HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Sky Lake Retreat * Mountain Lake Cabin Resort**Wifi*Fireplace*Trails*Tennis*Pool

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 4,200 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Huge 4 Bdrm Mountain Lake Home,/3 Baths/Jacuzzi Garden Tub/Pool/Hiking Trails

RATES:

Nightly Rent.......................$175.00 to $200.00

Housekeeping fee............... $175.00

Sky Lake Amenity fee.............$50.00

VRBO Will Add Their Service Fee.

NOTE: THE HOUSEKEEPING FEE IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE ONLINE QUOTE. We send VRBO/Homeaway email invoices for the rent payments to be paid by Visa, MC, or Discover. The housekeeping fee is paid by check to the housekeepers.

***Welcome to Sky Lake Treasure Retreat & Resort***

This cabin offers the best of all worlds. It is located in the mountains, is on the lake, and is surrounded by beautiful hiking trails. The Hiking Trail and Lake are 200 feet from the cabin. This cabin sits in its own private wooded area, yet it is in a gated community offering all of the amenities.

See the Restaurant & Activity Guide, just below the Map, to find Everything you are Looking for including Sautee, Helen, and all types of North Georgia fantasy Vacation Fun.

As you enter the cabin it will magically unfold layer by layer as you introduce yourself to each element of this spacious mountain vacation treasure.

You will be living large with the huge great room, 4 huge bedrooms, and 2 decks facing the lake.

Like the forest...As soon as you walk out of the back door you will find yourself landing on the manicured hiking trail circling the lake, and forking off into streams & waterfalls. You have 12 miles of hiking adventure at your finger tips.

What's Here?

Contained within Sky Lake are our common amenities, including a clubhouse, a community pool with cabana and sundeck, four lighted tennis courts, sheltered master barbeque area, community postal center, horse barn, maintenance barn, dedicated parking for boats, trailers and RVs, and a rustic picnic area close by our scenic York Falls. And of course there are our two private lakes, Sky Lake and Sautee Lake, about 20 and 10 acres respectively, that offer fishing and boating.

Scattered throughout Sky Llake’s 1,360 total acreage are nearly 400 acres of natural greenbelt containing over 12 miles of hiking trails maintained by a volunteer trail committee. The trails meander over varied terrain through wooded forest, open pasture, and along running streams, waterfalls and lakes. Amid the natural beauty of the dedicated greenbelt, which Sky Lake considers a self-designated nature preserve, one can often encounter a variety of wildlife: whitetail deer, wild turkeys, a resident flock of Canada geese, pileated woodpeckers, raccoons, foxes, hawks, and the occasional coyote and black bear.

Don't forget the fabulous fun in the City of Helen.

Come Share in our Mountain and Lake Vacation Experiences.

RATES and RESTAURANT & ACTIVITY GUIDE BELOW

More Details

Property Manager
Pam & Jerry
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, For light Spanish call Jerry at 678-571-4976.
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
23 August, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Helen in White County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • resort
  • village ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Upstairs, Combo Tub & Shower, Double Sinks & Vanity
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs, Tile Shower, No tub, Vanity & Sink, Toilet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Jacuzzi , Main Floor, Jacuzzie Tub, Hand Held Shower, No Stand Up
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , Secluded Downstairs Bedroom with Fireplace/Bath/Sitting Area
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master on the Main with Bathroom and Jacuzzi Tub
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Private Upstairs with Balcony, and Jack & Jill bathroom.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Upstairs with Jack & Jill bathroom. Plenty of Privacy.
  • 4 Huge Bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Included in your rent is the Community Swimming Pool, 4 Tennis Courts , (bring your own racket & balls), Basketball Courts, (bring your own basketball), 1 Canoe & 1 John boat, free fishing. See gate attendant for access to your amenities.

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(38 traveller reviews)

34% Complete
34% Complete
7% Complete
18% Complete
5% Complete
Sky Lake Retreat * Mountain Lake Cabin Resort**Wifi*Fireplace*Trails*Tennis*Pool
average rating of 3.7368422 based on 38 reviews
5

Fantastic Dream of a Place & Totally Refreshing

  • 5 of 5

As we drove in the first thing we saw was a herd of deer grazing by the green roadside. When we entered the cabin on the ground floor there was a large bedroom with a nice bathroom. The only other room on that floor was a laundry room. We walked upstairs and the whole place opened up. The living room was huge and beautiful. There are windows and views everywhere. The kitchen has everything that anybody could possibly need. We went all out with steaks on the grill, and lobsters in the pot. All of the bedrooms were large and also had several windows. There was a master bedroom on the main floor not too far from the living room. Venturing upstairs, to the third floor, are two more bedrooms with a bathroom between them. It was almost like each floor was a little apartment. It was an unusual layout, and we really liked it. We enjoyed the older furnishings giving the home a warm cozy feeling even though it was so big. It was too warm to use the fireplace, but it was a piece of art to enjoy in the center of the picture window facing the lake. The wet bar was on the back living room wall which was great for making our morning smoothies and our evening cocktails. We enjoyed dining on the deck and in the kitchen. You can see the lake and the hiking trail from the deck. Our dog loved walking the trails. The home was very clean and my wife is neurotic about cleaning. It passed her test. We thought everything was beautiful inside and outside. We spent a lot of time hiking around the lake, went to see the horses, and played tennis. We had a lot of fun, and it was the most refreshing and peaceful place to rest our souls. All of our group gave everything 5 stars. Thank you for sharing your lovely place with us, and we will surely be back.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
2

The place was filthy and needs lots of repairs!

  • 2 of 5

Unfortunately we will not be returning to this rental unit. We knew it was outdated and we were okay with that. But it was filthy! Dust and spider webs everywhere. It looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in years! Couldn't see out the windows! The carpet was so dirty we couldn't let the small children crawl on it! The deck had holes in wood which was very unsafe to walk on. And for advertising for large groups there was not enough cookware or dishes to feed them with! We loved the Sky lake and Helen area and if we return we will find another rental.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Katy, As you can see I am usually pretty agreeable with guest and their reviews. In this case I will say that the cabin was nice & clean because I went up there at that time to check on everything. Repairs are needed and the cabin is closed for a month to have all new decks built. I enjoyed talking to you, and I'm glad you had a good time. Blessings, Pam Love
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
McDonough, GA
4

It was good, overall! Some minor changes would make the experience better.

  • 4 of 5

The house was clean, overall. As we entered the back door, from the carport, we were welcomed with a nice, fragrant smell.

Everything inside was clean and tidy. The rooms are quite large and our party of 9 had no difficulty moving around. Plenty of chairs inside the house. Not too many outdoor chairs, but the deck has built in benches all around it.

We all enjoyed the trail to the fall, the pool and fishing in the lake. We had no problem using the pool as others mentioned. We had a great time in nearby Helen at the water park and river tubing.

We also enjoyed cooking out on a brand new barbecue grill! The wooden deck had a few rotten spots in it. There's a big hole under the grill and some soft spots in other places. I think they're in the process of repairing the outdoors because we saw some tools and 4x4 outside. That's a good sign. They were a few spider webs in the carport, but no spiders were encountered inside the house.

Cooking indoors would have been more challenging if we didn't bring some pots and pans (We drove from home and it wasn't that far, so we could bring these things). One of the reviews said that the cookware wasn't in good condition. I agree! Most of them need to be replaced, along with some cooking utensils that were crusty and rusty. The nonstick coating in most of the cookware is badly scratched and they're rusty. I only found two pans that could be used. The bakeware is rusty as well. All the kitchen appliances were in good condition and very clean: coffee maker, toaster, can opener, refrigerator.

The main floor bedroom has a glass door without a curtain. It opens to a porch and the trail can be seen from there. A curtain would add some privacy. We got hurt several times from the bed frame in that same bedroom. The mattress is lower than the wooden frame, making it challenging to get in or out of bed. A box spring, or a better mattress would eliminate that problem.

The bathrooms were clean and there were plenty of towels. There was hair in the bathtub plug on the main floor. We left that alone.

We would book this place again, if some minor changes are made. It's an old, rustic house! We knew that. We enjoyed seeing all the antiques on the walls, outside and all around the house. It was a great learning experience for the children.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hanahan, SC
2

I kept trying to be ok with it but too many little things wrong

  • 2 of 5

Positives: Great neigborhood with lots of amenities. We felt safe and loved the walking trails and huge pool. The main floor porch was where we hung out the most.

Middle ground: Decor. There was A LOT of stuffed animals (deer, snake skin, etc.) and really outdated furnishings and decor. Beds were clean but house has carpeting EVERYWHERE including the bathroom/toilet area. Bathrooms very dark and lacked blinds for privacy. The master bedroom does not have a stand up shower just the tub. Also the master had a clear glass door with no curtains to the outside porch...

The wifii came and went and worked when it wanted to. We could not figure out how to turn on the stereo.

Neither the shower head upstairs nor the downstairs shower head worked properly.

We walked in to a strong gas smell. The owners did repond to help, however it was very stressful finding pilot lights and trying to get the stove to work.

Major Concerns: I would not recommend bringing kids under the age of 5. The upstairs where most of the beds were, kids could literally just fall off the balcony. The railing is definitely not up to code. There were plenty of child gates but I would have been a stressed out mess worrying if they would get upstairs or crawl off the outside porch which also does not have rails that extend all the way to the bottom of

The downstairs has a very strong mildew smell. My allergies/asthma would have been terrible if I had slept down there.

There were lots of good reviews for this house that I wish I had liked it as much as they apparently did.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Location is gorgeous and home is spacious

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay not only at this cabin but on the property. While the cabin is a bit dated it is very spacious and accommodated our party of 8 well. It was well stocked and clean. But the best part was the property itself. It is gorgeous!! The pool was nice (the only downfall is you must be accompanied by a resident which was not always easy) and the hiking trails we super. There is a beautiful hike to a waterfall only 2 miles away. Our kids loved walking and exploring. We saw many deer. It was an easy drive to Helen and while you do have neighbors you feel very secluded. All in all, for the price you can't beat it!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta
4

Sky Lake 4/21/17 - A wonderful place!

  • 4 of 5

We couldn't have picked better space! I enjoyed every window and corner there was to explore. My dogs loved the open layout and my kids were pleased with the privacy of the room on the lower ground. The potholes in the driveway are an issue, especially in the rain with leaves, pine straw and limbs - even with a truck/SUV they were precarious. Maybe get that fixed for sure ...... Only real issue. The house has a cabin country lake side smell to it - not problem for us - no one had issue. Seemed normal to us seeing as the space is located under trees and near water. My husband enjoyed fishing on his down time and the other guests were happy with the quiet trails for after dinner walks while it was still light out. For an older property it was well appointed and served it's purpose of offering a fun filled, relaxing and charming place for us to spend family time. I recommend this space to anyone who really enjoys a real family cabin feel. We will most certainly come again - Thank you for the treasure that is this space!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Unicoi State Park and Lodge
Alpine Helen Mini Golf
Mully's Nacoochee Grill
Sautee Nacoochee Vineyards
The Nacoochee Village Tavern & Pizzeria
Old Sautee Store
Sautee Nacoochee Vineyards Tasting Room
Cool River Tubing Company
Old Sautee Store
Habersham Winery
Betty's Country Store
"Great, fun to see, old fashion grocery store, great food, great meats, but a bit pricey. Has..."
La Cabana Mexican Restaurant
"We love this place. Dining & Dancing on the Patio. Has a band on weekends."
North Georgia Barbeque
Club Escape
Huddle House
Sweetwater Coffee House -- CLOSED
Best Bar & Grill -- CLOSED
Bigg Daddy's
Woody's Mountain Bikes
Alpine Extreme Speed
Folk Pottery Museum of Northeast Georgia
Helen Amusement Park
Paul’s Steakhouse and Seafood
The Vines European Cuisine at the Edelweiss -- CLOSED
Alpine Ice Cream Shoppe
Hofbrauhaus Restaurant and GI Germany Pub
Blimpie Subs & Salads
Subway
Helens Riverside Cafe -- CLOSED
Viele Margaritas
Farmer's Market Cafe
Over the Top Bar & Grill
Southside Bar & Grill
Hayloft Restaurant & Pub
Ain't B's Bakery -- CLOSED
Hans Restaurant & Lounge -- CLOSED
Alstadter Weinstube
Black Forest Bear Park
Babyland General Hospital
West Family Restaurant
Hofer's of Helen
Helen's Country Cafe -- CLOSED
"One mile from the cabin. Serves a nice large breakfast & lunch."
Wendy's
Nacoochee Presbyterian Church
Moccasin Creek State Park
Village Pedler of Sautee
Village Pedler of Sautee
Greenstone Soap Co
Sweetwater Coffee House -- CLOSED
The Lavender Cottage & Garden
Insideout Sautee LLC
Scarlett's Secret
Scarlett's Secret
Scarlett's Secret
Scarlett's Secret
Innsbrook club and gold
Innsbruck Resort & Golf Club
Alpine Mini Golf
starburst stables sautee helen ga
Yonah Mountain Vineyards Tasting Room
Bernie's Restaurant at Nacoochee Valley Guest House
alpine hot dog and grill burger
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Atlanta Airport
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Unicoi State Park
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Helen, Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall
15 Sep 2017 - 12 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£351
for 2 nights
From
£156
From
£168
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Christmas & New Year's
22 Dec 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£542
for 3 nights
From
£168
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£328
for 2 nights
From
£144
From
£152
Thu,Fri,Sat
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £19.5

RATES: RENT $175.00 - $200.00 per night, plus SKY LAKE AMENITY FEE $50.00 plus HOUSEKEEPING FEE $175.00..PET FEE $25.00. This does not include holiday rates.

The Sky Lake Community & Amenity Fee includes access to Swimming Pool, Tennis Courts, (but bring your own rackets & balls), 1 shared canoe and john boat for guest use. The gate attendant will give you a map of the property, and access to the amenities.

HOUSEKEEPING FEE: THE HOUSEKEEPING FEE IS $175.00, AND IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE ONLINE QUOTE TO HELP KEEP THE VRBO SERVICE FEE LOWER. PLEASE EMAIL TO CONFIRM THE EXACT RATES.

If you are booking online be sure that you receive a Sky Lake Vacation Form that is required to be filled out, and faxed into the Sky Lake Office for check-in at the Gate.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals