HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

GREAT Location-5 Min. Walk to Seaside & Less Than 5 Min. Bike RIde to the Beach!

Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights


Minimum Stay
3 - 6 nights

About the property

Luxury Cottage, WaterColor Phase 1, Lake District, 4 Bedrooms + 4 Baths

A simple, elegant beach styled cottage with 3 Deluxe sized bedrooms and one bunk room. The second floor opens up beautifully with a spacious second floor that has a wood grained dining table and a large seating area with two sleeper couches and a new 50' 2014 HD plasma. The open aired kitchen is complete with Viking appliances, granite countertops, and a copper sink.

The second floor is perfect for your afternoon rest time or large families that are reconnecting at the beach. The large porch on the second floor has a new electric grill and seating for everyone.

When it comes to WaterColor, LOCATION is of significant importance. You do not want to be in the back with a 15-20 minute walk to the beach. 800 Western Lake is in great location being next to the tennis court, WaterColor shopping center and Beach!

More Details

Property Manager
William Jobe
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 January, 2017


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

GREAT Location-5 Min. Walk to Seaside & Less Than 5 Min. Bike RIde to the Beach!
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews

Five stars for location and exceptional customer service!

  • 5 of 5

Great location! Can't beat walking distance to Seaside and Watercolor town centers. Lots to do. Plenty of shops and restaurants. Short walk to tennis courts and 2 pools.

House was spacious. We had 9 people and never felt cramped. Management was responsive and more than accommodating. Thank you William and Parker for your hospitality!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

COCKROACHES and raccoons in house, don't stay!

  • 1 of 5

We arrived late on a Saturday afternoon and saw a giant cockroach crawl out of a crack on kitchen wall on Sunday, crawl across the counter and over our food and back into the crack before we could kill it. We notified the property management right away to see if there was a bug issue in the past etc.They told us the house had been sprayed, that there should be no live bugs and that there were a lot of bugs in Florida this time of year but to notify them if we saw more. My son told me he saw another one the next day but he is 2 and no one else saw it so we ignored that one. On Wednesday, I saw another giant cockroach from my bedroom crawling up the stairway wall. My husband had to move the couch, find it, kill it etc with a toddler screaming the whole time. We again notified the management. Someone was sent out to spray for bugs the day before we left which didn't do us much good. The property manager told the company that came out to spray that the company they had previously hired obviously didn't do a very good job and that they would probably use this company in the future because there should not be live bugs crawling around.

One of our guests woke up at 2:00 am to find a cockroach crawling across her IN BED. We notified property management at 2am when that happened as well because baby and toddler and everyone in house was woken up again.

The response that we consistently got regarding the cockroaches was that it was FL and they were prevalent this time of year. We have stayed in this same area in Florida for the last 10 years in different properties and have never seen a cockroach. Perhaps those properties were sprayed more frequently or better but I don't think dealing with any amount of cockroaches in a house you are paying alot for is acceptable.

On top of the bug issue, there was a creature living under the stairs and in the walls. It would make loud scratching noises clawing at the door to get out. They said they could get someone out the day before we left but at that point we didn't want the door being opened, the creature getting out, or people trying to corral the creature or investigate during our vacation. When we left at 3am there were about 6 raccoons including babies on the front porch crawling back under deck.

We were offered a 300.00 refund if we did not post a negative review. After paying alot to stay there, we felt that notifying others of our experience was more important than a 300.00 refund.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: At VR30A, we do our best to ensure that each guest has a positive experience. We believe that our past reviews serve as an adequate reflection of our commitment to this task. Rarely and unfortunately, however, instances such as this arise that force us to use our best judgment in responding to a matter. We want to preface this by again offering our most sincere apologies to your family for the seemingly unpleasant experience that you had during your stay. However, after examining the facts surrounding your stay, it is our position that we acted in a fair, rational, and reasonable manner in dealing with the situation: The first notification that we received was on a Monday night at around 9:30 that there was a roach sighting. This is a very common occurrence in North Florida and one that must constantly be addressed. As soon as we received the call, we sent our employees to the property and made sure that an exterminator was there the next morning. He, too, explained the prevalence of roaches in our area, particularly after long spells of rainfall. Additionally, we promptly called and hired a rodent and pest removal company to come examine the property, only to find nonexistent traces or tracks of any variety of pests. Upon their checkout, our employees scoured the property in search for signs of dead cockroaches, to no avail. If there had been even a mild infestation, our staff would have been able to remove a significant number of corpses throughout the house. Furthermore, we have had additional guests stay with us the immediate week following and never once reported signs of any creatures or pests. The guests claimed to see a total of 2-3 roaches during their week stay, and in return, demanded a 50% discount for the total price that they paid. While we did offer them a partial refund for their inconvenience, their request was simply too extravagant for us to oblige. We were unable to justify this overly excessive fee. Had this been negligence on our part and not an unavoidable byproduct of nature, our reaction would have perhaps been different. However, we can truthfully say that we were both promptly responsive and as helpful as we possibly could have been to get the professionals on site to help remedy the situation. Hopefully our past reviews speak volumes; we have yet to need to address a complaint of this magnitude. 800 Western is a beautiful home and we look forward to hosting many more family gatherings in the future! Team VR30A
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Great Family Reunion Home, Wonderful location, Clean, Clean, Clean

  • 5 of 5

We have been coming to the Destin area for over 40 years and to Watercolor/Seaside area for nearly 25 years. We had a delightful time at 800 Western with family coming in from all over the USA. The accommodations are delightful with the upstairs great room being an awesome gather place. We found the house to be in great shape and very clean and tidy.

The management company was delightful and helped us in many ways. We highly recommend 800 Western Lake!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely home

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful property is exactly as advertised and worked well for our spring break party of seven. We never felt crowded, the main living space is expansive. The location next to the Seaside cut through is convenient for access to all that is offered there, but we generally rode bikes to the Watercolor beach access. We loved being able to bring our little dog, too!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Peachtree City

Family Event

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend this rental! Great location and so easy to walk to shopping and dining. The house was so very comfortable, exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated. Would not hesitate to recommend this rental. William is the best and made everything easy!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Wonderful House!

  • 5 of 5

We had a party of eight, four adults and four teenagers. The bedrooms we the perfect configuration for our group. The house is extremely well made, very high quality. The kitchen had what we needed to cook in a couple of nights. There's a really nice grill on the porch. Loved the high ceilings and roominess of the main floor. Liked having full size washer and dryer as well. William was terrific and took care of anything we needed.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Northwest Florida Beach International Airport
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
98 Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Fish Out of Water
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
WaterColor Beach
Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Watercolor, South Walton

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Winter 2016-2017
12 Nov 2016 - 10 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Spring Break 2017
11 Mar 2017 - 14 Apr 2017
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Spring 2017
15 Apr 2017 - 19 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Summer 2017
20 May 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £223 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £48
Tax Rate 11.0%

*Rates do not Include cleaning and 12% rental taxes

* Holidays are Subject to Premiums of $750. These include 4th of July, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Seaside Half Marathon and Seaside Red Wine Festival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Watercolor in North West Florida

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Queen - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Twin - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Upstairs - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , 3/4 Bath
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Queen Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Twin Bedroom - 2 Single Bed
    Bunkroom - 1 Bunk Bed
  • Also, one sleeper couches on the second floor
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • Kayaking
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot