HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Historic 5 Bedroom Single Family Home In The Heart Of Downtown Charleston

Bedrooms 5
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

5 Bedroom, 4 Bath Within Walking Distance of Restaurants, Shopping and Sites

This home was previously available on short term rental for $1000.00 per night plus a maid service fee, and was fully booked, before the city imposed a 30 night minimum rental period, which is all we are now able to offer.

It is a beautiful family home in the heart of the historic district of downtown Charleston is the perfect place to enjoy your vacation.

Just a short walk from the main shopping, restaurants, museums, waterfront etc. Once you have parked your car you will not need it again to see all that this wonderful city has to offer.

Built in 1890 this house boasts all the traditional features you would expect in this stylish part of Downtown. It comprises five bedrooms, one en-suite. Four bathrooms, a parlour, living room and den. Large kitchen dining room, two porches, outside dining in a picturesque patio, laundry room, two bicycles, off street parking for two vehicles.

More Details


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Historic Old City in Charleston

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , claw foot tub
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Racquetball
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Historic 5 Bedroom Single Family Home In The Heart Of Downtown Charleston
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the house for our entire summer holidays (family of 6, parents and four 'young adults'). The house is spacious and has very good air conditioning. Some appliances may be getting older (as does the garden furniture), but overall, everything one needs is available. Very nice rooms, great kitchen, plenty of space, beautiful furniture and decorations. The house is very conveniently located in downtown Charleston, a small distance from stores, restaurants, the harbor and everything the city has to offer. Easy trips to the beautiful surroundings, beaches and various water sports activities. We had a wonderful summer!

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Midland, TX

Home away from Home in Downtown Charleston!

  • 5 of 5

My family just finished a month long rental in Charleston at Sallyanne's wonderful home in downtown Charleston. If you are looking for a "home away from home" in Charleston, this is it!

1. Location - It's far enough away from the main tourist areas yet a quick and easy walk to all the shopping and restaurants. There were even two bikes available so you could easily ride to the grocery store on East Bay (Harris Teeters). We only took a pedi-cab a couple of times the whole month since everywhere we wanted to go was very walkable.

2. The House - The house was built in 1890 and Sallyanne and her family have owned it for many years. It is wonderfully maintained with much of its original character. Including the original windows and wood floors. That being said, the home does NOT have much insulation and the street noise can be a little loud. But that is a trade-off for any house over 120 years old! The beds were VERY comfortable. And the HVAC worked great: keep the doors cracked open, shut the door up to the third floor, and close blinds in the summer. This will keep the heat/cold air where it is supposed to be!

Like ALL homes of this era, the staircases are narrow and steep. If you have a guest with disabilities it would be possible to use the TV room on the first floor for a guest if they could sleep on the couch. There is a full bathroom on the first floor. There are three bedrooms on the second floor (the master king with attached bath and kitchenette, and a queen room and additional king room that share a large hall bath). The third floor has a double twin and queen bedroom with a very small hall-bath (but can use 1st floor bath). The kitchen and house was very well stocked for a month-long stay. WIFI, Cable, Netflix, DVD player. Would only change: need blackout curtains and some of the living room furniture has seen better days.

3. Parking - One negative (of the very few) things about Charleston is the lack of off-street parking. The city has special "resident parking permits" for off-street parking. As a "guest to the city" you won't have a residential parking permit, so you will be relegated to the driveway which is very narrow. But you should be able to fit two cars in tandem.

It is TRUE that Charleston passed a rule limiting certain neighborhoods to 30+ night rentals. The local news even ran some stories on it. Apparently some owners are choosing to break the rule and rental nightly, but are getting caught.

Don't hesitate!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX

Grown women trip

  • 5 of 5

We were 8 - all in our 70's and the 3rd floor stairwell was scary. Thought we had 5 bedrooms, 4 r baths, but it was 4/3. Pretty tight quarters. Kitchen was great. Only 1 tv that had cable connection. Sally Ann very nice but the house was disappointing.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, I'm sorry you felt it was pretty tight quarters, the house is quite large. There are three televisions hooked up to cable and the rest are hooked up to Netflix, Hulu etc, I'm sorry you didn't realise this. I would have been happy to help you if I had been made aware of any connection problems with the televisions. The Owners' Suite which is the additional bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette, was offered to you online when you booked last year and after you arrived, yet it was declined. The house is indeed a 5 bedroom, 4 bathroom house. You are correct about the stairs to the third floor, they are steep but well lit and there is a banister. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future, the 5th bedroom is now just part of the package with any booking so perhaps it will be enough space for you. Warm Regards.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Northern VA

Can't wait to come back!

  • 5 of 5

We could not have been happier with our stay at this lovely home. The house was exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated, it’s a quick walk to downtown Charleston and the Battery, there is parking for 2 cars, everything was in working order, and the owner was easy to get in touch with and very responsive. They have thought of everything a traveler could possibly need! Hairdryers in all 3 bathrooms, reading glasses, maps of city, restaurant recommendations, coffee, tea and everything you need for cooking. They also provided a beautiful bottle of wine – which we enjoyed very much. The house is lovely and comfortable, we had six adults staying for 3 nights and we had plenty of room.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Upstate New York

Great Charleston Vacation With Friends

  • 5 of 5

We booked this rental with three other couples for our annual visit to Charleston. The property was fantastic and just as described. It is located within easy walking distance to many of the historical sites, fine restaurants and shopping that Charleston is known for. The house is spacious, very clean and well maintained. The second level porch was great gathering location to enjoy the beautiful weather, morning coffee or happy hour. Sallyann is very responsive to any calls or emails. We would highly recommend this property!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Apr-2015
  • Date of Stay: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

Three couples looking to explore Charlestown had a wonderful time. The house was better than advertised, perfectly located on a quiet street within walking distance to the entire downtown area. Everything promised by Sallyann was delivered, plus an unexpected welcome gift. Very clean with everything we needed to feel right at home. We would highly recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Mar-2015
  • Date of Stay: March 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Property Manager

Sallyann Bell
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 December, 2017


Downtown Charleston
Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Nearest Train
9 Miles
Nearest Beach
11 Miles
Folly Beach
Car: not necessary

Charleston is a vibrant city full of history, culture and hospitality. It was recently voted #1 city in the US by Conde Nast and local restaurants are continually featured in Bon Appetit, making Charleston a must-see city. Take a carriage ride around our cobblestone streets, shop 'til you drop on King Street, eat at your choice of the numerous top rated restaurants or tour some of the historic houses and sites, all without getting into your car. There are an abundance of things to do and places to see in the area to suit everyone.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Historic Old City, Charleston Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
1 Jan 2018 - 28 Feb 2018
30 night minimum stay
for 30 nights
1 Mar 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
30 night minimum stay
for 30 nights
My Standard Rate
30 night minimum stay
for 30 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £359.45
Cleaning Fee £215.67

The weekly cleaning and linen fee is included in the total tariff.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals