Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

GREAT RATES-Panoramic view of the sound,walkway opened for guest,walk to beach!

Bedrooms 3
Separate WCs1
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 1/2 Baths, Open Kitchen & Living Area.awesome sound view !

Panoramic views of the sound and marsh, and easy walking to the beach, less than 5 minutes this Frisco gem has it all.

On the first level you will find 3 bedrooms, two with a shared hall bath and master with its own bath. Convenient hall laundry near bedrooms. Shaded deck with beautiful sound views!! The second level offers a kitchen with an island, living and dining area with access to the sundeck, half bath.

1 Queen(master)/1 Queen /1 Triple bunk set,stereo with CD Player,Deck Furniture,Non Smoking.

More Details

Jennie Veal
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 July, 2018

What makes this house unique

My house has panoramic views of the sound. you can sit and relax having coffee or a cold beverage and relax on either deck. You can use the walkway to walk thru the marsh to the sound or you can walk less than 5 minutes to the ocean. Kite boarding can be seen at times from the decks and very short ride to shopping, dining,docks and beaches and ferry to ride to Ocracoke for the day.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on Frisco on Dare County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please leave house the way you found it others coming in after you. Try and start laundry before departing.
  • If you need anything or maintenance work callxxx-xxx-xxxx
  • If you have pets please clean up behind them inside and outside before checking out. 😊
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , master
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , living area
    Bathroom 4 - Outdoor Shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Bunk Bed , double on bottom, twin on top
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • diving
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

55% Complete
40% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
GREAT RATES-Panoramic view of the sound,walkway opened for guest,walk to beach!
average rating of 4.5 based on 20 reviews
Palmer, MA

The home was clean and inviting great views of the harbor and sunset. Short walk to the beach

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 6 was very comfortable

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great experience loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful area people are so friendly and beautiful clean home!!!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5

Another great weekend in Frisco. Perfect house for a small group and perfect location. Had the best weather and it was nice walking on the boardwalk since it's repair! Well stocked kitchen and beds were comfortable. Plan on coming back year after year.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Great view to ocean and nice family vacation

  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place, good location off beaten path and away from tourist part of Outer Banks

  • 4 of 5

Overall, the rental at the Tern Inn was great. The place has a solid view of the Sound which is a superior view for hanging out on the back deck in the morning or sunset time. The place had more than enough room to take care of our 9 guest party. Three full BDs on the first floor and the Widow's watch on the 3rd floor. Yeah there are some repairs that need to be made with sheetrock, etc., but nothing that will ruin your vacation, the negative reviews that were posted were probably by snotty NY people expecting nothing but the best for the money and whining about stupid stuff that has no bearing on their vacation. We did not see any bugs, and had no issues the entire time we were there-minus the loss of power to the island that was by the construction crew building the new bridge. It just happened to be when we were on vacation. I feel bad for the poor people coming in after us that had to cancel their vacation due to the evacuation-but again no way the owners could have prevented this..... Overall, I highly recommend this place but I will say they should update their VRBO ad and remove the pics of the walkway to the Sound because they are a bit misleading. There is a note that the walkway is under repair on the fridge. The walkway is not accessible due to repairs stemming from a hurricane. However, it was very apparent that the walkway has been in disrepair for quite some time and the home owners have no intention of making the repairs(probably due to insurance reasons). The boards blocking off the walkway are weathered and you can tell it has been this way for years. They should remove the pictures of the walkway until they decide to actually open it up. We however paid no attention to the signs to not use the walkway and explored the area and had a great time. There is very little damage to the walkway and we made our way down to the sound with no problem. Overall, a great place to stay, a 2 minute walk to the beach with great views of the Sound. It is a remote area but has all of the conveniences you need. Grocery store within minutes, restaurants within walking distance, and what we all want for vacation: peace and quiet with beautiful views and serenity. Definitely will come back here again. Loved it!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed your stay even as the loss of power during your stay. The walk area was damaged during hurricane Mathew last October and we can't get a crew to work on it yet because they are busy getting folks back into their houses. The old boards we put up are used ones that we had that is why they are so weathered and not new looking. We do hope to have that repaired before next rental season rolls around. I am glad that no one was hurt when you walked to the sound. Looks like they may open the island if all goes well this weekend so vacationers can come back. Hope to hear from you next season.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Not Bad

  • 4 of 5

First time to OBX with 10 of us in tow and will say that Frisco is great. Love to be away from all the crowds in the beach and that's what this house provides.

The house needs updating and basic attention.

Counted 5 large roaches inside the house during our stay. Big ones. Didn't freak us out too much though, if you're only surface cleaning twice a month or so you're going to attract these bugs. But they should spray for these for future guest sakes.

The house needs basics like light bulbs - indoor and outdoor. Many were burnt out and the ones we needed the most were the flood lights in front of the house - even the front door outside light didn't work.

For god sakes, buy a new hose. That thing kinks when the wind blows and is a real downer to use.

Beds weren't made when we got there. I kind of expected that. Most of the linens were still in the dryer when we arrived.

The loft is super hot and I know it's been mentioned in previous reviews but something should be done. Listing your house as a place that sleeps 10 is a bit of a stretch when most nights it's not bareable to sleep in the loft. Buy a window unit, get a AC blade installed, do something to utilize that room.

It's also boarded up on one side up there due to maybe an old leak. It's time to fix it.

The mattresses have to be every bit of 20 years old.

The trundle bed under the stacked bunk beds wasn't used because it's so narrow and extremely uncomfortable.

The couch IS so comfortable but clearly needs to be replaced - you'd be well served to buy a pull out couch and replace it.

I gave this place 4 stars based on the location and the basic needs it met for me personally. My wife on the other hand would have rated it 3 stars.

Finally, some of the closets are locked up and not accessible. Not great when you're renting this as a ten person house...we could have used that extra room.

I hate writing a bad review but if you don't know what's broke, you can't fix it.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are aware that the house needs updating and are planning on doing things this winter before next rental season. The roaches you saw are not roaches they are water bugs. We have them here because of the water we have around us and the march lands also we have had a lot of rain and that is when they come inside. We don't make the beds but leave clean sheets for each bed and the quest makes what bed they choose to sleep in. The reason there was some linens in the dryer the quest before you didn't wash the linens and to make sure they where clean I had to wash and get things done. There are light bulbs under the sink in the kitchen and over the washer and dryer. the closets that are locked are owner lockups all rental house's have them. The door in the loft is done because of hurricane damage and right now it has to stay that way but we hope to get a shutter made for it so we can use the deck. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Jolly Roger Pub and Marina
Great place to have a shrimp burger and a cold beverage while visiting Ocracoke.
Ocracoke Coffee Company
Great smoothies and nice book store.
Take a ferry ride to visit Ocracoke, rent a bike and ride the village or you can also rent a...
Cape Hatteras Light Station
A must see while visiting here. It is the tallest lighthouse in the country.
Dancing Turtle
Fine cup of joe! free wifi
Awesome food. go early or you may have to wait, but it's worth the wait.
Cape Hatteras National Seashore
Ocracoke Island Ferry
Graveyard of the Atlantic
Oceana's Bistro
great place for lunch or dinner.
Canadian Hole
Great place to windsurf or kite board
Pop's Raw Bar & Restaurant
Bros Sandwich Shack
Great sandwiches
The Mad Crabber
great laid back spot for seafood always busy so you may want to go early.
Harbor Deli
breakfast and lunch til 2:00.
Scotch Bonnet Fudge & Gifts
gifts and fudge also has a boat ramp.
Back Porch
Burger Burger
Sandbar & Grille
Ketch 55 Seafood Grill
Frisco Sandwich Company
Great lunch spot eat inside or out
Hatteras Sol Waterside Grill
Best food on this end of the island. Always busy but you won't mind the wait and the view is...
Miss Hatteras & Cap N Clam Head Boats
Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Frisco Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Capt. Rolo's
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Hatteras Ferry
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Frisco mini golf and go cart
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £37.79
Property Damage Insurance £59.71

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals