Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Folly Cottage, Spacious, Clean, Comfortable with a Pool

Bedrooms 3
Space 850 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms 1 bath with a pool and extra full bath poolside

One of Folly's Best! This cute apartment is located in the downstairs of the owner's private residence. There are separate entrances for each residence. Inside you will find 3 bedrooms and 1 bath. There is a second full bath located in the pool house. This adorable cottage has a pool which is shared only with the couple who owns the home. You read that correctly! There is a shared pool for you to enjoy while vacationing on Folly! A charcoal grill is right by the in ground pool for a relaxing afternoon. The kitchen is well equipped and has all the cookware you need to fix a delicious meal. The master bedroom has a king bed and the other two bedrooms have full size beds. The full bathroom has a shower/tub combination. All six people can dine inside or by the pool! Top quality bed and bath linens are included. There is one private parking space for your use during your stay. The pool is closed from November to April. No early check ins or late check outs are allowed at this property.

All photos are current and accurately depict the property. Please book with confidence. This property is licensed by city of Folly Beach as a vacation rental - License Number 1-18-178374. Because of the potential of fraud, we would not recommend booking a property through Craigslist or a property not licensed by the city of Folly Beach as a vacation rental.

More Details

Property Manager
Folly's Best Rentals
Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
15 July, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Folly Beach in Charleston County

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets not allowed
  • Hair Dryer ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 full bathroom with shower tub combination. There is a second full bathroom located in the pool house.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 3 separate bedrooms all off of the living room, which is located in the center of the apartment
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...


3.3/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

40% Complete
10% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
30% Complete
The Folly Cottage, Spacious, Clean, Comfortable with a Pool
average rating of 3.3 based on 10 reviews

Roaches , rat droppings and mold=partial refund

  • 1 of 5

Melissa Carr will only refund half of our money and Greg Hart has not reached out to me yet, day 4. The property smelled of mold and had damprid water bags in every closet , this property is a basement apartment but is not advertised that way . The boys were trying to kill a palmetto bug and roaches came out from under the furniture. Upon moving the couch to kill the roach we encountered rat droppings. There is mold in the bathroom and a hole in the wall too, Melissa Carr kept almost half of the cost of the trip, part of which covers a cleaning fee! The property obviously was not cleaned before we arrived, or if it had been there is a major rat infestation. The screen out of the door was broken and dead bugs trapped in he door. I have pictures of all of this and Tim Baker who was sent over for maintenance could not apologize enough, he saw everything!

Melissa Carr said she can't refund our money for Friday night because we stayed, however, we did not arrive until after 11:00 due to traffic and once we realized how horrible the property was my husband tried to find us a place, but that was about 1:00 am, we had no choice but to stay.

I am still waiting to hear from the owner Greg Hart about a full refund, surely this is not how he runs a business.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the type of guest that makes people afraid to rent their property. We did give her a partial refund in an effort to satisfy a guest. But her behavior quickly made me regret that decision. Not only is the review she wrote untrue, but she damaged the owner's property, threatened and harassed my staff including one of the staff members 2 year old child. She was belligerent, mean and nasty and we are very happy we got her out of our property with no further issues. After she was out, she spent the weekend bullying anyone and everyone in site. Her behavior got so bad we had to contact the Folly Beach Police. We make every effort to make our guest happy as our other reviews show. However, this was a guest I wish we had never encountered and she is definitely not welcome back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rockville, MD

Location great, reasonable value, basic furnishings

  • 3 of 5

The property location to beach and town is convenient. The pool was great. My kids loved having a pool right outside with clothesline and shower. The outdoor shower/bathroom was not that helpful to us as we preferred indoor one. House itself is ok. Bedding linens very nice (sheets and pillows). Bathroom shows signs of wear (caulking a bit moldy, paint needs touch ups). Vanity very nice. Rug and furniture also a bit used and worn down... good if you don't want to worry your kids may wreck it. Washer and dryer easily available but tricky to start... coffee pot had a hole in the reusable coffee filter. Dishwasher was not the best at cleaning dishes. There is nothing to reuse in kitchen (spices or oil). Make sure you bring your own. Fine supply of pots and pans and glasses etc. owners very nice and friendly with their little poodle dog upstairs. Construction going on in front of the property (deck in top floor) so there were workers walking thru the pool area especially in morning 1 or 2. The pool and location (proximity) to another family's house were my reasons for renting and they did not disappoint. Parking very nice as well. There are no beach chairs, buckets or boogie boards available to borrow as with other rentals so bring your own.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Like house and pool is bonus

  • 5 of 5

Lots to do. Fun little island. Close to restaurants and shopping

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect vacation

  • 4 of 5

We had a great week at the cottage. Everything about the stay was just what we hoped for. The pool right outside our front door made the week for us. It was a short walk to the beach as well. Having s yard to come out to relax was amazing ..... And we got to use our hammock which made for perfect nights under the stars. The extra bathroom outdoors In the pool house was very handy. Every now and then we could hear walking upstairs.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

My fiancé and I have two baby girls and this was our very first family vacation. We could've got a room at the hotel on the beach but I'm all for the experience and I am extremely happy with our choice to stay at the Folly Cottage! It was clean, comfortable, peaceful and we had a pool all to ourselves. We were so close to everything we didn't need to move our car. The owners of the house do live right upstairs, but they are hardly ever home and when they are, you won't even notice. We ran into Mr. Owner twice and he was the sweetest person he introduced himself and shared the history of the house with us which added a little sugar on top of our stay. It a wonderful beach, the locals are great, it's beautiful, and we wil be staying again!

  • Review Submitted: 30-May-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

go with this rental co. if you like smell of mildew in morning

  • 1 of 5

Apparently rental management company had neglected this downstairs apartment before our stay. Had problems, reported them promptly. Maintenance man responded while we were away. He apparently stepped over the squashed roaches in entryway / kitchen. Strong mildew smell originated in kitchen, spread throughout rental. Drain for shower/bathtub combination backed up immediately. Water up to the ankles with debris, soap scum, hair from prior occupants floating in it.

We were told that no one rental company could smell the mildew, that the drain had been repaired. No one commented on the roaches. Could NOT get any acceptable help. Problems continued. Shower drainage unchanged. Left a day early, requested a refund for the one night, were refused and were told that rental company could not understand nature of our complaints.

  • Review Submitted: 27-May-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize you seem to have such a terrible time. I am not sue what we could have done to make you happy. I only wish you had excepted our offer to move to another property or to depart early and receive a refund when everything else we tried could not make you happy. To reject those offers and stay your full booked time and then send a horrible review seems a bit unfair. Especially since the guest that checked in the day you checked out a 5 star review. It is unfortunate that some people focus on being angry and unhappy in life. It is my hope people look at all the reviews before making a decision and not let one bad apple spoil their fun.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1


The adorable apartment is located 20 minutes from Downtown Charleston and less than a 5 minute walk to the beach and downtown Folly Beach, plus it has a POOL


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question


  • Varies
  • USD
  • Cleaning fee, linen fee, and taxes are additional
  • Damage Waiver Required
  • Prices are subject to change without notice and can only be confirmed by booking
  • All guest under 25 must be accompanied by a parent or approved guardian
  • Please Note Maximum Occupancy
  • Please call our office for Monthly Quotes