HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Private Logcabin All To Yourself With Lake View

People7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
chateau / country house
People
7
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday chateau / country house in Hermann - The Drewarosa B & B

Peace & Quiet, Nature, Wine Country, All To Yourselves At The Drewarosa B & B

This one of a kind log cabin property is located in the heart of wine country, 12 miles south of historic Hermann Mo. just off highway 19 in the town of Swiss. You get the whole cabin to yourself and it is very private. This two bedroom one bathroom log cabin is nestled on 35 acres of woods and ponds. The view from the front porch is breathtaking overlooking the three acre lake and rolling hills. This cabin was built from trees on the property. Inside you will find a large stone fireplace, large rooms, custom cabinets, hardwood flooring, and much more. The bedrooms are up in the loft, which overlooks the family room and fireplace. The lake is stocked for great fishing and there is an abundance of wildlife. Whether you are seeking a quiet retreat, a romantic getaway, or just want to rest after a day of antiquing and wine tasting, you will find what you are looking for at The Drewarosa

B & B.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Diana 'dean' Hittler & Drew Hittler
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
2 December, 2016
Call Owner

About Diana 'dean' Hittler & Drew Hittler

We loved the log cabin and enjoyed getting away from the city to unwind and enjoy the outdoors.We use to stay here until we decided to share it with others.It is family owned and operated.

Diana 'dean' Hittler & Drew Hittler purchased this chateau / country house in 1995

Why Diana 'dean' Hittler & Drew Hittler chose Missouri

The property is close enough to St. Louis, Columbia, Kansas City to spend a weekend without spending a lot of time traveling. When you arrive, it is like a different world. Peace and quite, nature, lake views, privacy beautiful views and much more. It's the perfect getaway to relax and recharge.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

The Drewarosa B & B was built from hand chosen trees from the property. Nestled in the middle of the woods with a breathtaking stocked lake right in the front yard.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

Private Logcabin All To Yourself With Lake View
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 33 reviews
5

Peaceful escape

  • 5 of 5

We could not have been happier with the beautiful surroundings and cozy cabin. Truly a relaxing, delightful trip. We will return!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Cabin!

  • 5 of 5

It was perfect in every way possible. Very secluded, and the cabin itself is cozy and well taken care of. Sat by the fire pit every night, and had coffee by the pond every morning. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay when you want to get away from it all.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect Getaway!

  • 4 of 5

We absolutely loved this cabin! It was perfectly secluded and just what we were looking for. We will be back for sure!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely cabin to celebrate our anniversary! We walked the trails and found a "hidden" beautiful pond. Secluded and a great place to get away from it all.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Throughly enjoyed our stay!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was wonderful! The cabin and all the decor was right out of a magazine. Picture perfect! I would love to come again when I can afford it. Price was more expensive than what we usually pay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Des Moines, IA
1

Not impressed

  • 1 of 5

The road going into the property was very, very rough so you will need at least a high SUV to get back to the property. The cabin and property around needed a little TLC. When we got inside the cabin, it smelled of old and musty so we had to go to town and get some spray, then the lights were extremely dim in the kitchen making it hard to cook in and they did not have a cookie sheet to bake a pizza. The bathroom was so small and my husband and I barely fit inside the tub/shower without hitting our head on the log beam above and the shower curtain smelled like it had not been cleaned. The beds were very uncomfortable so I slept on the couch. The TV needs to be updated, not a very good picture for

watching movies. Outside we found that we could not use the grill-it was rusty and almost falling apart. The campfire ring was okay but you

could not sit on the chairs due to them being moldy and rusty so we had to put our beach towels on them to enjoy the fire. The stocked pond which we were looking forward too catching fish was not stocked at all. We caught 2 small fish and even went out in the dingy boat if you can call it a boat to try to fish and went through every lure and worms and still nothing so that was very disappointing. We left a day early because we all were miserable so No, I would not recommend this cabin.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We will try to respond to your comments the best we can. The road was grooved out and very bumpy due to the heavy rain right around your stay. I believe we received 3 inches of rain in a short time to cause this run off. It has since been re-graded and is smooth. We drive a Prius and small SUV year round and have always been able to get in and out, including the weekend you mentioned. The musty smell was probably due to the rain and damp conditions outside, however, we wish we could have had the chance to correct this for you during your stay. We try to take inventory in-between stays but the cookie sheet must have been missing. We will replace it immediately. We have not had complaints about the beds before, but will see what can be done to improve them. We did notice the lines in the TV mentioned and will be replacing the TV this fall. We will look at the camp fire chairs, however, they are outside chairs for around the fire so we provided them instead of guests sitting on logs. The stocked pond is stocked with fish. I caught nice size bass and bluegill in Sept. All the rain and water flow into the lake prior to your stay, makes fishing very difficult. Unfortunately, that was bad timing. We are more than willing to try to correct any perceived shortcomings during people’s stay when notified; please note that this review was posted over two weeks after the stay and no complaints were reported during. We understand that a log cabin is not for everyone, but the Hermann area has a lot of variety in way of lodging. We hope you can find something more to your liking in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Lambert International Airport St. Louis
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Silver Dollar Pub (Swiss, MO)
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Loutr Shore Country Club
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Hermann, MO
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Silver Dollar Pub (Swiss, MO)

Located is the town of Swiss, MO just 12 miles South of Hermann, MO.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chateau / country house in Hermann, Missouri

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
31 Dec 2016 - 28 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£256
for 2 nights
From
£128
From
£149
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
1 Mar 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£256
for 2 nights
From
£128
From
£153
Fri,Sat,Sun
£767
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
1 May 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£256
for 2 nights
From
£128
From
£162
Fri,Sat,Sun
£852
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Octoberfest
1 Sep 2017 - 27 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£298
for 2 nights
From
£149
From
£192
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,006
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£162
for 1 night
From
£162
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £47
Tax Rate 8.1%

Holidays will be priced the same as the weekend price for that season.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Hermann, USA

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Main floor bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Loft bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , All bedding included.
    Loft Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Main Floor Bed - 1 Large Double Bed
    Main Floor - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
Notes:
NO ATV's, off road vehicles (4 wheeling), or dirt bikes allowed on the property. Catch and Release fishing for Bass & Catfish but keep all the bluegill you want.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties