & friends. There is plenty of room and has all the creature comforts you want in a vacation rental.

David Coleman purchased this cabin in 2007

Why David Coleman chose Denali

This property is so awesome because it's the last property on the end of the road so your backyard goes on forever. The views of the mountains are some of the best in Alaska and we really see an amazing amount of wildlife, yet we have direct TV, WiFi & are 1 mile from the highway. We truly feel like we're in the Denali Wild living in this fantastic cabin.

What makes this cabin unique

You come to Alaska for the experience. Why stay in Glitter Gultch (The name of the park entrance area) with the masses. Our cabin lets you enjoy your friends and family with all the activities close by. This cabin is perfect for a romantic getaway of for a family of 4 or 5.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Healy in Denali

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 640 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Newly remodled for 2014
  • Large bathroom with a shower.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Brand New King Pillow Top
  • Brand New Pillow Top King Downstairs. The second bed is the sofa couch queen upstairs in the living area. In 2016 we purchased a 2" memory foam mattress for added comfort. There is a roll-away bed for a 5th person in the King Bedroom. Use of the roll-away makes the room pretty tight. We suggest storing the roll-away under the stairs during the daytime and unfolding when ready for bed.
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Sit back and enjoy the view and keep your eyes peeled for wildlife. Be sure to go for a nice long walk on all the trails around our cabin.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

Awesome Park Views. Modern Log Cabin Nestled In The Woods 1-mile Off Parks Hwy.
average rating of 4.48 based on 25 reviews

Spacious living area, convenient location, 10 minutes from park entrance. Owner is very helpful

  • 4 of 5

Family of 4 adults enjoyed the living and sleeping accommodations. Nearby restaurant at the golf course was great for a delicious, reasonably priced dinner. Owner is very helpful.

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salt Lake City

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is perfect for a party of 4. Quiet, on a dirt road. Super-convenient location to the Denali Park. Very clean.

Dave has come up with a workaround for the sleeper-sofa quality that other guests complained about, which makes it suitable for sleeping. (Clearly, the the manufacturer overlooked the fact that some might want to sit or sleep on the sofa).

We enjoyed staying at the cabin and would definitely return back.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. This is such a special cabin. The views of the park never get old. The extra mattress for the sofa bed is so comfy!!!! We fell in love with this cabin because it feels so secluded yet your so close to everything. Thanks, Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable cabin near denali

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this property! As we got close, we were a little concerned about the properties near the road, but were delighted with our "off the beaten path" place to stay. The king bedroom and bathroom are on the main floor and the kitchen/dining/living area was upstairs in the European style. The views from the upstairs were incredible with a full moon! Nice kitchen too!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. It is the perfect location. I wish I would have met you guys but we always respect our guests privacy. We live 5 minutes away and are always available to answer questions or offer advice. Call me cell at 970-729-0101. Thanks, Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice view, comfortable cottage

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was comfortable, and the view very nice. The kitchen was well stocked, the best of the 3 places we stayed at while in Alaska. The memory foam pad for the pull out was a great addition. While at the cottage, we spent most of our time upstairs, enjoying the view.The gravel driveway was a bit rough, and the location is remote. We did not see any paths to hike, nor did we see any wildlife. The cottage was a bit chilly for us upon arrival, so we ran the heater, but there was an unpleasant odor, so we turned it off. honestly, we did not need it. The cottage was clean and when we contacted David with questions he was very responsive. There were 5 people in our group, and it was a bit cramped, but we made the best of it. Thanks for sharing your cottage with us.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are right on the park boundary and there are lots of hiking trails right out of the cabin. We don't pave our driveway because we see so much wildlife. We are 1/4 mile off the paved road and it's no problem for a 2 wheel drive automobile. The heater (Toyo Stove) is new and the carbon monoxide detector reads 0%. The cabin is insulated for Alaska's cold winter so the heater hardly gets used in the summer. If it hasn't run in awhile you get a faint smell upon ignition but it goes away in seconds. Just let the heater run and it heats the whole cabin in 2 minutes. I'm so glad you enjoyed the new topper mattress for the sofa bed. It really is comfy. Thanks again for your stay. Dave, Denise & Carissa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property was isolated and quaint and was just what my family was looking for.

  • 5 of 5

Nice property in an isolated beautiful area. Property included a propane grill (which we used extensively) and everything you need to make your own meals in the small kitchen. Make sure to buy all your groceries in either Wasilla or Anchorage if you intend to cook your own meals as there is very little in the way of grocery stores at this location. The few stores that are available are pricey with not much selection.

When we were at this location our family hiked the many ATV trails that were around the outskirts of Denali and were all within walking distance of the cabin. We picked 1/2 gallon of bog blueberries which we used to make pancakes and snack on. If we were to go to Denali again we would definitely stay at this place again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed you stay. If you need groceries or liquor locally we recommend Great 1 Grocery at the park entrance. The selection is limited but it is the only reasonably priced option in the area. We make sure our kitchen is fully stocked so you have all the utensils necessary to whip a feast. Glad you enjoyed the BBQ Grill. We provide the propane. If anyone ever has questions of needs advice please call me cell at 970-729-0101. Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Love it!

  • 5 of 5

We spent 2 nights in this cabin and loved it! Close enough to play around the Denali area and far enough away to not feel like you were getting run over by the tour buses.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. I love staying in this cabin for how secluded it feels. Yet you are 1 mile from the main highway and 10 minute drive to the park road and visitor center. I feel sorry for all those folks crammed it Glitter Gulch at the park entrance. You guys really did it right. We are so happy to offer the real Alaskan Experience to our guests. Safe Travels Dave 970-729-0101
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
110 Miles
Fairbanks, Alaska
Nearest Barpub
0.03 Miles
Black Diamond
Nearest Golf
0.03 Miles
Black Diamond
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Healy, Alaska
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Parks Hwy, Alaska
Nearest Restaurant
0.03 Miles
Black Diamond
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Otto Lake
Car: necessary

We are 10 miles from Denali National Parks Entrance. We are located on the Park's boundary. It's like living in the Park surrounded by tundra and wildlife yet you have all the creature comforts of a modern home.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Healy, Alaska

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
9 Jun 2017 - 20 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable HK Deposit £77.3
Pet Fee £23.19 + Tax
Cleaning Fee £38.65
Tax Rate 7.0%

Due to high demand and the short tourist season I collect 100% at the time of booking. 90 day or more cancellation is subject to a 25% penalty. If you cancel within 90 days I will refund 75% of your payment for each night that is re-booked. If the house is not re-rented you will lose 100% of your payment. So

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals