HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Private Logcabin All To Yourself With Lake View

29 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


chateau / country house
Minimum Stay
1 - 2 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday chateau / country house in Hermann - The Drewarosa B & B

Peace & Quiet, Nature, Wine Country, All To Yourselves At The Drewarosa B & B

This one of a kind log cabin property is located in the heart of wine country, 12 miles south of historic Hermann Mo. just off highway 19 in the town of Swiss. You get the whole cabin to yourself and it is very private. This two bedroom one bathroom log cabin is nestled on 35 acres of woods and ponds. The view from the front porch is breathtaking overlooking the three acre lake and rolling hills. This cabin was built from trees on the property. Inside you will find a large stone fireplace, large rooms, custom cabinets, hardwood flooring, and much more. The bedrooms are up in the loft, which overlooks the family room and fireplace. The lake is stocked for great fishing and there is an abundance of wildlife. Whether you are seeking a quiet retreat, a romantic getaway, or just want to rest after a day of antiquing and wine tasting, you will find what you are looking for at The Drewarosa

B & B.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Diana 'dean' Hittler & Drew Hittler
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Diana 'dean' Hittler & Drew Hittler

We loved the log cabin and enjoyed getting away from the city to unwind and enjoy the outdoors.We use to stay here until we decided to share it with others.It is family owned and operated.

Diana 'dean' Hittler & Drew Hittler purchased this chateau / country house in 1995

Why Diana 'dean' Hittler & Drew Hittler chose Missouri

The property is close enough to St. Louis, Columbia, Kansas City to spend a weekend without spending a lot of time traveling. When you arrive, it is like a different world. Peace and quite, nature, lake views, privacy beautiful views and much more. It's the perfect getaway to relax and recharge.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

The Drewarosa B & B was built from hand chosen trees from the property. Nestled in the middle of the woods with a breathtaking stocked lake right in the front yard.


based on 29 holidaymaker reviews

Private Logcabin All To Yourself With Lake View
average rating of 4.6551723 based on 29 reviews

Throughly enjoyed our stay!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was wonderful! The cabin and all the decor was right out of a magazine. Picture perfect! I would love to come again when I can afford it. Price was more expensive than what we usually pay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Des Moines, IA

Not impressed

  • 1 of 5

The road going into the property was very, very rough so you will need at least a high SUV to get back to the property. The cabin and property around needed a little TLC. When we got inside the cabin, it smelled of old and musty so we had to go to town and get some spray, then the lights were extremely dim in the kitchen making it hard to cook in and they did not have a cookie sheet to bake a pizza. The bathroom was so small and my husband and I barely fit inside the tub/shower without hitting our head on the log beam above and the shower curtain smelled like it had not been cleaned. The beds were very uncomfortable so I slept on the couch. The TV needs to be updated, not a very good picture for

watching movies. Outside we found that we could not use the grill-it was rusty and almost falling apart. The campfire ring was okay but you

could not sit on the chairs due to them being moldy and rusty so we had to put our beach towels on them to enjoy the fire. The stocked pond which we were looking forward too catching fish was not stocked at all. We caught 2 small fish and even went out in the dingy boat if you can call it a boat to try to fish and went through every lure and worms and still nothing so that was very disappointing. We left a day early because we all were miserable so No, I would not recommend this cabin.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We will try to respond to your comments the best we can. The road was grooved out and very bumpy due to the heavy rain right around your stay. I believe we received 3 inches of rain in a short time to cause this run off. It has since been re-graded and is smooth. We drive a Prius and small SUV year round and have always been able to get in and out, including the weekend you mentioned. The musty smell was probably due to the rain and damp conditions outside, however, we wish we could have had the chance to correct this for you during your stay. We try to take inventory in-between stays but the cookie sheet must have been missing. We will replace it immediately. We have not had complaints about the beds before, but will see what can be done to improve them. We did notice the lines in the TV mentioned and will be replacing the TV this fall. We will look at the camp fire chairs, however, they are outside chairs for around the fire so we provided them instead of guests sitting on logs. The stocked pond is stocked with fish. I caught nice size bass and bluegill in Sept. All the rain and water flow into the lake prior to your stay, makes fishing very difficult. Unfortunately, that was bad timing. We are more than willing to try to correct any perceived shortcomings during people’s stay when notified; please note that this review was posted over two weeks after the stay and no complaints were reported during. We understand that a log cabin is not for everyone, but the Hermann area has a lot of variety in way of lodging. We hope you can find something more to your liking in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Couldn't have asked for better!

  • 5 of 5

My group loved our time at this adorable little cabin and property. Every kitchen necessity was provided which made cooking easy! The trails and dock on the pond were very relaxing. So glad we found it!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful, private and very clean!

  • 5 of 5

This place is a hidden treasure! It is apparent that the owners have put not only sweat into building this cabin but love as well! It was everything that was advertised AND more! We WILL be back!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Magical and relaxing!!

  • 5 of 5

This little gem is tucked away in a magical place. My family enjoyed our stay more than any vacation before. The kids had so much fun fishing and all the fish stories told on the front porch were icing on the cake. The front porch a cup of morning coffee can't be beat. I recommend this sweet little place to everyone who just wants to slow down, disconnect from technology and truly relax!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Escape

  • 5 of 5

We took our 5 and 1 yr old boys and spent a nice relaxing weekend at the cabin. It's very secluded, quiet, shaded and clean. So clean we took our shoes off most of the time. The setting is great and the cabin has everything you need. It's only 20min from Hermann if you want to go shopping our out to eat.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Lambert International Airport St. Louis
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Silver Dollar Pub (Swiss, MO)
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Loutr Shore Country Club
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Hermann, MO
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Silver Dollar Pub (Swiss, MO)

Located is the town of Swiss, MO just 12 miles South of Hermann, MO.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chateau / country house in Hermann, Missouri

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
1 Sep 2016 - 21 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £48
Tax Rate 8.1%

Holidays will be priced the same as the weekend price for that season.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Hermann, USA

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Main floor bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Loft bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , All bedding included.
    Loft Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Main Floor Bed - 1 Large Double Bed
    Main Floor - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Boat
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
NO ATV's, off road vehicles (4 wheeling), or dirt bikes allowed on the property. Catch and Release fishing for Bass & Catfish but keep all the bluegill you want.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties