HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Wonderful gulf access, canal front, pool home

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,080 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Br, 2ba Gulf Access,pool Home,minutes To Beaches, Walk To Shopping And Dining.

Wonderful 3BR,2BA,sleeps 6, classic florida split design home with screened in lanai and heated pool for outdoor dinning,relaxation or entertaining. Enjoy beautiful Gulf access canal views and an amazing sunset every night. Your vacation home is fully equipped with all the comforts of home, spaciously appointed and casually comfortable this home will provide all you need for a relaxing and comfortable vacation stay. The split floor plan has the master bedroom and bathroom on one end,and the other 2 bedrooms and common bathroom located on the opposite end, seperated by the open kitchen and family room, and formal livingroom and dining room. Master bedroom has a delux queen memory foam mattress for your ultimate comfort, and a walk-in closet for all your storage needs. The master bathroom has his/hers vanities, a tiled walk-in shower, and a whirlpool tub for melting your stress away. Sliders in the master bedroom open directly to the screened in pool area.

The 2nd bedroom has a queen size bed also with a memory foam mattress, and bedroom #3 has 2 twin beds.All bedrooms have dresser, mirror,chest and night stand. The common bathroom has a single vanity and tiled tub/shower and ample plush towels and linens.

The well appointed kitchen and eat in breakfast nook overlook the family room with fireplace and 50' LED flat screen T V. Cable, DVD and Wi-Fi are provided for all your media needs. The family room has sliders that open to the screened in lanai and pool area which has a glass topped dining table and 6 chairs so you can enjoy dinners at pool side, and a full size gas grill for the chef. There are 2 chaise loungers by pool side for relaxing with your favorite book, or just napping while enjoying the southern exposure and full sun while the poolside water fountain lulles you to sleep with its relaxing cascade. Families will enjoy the 14' x28' free form heated pool, or grab a fishing pole and drop a line in the canal off the dock and catch your evening's dinner. Canal side dock is complete with 15k lb. boat lift, you can bring your own boat or you can rent one from one of the many near by marinas and explore the local canal system, or take a short ride to Sanabel Island and dolphin watch along the way.

More Details

Owner
John Stanley
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
8 November, 2017

About John Stanley

We are John and Sally Stanley,we both grew up in the Adirondaks of upstate New York and we currently reside in Connecticut. We purchased this lovely home in August of 2013 as our future retirement home. We have been vacationing in Florida almost yearly for the past 25 yrs, and recently visited our dear friends who bought a second home here and fell in love with Cape Coral. We are looking forward to the day when we can call this our full time home and spend endless days boating, fishing and beachcombing and spring training games with the Red Sox. We are happy to share our home with you and your family and we are confident that you will enjoy your stay in Cape Coral as much as we do.

John Stanley purchased this house in 2013

Why John Stanley chose Cape Coral

After visiting our friends here in Cape Coral, we realized that we really wanted to own a piece of the South West Florida lifestyle. Boating and fishing were important elements in our choice. We wanted a home that had quick Gulf access so that we can cruise to Sanibel Island regularly and have ample opportunity to fish the days away. On the other hand, it was important to be near shopping and dinning/entertainment, and not stuck out in the boondocks miles from the nearest grocery store, and when planning for our retirement years, it would be wise to be near a hospital. As far as the home itself, this home was a great match for our wish list. A newer home built in 1992, lovingly cared for by its original owner, recently updated with new carpeting, and freshly painted inside and out, a spaceous under truss lanai with inground heated pool, this home had everything we were looking for in an ideal location.

What makes this house unique

Our home is ideally situated, just a short drive from the South West Regional Airport and Ft. Myers beaches. It is located right in the heart of 'shopper's paradise' with every major commercial venu within walking distance, directly off Del Prado Blvd, a major north/south thoroughfare. However, once you turn down our street, it transitions into the calm, peaceful serenity of a waterfront oasis. This location has the best of all worlds, great shopping, beautiful beaches,challenging golf and tennis,minutes to the spring training camp for the Boston Red Sox, and of course,awesome boating and fishing. Or, if you prefer,just stay at home and sunbathe and relax poolside.

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
SW Regional Ft.Myers (RSW)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
many to choose from
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Cape Coral country club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-75
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
too many to mention
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Cape Coral Yacht club
Car: recommended

Located off of Del Prado Blvd,within walking distance to a Super Wal-Mart, Walgreens,numerous national chain restaurants. Minutes to shopping,BJ's warehouse,Super Target,Home Depot, Lowes, Publix Supermarket, J.C.Penney,T.J.Max,and all your shopping needs. A local hospital is just 2 minutes away.

Fort Myers beaches and Sanabel Island, world renowned for its abundant sea shelling, are less than 15 minutes away.

Cape Coral is a boater's and fisherman's paradise with direct access to the Gulf of Mexico for some of the best fishing in SW Florida. Renowned Gulf coast beaches, verdant golf courses and family attractions like the popular Sun Splash Family Waterpark make Cape Coral an appealing destinations for visitors. Located just minutes from Ft. Myers and the Gulf of Mexico, Cape Coral has over 400 miles of canals for fabulous boating, fishing and beachcombing.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Cape Coral in the Lee County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2080 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • village ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , common bathroom
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , masterbathroom
  • master bathroom has duel vanities, walkin tiled shower, and garden tub. Common bathroom with tub and shower. A full compliment of towels and linens are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • 3 bedrooms, 2 queen bedrooms with memory foam mattresses, 1 bedroom with 2 twin beds. Master bedroom with walkin closet,sliders open directly to the screened in lanai and inground pool.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
6% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Wonderful gulf access, canal front, pool home
average rating of 4.75 based on 32 reviews
5

Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

Our vacation was wonderful, largely thanks to this lovely and beautiful home that John and Sally have built. It is in a quiet neighborhood, with dock access to the canal in the back of the home. The house is spacious, well maintained, nice neighborhood, family friendly and perfect for a vacation rental. John provided many of the amenities that are often forgotten when traveling such as laundry detergent, trash bags, etc and there is a WalMart within walking distance and a Target not much further, for those other things that you forget. John also provided the basic fishing equipment for fishing off of the dock in the backyard, we caught several fish and enjoyed our quiet relaxing time out on the dock. I left my extra fishing gear there as well, just to add to the collection. The pool, grill and entire patio area are in great shape and it feels as close to home as you could be. The beds are all comfortable and the provided bedding was very comfortable as well, not scratchy and cheap as a lot of vacation rental properties are. The dishwasher, refrigerator and washer and dryer are all updated and all work well. We had no issues to speak of on the trip. There are TV sets in every bedroom, with Dish Network as the provider. There are also portable stand speakers that you can hook your phone to in order to enjoy your playlist throughout the house or outside in the patio area. John has also included a DVD player in the main living room area, with several movies to choose from if you so choose. The master bathroom has an enormous walk in shower as well as a large garden tub. John provided very clear and concise check in and check out instructions and his only request was that we treat the home as our own. We make it a point to do that as normal practice because we don't want any bad feelings with the property owner once we have left. We were in the Ft. Myers area for a baseball tournament for my son. John had some concerns about the baseball aspect of our visit, due to other baseball families shenanigans and I assured him that we wouldn't follow the same pattern. Baseball families can ruin vacation rentals for a lot of people, we try not to do that at all. I hope we left the house in better condition than we found it. This was our first venture into the Ft. Myers area and we would undoubtedly stay here again if given the chance, the price was very reasonable for a weeklong stay and we had very convenient access to the area beaches

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Steven, We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable vacation stay, Cape Coral is a great vacation destination, and we are proud that our home exceeded your expectations. We have personally rented many vacation homes over the years, and have used that experience to guide us in furnishing and equipping our vacation home with everything we thought would enhance our guests experience. We sincerely thank you for taking good care of our home and respecting the peace of our neighborhood. You and your family are welcome back anytime, and we hope you will vacation with us again in the future. Fond regards, John and Sally Stanley
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

House needs major attention and property manager

  • 1 of 5

We lost our power. Imagine no AC in Florida. Owner called some friends to check it out. We got AC back but lost power again. Pool heater only worked for 1 day after friend fixed power. NO HOT WATER for two days. Again owner called friend to fix. It worked for 1/2 a day and then out again. So we were without HOT water for 2 days until the plumber came. Then he asked if I would be at the house to let plumber in? Really? On my vacation? Then a owner's friend came to put an old car into the garage at the house and took the garage remote. I did not have use of the garage. Kept my car parked outside in the baking sun. There was NO compensation for going without power, no AC, no hot water for two days, pool heater not working and yes - no remote to the garage. House needs a property manager not a bunch of friends helping out owner. This is unacceptable for a vacation. VERY disappointed. Would not recommend this house rental to anyone! Seems like an older home that has NOT been maintained.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you were not pleased with your accommodations, and would like to comment on the course of events. We had received a phone call from you shortly after check in advising us that there appeared to be a partial power outage in the kitchen only, which indicated that there was a tripped circuit breaker. We called you back and tried to walk you through the process of checking the circuit breaker, but soon realized that you weren't confident in how to do so, so at 6:00pm I called the neighbor to check it for you. She came to help you immediately, and reset the breaker restoring power by 7:00 pm on your first evening. Unfortunately, the thermostat control for the A/C was on that same circuit, so yes, you were without A/C for that initial few hours. The next day, we received another call that there was no hot water, after trouble shooting, it sounded like the circuit breaker for the hot water heater had tripped, so I asked the neighbor to again check the breaker, indeed it had tripped, and it was reset restoring hot water use that day. Unfortunately, the breaker tripped again later that evening which I suspected was due to a malfunctiong heating element in the hot water heater. so I then contacted the plumber the morning of your 3rd day to replace the hot water heater. I had called you that morning to advise you that the plumber was coming to replace the heater which is located in the garage,, and that you did not need to be there because I gave them the code for the garage door opener, and they could access the heater without needing to get in the house. The malfunctioning hot water heater was responsible for tripping the off the pool heater, which was reset, and heating capibility restored. Please be aware the guests before you had a wonderful stay, and the 2 different guests subsequent to your visit have enjoyed their stay with no problems with the pool heater. Again, I apologize for the interruption of your stay due to the events related to the blown hot water heater, and unfortunately it happened during your stay, but the problem was corrected as soon as possible. I will seriously consider hiring a property manager in the future, but frankly, helpful and responsive neighbors typically act much quicker than a management company would, with less interruption to your vacation stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Very special home

  • 5 of 5

We have been vacationing in south west Florida regularly for the past several yrs, and have come to be very fond of Cape Coral, especially in September and October, the temperature is ideal and the beaches are much quieter. This year we stayed at the Stanley's home in early October. We had a wonderful stay, the Stanley's were very accommodating and great to work with. I received a welcome text within hours of checking in with contact info if needed. The house was beautiful, comfortable well equipped and had everything we could possibly need for a comfortable stay. It was great to have a gas grill to use since we didn't want to eat out every night, but John's welcome letter listed several restaurants that he recommended and they were indeed very nice. The pool area was our favorite part of the home. There were multiple TV's and high speed internet but frankly we hardly used them, we just completely unplugged from all media and recharged our biological batteries for 6 days. This house was perfect for that. The view overlooking the canal was so peaceful and we couldn't get over how many fish were in the canal, they were literally jumping out of the water, and we even saw several eguana's down by the dock. The sunsets from the lanai were spectacular every night. Needless to say, this is a very special place, and we enjoyed our stay tremendously and plan to come back again next year. I highly recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Clean relaxing quiet

  • Review Submitted: 27-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, family friendly, well kept pool with nice canal view

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was great. Our family of 4 stayed very comfortably and there would have been room for more. The pool was very well kept and we enjoyed sitting out on the dock. The location was perfect, with quick bridge access to Ft Myers where I went to work every day. But even if we never left Cape Coral there were plenty of great restaurants and all the conveniences you need. We particularly enjoyed the tiki boathouse grill. Nearby was a little kid friendly beach by the yacht club that we went to several times during our stay. The Stanleys were very gracious and accomodating. We loved our stay and are eager to return!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful time in Cape Coral

  • 4 of 5

This is our second time staying at this home! Location is great! Home is very comfortable. We feel right at home! Looking forward to our stay again next yr!

  • Review Submitted: 31-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in the Cape Coral, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
winter 2017-2018
1 Dec 2017 - 30 Apr 2018
14 night minimum stay
£2,202
for 14 nights
£1,202
£3,368
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£723
for 5 nights
From
£104
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £44.28
cleaning fee £112.58 + Tax
utility fee £30.02 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

additional fee may be imposed if utility usage is excessive

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals