HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Newly Renovated, 2Bedroom/ 2 1/2 Bath, With Boat Slip

Bedrooms 2
Separate WC's1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Renovated in 2012, the apartment is a two story town home. As you come in the first floor, the ample dining/living room overlooks the canal and the native shrubbery through wall-to-wall sliding glass doors.

For you indoor entertainment, there is a 55' flat screen smart TV, surround sound, Blue Ray/DVD player and board games.

On this floor there is also a half-bathroom for guests.

Finally, there is a fully equipped kitchen, with granite counter tops, bar height counter for buffets, standard size refrigerator, ceramic top range, oven, microwave, and dishwasher. All china, silverware, cooking utensils, serving trays, etc, are included.

Upstairs there are two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. The master bedroom offers a striking view of the marina, a wall-to-wall closet, a flat screen TV, and the master bathroom.

The second bedroom holds a full size and a twin size bed. It can accommodate 2-3 people comfortably. The second full bathroom is in the hallway.

The washer and dryer are also upstairs.

We have built a brick patio in the back of the property ideal for barbecuing and dining in the fresh air.

Buttonwood Bay Condominium offers an array of activities right within the complex. There are three pools, 5 tennis courts, an exercise room and a game room. We also have a small, sandy beach and grassy, treed, open areas for the kids to play, or to just walk around and take beautiful pictures.

In addition, each unit has its own boat slip. Also there is a convenience store in the property where resident boaters can gas up, get ice, bait, snacks and fishing gear.

Sunsets in The Florida Keys are majestic and Buttonwood Bay offers 6 Martini Decks right on the bay from where to enjoy them.

More Details

Angie Sotolongo
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
8 September, 2017

About Angie Sotolongo

My husband and I lived in Miami for 20 years, and there is where we raised our children. We would go boating often, we all got our scuba licenses and practiced all sorts of water sports. As the kids were approaching the teen years, we decided that a property like this one, just one hour away from Miami, would offer a fun and convenient way to keep doing what we loved, and the kids could invite their friends to spend weekends and breaks with us.

Last year we decided that it was time to renovate the apartment. The kids are all grown up now, and we find ourselves spending months at a time in the Keys. So we remodeled with that in mind.

We have been permanently living in the Keys for the last 2 years, and get to enjoy the breathtaking sunsets every evening.

Angie Sotolongo purchased this townhome in 2001

Why Angie Sotolongo chose Key Largo

When we were looking to buy a place in the Keys, we looked at many properties. We decided to purchase this one for several reasons. First, Buttonwood is a mere hour away from Miami. It was easy to come every weekend. Second, each unit has its own boat slip. This avoided the hassle of all the planning needed to get the boat out of storage and into the water. It meant that we could decide to boat to the sunset on a whim.

Then, we also liked that Buttonwood Bay Condominiums has a security gate, and guards regularly drive around the property to keep it safe and in order.

We chose this particular unit because it was bigger than the others. It had been remodeled to add a full bathroom upstairs, and the sliding glass doors had been pushed out to make the master bedroom and living room bigger.

What makes this townhome unique

As you come in the unit, your eyes are automatically drawn to the view in back: There is a beautiful buttonwood tree straight back, and behind it is the canal. It is a very peaceful and relaxing view. We have built a brick patio in back, where we like to barbecue, read the news, or simply visit with our guests


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in Key Largo in Monroe County

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
The unit includes a 32' boat slip


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Newly Renovated, 2Bedroom/ 2 1/2 Bath, With Boat Slip
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews

Convenient, Clean, and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for sharing your piece of paradise so we could enjoy a fabulous month in the Keys! The location of the property is perfect and the boat slip is in a convenient location. The unit is very clean which was so appreciated by a "clean-freak" like me! Angie was very accommodating and professional throughout our booking, during our stay, and after we left. It was a pleasure to rent this unit and we would absolutely stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are most welcome, Gloria! I so love the "clean freaks"! You help keep this paradise home looking like new!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Buttonwood Bay and Beautiful are the same word!

  • 5 of 5

We have been vacationing in the Keys since 1984 and discovered Buttonwood Bay last year and booked. It has everything you could ask for without going out of the premises. The surroundings are beautifully landscaped and continuously maintained, 5 tennis courts (1 is used for Pickle Ball), 3 pools, a workout room with modern machines, a games area and a sandy beach. The friendliness is noticeable immediately by everyone. You really cannot have a bad townhouse location as all are on a canal. Our townhouse was well located, close to all the facilities and we could not have asked for more. Our owner (Angie) made a point of contacting us to make sure we were settled in with no issues and even took the time to meet us personally during our stay. Should there have been any issues, which there were none, she was available for us immediately. How much do we enjoy our stay and townhouse....We have already booked for 2018. Thank you Angie and already looking forward to next year!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gino for such a wonderful review. We strive for our guests to have a great experience. Through the years, we've had many wonderful tenants, who take care of our townhouse as if it was their own, who have such a good time that they keep coming back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not worth the money

  • 2 of 5

This owner penalizes you if you dont complain about something. We didnt complain about anything broken, so therefore it was our fault. In addition, she tried to get us to hire her cleaning lady and have her clean the unit once a week. Her living room furniture is extremely uncomfortable. After moving out, she accused us of smoking in the unit when neither of us are smokers and we didnt have any guests. She then proceeded to deduct half of our damage deposit after renting with her for two years. Last year we were without hot water for over a month and didnt ask for compensation. This is so unfair.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry to have an unhappy customer because I try very hard for all of my guests to have a great experience. All of my tenants, including my unhappy one, can attest to my responsiveness to emails, phone calls and to how quickly I take action to fix any problems. In the case of the water heater, a new unit was ordered and installed as soon as I was informed of the problem. Many of my guests keep coming back year after year because they are very happy and satisfied with their experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very well maintained

  • 5 of 5

Very nice and clean accommodations. Complex had very well maintained pools and beach. We will definitely look forward to returning.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Miami, Fl

Great unit

  • 5 of 5

This unit was absolutely impeccable and updated. It is in a great location within Buttonwood. We will definitely be staying there again!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mashpee Massachusetts

Buttonwood Bay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent the month of January 2015 at this condo in Buttonwood Bay. This was our third year at Buttonwood Bay but our first year in this condo. It was fantastic. Recently remodeled with new appliances. Very clean. The owners were great. We met them the first day and they checked in with us throughout our stay to make sure everything was ok. Buttonwood Bay is a great location to both Miami and Key West.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Feb-2015
  • Date of Stay: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. It helps us to know that you appreciate our stopping by occasionally so that we can give a better service. We are happy that you had such a great time. See you next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Motorway
US 1
Car: necessary

Buttonwood Bay is conveniently located next door to the Hilton Key Largo Hotel. This makes it possible for our guests to enjoy all the water sports the hotel has to offer, like sailing, parasailing, jet skiing, kayaking, etc.

John Pennekamp State Park is a 15 min drive from Buttonwood Bay. The park offers a variety of water activities from glass bottom boats to scuba diving in the gorgeous reefs. The Christ of the Abyss is a sight to behold, with his Arms raised to the surface of the water surrounded by the reef and all sorts of colorful, tropical fish.

You can also swim with the dolphins at Dolphin Cove. This activity will make some amazing memories, and by the end, as with all good things, it will feel too short.

In addition, feeding the tarpon fish at Robbie's is quite an experience. These fish are BIG, and when they feed it creates a powerful and impressive 'whirlpool' in the water.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday townhome in Key Largo, Florida Keys

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
30 night minimum stay
for 30 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £372.25
Tax Rate 12.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question