HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

John Goins & Robert Broecker

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks English, French

Chrysalis: Restore, Renew, Refresh

23 Reviews
People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Ruth Hardy Park - Chrysalis

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

You deserve this. You deserve the chic comfort of Chrysalis. Imagine lounging by the saltwater pool, gazing up at the spectacular view of the San Jacinto Mountains. Or grilling out in the spacious backyard, enjoying a beverage in the desert garden. This home is private, sits on a quiet street and includes the amenities you need for a relaxing get-away. There is a fully equipped kitchen and grill, outdoor dining area, comfy lounges and more!

Movie Colony East in Central Palm Springs is close to everything:shopping, restaurants, golf, tennis, airport and entertainment. Ride the two house bikes downtown in just 5 minutes. Walk past one of the many nearby celebrity homes. Or pop over to the Design District to indulge your stylish side.

Rates listed are subject to change without notice and are higher on weekends, holidays, and special events. Reservation deposit may be increased during those same times. Other Costs: Quote will include flat rate nightly Energy Fee and Cleaning Fee in addition to the rental rate. There is an 11.5% Occupancy tax in Palm Springs.

Two night stays available mid-week and low season. Please call to book a short stay.

CHECK OUT OUR OTHER HOUSE IN WARM SANDS (South Palm Springs)! - Cielo: vrbo 689861

TOT#4923000

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
John Goins & Robert Broecker (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks English, French

About John Goins & Robert Broecker

Twelve years ago, some friends let us stay in their Palm Springs house for a long weekend. We fell in love with the city and the area! Now we have our own place and we want to share the Palm Springs experience with others. Our spirit soars every time we come to town! We hope yours will too.

John Goins & Robert Broecker purchased this house in 2012

Why John Goins & Robert Broecker chose Palm Springs

The view rocks! So does the location. We enjoy sunning by the pool, taking in the view of the mountains. We can ride bikes to the grocery store or Koffi or take a long walk through the neighborhood to the Art District. Look for the Big Dipper right above you when lounging by the pool at night.

What makes this house unique

Enjoy the Chrysalis-style. We wanted the house to have that Palm Springs vibe and we still get excited whenever we arrive. It's the perfect get-away: comfortable, stylish and care-free.

There is a secret compartment at Chrysalis. See if you can find it.

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a great home this is! We spent an extended weekend here to celebrate our friends' 25th wedding anniversary, and what a treat this home was! The mid-century modern design is impeccable - offering all of the amenities of home...and then some! The comfort in the beds rival some of the top hotels and no detail was spared - including plenty of towels and lush robes to keep us warm when we got out of the beautiful pool. This home is a must visit - I certainly look forward to visiting again! Cheers guys on a great PS home!
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.7
based on 23 holidaymaker reviews

Chrysalis: Restore, Renew, Refresh
average rating of 4.695652 based on 27 reviews
5

Excellent Family Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful family spring break vacation at Chrysalis. When we arrived, the house was clean and lived up to the standards set by the pictures online. We had three adults and three children and the house had enough space for all of us. The kitchen was equipped with everything needed to prepare basic meals as well as some extras. The kids enjoyed the snow cone maker! All three bedrooms were very comfortable. The outside area was out favorite part of the house. The pool and hot tub were absolutely perfect for us. The heats and jets made it possible for us to swim all day long despite it being a little windy and chilly outside. The house is centrally located to several Palm Springs attractions. We had a great time and will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berkeley, CA
5

Beautiful Stay!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at Chrysalis and it was just as great as the first. The home is still beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. When we arrived the home was nice and cool even though it was 110F outside. John and Robert left us a nice bottle of bubbly, just like the last time which we enjoyed while soaking in the hot tub. Before our stay we had some questions about accommodations. John and Robert answered everything and even helped us arrange for a poolside massage. I enthusiastically recommend Chrysalis!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a nice stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego
1

AWFUL VACATION HOME - SMELL IN THE HOUSE WAS HORRID AND PICTURES ONLINE ARE PHOTOSHOPPED!!!

  • 1 of 5

Owners don't call back if there is problem, A/C did not work, the pool was dirty and jacuzzi did not work. The floors were all dirty and cracked. No outlets for any devices. Don't be fooled by their advertisement!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to review our home. We take every review seriously and are sorry that Chrysalis did not meet your expectations. We make every effort to provide a quality and relaxing vacation home and are proud of the many positive reviews we have received. This includes reviews that told us that our photos were a good representation of the home. We returned every call you made and even reached out to you several times. So we are unclear as to which calls we may have missed, but apologize if that may have been the case. Thank you again. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Oasis in the desert

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous week we had in the desert. John and Roberts house was a perfect place for our family reunion. It was very well equipped for 7 of us. Loved that it was so close to town. Loved hanging out in the hot tub with coffee in the morning and a glass of wine at night with all the stars. Love Palm Springs!

It was a perfect house to hang out in.

Thank you for all your help.

Elizabeth

Minneapolis

  • Review Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

I rented Chrysalis with 6 other girlfriends for a weekend getaway in June 2015. We all agreed-it was great! The open kitchen/dining/living room was perfect; There was plenty of seating for us to all gather in one space. The decor was right in line with Palm Springs fun Mid-Century Modern vibe. We were a little surprised at first that the pool (where we spent most of our time) was in the front yard...but it didn't matter! The pretty trees around the perimeter kept it private. The location of this rental couldn't have been better either-great proximity to downtown, grocery shopping, everything you'd need for a great PS experience. The owners, John & Robert were extremely prompt in responding to emails and calls. The property manager, Mike, was helpful as well! Overall, a great place and we would absolutely consider coming back! 😁

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Bainbridge Island, WA
4

Renter

  • 4 of 5

Great house in a wonderful neighborhood. Centrally located near downtown Palm Springs and other attractions. Home is well-apportioned with state of art electronics and comfortable bedrooms for up to 6 people and nicely decorated. Common areas are small. The pool was wonderful, but much smaller than pictured. If you plan to cook, bring your own knife. The knives were very dull.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen: Thanks for your comments. We take all feedback from guests seriously. Please note that the knife block includes a sharpener. Please feel free to use this if you stay with us again. Cheers, --John
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Palm Springs
Car: recommended

From Wikipedia: 'The Movie Colony is just east of Palm Canyon Drive. The Movie Colony East neighborhood extends east from the Ruth Hardy Park. These areas started growing in the 1930s as Hollywood movie stars built their smaller getaways from their Los Angeles area estates. Bob Hope, Frank Sinatra, Estee Lauder, and Bing Crosby built homes in these neighborhoods.'

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Ruth Hardy Park, California Desert

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer 2016
1 May 2016 - 30 Sep 2016
3 night minimum stay
£730
for 3 nights
From
£128
From
£171
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,289
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Shoulder 2016
1 Oct 2016 - 20 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
£859
for 3 nights
From
£171
From
£256
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,460
£3,774
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
21 Nov 2016 - 28 Nov 2016
5 night minimum stay
£1,662
for 5 nights
From
£256
From
£273
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Shoulder
29 Nov 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£859
for 3 nights
From
£171
From
£256
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,460
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
January 2017
4 Jan 2017 - 31 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£859
for 3 nights
From
£171
From
£256
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,717
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
March/April 2017
1 Mar 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
5 night minimum stay
£2,228
for 5 nights
From
£342
From
£428
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,745
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£1,586
for 4 nights
From
£299
From
£342
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,403
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £173 + Tax
Energy fee £138 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £346
Tax Rate 11.5%

Rate are subject to change until confirmed. Holidays and special event weekends may be higher.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ruth Hardy Park in California Desert

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • ensuite bath - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , look for the hidden compartment!
    main bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , two medicine cabinets
  • Plush robes for each guest!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , King bed, ensuite bath, access to backyard, large closet
    Grey room - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , original artwork
    Mountain view room - 2 Single Bed , ample closet space, mountain views, can be an addt'l king
  • All bedrooms have flat screen TVs with Cable, IPod player/alarm clock.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties