HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Romantic honeymoon jungle and mountain view cottage

People2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cosy, Romantic Stand alone Cottage With Jungle And Mountain Views

This very special treehouse style cottage will have you falling in love with a side of Hawaii rarely seen anymore. Although modern and beautifully arcitectured it offers the jungle up to you. Every window looks out to tropical lush beauty. A wrap around screened lanai overlooking valley and mountains provides the perfect setting for romantic evening dining or morning coffee and jungle song bird musing. The large kitchenette is well supplied with stay at home cooking in mind. All the most amazing north shore beaches as well as the famous Kalalau Trail are mere minutes away and if you want to feel a little adventurous you can walk to the river for an evening dip in the jungle swimming hole. Take your camera because the river birds are beautiful. Best of all is the big comfy king bed and the star gazing skylight above you.

Homestay..#9481

More Details

Owner
Dawn McConnell
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 November, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Dawn, I couldn't find a spot on the VRBO link to enter a review so I shall just enter here.



We really enjoyed our stay at the Sea Turtle. We arrived late at night after a long travel day and fell into the WONDERFUL bed without knowing what to expect in the morning. It rained all night--that glorious jungle rain. Imagine our delight to wake up to bird calls and the spectacular view of the mountains embellished with our first of many rainbows. We appreciated the zen-like simplicity of the Sea Turtle's hexagonal structure, the peace of the jungle, the joy of showering under the waterfall showerhead while viewing the mountains and jungle wilds, and the glory of breakfast on the lanai.



Although I would have appreciated some standard amenities like towel bars to hang up wet towels, a robe hook, and an attached soap dish in the shower, we had everything we needed. The location was beautiful and convenient to Hanalei, ( 10-15 minutes by car) and the west end beaches,. The short jaunt to the Bay Colony Coffee shop was also a treat.



Thank you for creating such a delightful retreat for us.



Mahalo

Pam and MIke



** you made a brilliant investment in the bed! We usually have back pain when we sleep in hotel beds, Mike wants me to ask you the brand name and model of the mattress and springs. **
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 1

Location

Hanalei Bay
"Hanalei Bay is about 3 miles from the Sea Turtle Cottage. It is perfect for snorkeling, surf..."
Na Pali Coast State Park
"The Sea Turtle Cottage is about 2 miles from the Na Pali Coast Kalalau Trail and Ke'e Beach"
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Tahiti Nui
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Nawiliwili
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Princeville
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Kuhio
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Mediterranean Gourmet
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Wainiha, Lumaha'i and Tunnels
Car: recommended

We are central to numerous sandy white beaches, some of which offer uncrowded privacy. mOst of which are excellent for snorkeling and surfing and swimming

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Hanalei in Kauai

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • resort ...
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Exotic shower built to feel like an outdoor shower
  • Exotic tigerwood shower and bathroom enclosed but built into the flow of the jungle
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Cottage with King bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is a quaint corner store about 1/4 mile at the end of our street and an organic take out burrito store There is a fine dining oceanside restaurant 1+ miles away with a local lua and a coffe shop. Hanalei town is 3 miles away with shopping and multiple restaurants

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
23% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Romantic honeymoon jungle and mountain view cottage
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 22 reviews
Prescott, AZ
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Our honeymoon stay was fantastic. The house had everything we needed for the most part, including beach chairs, snorkeling gear, and boogie boards. Ask Matty to take you surfing! You won’t regret it. This girl for one loves an outdoor shower, and this one did not disappoint. And, go to Sushi Girl down the street. Aloha!

  • Review Submitted: 27-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Waking up to the rain was AMAZING

  • 4 of 5

A nice little get away. A bit grimy in some places and you definitely need to bring your bug spray but all amenities are included (though slightly limited) and the outdoor shower is awesome! We stayed a week here and that was about my limit for the small space. Overall nice stay, though.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unique, charming and comfortable cottage that gave us a "close to nature" experience.

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place! We truly felt like we were in a secluded, private jungle location. The view in the photos is mostly obscured now by the growth of all the foliage surrounding the Sea Turtle Cottage, but it doesn't deter the wonderful experience. Loved the outdoor bathroom/shower! We were treated very well by Matty, the caretaker, who answered questions and took care of any needs relative to the cottage. We had a lot of rain during our visit and we could sit on the balcony and enjoy the experience. Looking forward to the next visit!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Look No Further...

  • 5 of 5

If you want a beautiful, quiet, comfortable little house to yourself just down the road from Kauai's best beaches and the town of Hanalei, look no further. Dawn has carefully created a lovely little spot, comfortably appointed with attention to detail. You hear the river and the birds (and only the occasional, far away rooster). There is enough kitchen to feed yourself as much as you'd like, and you'll become convinced that a private outdoor shower is the only way to live. The St. Regis folks on the hill can eat their hearts out, because you'll have the real deal in Hawaii at Sea Turtle Cottage.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Jungle Hut

  • 4 of 5

The views from the property are just as shown in the photos. It is a stand alone cottage but the main house is located just a few steps away. However, it is quite private. The outdoor bathroom is quite spacious although the lighting is a bit dim and the hot water in the shower is very difficult to control - it goes from steaming hot to cold. The small table on the veranda is nice; we often ate dinner there and were not bothered by any pests at all. The kitchen inside consists only of a two burner hot plate and a microwave. However, outside, near the entrance is a full stove and a BBQ. We found the space inside to be a bit small for two people as there is no place to store/put luggage and the "closet" is very small. It is a quaint place and we enjoyed its peacefulness.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a very sweet couple who were a pleasure to host. We had been having difficulties with a new hot water system that functions on demand. It has been changed over to a better system and it's working really well now. I so apologize for the inconvience this couple went through. I'm glad they did enjoy themselves insite of this issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Pittsburgh, PA
4

Lovely stay

  • 4 of 5

Overall, this is a very nice property. The owner was extremely responsive and helpful. The property is approximately 1/2 mile back a slighty rough unpaved road. This is a guest house attached to the main house (which is also a property for rent). The owner has really done a lovely job decorating this studio apartment. The previous review mentioning bugs is ridiculous. Of course there are going to be tiny flying insects at night if the lights are on, but overall the apartment is beautifully screened and clean. I had to get used to going outside to the toilet and shower, but it was actually fun. The owner has made sure to surround the passageway to the bathroom and the bathroom area with privacy screens. Waking each morning to roosters crowing was actually very relaxing and I loved listening to the sounds of the jungle. I would have liked to have a functioning stove (it is currently out of commission ) , but a hot plate and toaster oven were there and very functional. The use of the washer and dryer after a muddy day hiking was greatly appreciated. My only slight complaint is that this apartment shares a hot water heater with the main house and three times I had no hot water for showers. We enjoyed sushi from the small Sushi Girl restaurant at the end of our road. We also enjoyed a lovely meal at Bar Acuda. Hiking the Na Pali coast was challenging. The lighthouse area is beautiful and well worth a trip. I think this is a very comfortable property for the traveler on a budget.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These were lovely guests and it was a true pleasure having them stay in the cottage. The shower is not actually shared with the house.. the on demand heater supplies hot water only for the cottage and it's shower. However it was a new system and it was giving us some difficulties so we've had it replaced with an upgraded model that is now functioning satisfactorily. The contractor fixed the stove too while he was there installing the new hot water heater!. Yay! I feel so sorry that these guests had to put up with these transitions during their stay. I must say that their gracious kindness with the inconvenience was awesome and so very much appreciated. I do hope they return some day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £98.18

rates may vary with seasons and length of stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Available
Unavailable