Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Epic ocean view with large outdoor living spaces

Bedrooms 3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom All With On-suite Bathrooms, Stunning Panoramic Ocean View


• completely secluded and private estate

• outstanding ocean and mountain views

• all bedrooms air-conditioned & on-suite bathrooms

• large raised covered patio over looking the ocean

• infinity pool with tiled deck area

• large air-conditioned lounge with 55inch wide screen tv/ dvd (no satellite or cable)

• fast internet with wifi throughout property

• gas bbq

• drive time to dominicalito beach 8 minutes

Casa Pura Vista is in the select neighborhood of escaleras mountain at an altitude of 1,200ft/365mts the property befits from the cooling ocean and mountain breezes and offers commanding panoramic views over the ocean, north along the coastline to manuel antonio and south to dominicalito bay with views of the surrounding mountains with dense tropical forest home to huge variety of wildlife, monkeys and birds.

The villa has been built in a spanish colonial style and decorated with tasteful finishes and fittings with comfortable furniture.

Villa layout

The villa is built on a slopping mountain incline that give it a natural 2 stores with the main level is accessible with the use of steps or stairs.

On the main floor overlooking the expansive panoramic views of dominicalito to manuel antonio is a large covered patio with sofa, chairs and coffee table this leads to the tiled deck area around the infinity pool with deck chairs table and sun umbrella.

The kitchen leads off the patio area, which is well equipped with all utensils and appliances. And has a central island for added counter space. This leads to a spacious lobby that leads to the bedrooms and the colonial style walled garden courtyard with a fountain surrounded by tropical flowers and plants.

The on the main floor there are two bedrooms both with queen size beds. The master bedroom has an ocean view and leads directly to the pool. This bedroom has air-conditioning, on-suite bathtub, and separate shower, twin sink granite vanity top & toilet. The second bedroom also has queen-size bed, air-conditioning an on-suite shower & twin sink granite vanity top & toilet.

The lower ground floor

The third bedroom is on the lower floor has a Queen-size bed, air-conditioning an on-suite shower & single sink ceramic vanity top & toilet.

There are two off street areas for parking 3 cars with one under a covered carport.

• You will need to rent a 4x4 vehicle to access the property and to enjoy the southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica

More Details

Property Manager
Adam Wood
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 May, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Dominical in Bahía Ballena

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Quiet time after 10:00 pm
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Twin Sinks with Marble Vanity Top
    Master Bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Twin Sinks with Marble Vanity Top
  • All bathrooms are spacious
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Air conditioning, On-Suite Bathroom, View of Ocean
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Air conditioning & On-Suite Bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Large Double Bed , Air conditioning & On-Suite Bathroom,
  • All bedroom and pillows are very comfortable with good quality sheets and towels
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • rafting
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

82% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Epic ocean view with large outdoor living spaces
average rating of 4.6086955 based on 23 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Lovely place

  • Review Submitted: 10-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Great propert. Manager was very good. Ideal for any experienced Costa Rica traveler! Highly recommend

  • Review Submitted: 20-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Magestic Views! !Upscale Finishes! Great Service!

  • 5 of 5

This house is laid out for just about any type of group. Whether you are one large family, two small families, or a group of friends....this house has got you covered. We were two couples and two singles (group of friends). With two bedrooms (with en suites), a Den Area upstairs, and a separate bedroom (with en suite) one level down and with its own private are able to achieve any level of privacy or intimacy that you are looking for. The flow of the house was well thought out and the outdoor entertainment space is everything you could ever want. I really liked all of the screen doors for the many points of entry leading you in and out of different areas of the house. These definitely come in handy when attempting to minimize the amount of insects inside the house. You are in the jungle; be prepared for big bugs and for getting to a place in your head where you can ignore them. It will no be that hard considering where you will be. The pool was great as well. When inside, the pool water literally looks as if it connects with the sea. Another aspect of the house we all could not stop commenting on was the lush landscaping around the property. You do have one neighbor down and across the street, but you barely even realize they are there. If privacy is important to you like me on trips like this, then you have absolutely no worries with this house. Cleanliness was top-notch and maintenance and upkeep were almost perfect. The property manager Adam was great. We were a very low maintenance group in terms of needing recommendation, tips, and the like. This was my 5th trip to CR, so we were pretty well set; however, I immediately got the impression that Adam is a very communicative and caring manager. I loved his story.

A Couple Cons/Criticisms:

Upon arrival, there was a binder with general information about the house and the local area. This binder essentially told us everything we need to know; however, there was info that should be removed. It mentions a security system in the binder, but ownership has since removed it due to motion detector issues with birds and the like. I get it, but why don't you simply update the binder? It would only take a couple of minutes and its an item that many people will take seriously in terms of understanding how it works. Also, I had to put the downstairs shower faucet back together in order to get the shower to work properly. That was it!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Breathtaking views with large outdoor living space, but not without it's issues.

  • 2 of 5

I'll start this review by stating that I'm very familiar w/CR, especially this area as I travel down here 3x a year. This past Jan, I stayed at La Joyita - which is a smaller neighbouring house. During that stay, I walked up the road & saw this property, which prompted me to rent it this time around. I traveled w/my 23 yr old daughter this trip.

The Good: The grounds, the views, the pool, the covered patio - all great. We spent a lot of time enjoying the views from the pool and the jungle rains from the covered patio. The house is located beside a tall line of trees that appear to be a travel line for Howlers & Capuchins, so there is a lot of monkey traffic which is great for those of us who want to connect w/nature.

The Not So Good: I'll start with the biggest issue with this house - security. For starters, there are many points of very easy access to this house for anyone wishing to get in. Eg: Directly beside the main front door is a large window opening (no window). Anyone can very quickly and easily climb through it in seconds and they're in the house. The entrance to the kitchen is only a swinging door with no locks. All of the french doors throughout the house (except one) have deadbolts but don't bolt into the floor, so pushing them from the outside easily opens them. Because the master bdrm had no lock, we ended up sleeping in the back bdrm where there was a lock on the door. I did not sleep one decent night the whole trip. Now, none of this would have been an issue if the alarm system worked - but it did not work. We were told the alarm company was coming on the Tuesday, but they never showed. The alarm was broken our entire trip.

Other issues: Waterfall in courtyard broken, screens in kitchen windows all torn, blinds in master & TV room broken, dishwasher broken, several lights were out, no larger sized frying pans, right side burners in BBQ did not work, kitchen faucet was broken, some of the lawn furniture was in rough shape, torn and unusable.

The amenities of this property are part of the pricing. Many did not work, so that was quite disappointing. In essence, I paid for things I did not receive, and that is never a good thing.

NOTE: None of this is a reflection of Adam, the property manager. He tried his best, but a lot of the issues were out of his control. Adam is absolutely wonderful & one of the reasons why I rented through him again.

Until all the issues are fixed, I would not recommend this house.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kymberlee, Thank you for your thorough and honest review. I have allowed some time to pass regarding my response because we have taken your review seriously and have been considering all of the items you have mentioned. I am pleased to say that we have been working to improve Casa Pura Vista and will continue to do so. I can also report that the owner is committed to making the necessary improvements so that we can restore Casa Pura Vista to it's original beauty and comfort. We look forward to the opportunity to enhance Casa Pura Vista and hope you'll consider staying again in the future. !!!UPDATE!!! Hi Kimberlee, I wanted to follow up on my previous response and am pleased to report that the house has been receiving a lot of love and attention during the low season. First, we have installed a new security system in order to provide our renters more security and peace of mind. We did a thorough evaluation of all appliances, air conditioners, fans, and lights. We installed a new dishwasher, kitchen faucet, and we had all of the air conditioners cleaned and serviced as well as all light fixtures and fans. We have replaced the upholstery on the furniture cushions, added new slings to the pool lounges, and have installed a new fountain pump for the waterfall in the courtyard. In addition to all of these changes the house is under contract and the new owners are excited to continue improving Casa Pura Vista and really making it shine. If you would like to come back for a return visit I would be proud to have you in Casa Pura Vista and can offer you a discount on your stay. Pura Vida, Adam Rental Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


  • 5 of 5

In a nutshell we loved staying in this house. We stayed with another couple and great layout for everyone having their own space. tranquil, loved the pool, great view. Adam was great and helpful, met the owner who was wonderful.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
The Woodlands

Amazing property! Breathtaking views!

  • 5 of 5

The pictures cannot do this place justice - we arrived right around the time of sunset, and the view from the amazing outdoor living space was breathtaking. Spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean! You need 4WD to get there, but totally worth it!

The layout of the house is great, just as described. Each bedroom has it's own adjoining bathroom, and the outdoor living space is great. There is also a "den" type room near the bedroom in the rear of the house. We didn't spend much time there, but could easily be used as additional sleeping space for larger families. House is amazingly clean, and had a cleaning service come in mid-week to change linens and general cleaning. Kitchen is very well equipped, with all the utensils and equipment you could need. House also has a washer /dryer.

Adam was so helpful with everything - he sent us information before our arrival about activities in the area, and we definitely took him up on it. He had everything all confirmed and planned out when we got there, with a day by day itinerary. We did surf lessons in Dominical with Sunset Surf (highly recommend!), horseback riding to Nauyaca Falls (highly recommend!), a canopy tour at Osa Mountain (highly recommend!), and the day trip via boat to Corcovado National Park (highly recommend! - are you sensing a theme here?). On the National Park tour we saw dolphins on the boat ride there. Once we got there, we did hikes where we saw howler and spider monkeys, coati, a sloth, crocodiles (both in the ocean and in the river), and about a dozen scarlet macaws! We also visited the beach in Dominical and a day at Uvita exploring the Whale's Tail.

We would come back to the house each day after doing these great activities and were treated to the most amazing sunsets from the infinity pool. Truly beautiful to watch each night.

We also frequented many of the local restaurants - some of our favorites were Cafe de Ensuenos (great for breakfast and lunch and the most amazing smoothies), El Pescado Loco (fish tacos and fish & chips), and Fuego (new Brewery and Restaurant - worth it just to see the cool building) in Dominical. Uvita is just a bit further down the road, but there we enjoyed La Fogata for pizza and Sibu for craft beer, coffee, and wonderful desserts. Even further, but worth it for some great restaurants, is Ojochal - where we had an amazing dinner at Exotica, and a nice lunch with a view at Bamboo.

Highly recommend this property - we will be back!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1


Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Highway 34
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Damage Deposit £186.08

For a 7 night stay the Villa cleaned once during your stay with no charge. Additional cleaning is available for a fee.
Rates are subject to change until dates are confirmed.

Fifty percent of the full rental amount is due on establishment of the reservation, and the remaining amount is due thirty days prior to your check in date or cash on arrival

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals