HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Clean, Cute, Affordable! PRIVATE Hot Tub-WiFi-Great Fire Pit!-Couples Discount!

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Located in the popular High Valley community, 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Double lot!

GREAT CABIN! - Located in the popular High Valley Community, Buttercreek Bungalow has been a popular destination for families and couples for several years. Recently returned to the rental market, our cabin is designed to provide and affordable destination with the comforts of home, enhancing your experience in Packwood and the surrounding recreational areas. Whether you are visiting the recently expanded White Pass Ski Resort, hiking the trails of our national forestry land, fishing, golfing or just relaxing and enjoying a good book, Buttercreek Bungalow will fit your needs.

FAMILY FRIENDLY - Our family friendly cabin has two bedrooms, one bathroom with a double vanity, large laundry room, hot tub and a detached bunk house the kids will love! (Parents will too). The cabin sleeps 4 comfortably (6 using the futon in the living area) and the bunk house will accommodate an additional 4 with two sets of bunk beds. Our cabin is fully furnished and ready for your next get-a-way boasting a fantastic movie selection, HUGE fire pit, great wood burning stove and lots of games for the entire family.

GREAT LOCATION - Buttercreek Bungalow sits on a huge corner lot in High Valley Park #1 with a view of Butter Butte. It is within a short walk to Buttercreek, the Cowlitz River and the High Valley Golf Club. The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful so when it's time to relax and unwind there is no better place. Oh, and we also receive consistent visits from a large herd of elk that reside in Packwood. But no worries, they are friends of the family.

FUN ACTIVITIES FOR ALL - High Valley Golf Community affords guests with a golf course, two heated swimming pools, a kiddie pool and playground. Ski bums and outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate the proximity to White Pass Recreational area on Mt. Rainier, Gifford National Forest, Mt. St, Helens, and the Goat Rocks Wilderness area. Spend your day hiking, biking, golfing, fishing, or skiing then come back and unwind in the hot tub or around a fire in the huge fire pit.

More Details

Owner
Kevin and Carla Olson
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 August, 2017

About Kevin and Carla Olson

We are a happily married couple with two sons residing in Gig Harbor, Washington. We recently became 'empty-nesters' as our youngest just went off to college this fall. Kevin works for Valley Regional Fire Authority and Carla owns a dance studio, Academy of Dance. When not working, we enjoy golf, fitness, music, sports and get-away's to our cabin :)

Kevin and Carla Olson purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Kevin and Carla Olson chose Mount Rainier

We purchased this property to have a year around get-away for our family where we could ski, snowboard, and golf during the day and have a peaceful, relaxing place to spend the evenings. We wanted to purchase a cabin located in the High Valley Community because of it's proximity to White Pass and our access to free golf and two large heated swimming pools. We chose to purchase this cabin because it is set on two lots in a quiet neighborhood.

What makes this cabin unique

We had a great time making improvements and adding our personal touches to the property. We put in two new porches, a hot tub, new carpet and flooring, a new roof, new septic system, painted, and added rustic decor to create a 'cabin-in-the-woods' feel. Our boys loved the bunkhouse, Dad loves the hot tub and Mom loves the rockin' wood stove!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin on Packwood on Lewis County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Double Vanity
  • Lots of storage space
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - Bunk House-Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • playground
  • recreation centre
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(79 traveller reviews)

63% Complete
26% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Clean, Cute, Affordable! PRIVATE Hot Tub-WiFi-Great Fire Pit!-Couples Discount!
average rating of 4.506329 based on 79 reviews
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 of 5

This property was just perfect for my family when we visited the Northwest in early July. There are three of us, including an 18-month old so we stayed in the main house and did not use the back bunks. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the cabin was somewhat toddler friendly, too, which I think anybody with kids knows that's never a given. The price was great and the accommodations were spot-on. And since I was coming off a work trip, having the washer and dryer also was key to extending the life of my suitcase. For our trip, we planned to spend time around Mount Rainier so this wasn't too far at all, and we also were able to work in a day trip to the Nature Preserve, which is about 90 minutes away. Great location, and we really enjoyed the time we spent in Packwood too. Such a cute town, and the ladies in the local grocery store seemed to know everybody's name! The local restaurant Christy's doesn't have much competition, but we still chose to go there three nights in a row because it was decent food at a decent price.

Lastly, it was a real pleasure working with the owners of this property. They made the process easy and were very accessible with whatever questions we had. I definitely would stay here again if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kellie :) Thank you so much for you kind words and great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and your time in Packwood! We would love to have you back anytime. Take care ~Carla and Kevin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Everett
3

Relaxing stay

  • 3 of 5

Our stay was really relaxing. Up until we were woke up at 1:30am due to carbon monoxide alarms battery alert going off. And being there wasn't anything to cause it other than a low battery. Which is alway an unexpected issue. Luckily it was more of a nuisance than it was a dangerous situation, since we didn't have any fires going. At least we were able to get back to sleep.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute cabin.

  • 4 of 5

Very cute cabin. Enough space for me and my three children. The hot tub was amazing after our 12 mile hike in Mt. Rainer.

Unfortunately we arrived during the freak heat wave and had to cut our trip short due to the cabin being too hot. I will say that the owners were overly understanding and did all they could to accommodate the situation.

We hope to return on cooler weather to hit more trails on the Rainer!

Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Faith :) Thank you for reviewing our property. I'm glad you enjoyed the time that you were there. And I'm so sorry that your stay was during our incredibly hot weather. I know you came to escape the heat. The weather here is usually much more enjoyable. :) Take care and come back anytime. ~Carla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great little cabin in the woods

  • 5 of 5

We only stayed overnight but this cabin seemed to have everything you would need. The only disappointment was not being able to (easily anyway) see Mt. Ranier. No biggie. Gorgeous neighborhood. I gotta say, the "no shooting zone" signs are a little unnerving...

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Stephen :) Thank you for your nice review. We would love to have you back to our cabin. Apparently the mountains in the area, at a higher elevation, are popular with hunters so the town has put up signs around the area to make sure the hunters know that hunting is not allowed in town. Though I see how the signs would be unnerving, as you said. Take care ~Carla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hilliard, Ohio
5

Awesome place to stay

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place to stay. With 5 of us on our Griswold Family vacation, we loved all the room and bedrooms. The hot tub was a welcome reward for our sore muscles after hiking all day. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Robert (aka. Mr. Griswold) :) We are so happy you you enjoyed your stay at our cabin. Thank you for sharing your great time. We would love to have you back. ~Carla and Kevin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great cabin for weekend getaway!

  • 4 of 5

This cabin was perfect for our family weekend getaway. Cabin and hot tub were clean. Close enough to town to grab food or coffee. Only negative was that it was a little warm in the cabin, but it was 90 degrees outside so can't complain too much. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Adam, Thank you for your review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry the cabin was not a comfortable temperature for you. There is a portable air conditioning unit in the cabin. I am hoping you used it to help stay cool. Thank you and come back anytime! ~Kevin and Carla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin on Packwood, South Cascade Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer
30 May 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
1 night minimum stay
£145
for 1 night
From
£93
From
£110
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Summer
5 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
1 night minimum stay
£145
for 1 night
From
£93
From
£110
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
1 Oct 2017 - 21 Nov 2017
1 night minimum stay
£128
for 1 night
From
£76
From
£93
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving Weekend
22 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£289
for 2 nights
From
£119
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid-Winter
27 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
1 night minimum stay
£136
for 1 night
From
£85
From
£102
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas/New Years
22 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£408
for 3 nights
From
£119
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Ski Season
2 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
1 night minimum stay
£145
for 1 night
From
£93
From
£110
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
1 Apr 2018 - 23 May 2018
1 night minimum stay
£136
for 1 night
From
£85
From
£102
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day Weekend
24 May 2018 - 29 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£408
for 3 nights
From
£119
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£128
for 1 night
From
£76
From
£93
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £46.79
Additional Guest Fee £11.7 per person per night
Damage Deposit £116.98

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable