HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Wonderful Bungalow Near Clayton Business District

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,268 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom Sleeps 8

This charming 1 story bungalow has refinished hard wood floors and lots closets with built in organizers. It offers two nice areas outside to lounge. The large front covered porch offers a nice commanding view of Hanley Road. The large rear deck offers plenty of private space to throw a barbecue for the whole group.

It has 3 bedrooms plus a sleeper sofa to accommodate up to 8 people. We also have 2 pack and plays for babies to use. Our back bedroom (1) offers a queen bed and private tv. Our middle bedroom (2) offers a king size bed and private tv. Our front bedroom has a small work desk. We will be adding a day bed with pop up trundle for two twin mattress. You can will also be able to combine them to make one large mattress.

We offer both firm and soft pillows and hotel like quality bed sheets and bath towels.

There is a bus stop just outside that will allow you to get mobile without using your car. To explore St Louis.

In our vicinity you will have much to do.

Within a few blocks south, you will enter Clayton's Business District. You will find numerous and unique dining that will satisfy any individual. You will also be able to boutique shop and make use of its park. The park offers daily admission to their tennis courts, swimming pool, outdoor skating rink, and community gym. You will not be disappointed with all the great places to visit.

Heading 1.5 miles west, you will enter into St Louis' Delmar Loop. This vibrant area will embrace your inner youth as there is always good music, shopping and dining. It is also very kid friendly and will allow them to soak up the culture of our city. It is home to our own St Louis Walk of Fame.

Heading 2 miles west, you will be greeted to Forest Park. With over 1,300 acres of green space, Forest Park offers many admission free attractions, including the Science Center, Zoo, History Museum, Art Museum, and Jewel Box. It also has 2 public golf courses, a boat house, a tennis Center and Skating rink. There's literally so much to do here that you will fall in love.

St Louis County Library,.5 miles

Flynn Park tennis courts (free), .7 miles

Shaw Park Swimming pool, .9 miles

Golf courses (9 different), 1.4 to 6.1 miles

The Loop, Delmar, 1.8 miles

St Louis Art Museum, 2.8 miles

St Louis History Museum, 2.9 miles

St Louis Zoo,v3.2 miles

Basilica Cathedral, 4.2 miles

St Louis Science Center, 5.0miles

Botanical Garden, 7.1 miles

Grant’s Farm, 8.6 miles

Lambert St Louis International Airport, 9.2 miles

Scotttrade Center (St Louis Blues hockey), 9.4 miles

City Museum, 10.0 miles

Busch Stadium (Cardinals baseball), 10.1 miles

Edward Jones Dome (Rams football), 10.7 miles

St Louis Arch, 11.1 miles

Casinos (6 different), 11.2 to 26.3 miles

Anheuser-Busch Tours, 11.3 miles

Magic House, 11.5 miles

The Butterfly House, 16.9 miles

Six Flags, 26.1 miles

Washington University in St Louis, 1.6 miles

Fontbonne University, 1.9 miles

University of Missouri – St Louis, 5.0 miles

Webster University, 5.0 miles

Saint Louis University, 6.0 miles

We hope you get the chance to stay with us in our perfect family getaway home. It offers the relaxation and privacy people need when they go on a vacation.

More Details

Property Manager
Mario Choy
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 August, 2017

About Mario Choy

I am a native to Missouri and my wife moved here from Spain. We have been investing in real estate for the past 15 years. Our family has been using vacation rentals for several years including places such as the Pyranees and Colorado. It beats the hotel/motel alternative hands down.

Mario Choy purchased this bungalow in 2006

Why Mario Choy chose Missouri

We found this gem when we were planning to move away from apartment living. Circumstances never actually got us into this home, but we still kept it at is within walking distance to Clayton's many amenities including shopping and fine dining. Furthermore, it is a short distance to anywhere in St. Louis as you will see if you zoom out on a map.

What makes this bungalow unique

If you don't have a car, take the bus. If you don't like the bus, take a nice stroll to the nearest restaurants and enjoy the beautiful homes that line the area.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow in North Clayton in University City

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1268 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Living room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Queen size sleeper sofa.
    Front Bedroom - 1 Single Bed , twin day bed & twin pop up trundle to make 1 large bed
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • gambling casinos
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • swimming
  • tennis
We offer (2) pack and play cribs and ironing board for guests. For your safety, some premises have exterior recording video surveillance.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(51 traveller reviews)

68% Complete
19% Complete
7% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Wonderful Bungalow Near Clayton Business District
average rating of 4.509804 based on 51 reviews

Great location in a safe and established neighborhood, still close enough to all attractions

  • 4 of 5

Mario made the process easy. No added refundable deposit, pets were welcome with a small deposit, and we were able to make 2 payments to make it more manageable for us. Mario was very responsive when we had questions and refunded our pet deposit immediately when we decided not to bring them. We visited from Texas to see friends and the sites. The neighborhood is nice and it is surprisingly quiet for a rather busy street. The house had everything we needed, though only one of the beds was comfortable and we had a family of 5. Still, we realize that is according to preference. We were told not to stay so close to downtown since it is not as safe, so we stayed here, in Clayton, which was really only about 15 min from downtown and the arch, Delmar Loop, botanical gardens and museums. Forest Park is very nearby with free zoo, arts museum and more. A/C worked well for a VERY hot week in St. Louis with temps near and over 100 degrees. We would stay here again. Very reasonable price and would have to pay more for a hotel in the area. This way, we had more space, were able to rest and cook meals to save money. Was nice to have washer and dryer there since we needed to do laundry for the next leg of our trip, and were able to pack less. Lots of grocery stores and restaurants and shopping nearby as well. Thank you, Mario!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not bad

  • 3 of 5

The house is in a great neighborhood and through our entire stay we were no more than 15 minutes away from any actraction we wanted to see. I was a little disappointed about the lack of cleanliness when we arrived, just small things like food in the sink and hair in the shower, nothing major but I still expected better. Everything else was fine, beds were comfortable and there was a lot of space for the kids to run around.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Older Property

  • 4 of 5

Nice Place. It could use some touch up paint in the living room (water spot) and some new towels.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You must have read our mind. We painted the living room recently a nice gray. Thanks for the tips :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Do not Recommend

  • 1 of 5

House was dirty. Electrical outlets were an issue. One bathroom would have been ok except water pressure was low and then not sufficient. Water drainage was also way too slow. Outside maintenance had also not been kept up. Deck had pieces falling off and boards needed replacing. The day we arrived happened to be garbage pick up. The garbage container had been placed for pick up, but the recycle bin was completely full and not taken to the curb. Also many piles of recyclables just laying along the house and very smelly.

To its favor even though it is on a busy street the neighborhood was very nice, close to restaurants and attractions and safe.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! We're saddened to hear of all the issues. We wished that you had contact us during your stay so that we could have at the very least tried to make things more habitable. You may have missed the deck repairs as it has been going on in between guests whenever we can fit a maintenance man in. We realize that the weight of not disturbing our guest to getting some tasks done is an undertaking. We never realized many of the issues you mentioned. If you could be more specific of what the issues were with the outlets we would appreciate it. The other items seem to be self explanatory and we will further investigate them. For what it's worth, we do appreciate that you stayed with us despite having what sounds like the worst stay ever.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic location, but toxic HVAC system

  • 2 of 5

Be forewarned: if you have respiratory issues/allergies, you definitely do not want to stay here. Even turning the furnace/AC system to "off" didn't stop the moldy air shooting out from the vents. Also, the kitchen was severely lacking for anything but takeout. (Plenty of pizza slicers and plastic spatulas, not a single frying pan or pyrex baking dish to be had.) The place was tastefully decorated, but I'd suggest some of those exorbitant "property management surcharges" be put towards functional improvements. The biggest advantage to this place is its location: easy access to Downtown, airport, the suburbs, West County, etc.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry to hear of your bad experience. Our a/c unit was just recently serviced and we also checked our dehumidifier in the basement. At the time we checked it was working. We did lower the humidity a little lower to ensure a dry environment. Cookware is always available at all our places. And if something is missing, we ask that you let us know so we can get one for you. Perhaps you didn't see the cookware as it was there last time we checked. In any case, we went ahead an purchased additional cookware to add to the existing. We appreciate that you stayed with us and are sorry you didn't like your stay. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything was well kept!

  • 5 of 5

Overall, I enjoyed the experience!

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Forest Park
"A top rated city park. It hosts St Louis Fourth of July festival, Balloon Race and many oth..."
St. Louis Science Center
Saint Louis Art Museum
"Free for most of the areas. Tuesday offers free admission to the special exhibit."
Shaw Park
"Shaw Park has Free baseball/soccer fields two children's playgrounds Outdoor swimming pool ..."
River City Casino
"St Louis' newest casino!"
World Aquarium
St. Louis Zoo
"A great zoo with free admission"
Cathedral Basilica of St. Louis
Butterfly House & Education Center
Hollywood Casino St. Louis
Missouri Botanical Garden
Nearest Airport
9.2 Miles
St. Louis Lambert Airport
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Clayton Metrolink Station 1 mile, Metrobus outside
Nearest Motorway
1.4 Miles
Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday bungalow in North Clayton, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
23 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £46.53
Additional Guest Fee £7.75 per person per night
Pet Fee £77.55

On Canceling 30 DAYS or LESS before check-in, Renters will forfeit the total advanced rental deposit. The total rental includes all charges on the paid-in-full invoice. Renter may mitigate this loss by purchasing optional Travel Insurance or Cancel for Any Reason insurance offered by Owner or from a third party provider.

On Canceling 31 to 60 DAYS before check-in, Renters will receive an 80% REFUND of the initial amount paid.

On Canceling 61 DAYS or MORE before check-in, Renters will receive a 100% REFUND of the initial amount paid.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals