Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Recently Remodled Studio In The Heart Of Playa Del Carmen

Bedrooms 1
Space 550 sq ft
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Studio Apartment With Full Kitchen In A Gated Neighborhood

Studio apartment in Toho Ku Interior (gated community). The apartment has a king bed perfect for 2 with linens provided, newly renovated bathroom with a rain head glass enclosed shower, full kitchen with a fridge, microwave, stove top, and all cooking utensils and appliances. There is a new flat panel TV with cable and WiFi. An outdoor shower is available at the entrance to the house for washing off after the beach. We also have a bistro table and 2 chairs outside for enjoying morning coffee or if you prefer a beer in the afternoon.

Whitney Lopez & Lynn Brandow
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 June, 2018

About Whitney Lopez & Lynn Brandow

My parents built this house in the 1990's for our family to stay during vacations. In 2004 I moved into the house intending to stay for 6 months. 6 months quickly turned into many many years. Four years ago I decided to move back to upstate NY to be closer to my family and for my children to attend school. During the past 20 years numerous friends and family have come to visit and stay with us. During their vacations we were constantly asked 'why don't you rent your home for vacationers'. Instead of leaving the house empty we took the advice of friends, we decided to turn our home into a vacation home for sophisticated travelers. We began 2 years ago with this studio #490533 which is on the first floor of the house (my children's old room). Then we remodeled the main apartment on the first floor #512638. And last year we finished a 1 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor #761146. We also have another apartment on the 3rd floor that we are finishing right now and will have ready for November 2015.

Whitney Lopez & Lynn Brandow purchased this studio in 1995

Why Whitney Lopez & Lynn Brandow chose Gonzalo Guerrero

Our home is located in the only gated community, Toho Ku Interior, in the heart of Playa Del Carmen. The entrance to Toho Ku is only 3 blocks from the newest section of 5th Avenue, which has the best restaurants, shopping, and the best beach clubs.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday studio in Gonzalo Guerrero in Playa del Carmen

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • It is a newly renovated bathroom with a Rain head and shower glass enclosure.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Recently Remodled Studio In The Heart Of Playa Del Carmen
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
Saskatoon, Canada

Very Comfortable Accommodation in Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable bed, check. Hot shower, check. Well-equipped kitchen, check. Great location, check. Although small, this studio is very comfortable for a short stay for two people. One person could stay here for much longer. My wife and I really enjoyed the sitting area right outside the door. The other people in the building were friendly and complimentary of the owners. I agree, the owners were responsive, honest and easy to communicate with. A small issue (leaky toilet) arose but was dealt with to my satisfaction. Also, I suggest that new grouting is required in the shower before it causes a problem. Still, the studio presents well and contains everything you need. It is only a ten minute walk to the beach, is close to all the action on fifth avenue, yet far enough away to be quiet at night. Two grocery stores are only a five minutes away. I certainly wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. Lynn, Whitney, thanks for sharing your property, we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kelowna BC

good location to see 5th avenue and go the beach

  • 4 of 5

the unit is about a 5-8 minute walk to 5th avenue and the beach is straight down the street. It is very small so good for short-term but not long-term. the Owners are very nice. There is cable TV but only a few channels are in English,

  • Review Submitted: 23-Dec-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

exploring other options

  • 1 of 5

I stayed in this third floor, recently completed unit for three weeks. It may be better suited for a short term rental, but it did not function well for me. While TV is offered, it should be noted that the programming is all Mexican which was not made clear in the listing. I understand that dish TV is required for northern programming. The wireless router was located in the first floor apartment and the service was either agonizingly slow or timed out; I assume because of the number of users. The location is about a half mile to the beach and to Fifth Avenue, but the northern most part of Fifth, so the distance became more of a taxi ride than a walk. Cooking was a challenge since there were two frying pans and a stock pot, but no sauce pans. I paid a cleaning fee for weekly linen service, but no one ever showed up. Which would not have been a problem had there been more than one set of sheets and two bath towels. The apartment was furnished with overhead lights. Not one table lamp or bedside lamp for reading. But the overriding reason I would not rent here again was due to the six dogs who were in the yard across the street. Every time sometime walked by, which was frequently, they barked. So there was no sitting out on the balcony (lounge chairs would have been nice). It wasn't air conditioning weather, but unfortunately I had to turn the a/c on rather than listen to the dogs. This is a neighborhood very much in transition. I was happy to find other comparably priced, more comfortable accommodations for my next trip.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Apr-2015
  • Date of Stay: January 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is not for this studio apartment. As stated this studio is on the first floor of the home not the 3rd. The apartment this guest stayed in is on our 3rd floor #761146. The TV remote clearly has a button on it to change the language to English for many channels that are offered. I'm sorry that you did not find this option or asked me during your stay I would have told you about it. Seeing as how we have never received that complaint from any of our numerous guests I did not see it as something to point out. I have however now stated it on our sites just to clear up any confusion for future travelers. We have changed our internet service to have higher speed internet available in all locations of the house. My parents stayed in this 3rd floor apartment for the entire month of July 2015 and had no internet connection issues, while at the same time all other apartments were occupied. We have also provided more cooking supplies to fill the kitchen as this review made us aware that some of our supplies have gone missing. This person that wrote this review was NOT charged a cleaning fee during their stay as the exact words prior to the rental were "I do not want any cleaning services because I have valuables in the apartment and do not want anyone entering it during my stay I would prefer to clean it myself" Therefore there was no cleaning services provided. We now do not offer the option to not have cleaning done during your stay. As per the complaint about dogs. This is the first time over the past few years that we have ever had a guest complain about any barking. We have many guests that have rented with us numerous times each year. I do however understand that if you are used to never being around dogs that the occasional barking could bother you. I provide all guests with my personal cell phone number so that if there are any issues during your stay they can be communicated and addressed immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Sherwood park, alberta, canada

Highly recommend

  • 5 of 5

This little piece of paradise was exactly what we expected plus much more. The location was great! Just blocks away from the popular 5 th ave and the beach. The studio is very new with a high end comfortable king bed. The bathroom and rain shower was amazing. It had a beautiful kitchenette so you can do your own cooking plus a barbeque grill. The outside patio was huge with a table and six chairs. Also a nice sitting area. We so much enjoyed our stay! Thanks Whitney for letting us enjoy your special little place. Also for answering all of our questions promptly:)

  • Review Submitted: 10-Mar-2015
  • Date of Stay: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

Awesome little condo.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days. Its a lovely little condo that is only a couple blocks from Quinta ave shopping, the beach, resteraunts and grocery shopping. The air conditioning felt awesome after spending a day having fun in the sun. The owner was very easy to deal with and the location was nice and quiet. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jan-2015
  • Date of Stay: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Toronto Canada

I highly recommend this studio for me it was a “10”

  • 5 of 5

This studio apt. was a good choice for me, way better than a hotel room. The photos and description of the studio were accurate and real. I really enjoyed the rain shower in the bathroom and the new king sized bed in fact everything in the apt.was new. The owners Lynn and Whitney were always available to answer any questions I had (I did not have many). The binder with all the Information on the area was so helpful, maps, restaurants, grocery stores, banking, plus lots of area activities. This resident is very safe and the apt. is private with a siting area and a nice BBQ which I cooked stake on a couple of times. I really enjoyed having a bike to get around on as well.

Ralph G. Toronto, Canada

  • Review Submitted: 05-Apr-2014
  • Date of Stay: March 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Xcaret Park
Xcaret is an amazing day trip to see some of Mexico's natural beauty.
Avenida 5 (Fifth Avenue)
La Quinta (5th Ave) is full of neat little stores and amazing restaurants.
Chez Celine
It is very hard to walk 5th Ave and not stop for a delicious pastry. My favorite is the vani...
If you are looking for a fun night of live music and guacamole this is definitely the spot.
Kool Fish -- CLOSED
Delicious fresh fish!
Ajua Maya - Latin Dinner Club
If you are in the mood for traditional Mexican food like cochinita pibil, pollo en mole, o r...
My favorite restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Best way to start your day with a fresh frui...
Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Cancun International Airport
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
To Cozumel
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Mamitas Beach Club


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £41.55
Refundable Damage Deposit £377.75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals