HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Vacation Home On Large Private Property With Your Own Private Mini Waterfall

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Fantastic Lake Views Sleeps Up To 10 - 2 Bathrooms

Vacation home on large private property with your own private mini waterfall (bring your easel) and fantastic lake views from enclosed porch or deck - on the wine trail, and walking distance to water recreation and tiki-bar. Many area attractions -- waterfalls, vineyards and wine tastings, finger lakes, boating, fishing, restaurants, shops, swimming, skiing. Pet friendly for up to 2 well-behaved small/medium sized pets.

Please note: there is a $175 cleaning and linen fee.

Tom Schneider
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 May, 2018

About Tom Schneider

Having visited many wine regions around the world (Rhine River Valley in Germany, Napa/Sonoma in US, Tuscany in Italy, and Hunter Valley in Austraila), we decided to explore the Finger Lake Wine region. We really enjoyed it due to its wonderful wines, beautiful views and amazing waterfalls. With a growing family, we decided to purchase our first property in 2006. In years following, we added two more properties and we continue to improve all of them so our expanded family and our guests (YOU!) can enjoy the Finger Lakes to its fullest potential. The Monster Bar'N Gameroom and Barn Apartment at Glen Eastern and Sun Deck at Harbor West are a few examples of how we continually improve our properties. We love to visit the wineries year round for their seasonal events and have camp fires & S'mores in the summertime and boating and hiking at the local Glens (Watkins, Buttermilk and Havana to name a few). One of our most favorite annual events is to participate in the Watkins Glen Cardboard Boat Regatta - its been a fathers day weekend family tradition for almost ten years.

Tom Schneider purchased this house in 2008

Why Tom Schneider chose Watkins Glen

With a growing family, we knew it would be harder to travel like we were used too. With the Finger Lakes as close as they were and offering wineries, waterfalls and lakes, we decided it would be a wonderful place to vacation. After two years of enjoying our home ourselves, we decided to try renting to allow others to enjoy this wonderful property and region of the country. We found that we enjoyed it so much that we decided to continue to expand our properties to serve even more people - this is our second property in the Watkins Glen area. We feel our properties allow all our guests to select which type of property will work for them and their vacation plans.

What makes this house unique

Located a short walk from the Tiki Bar and less than a mile from downtown Watkins are two great features of this home. Add the sweeping lake views and large level upper yard and you have a great place to relax and enjoy all the Finger lakes have to offer.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Watkins Glen in Town of Reading

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , 2bd floor
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , first floor
  • there are 2 full bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Double Bed , full over full bunks
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , direct access to first floor full bath
  • 3 bedrooms plus double pullout on porch
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...


3.7/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

42% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
Vacation Home On Large Private Property With Your Own Private Mini Waterfall
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 7 reviews
West Chester

Fantastic location.

  • 5 of 5

The house is in the perfect spot. Great views and close to town.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again soon! Cheers! Tom & JJ
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

I would strongly advise to stay elsewhere. Our stay here was very unsatisfactory. First, the house was extremely challenging to find at night when we arrived from the gravel driveway with multiple possible ways to go and no direction from the owner. Next, the heat was off in the house when we arrived, which caused the house to be extremely cold. After walking through the house when we arrived, we noticed that the one shower did not have a shower curtain and many towels were missing. We found this shower curtain and towels left dirty in the washing machine presumably from the previous stay and had to finish doing the laundry when we arrived in order to have a shower curtain and towels for the morning. When we turned on the washing machine, we immediately found out that the water in the house has a strong sulfur smell, which smells like rotten eggs. While safe to consume, water with this odor makes for a very unpleasant experience when showering, brushing teeth, etc. There was a large water cooler on the counter which we assumed was left there to drink as that water did not smell like sulfur, but that water cooler had a large bug floating on the surface. We had 8 residents stay at the house, which required us to use the pull-out couch for 2 of the residents. When we unfolded this couch, we found the mattress was covered in candy wrappers, bugs, old food, and even a guitar pick. The 2 residents who were going to sleep here ended up sleeping on an air mattress that we luckily brought with us. Also, the house has many window AC units and the window covers were in such a state of disrepair that the owners had shoved towels in the windows to cover up areas that would have otherwise been open to outside. Other than that, the house was generally dirty and unkept. In short, stay away from here.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm very sorry to hear about these issues and have taken them up with our local management company. We had placed signage at the bottom of the driveway and on the hill as you proceed up to the house and are always available if you have questions. If these signs have gone missing we will replace them ASAP but I was never made aware until this message. Unfortunately, this time of year is transitional for heat and AC. We are now removing the AC units in preparation for the colder weather. The cleaning staff should not have left the towels & shower curtain in the washing machine and we are dealing with them now on this issue as well as the other cleaning and water cooler problem you encountered. The sulfur smell should not have been present in the water, we have a very expensive, high end water conditioning system in place. Had you called us I would have had the system recharged immediately. Again, we apologize for these issues, we take great pride in our home and will be sure it is remedied immediately with our local property manager. I will message you for additional discussion to work this out.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic views!

  • 4 of 5

Salt Point was everything it was advertised as! The home was clean, cozy and well-stocked with all necessary items. The owner was very easy to communicate with for last minute questions. The views are stunning - if only that front porch was heated! It is located atop quite a steep hill up a rocky driveway, but we had a jeep so we had no trouble. We used the fire pit to keep warm and enjoy the outdoors. Easy access to Watkins Glen and multiple wineries. And that gorge is truly a "happy place" of mine. The house sleeps 8-10 people with only one couch in the living room, wished there was more seating. Unfortunately, the water had a funky smell to it - not sure anything can be done about that. Overall, a great getaway spot to enjoy family time together!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Jay, NY

Inconsiderate Owner

  • 2 of 5

House was adequate. View to the east was wonderful. View to the northeast was of neighbor's junkyard. Dirt driveway was so rutted that I worried about my exhaust system every time I used, Because a previous renter had left a similar message in the house, I know it had been that way for at least a month. Very annoying and very cheap of the owner. Wouldn't trust him again.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The driveway at the house apparently had some rain issues this past season. We were up there a few months ago and the driveway wasn't that bad. Although there were some ruts, we were able to navigate the slope in a minivan with no problems. After we received a comment on it, we contacted a local contractor to go out and evaluate the situation. He couldn't get there for a few weeks to do the work so we let any guests know there was an issue with the driveway. The driveway was infilled and reinforced this past Wednesday 10/14/15 and is good to go. We plan on paving it before the spring season. I'm sorry you felt this was inconsiderate but we took care of it as fast as we could and let you know the situation prior to your arrival. Regarding the neighbors: I have asked him on several occasions to move his project car. The township can do nothing since he isn't violating any laws. I realize that an old BMW and some construction materials can be distracting but the awesome views are straight ahead, not down the hill. Sit back open a bottle of wine and enjoy the sweeping views of Seneca Lake.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Hershey, PA

Girls' Get-Away!

  • 5 of 5

What a perfect place and location! Loved being in the heart of wine country, as well as super close to Watkins Glen...literally down the street. The house was so cozy and roomy. 6 40-something women had plenty of sleeping, eating and RELAXING space. That screened in porch is absolutely wonderful...we spent our down time out there, looking at the lake and just taking in all the peaceful scenery. And when they say "fully equipped", they meant it. We needed NOTHING but food and all the wine we purchased. I look forward to renting this property again...love love LOVED it!!!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Nov-2014
  • Date of Stay: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NorthEast Ohio

Sunrise surprise

  • 4 of 5

The 7 of us enjoyed the house. The view of the lake at sunrise was blindingly beautiful. A/C, TV, kitchen appliances all worked as they should.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £18.61 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £334.94
Cleaning & Linens £130.25 + Tax

- $175 Cleaning & Linen Fee is additional and is payable by leaving a check upon check out. Details are in the contract and on site.
- The home is to be left in the same condition it was received but linens are taken care of by our staff.
- We accept a $450 reservation deposit at the time of booking. This becomes your $450 refundable security when the total rental fee is received two weeks prior to check in and it is refunded within about fifteen days of check out.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question