Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

In HANALEI - Gorgeous new interior and furniture

Bedrooms 2
Separate WCs1
Space 1,197 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

New finishes and furnishings throughout, our gorgeous home is the perfect resting place between your adventures on Kauai.

World famous Hanalei Bay, voted the number one beach in America, is less than 200 yards away and will provide you with the ultimate beach-going experience. Take in the sunrise, waterfalls, rainbows, boats, surfers, Bali Hai sunsets and incredible ocean beauty. Bay activities include: snorkeling, kayaking, swimming, surfing, bodyboarding, hiking, walking, jogging, and, of course, relaxing.

From the large covered lanai, you can watch the Waioli river flow by on its way to the Bay. Enjoy an incredibly romantic sunset as the sun disappears behind the NaPali Coast line, or gaze at one of the largest and oldest monkey pod trees on the island and ponder its strength as it has withstood multiple tsunamis and three hurricanes. The home's interior invites you to relax. The gourmet kitchen includes all stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, and cherry cabinets. There are two large king bed bedroom suites, each with closet, private toilet, bath tub and shower and vaulted ceilings with fans. Additionally, one of the suites has a top-bunk twin bed.

Historic Hanalei town is a five to 10 minute walk away. Excellent restaurants, quaint shops, grocery and health food stores, farmer's markets, activities desks, yoga, Pilates, day spa, massage, surf shops and churches are all conveniently located in Hanalei town. Princeville resort and spa are just a five minute drive up the hill, offering you three world class golf courses, tennis and a day spa.

This home is perfect for families up to five or one to two couples with or without children.

SUP boards/paddles may be rented for $100 a week (based on availability). If desired, please request when booking.

TV-5118-NCU On-island 24/7 contact: Lauren

Keywords: Private home, located near the Waioli stream in Hanalei. A short 3 minute walk to Grandpa's and Pine Tree's beaches and 4 blocks to town.

More Details

Property Manager
Lauren Benton
Member since: 2004
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 July, 2018

About Lauren Benton

I've experienced most every hike, surf break, beach, waterfall, restaurant and activity possible on Kauai and am happy to share that info with you.

Lauren Benton purchased this house in 2001

Why Lauren Benton chose Hanalei

Having lived in multiple houses/locations in Hanalei we realized it's rare to find a home that isn't right next door to another. While this home is adjacent to another home, it's also adjacent to a 1/2 acre lot that rolls down to the Waioli Stream and offers beautiful views, a peaceful setting and a feeling of being a bit away from it all (even though you're right in town and a couple blocks from the beach).

What makes this house unique

Na Pali mountain view, short walk to the beach and ocean.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Hanalei in Kauai County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1197 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 4 - Outdoor Shower
  • 2.5
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Twin top bunk bed + play-n-pack
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 3 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Large covered lanai with gorgeous views, granite slab countertops, stainless steel appliances. Includes gas range, refrigerator with filtered water/ice maker, full-size washer & dryer, non-smoking


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(41 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
In HANALEI - Gorgeous new interior and furniture
average rating of 4.731707 based on 41 reviews


  • 1 of 5

My husband and I booked this house for our stay in Apr 2018 - The furniture was nice but the house definitely looked 'worn.' The real issue we had were the ants in the kitchen and both bathrooms. I unpacked my items in the master bath and my husband did the same in the spare bathroom. There were excessive amount of ants in both bathrooms and on our items. We would kill them and more would keep returning. We were planning on using the kitchen to cook meals during our stay. My husband used the toaster and after pulling his toast out had ants on his toast/hand. There was also a very large 'stream' of ants that formed from the base of the sink into the garbage disposal. We overall felt this was an overall sign of the cleanliness of the house and had to stay elsewhere. I had texted the house manager, Lauren, and did not receive a reply. She had emailed me in regards to something else and I addressed the situation via email. I had initially asked for more ant traps (there are some in the kitchen already) and she stated that she could drop more off but would probably not take care of the concern. Lauren never once apologized for the issue. Also, as a side note, there are 2 green geckos that are in the house, which Lauren stated is 'normal' in Hawaii; so just make sure you are OK with that before booking. My husband and I have stayed in many house rentals throughout the US and we understand things aren't going to be perfect, and we aren't ones to complain but I felt I had to make our issues known as we typically rely on a reviews when booking rental homes.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ms. O'Neill arrived the afternoon of 4/7. The house was professionally cleaned and also inspected at 2:00 pm that day. Documented inspection notes the house was immaculately clean, 10 out of 10 on all dimensions of inspection. The text Ms. O'Neill sent (at 8:30 pm 4/7) was not received, due to cell service outage. The following morning (4/8) I checked in with Ms. O'Neill via a courtesy welcome email and also a "current weather" email (notifying her of flash flooding in the area). Ms. O'Neill responded saying she'd texted me the prior night asking for ant traps and that she was leaving the home because she did not receive a response and the house had ants and a “lizard". Our cleaner stopped by the house at 1:00 pm 4/8 to address any ant/cleanliness issues and the guests had already departed the home – less than 24 hours from their arrival. It is apparent that the "excessive ants" and "overall cleanliness" were not the issue, as neither were true. Given our impeccable record (past reviews and reputation), the inspection that occurred just prior to checkin, response in less than 24 hours to any/all perceived concerns, the only explanation seems to be that Ms. O'Neill did not like the weather, realized she could not get a refund simply due to overcast and rain so created a story to support her cancelling her reservation and reversing the charges to her CC. She waited to post her review until after the time frame when I could write a review about her. She attempted to get a refund through VRBO/HA, which was declined. She then submitted a refund request through her CC company, American Express, which due to her claim of "misrepresentation of product/services" is now a process we are forced to engage in to simply recover our earned revenue. Interestingly, Ms. O'Neill's stay was a week prior to the catastrophic rainfall that caused serious flooding on Kauai.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved our trip and stay in your beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

The home was perfect for our family vacation to Hanalei. The property was beautiful and so clean and inviting. Thank you so much.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

GREAT home in Hanalei

  • 5 of 5

This is a fantastic rental property in Hanalei. The photos and descriptions showed how great the house was and it didn't disappoint. There is a huge covered lanai with views and the interior was spacious and perfect for 2 couples. There are 2 large master suites with king beds with Air condition units in the bedroom - although we didn't need them when we visited in October. In the hallway between the bedrooms is a half bath with stackable washer/dryer. All of the towels and linens are nice and seems to be new. My husband and I have probably rented 5 different properties in Hanalei over the years, and this was the best one yet! It is clear that the owner, Lauren, has spent time and resources thinking of everything a renter would like while visiting. There are also boogie boards, bikes, snorkel equipment! It is close to the road - so there is some road noise as folks pass by, but the cars go slow (think it's only 25mph) and it's quiet after dark! We did not hear any roosters at this property! Would definitely recommend this property and hope to return sometime soon!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oxford, Michigan

Perfection in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

The day before we were set to fly to Kauai we had a previous rental cancel on us. My fiance found Waile Hale and we reached out to them and Lauren responded immediately. The entire stay she was tentative and went above and beyond expectations to make us feel at home. The bikes and water gear allowed us to stroll into the nearby town and walk to the beach with little effort and enabled us to take full advantage of our Honeymoon. The place itself was peaceful, with an amazing view and lots of privacy. Initally the house was quite hot (we had heard later the trade winds had not been that strong this time of year); however the two bedrooms had air conditioning which made for a perfect nights sleep and there were plenty of fans that kept us a good temperature. After touring the entire island both my husband and I hands down agreed Hanalei town was the best spot on the island and that the emergency last minute rental change was a blessing in disguise. We couldn't have been more happy with the fully stocked house, comfy bed and perfect location. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Exquisite house and location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our two children (ages 2 and 6) for a week. The house is perfect and very well equipped for children and beach goers. We twice daily made the quick walk to the beach, carting our children and gear in the provided wagon, and then relaxing. Easy walk or bike ride to town. The house itself has a lovely view and was super comfortable. Easy to cook dinners with all the necessary items for a full kitchen. We hope to be back again soon!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing vacation at a fantastic location!

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 5 (3 teenage boys) stayed in this great home for a week. Short walk to the beach (Hanalei Bay) was perfect! Big, uncrowded beach, and the waves were almost always good for boogie boarding. The house had plenty of boogie boards, beach towels, bikes, a cooler, a wagon, some board games. There was great space in the house as well. Pretty, peaceful views from the spacious lanai. We ate out there many times. We could walk to the shops/restaurants in town if we wanted. Highly recommend this location on the north shore - so many things to do and other beaches to visit just a short drive away, and this is a very comfortable home base to access everything. Good restaurants, shave ice and ice cream - Hanalei Bay Pizzeria, JoJo's Shave Ice, Pink's Ice Cream & Grilled Cheese, Hanalei Gourmet, The Dolphin. Lauren was very responsive and helpful when we had questions. She recommended Princeville Adventures for zip lining, and we all loved it! There's much talk in reviews about the "grassy lot out front." It did sell when we were there (we talked with the seller when he was there a couple times), and if the new owner builds, the lanai view will obviously change. However, I still think the location is great for proximity to the beach and all other things North Shore.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
42 Miles
Lihue (LIH) Int'l
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Baracuda, Tahiti Nui, Hanalei Gourmet, The Dolphin
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
The Prince and The Makai Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Baracuda, Hanalei Gourmet, The Dolphin, Kalypso
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Hanalei Bay (Grandpa's)
Nearest Point of Interest
Waioli rental
Car: recommended

Once guests visit Kauai, and discover Hanalei, they rarely stay anywhere else. Hanalei has it all - spectacular beauty, ocean, surf, beach, mountains, and town with unique shops, great restaurants, grocery stores and farmer's market.


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £249.31
Property Damage Insurance £44.57

Should you wish to cancel your reservation, notice of cancellation MUST BE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED MORE THAN 60 DAYS PRIOR TO YOUR CHECK IN DATE. We will refund the sums you have paid, less a $250 cancellation fee. If your notice of cancellation is RECEIVED LESS THAN 60 DAYS PRIOR TO YOUR CHECK IN DATE, you will forfeit all sums paid, except your security deposit, unless we are able to re-rent the property to someone else, at the same rate, for the same period. Any rental, partial rental or reduced rental for the same period will be credited to you, less the $250 cancellation fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals