HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautifully Updated Mt.Chalet, View, Lake Access, Close to Lake, Good Dog OK

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday chalet in Lake Arrowhead - Morningside Chalet

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

*Our calendar is always up to date!*

*Questions before booking? Click the blue button to the right to "Send E-Mail" or call us.

*We may accept up to 2 good, clean, well trained dogs over 3 years old.

*If you are using REQUEST TO BOOK, please enter correct number of guests and pets for proper invoicing and tell us a little about yourselves!*

Morningside Chalet is located at the end of a flat cul-de-sac with plenty of parking and no traffic. Our home is adjacent to acres of protected forestland so it is very private, quiet and relaxing but close to everything. It’s perfect for a family getaway or a romantic retreat. Walk down the hill to Blue Jay for shopping, movies, restaurant and grocery store. It’s a three-minute drive or a ten-minute walk to access the lake walking trails. We also offer use of our guest pass to the two private beach clubs (only a five minute drive) for swimming and sunbathing. We have umbrellas, rafts and cooler for your use.

It’s a short five minute drive to Lake Arrowhead Village where you and your family and friends can enjoy the summer concerts, ice cream and candy stores, galleries, shopping, boat trips and dining.

Come in the autumn for beautiful fall color and Oktoberfest or in the winter to ski Snow Valley, a short sixteen mile trip away.

The cabin sleeps six comfortably. Our master has a king bed with a private 3/4 bath while the second bedroom has a queen bed and nearby full bath. Both, bedrooms have beautiful, peaceful views. The large cheerful loft has 2 twin beds (great for kids), flat screen TV, DVD player, DVR, game table, and a closet full of games, puzzles, and books. Additionally, there is a small private deck with a view of the Little Bear Greenbelt.

All the beds have down pillows or optional hypoallergenic pillows, and luxurious new linens, comforters & quilts.

The airy yet cozy chalet has twenty-foot ceilings, eclectic high end furnishings, hardwood floors, an impressive stone fireplace in the great room and a kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless appliances. The kitchen is stocked with cookware, utensils, flatware, coffeemaker, and everything you’ll need for a 4th of July barbeque to Christmas dinner.

The ultra clean bathrooms also have granite counter tops, plenty of fluffy towels, make-up or shaving mirrors, hair dryers and personal soaps.

There are four flat screen TVs equipped with Direct TV, DVRs and an X-Box with games and NetFlix. Each TV has it’s own DVD player. Our great room TV has a sound system that will also accommodate your own Ipod or Iphone for music and the DVD player also plays CDs. We offer free WI-fi, internet service and land line telephone. We have two additional large decks with comfortable furniture, barbeque, umbrellas and dining table.

Very romantic, also great for family fun and those over 55 (as long as 10 steps down to the front door aren't an issue). People with alternative lifestyles are welcome.

Pack your clothes, food and family or friends and come up and escape the city.

This is not a party house and we ask that you respect us (and our neighbors) by not renting from us if this is what you are looking for.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Ray and Christie
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
1 December, 2016
Call Owner

About Ray and Christie

Ray grew up in the mid-west. Christie grew up in Southern California. We met while both working on the road with a famous rock band in the seventies. We dated briefly at that time and then went our separate ways. Twenty years later, we met again, fell in love and were married. We just celebrated our thirteenth anniversary.

Ray and Christie purchased this chalet in 2013

Why Ray and Christie chose Inland Empire

Christie had vacationed in Arrowhead since she was a child. When we reunited this became our favorite vacation spot as a couple. It's always been our dream to buy a home here. It has finally become a reality. Its close proximity to our home in Ventura County makes it a perfect quick escape from our busy work lives. We love it so much we plan to retire here in the future.

What makes this chalet unique

It is just a spectacular house. We walked in and saw the 20 foot cathedral ceilings, floor to ceiling fireplace, wall of windows and huge deck and fell in love. Our home

is located at the end of the street so it is very quiet and feels far away from everything. It's really just above Blue Jay and at the west end of the lake. If there weren't so many beautiful trees we would have a lake view. We have plenty of parking.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Would love to stay here for another week or two! Reggie loved your deck with squirrels and jays to keep him alert-also our long walks around the neighborhood. Thanks so much!
May 2014
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(64 traveller reviews)

Beautifully Updated Mt.Chalet, View, Lake Access, Close to Lake, Good Dog OK
average rating of 5.0 based on 69 reviews
5

Best Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5

The Morningside Chalet has become our favorite place to vacation! Ray & Christie are very helpful and responsive. We first stayed here last Thanksgiving, and had such a great, relaxing time that we re-booked it again this year and couldn't be happier! We love how the cabin is decorated and appointed. It feels cozy and warm, while at the same time being classy and refined. The view from the treetops is amazing! It's great sitting on the balcony and breathing the fresh mountain air. The kitchen is well-stocked and has everything we needed to make Thanksgiving dinner. The fireplace is great, and really adds to the experience. The beds are super comfortable. My daughters love hanging out in the loft area and playing games. Our Labrador loves staying here as well! I can't say enough good things about this place or the owners. We can't wait to come back next time. Book your next vacation with Ray & Christie at the Morningside Chalet, you will be glad you did!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Todd, we are so grateful for the kind review. It's so nice when our guests notice that we really try to give them a good experience. Our real payback is when families like yours keep coming back. It' a goal for us to just have our same great guests come back year after year and share the chalet with us. We love hosting you and your family and look forward to having you stay again soon. Happy Holidays! Christie (& Ray)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved the Cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time and really loved the cabin. We rented this cabin for the weekend for a quick family get away. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised at how clean and modern the cabin was. It was recently updated so there were new appliances, floors, etc, yet the cabin still had that rustic, in the woods type of feel. When it came time for dinner, the cabin had everything you can possibly need, and then some... There was more than plenty of cookware and tableware, including a mixer if you're into baking.

One of my favorite parts was the patio. It seems like we ended up spending the entire time on it. It's very spacious and the view of the forest and the trees, and the fresh air was simply amazing. The patio furniture was new and very comfortable just like the rest of the cabin.

We will definitely be planing a trip back to Lake Arrowhead and would really enjoy staying at this cabin again!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gene for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the chalet. The deck is our favorite spot also. The air in Lake Arrowhead just smells different doesn't it? It's the first thing we notice when we arrive. You and your family were wonderful guests. We look forward to having you stay again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful yet homey cabin!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful homey cabin. The comfortable furniture, well supplied kitchen beautiful ,wood beam architecture ,were only a few of the positives and reasons why we plan to return.

We enjoyed our cocktails on the great deck with tree top views.

We hope to return in the spring with our grandchildren and go fishing at Lake Arrowhead and Lake Gregory just 10 minutes away.

Thank You

Christie and Ray

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anita, it was our pleasure having you all stay! We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and caught lots of fish. We look forward to hearing from you again. All the best. C&R.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
California
5

Well maintained home with beautiful deck and great location!

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend Morningside Chalet! It's such a great location, tucked away up in the woods, quiet and private yet SO conveniently close to all the amenities in the town of Blue Jay.

The owners keep the house well maintained and offer all kinds of information to make sure your vacation is everything you want it to be. They are easy to get in touch with and quick to respond, which is very nice.

This is a great family home, if you have teens they will never want to leave the fun loft! The beautiful deck was my favorite place to sit and watch the blue jays and just look out into the beautiful trees. It's a big bonus that it's located at the end of a cul-de-sac on a single loaded street. They have neighbors on only one side...it offers you that much more peace, privacy and wooded open space. If you're up to tackle a few hills, the walk down into Blue Jay and back is easy, and if you drive you're at the best grocery store around in minutes.

Owners have access to both beach clubs, which is important for parking and lake access, and have everything you need there, coolers, umbrellas, even floats for the lake. Lake Arrowhead village is a short 5-10 minute drive away. So much to do in this area.

The king bed in the master was super comfortable, and each room has a TV with access to DirectTV, and the loft closet is stocked with games, DVDs and Xbox. WiFi worked great too...everyone will be happy staying here!

Thanks again Christie and Ray for having us at your lovely home! Can't wait to stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jen. What a wonderful review! We are so glad you all had such a good time. We really enjoyed the photos you texted during your stay. It was really great to see you all having fun. We really enjoy the deck too. We've tried to make it comfortable because it's so nice outside this time of year. We all need a place to relax! We are also pleased your teens and almost teens liked the loft. Thanks for noticing that we try. Please bring your family and the kids, and the kids friends and come back. We would love to have you all stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Returning Bliss

  • 5 of 5

We returned to the Chalet to rest and relax and we were not disappointed - mission accomplished! This is one of our favorite get-aways and I can't say enough about it. You will not be disappointed! All the best...

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jim, Thanks so much staying again. We are so glad you and your family enjoy it. Thanks so much for the great review. You are wonderful guests and we always look forward to hosting your family. Hope to hear from you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful time at Morningside chalet

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough good things about our stay at Morningside chalet !!! The home was beautiful -all our needs were met !!We were there with our kids and grandkids and they had a terrific time- we also brought our dogs who enjoy there stay also !

We look forward to staying again next Fourth of July!!!We wish we could come more often -It was fabulous from start to finish !!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words Diane. We are so glad you all had a good time over the July 4th holiday. We hope to host you again next year or any time! You were great guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
41 Miles
Ontario
Nearest Barpub
0.7 Miles
Lake Arrowhead Sports Grill
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
189
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Miles
Bill's Villager Coffee Shop
Nearest Ski
16 Miles
Snow Valley
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Burnt Mill Beach Club
Car: necessary

Lake Arrowhead has four beautiful seasons. Enjoy boating, water skiing, mountain biking, hiking, shopping, restaurants, snow skiing, ice skating and the movie theatre.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Lake Arrowhead, Inland Empire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Standard Winter Rates
28 Nov 2016 - 13 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£464
for 2 nights
From
£190
From
£211
Fri,Sat
£1,350
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday Season
14 Dec 2016 - 20 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£489
for 2 nights
From
£202
From
£253
Fri,Sat
£1,434
 
 
Christmas Week
21 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£907
for 3 nights
From
£274
From
£274
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
New Years Week 2017
27 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,455
for 5 nights
From
£274
From
£274
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Holiday Season
2 Jan 2017 - 9 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£489
for 2 nights
From
£202
From
£253
Fri,Sat
£1,434
 
 
Late Winter Rates
11 Jan 2017 - 8 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£386
for 2 nights
From
£151
From
£198
Fri,Sat
£1,097
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Break
9 Apr 2017 - 23 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£420
for 2 nights
From
£168
From
£198
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,097
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Spring
24 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£420
for 2 nights
From
£168
From
£198
Fri,Sat
£928
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Weekend
26 May 2017 - 29 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£780
for 3 nights
From
£232
£1,097
 
 
Standard Summer Rates
1 Jun 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£498
for 2 nights
From
£207
From
£253
Fri,Sat
£1,476
 
 
Independence Day
30 Jun 2017 - 5 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£907
for 3 nights
From
£274
From
£274
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,603
 
 
Mid Summer
6 Jul 2017 - 3 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£498
for 2 nights
From
£207
From
£253
Fri,Sat
£1,476
 
 
Labor Day
1 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£907
for 3 nights
From
£274
From
£274
Fri,Sat
£1,476
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£439
for 2 nights
From
£177
From
£198
Fri,Sat
£1,223
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

cleaning and linen £79 + Tax
Pet Fee £20 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £276
Tax Rate 7.0%

Rates are for 4 guests where shown. Additional charges may apply for up to 6 guests. Summer rates are for 6 people. We MAY allow up to 8 guests for the family winter holidays in Dec./ Jan for an extra fee of $10 per person over 6. Dog Fee $25. Cleaning & Linen Fee $100 (sheets, bedding and towels included) $350 refundable security deposit.

Call for better rates if you want to stay for a week or more at Xmas, New Years or Winter Holiday.

$100 cleaning fee is added to the rental rate. If our housekeeper's invoice exceeds the cleaning fee, we will deduct any amount in excess of the $100 from your $350 refundable security deposit and return the balance due you along with a copy of our housekeeper's invoice.

100% refund if canceled 30 days before arrival date (45 days for holiday periods). Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

* If you are using BOOK IT, please enter correct number of guests and pets for proper invoicing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Lake Arrowhead in California

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1448 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , granite counters, make-up/ shaving mirror, hair dryer
    Master - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , granite, makeup/shaving mirror, hairdryer
  • Both bathrooms are clean and newly renovated
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Attached 3/4 bath w/ separate sink vestibule
    Loft - 2 Single Bed , Also a game room with flat screen, game table and small deck
  • All bedrooms have down or down alternate pillows, ultra soft sheets and bedding, flat screen TVs w/ DirectTV, DVD & DVR players and peaceful mountain views.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Our home is beautifully furnished and has been renovated. We offer lake access from the two private beach clubs. There are beach lounge chairs, umbrellas, rafts and cooler for your summer use. There is also a sled for winter fun.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot