HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Idaho Castle - A Great Place For A Family Vacation.

Bedrooms 5
Separate WC's1
Space 6,300 sq. ft.
Property type castle
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

5 Bedroom, 4 Bathroom, Sleeps 16

The castle sits over looking the beautiful Lake Pend Oreille in Hope, Idaho. The castle has 6,300 SF of living space and beautiful views of both the lake and mountains in the area.

Property Manager
Rob Holt
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 April, 2017

About Rob Holt

We live in Utah. My wife and I love to travel. We have 6 kids and 6 grandkids.

Rob Holt purchased this castle in 2010

Why Rob Holt chose Lake Pend Oreille

I have always loved castles, when I saw this property and all of the beauty that surrounded, we wanted to own it and share it with our family and friends. Our family has fallen in love with the region. Lake Pend Orielle is one of our favorite places to visit, to watch, to boat on, and enjoy.

What makes this castle unique

Staying at the castle is a unique experience. How many times have you stayed in a castle? The beauty that you can enjoy from the castle is outstanding. One of our favorite things is sitting on the patio for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or in the evening and just watching and enjoying this amazing lake. The sunsets are spectacular. The last two years we have started up a little fire on the fire pit and roasted marshmallows or cooked hot dogs. We have watched lighting storms and enjoyed seeing all of the stars. We love to visit the castle. All of our friends that have gone up with us, have just loved it. The Sandpoint area is great, Coeur d'Alene is about an hour drive away. Things that we have enjoyed in the area include: boating Lake Pend Oreielle, Main Beach at Sandpoint, The ski resort, traveling to Coeur d'Alene. Hiking, biking, golfing. Everything is relatively close by. Staying at the castle is just a special experience. The castle is constantly being upgraded and improved since we bought it as well.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday castle on Hope on Bonner County

Property Type:
  • castle
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 6300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Main Level Bath - Toilet
    Master Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
    Green Bath - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Venetian Bath - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Green Room - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Kid's Den - 1 Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed
    Tower room - 1 Large Double Bed
    Venetian Room - 1 Large Double Bed
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

The Idaho Castle - A Great Place For A Family Vacation.
average rating of 4.3 based on 20 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Our Idaho Castle stay was once in a lifetime experience. Fantastic, beautiful and amazing venue. Property Manager, Glen was an absolute pleasure to work with. He was very helpful and informative. He is a class act! Our stay was one of the most wonderful, magical times of my life.Thank you for sharing.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful stay at the Idaho castle!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

I just want to express how lovely of a stay we had at the Idaho castle. The pictures really do not do it justice, if you are thinking of staying at the castle get ready for a wonderful stay . There is so many things to do you will not have time for all of it .The atmosphere of the castle is grand but home like you will feel very relaxed .

The management is friendly and willing to help if needed . Over all we had a wonderful experience . I will definitely give it a 5 star rate and if I could I would give it more

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Beautiful & Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

The castle is better in person than the pictures! Breathtaking views from all the rooms, especially the full length deck! Great place for large gatherings and something for everyone to do. Property Manager Glen was great & available to answer questions.

Our time at the castle is a very memorable one that we will cherish!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

For Events Such As Weddings.

  • 3 of 5

I'm a bit obsessed with Castle's so the fact I found one close enough to me when I live in North Idaho to have a Wedding was a blessing in it's self. There are a few complaints through. There had been weddings the weekends before mine and the people who had the weddings had been absolutely horrible to the neighbors and very disrespectful to every one who lives on the hill, being loud, parking 100's of cars on a privet one lane rd and in people lawns. So When we pulled in we were warned the entire hill was super pissed off and we needed to be careful. I had already planned shuttles and had everything worked out to keep the traffic and noise down to a minimum level as possible. I feel bad for every person who lives on the hill and had to deal with people who are not courteous and don't plan things through.

That being sad the closest neighbor came out and freaked out on my groomsmen and husband because they were walking down the lane that's literally 30 feet from the castle. There were signs posted by neighbors up the entire road with balloons attached telling people it's was a privet road and to be careful. I completely understand why the neighbors were pissed but we had not done a thing, it was frustrating knowing it was because previous people had been rude.

So if you plan to have a large event at the Idaho Castle I encourage you to keep it below 100 and have plan for parking and avoid loud sound systems with a lot of base. Be prepared for beautiful scenery with angry neighbors.

The Castle it's self was definitely wonderful and I made a million memories running up and down there stairs and left a married woman.

The last warning I have is the paperwork you have to sign just before you get the keys is absolutely terrifying, they make you fill out your credit card information with just a blank for the amount, then have you sign saying you approve whatever the charges might be for damages. Having a father for lawyer and working at a Law Firm I know just how dangerous that can be. Luckily I had already paid for insurance, but if I had not and something had gotten damaged who knows what would have happened or how much they may have charged me. I can not stress enough that if you have a large event you 100% need to get the insurance beforehand or you could end up in a work of hurt because one of your many guests could easily break something.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That castle is not set up for large events. This last experience you mention was a nightmare and we are doing everything to make sure something like that does not happen again. I apologize about the paperwork, we are trying to find the right balance here. Most of our guests are very respectful and enjoy their time there with their families or friends. We want to keep that going and provide great memories for those who stay. Thank you for staying at the castle, and I am glad you enjoyed it. Hard to beat those views, huh? Congrats.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Beautiful view

  • 1 of 5

Very nice home but was not clean when we arrived. We scrubbed, dusted, washed and had to fold laundry before our wedding guests came . We left the property super clean for the next guests. Not happy about the cleaning fees and being told we had to start the laundry before we left.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


  • 1 of 5

Don't consider renting this property for events and large groups. There is no parking. The community the castle is located in is a residential community that is not zoned for events. The dirt roads are dusty and full of pot holes. The neighbors will have your cars towed and are not patient with cars on the dirt roads, speeding or noise. They will phone the police and tow your cars.

Don't let your event be ruined - find another place.

Great place for a family vacation; not a place for events. Your event will be ruined by the complaints from neighbors you will need to deal with.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is true: Ths castle is zoned in a residential area. Parking is limited and neighbors will complain if cars are parked on their property. The road is a dirt road to the castle. Small family gatherings are acceptable. You do need to keep your expectations realisitic for what this venue can do and handle. The castle does however, provide a unique setting with amazing views above the lake. It is awesome for a family vacation. We do not advertise the castle as a wedding venue, we never have.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Spokane International Airport
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Idaho Club
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Schweitzer Mountain Resort
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Trestle Creek
Car: necessary

The Idaho Castle is located in Hope, Idaho over looking beautiful Lake Pend Orielle. It is centrally located to many different areas of this region:

15 miles east of Sandpoint, Idaho

25 miles to Schweitzer Mountain Resort

60 miles to Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

90 miles to Spokane, Washington

75 miles to Creston, Alberta, Canada

30 minutes to Montana

45 miles to Silverwood Theme Park in Athol, Idaho

There are many activities to do in the area: boating, beach (park on the lake right below the castle) as well as main city beach in Sandpoint, fishing, golfing (Idaho Club is 10 minutes away), paddle boarding, hiking, biking, snowmobiling, skiing. Sandpoint has some great restaurants and concerts.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday castle on Hope, Northern Idaho

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
1 Jan 2017 - 31 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £39.12
Property Damage Protection £46.16
Cleaning Fee £312.94

$400.00 Cleaning Fee due at check in.

1. Check-In time is after 3:00 PM & Check-Out is 11:00 AM.
2. This is a Non Smoking Facility
3. No Pets are permitted at the Idaho Castle
4. Deposit of 50% is required to secure reservation.
a) No damage done to castle or it's contents, beyond normal wear and tear.
b) No charges are incurred due to contraband, pets, or collection of rents or services rendered during stay
c) All debris, rubbish, and discards are placed into dumpsters, and soilded dishes are placed in the dishwasher and cleaned.
d) All keys are left on the kitchen table and unit is left locked.
e) All charges accrued during the stay are paid prior to departure.
f) No linens are lost or damaged

5. PAYMENT: An advance payment of 50% of the rent is due upon making the reservation. The advanced payment will be applied to stay. The balace of rent is due 30 days prior to your arrival date.
6. CANCELLATIONS: Cancellations within 30 days of booked arrival date will be non-refundable.
7. Maximum Occupancy - the maximum number of guests are 15.
8. No daily maid service - linens and bath towels are included in the unti, daily maid services will not be included in the rental rate however it is available at an addition rate. We suggest that you bring your own beach towels. We do not permit towels or linens to be taken form the unit.
9. Falsified reservations will be subject to forfeiture of advance payment, deposit, and or rental money and the party will not be permitted to check in.
10. Any exception to these rules must be approved in writing in advance.
11. Storm and road conditions. No refunds will be given for storms. Mountain roads can be curvy and steep. Gravel drives are maintained, however, we highly recommend four-wheel drive or chains during months of snow. There will be no refunds due to road contions.
12. The owners are not responsible for any accidents, injuries, or illness that occurs while on the premises or it's facilities

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals