HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

'She Sells Seashells' Gulf View / Golf Cart/ Free Ferry

Bedrooms 2
Space 980 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

Exclusively unique barrier island retreat for those seeking the extraordinary

A 5 minute free ferry ride and instantly, you are away from it all.

No cars, no stores, no problem. Just absolute paradise!

Really, there are no stores, no restaurants, no cars, no kidding.

Little Gasparilla Island is a beautiful bridgeless barrier island only accessible by boat. The island has 7 miles of uncrowded 'Old Florida Beaches'. You truly feel like you are on a private island.

The sunsets! Little Gasparilla Island has the most amazing sunsets. No two are alike. The colors in the afterglow can be spectacular. You will be sure to go home with plenty of magnificent sunset photos. She Sells Seashells offers the opportunity to view the sunsets right from the lanai.

The island offers some of the best fishing. You can fish from the dock or the beach. There are many options for boat rentals and fishing guides. For an adventurous experience you can even try fishing for goliath grouper which can get up to 700 pounds.

There are several options for kayak and stand up paddle board rentals. You may want to try a guided kayak tour through the mangrove tunnels or rent a clear bottom kayak to explore. If you would like to try, there are fishing kayaks available to rent.

The shelling is incredible. You can find a multitude of beautiful shells including sharks teeth and sand dollars. Wildlife is all around you. There are dolphins, manatee, gopher turtles, sea turtles, blue heron, pelicans as well as many other bird species. During sea turtle season you might be able to catch a baby sea turtle release.

She Sells Seashells is a gulf view "beachfully" decorated 2 bedroom 2 bath townhouse. The maximum occupancy is 6 people.

Our home has a King bed downstairs in the master bedroom and 2 queens in the second bedroom upstairs. All of our beds have comfortable memory foam toppers.

A golf cart is included to explore the sandy paths on the island. There are beach chairs, beach toys, beach umbrella and a handy beach cart.

Down on the deck is a table with chairs and a charcoal grill. An outdoor shower is downstairs, which is so refreshing after a day at the beach.

WIFI is provided by Hideaway Bay Beach Club. There are 3 flat screen televisions with satellite TV/HD/ DVR. There is a 47 inch flat screen TV in the living room. The upstairs bedroom has X BOX 360 with an assortment of games.

For added enjoyment is a movie collection and DVD player. There are also plenty of board games.

Included are all linens, beach towels, pots and pans, dishes, silverware, cooking utensils, coffee pot, toaster, crockpot, iron, ironing board, washer, dryer, microwave, dishwasher, blender, and central AC.

The ferry is free for guests and runs every 2-3 hours depending on the day of the week. There is free gated parking on the mainland. Also included is the use of the heated community pool. You can even bring your own boat (21.5 feet maximum) and dock it right at the community dock. There are 33 dock slips on a first come first serve basis. If you choose, you can use the community grill and smoker.

A short drive from the mainland there are several restaurants and grocery stores to choose from.

If you don't feel like cooking or going out to dinner you can even have a pizza delivered to the mainland ferry landing.

You will make memories of a lifetime at Little Gasparilla Island!

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
10 March, 2018

Why Christine chose Placida

We have always wanted a vacation home. We stumbled upon Little Gasparilla Island on the internet and loved the concept of this barrier island with no cars. We fell in love the first time we visited the island. It truly is paradise. The sunsets are amazing. The beach is uncrowded and peaceful. It is the perfect place for us to gather as a family and decompress. Every time we leave the island our family bond is closer.

What makes this townhome unique

Barrier Island, Golf cart community, free ferry service


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in the Placida in the Charlotte County

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 980 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • 21 and older to drive Golf Cart Max of 4 people on the Golf Cart
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Located upstairs
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Memory foam bed topper
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Large Double Bed , Memory foam bed toppers
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Little Gasparilla is a unique island vacation to be remembered. Come enjoy 'Old Florida.'


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(49 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
🐚"She Sells Seashells"🐚 GULF VIEW Golf Cart Free Ferry Heated Pool Boat Slip
average rating of 4.897959 based on 49 reviews

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at "She Sells Seashells." We were there the first week of March 2018. Beautiful townhouse - very comfortable, well-decorated and peaceful. Loved to spend time on the lanai overlooking the pond and gulf. i did quite a bit of shelling. :) I was told by others on the beach that this year wasn't the greatest for shells, but I found many that I loved. Only a few sand dollars, but that's more than I ever found anywhere else! Everyone was very friendly and helpful - while we waited for our first ferry, several people made a point of helping us, giving various suggestions and someone drove us to the townhouse so we wouldn't have problems finding it. The golf cart was very handy. Internet was a bit spotty. Christine has a back-up hotspot that helped and we also brought one of our own. Most of the time we could do what we needed to (we both have businesses where we need internet). I recommend using the internet in the morning - seemed to be worse later in the day. I very much enjoyed this townhouse. The view was awesome. Very relaxing! If you're looking for a relaxing, peaceful place in a wonderful location, this is it. If I come back to this area, I would stay here again! I wish I were still there.........

  • Review Submitted: 11-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience! Lovely condo, equipped with everything we needed, kitchen, extra bedding, lots of towels and perfect beach toys for our use. The golf cart was great to have for exploring the island. Thank you so much!

  • Review Submitted: 28-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You're welcome Katerina. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Thats the way I feel about LGI "perfect". Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Little Piece of Heaven - plus a Green Flash!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I decided this was about the best vacation we have been on in ages. Little Gasparilla Island is exactly what we have been looking for - peaceful, beautiful, easy to be there, very friendly people, amazing views, incredible beach walking, shells galore, very attractive and comfortable condo, everything we needed and wanted! And we actually saw the Green Flash at the end of one of the sunsets!! (Good thing we both saw it or we might have thought the other one was crazy!)

Christine is extremely helpful and was available if we had questions. She has thought of everything one might need - all instructions are thorough and easy to follow. She has made it easy to forget about the details and just enjoy being on the island. We brought everything we would need for our trip across with us on the ferry when we arrived because we just wanted to simply stay put and relax. We definitely plan to come back!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lisa for your kind review. You are definitely one of the lucky ones to have witnessed the green flash. I'm happy you enjoyed your first trip to Little Gasparilla Island. Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Enjoyed the island...... Friendly people and peaceful beach time.

  • 5 of 5

Condo was beautiful. Every detail was taken care of. As the weather warmed we used the air at night..... The motor running caused a poor nights sleep. Thanks for everything.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review Cathy. When the weather is nice to leave the windows open it is so nice to sleep upstairs and listen to the crashing waves. Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful, we always enjoy Little Gaspirila . The beach is fantastic,with lots of great shells.

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleased with our accommodations. Condo was clean and very cozy. We had a great stay.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Lynn for your review. Agreed the shelling is always fantastic. Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kansas City

Quiet Relaxed Island Setting! Great Host with well decorated and furnished rental. - Bad WiFi...

  • 4 of 5

Christine has done a great job of decorating the condo! The "She Sells Sea Shell's" Beach decorating theme is very well done. The Island is quiet and relaxed. There are no restaurants or businesses on the island. If you like to relax and not deal with the crowds that frequent other Florida beaches this is for you IF you can cook a nice meal in the condo. I did not give it five stars because the WiFi access is terrible. The WiFi is provided by the condo association not the owner directly. It was spotty (the access point would knock us off after we had logged on) and slow. Very slow... No even fast enough to support general browsing. It definitely would not support Netflix or other streaming services. Understand that getting away from it all should not necessarily mean having access to the internet. But, it has become the third utility. The problem needs to be addressed by the Home Owners Association. That said, it is a great unit on a relaxing, quiet island!

  • Review Submitted: 29-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Martin for your review. I'm glad you were able to appreciate the quite relaxation that Little Gasparilla Island has to offer. Our beach is so unique being on a barrier island and never crowded. There are many times when there are only a few umbrellas up on the whole island. There are no restaurants which makes having a fully equipped kitchen a bonus. The association has made upgrades to the wifi. Unfortunately during very busy times such as your Christmas stay the wifi can be slow. For this reason I have added my own wifi hotspot as a back up. This is not for streaming movies but checking emails and browsing. I assumed everything was ok when you said you were connected. I do have direct tv with dvr service plus a large DVD collection if you feel like watching a movie. I hope you come back soon🌴�
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Little Gasparilla Island is a barrier island off of Southwest Florida. There are no cars on the island, only sandy paths for golf carts or foot. Come experience paradise!


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £68.6
Damage Deposit £361.05

***The new service fee that is listed is a fee that goes to VRBO. If you wish to avoid that additional fee, please contact me with alternative payment methods.***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals