Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Remodeled, pet friendly, sanitized clean, in the Grand Beach-New Buffalo area

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Fresh 2 Bedroom Home That Sleeps 6 With Hide-a-bed, secluded deck & fenced yard

Located central to everything 1/4 mile from Lake Michigan, 5 minutes from Four Winds Casino, Blue Chip Casino and two golf courses and the Lighthouse place outlet mall. Rental supplied with 2 passenger golf cart but you can upgrade to 4 passenger, 6 passenger or even 8 passenger limo golf cart for additional fee just contact us for details. The driver of the golf cart must be 21 or over and a licensed driver. Home is turn key with everything we could think of that you might need, 100 DVD, condiments, pots, pans, BBQ supplies, dogie treats, so-mores, firewood, games, laptop, laundry detergent, dish washing detergent, bongo drums (kidding on that one), card games, good books, cooking oil and spices, beach towels and more.

Just bring the food and the beverage of choice and enjoy the Cozy Cottage.

House has a large living room with big screen TV and a full DVD library to choose from. Excellent kitchen, whirlpool bathtub, full laundry, and a bar area.

Large rear deck with grill for outdoor enjoyment. Fire pit and fully fenced back yard

Location is in the middle of everything. 5 miles from Four Winds Casino, Blue Chip Casino, New Buffalo an Michigan City. We are on a highway and you can hear cars in the front of the house but the sleeping area in the back is very quiet. Amtrack operates a 100 mph train a few times a day and you will know when it is coming, thankfully they do not run late at night with the last train about 10 PM Michigan time.

The lake level is high this year so the beaches have been reduced but we are 10 minutes from both New Buffalo and Michigan City beaches.

I would stress with one word what you will find in our cottage 'Sanitized'.

We clean this unit ourselves and do not use a service, everything is laundered and bleached, floors are 100% ceramic with throw rugs and you will find the entire home immaculate I am sure. You will never find any sign of a pet and we use ozone generators between guests.

More Details

Ed & Deb Arnold
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 July, 2018

About Ed & Deb Arnold

Owner operates a golf cart business right next door, and lives 10 minutes away.

Happy to assist with your visit as we were on the tourism board and know the area well.

Ed & Deb Arnold purchased this cottage in 2011

Why Ed & Deb Arnold chose New Buffalo

Best value in the area, convenient location, with assistance and advice right next door. If you would like special services such as groceries in place just ask.

While we lack lake view, the home is lovely and super clean.

What makes this cottage unique

Just did a major remodel of every room and the entire house is now in ceramic tile. We are all about clean and sanitation so be assured you will find this home up to your standards. Nice back yard deck with a fire pit for moon watching. Fire wood included.

Guestbook comments from the owner

House IS CLEAN and was nice to spend a rainy day at. Couldn't think of anything not provided. Wished it was a little warmer. Golf cart was fun. Ed and Deb really great hosts.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 5


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in New Buffalo in New Buffalo Township

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • rural ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
  • Large elongated toilet always sanitized, whirlpool run with bleach between tenants.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Queen with separate AC control
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 ps Trundle bed can put together for queen
  • Master has 42 inch flat-screen with DVD player Separate AC Bedroom 2 Separate AC and access to deck
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
We have just added a Bicycle and a Laptop. Standard 2 passenger golf cart included. You can upgrade to a 4 or 6 passenger cart at the golf cart business next door.


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

35% Complete
47% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Remodeled, pet friendly, sanitized clean, in the Grand Beach-New Buffalo area
average rating of 4.0588236 based on 22 reviews

Will definitely come back!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay with the family. Owners very accommodating.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The cozy cottage was very cozy indeed. The home was very clean and comfortable.

  • 4 of 5

Our dogs absolutely loved running around the backyard and we thoroughly enjoyed the deck and used the grill everyday. The owners added a nice touch with the screened in netting on the porch which kept the sun out during the day and the bugs out at night. And inside the home the owners went out of their way to leave amenities everywhere. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need including extra snacks on the counter. The bathroom was clean and updated and had little baskets of toiletries available. And they even left us dog treats and poop bags for our furry companions. They also gave us a golf cart that we were able to take down to the beach. We felt right at home in the cozy cottage and we would definitely stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again. Ed & Deb Arnold
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owners extremely nice and helpful, but some issues and details missing

  • 3 of 5

Deb and Ed were super nice and helpful throughout our stay at their property. Answered the phone each time we had questions, were extremely nice and very accommodating to us bringing our dogs. A few things for renters to be aware of before you reserve (not necessarily bad things, but just understand what you're getting) - the property is on a very busy highway and right next to very active train tracks. When the window AC units are going you have enough ambient noise to block it out while you're sleeping, but just be aware of it when you're sitting on the deck in the back. Also, it is not very close to the beach and the beach is only accessible via their golf carts. We thought the golf carts were just a nice-to-have for the beach, but they are a must-have. These are things that didn't necessarily bother me, but just thought future renters would want to understand. Additionally, however, there were several issues during our two night stay that are what made this a not so great stay:

1. When we arrived, they had workers painting the deck so we had to leave and come back later. We had this reservation for a couple of months so it wasn't a last minute or unexpected stay.

2. They asked someone to come and set up a tent on the deck while we were there as opposed to before we arrived or after we left. Given the amount of money spent, we just didn't feel it was appropriate to ask us to not use the deck for an entire day while they set up a tent. The tent had hundreds of pieces and the gentleman sent to set it up had no idea how long it would take to set up since there were so many pieces and the tent was so large. We asked the kind gentleman if he could come back the next day after we left. He was very polite and understanding of the request which we appreciated.

3 The automatic lock system on the front door is faulty. We were locked out and couldn't get back in with the code. Luckily someone was at their cart store next door with a key to let us back in. And luckily our dogs were not stuck inside the place while we were locked out (or I would have been freaking out).

4. Wi-Fi did not work at all. When trying to figure out where you are, what restaurants to go to, etc. it was a bit difficult to not have working wi-fi.

Ed and Deb were extremely nice and I know they worked hard to create as good an experience as possible so I feel bad being overly critical. I just hope they work out the kinks and others have a little bit better experience than we did.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always strive to provide an great experience for our guests, and this visitor was the first for the summer season. We unfortunately had a winter renter move out late and were very limited on time to make everything perfect. He had been a tenant for 6 months and there was plenty to do. A golf cart is a must and is included no charge, and we were unaware of the Wi-Fi problem until reported. We will address all immediately and we thank you for your input. Ed & Deb Arnold
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great NYE Stay!

  • 4 of 5

We had an awesome time staying over NYE Weekend for 2017-2018. The hosts were accommodating to us having a dog and were available via phone when we had questions. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Vacation 2017

  • 4 of 5

Very nice, clean property. Has a four lane highway in front but was not a problem for us. Pet friendly with fenced back yard. Huge deck. What we loved the most was the golf cart that allowed us to go cruse the beach front neighborhood. The owners could not have been nicer. Will stay their again!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ann Arbor, MI

Perfect spot for us and our 2 dogs

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend, our 2 Portuguese water dogs and I spent 3 days at Ed's cottage. We really appreciated the fenced in back yard which gave the dogs a lot of room to run around. The cottage is well stocked with everything you would need, including everything needed to eat in for some of your meals. Ed was a great host and gave us plenty of pointers on fun things to do in the area and recommended places to eat. We really enjoyed the access to the beaches at the Grand Beach community on the other side of US 12. The rental includes a golf cart which is needed to access the private beaches because cars are not allowed to park in the community. Dogs are allowed on the beach before 11 or after 6PM. There were some logistical challenges bringing the dogs to the beach (we took the car with the dogs and one of us came back for the golf cart) but the beach was also within walking distance. We had a great time at the wine tasting at the Round Barn Winery, Distillery, and Brewery in Baroda, and they arrange for live music on most weekends. Worth the trip if you like wine or craft beer. Would gladly stay at the cottage again.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Casual dining and a great burger, bring cash.
Brewster's Italian Cafe
Great place for that meal for two. Lots of good Italian
Casey's New Buffalo
Diverse menu...come early gets crowded.
Heston Supper Club
Great prime rib for sure, In the middle of no where but worth the drive. 25 min away.
Bentwood Tavern
Fine dining on the lake
Skip's Restaurant & Catering
Where is the Skip's
Brewster's Italian Cafe
Great place for that meal for two. Lots of good Italian
Villa Nova Pizzeria
Here is the Pizza
Terrace Room at The Harbor Grand Hotel
Fine dining
The Stray Dog Bar & Grill
Casual, young and loud
Tuscany Ristorante -- CLOSED
Great but a drive
Nearest Airport
28 Miles
South Bend Regional
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Liquor Store 2 doors away
Nearest Ferry
Depends if you believe in them
Nearest Golf
0.2 Miles
Grand Beach golf club & Whittaker Woods Golf Club
Nearest Train
4 Miles
New Buffalo Amtrack or South Shore Michigan City
Nearest Motorway
Hwy 12
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Whittaker Woods restaurant.
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Grand Beach across street
Car: recommended

Location is across the street from the Grand Beach golf course and Lake Michigan beaches and a golf cart is included in the rental package with permit for use on course. Whittaker woods golf course is also less than 5 minutes away. A liquor store is 3 doors away so e-z to get to that has some household items as well. We are on a highway location within 10 minutes of New Buffalo, 2 Casino's, 100 plus store outlet mall, Michigan City, Zoo, Museum, numerous restaurants, 2 public beaches and Grand Beach a private beach.

Within 20 minutes drive you have a choice of winery's, antique stores, Journeymen's Distillery, another great Museum, Orchards and more.

There is a lot of fun things to do in the Chicago Rivera.

New Buffalo is 5 minutes drive with a lot of interesting shops and delightful restaurants. We also operate a charter boat for sunset cruises.

Various wineries are in the area as well as a unique Whiskey distillery.

15 minutes drive in La Porte you will find a unique county museum with an Automobile collection including a Tucker and a gun collection with over 700 antique firearms.

Within 5 minutes each direction you can visit our Casino's Four Winds is a large Indiana Casino and Blue Chip is a boat in Michigan City.

The Barker mansion in Michigan City is a worthwhile tour of a turn of the century estate.

There is a kids playground and tennis courts about 2 minutes away by golf cart in Grand Beach.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £76.48
Pet Fee £38.24
Refundable Damage Deposit £229.44

Pet's require a 50.00 additional cleaning fee
2 passenger golf cart included, up grade to a 4 passenger cart for 75.00 or 6 passenger cart for 150.00
House rate is set for 4 guests, additional overnight guests are 15 per person per night.
300 damage deposit OR you may purchase 49.00 insurance available from VRBO.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals