Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Sugar Island-Waterfront property with pontoon (May-Sept). Open all year!

People12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type house

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom, waterfront property - great for fishing! Boat included in stay!

If you are looking for a quiet, waterfront place to stay, than this Sugar Island house, referred to as the 'Sugar Suite', is just what you are looking for! Plus, from the middle of May until the middle of September, there is a small pontoon boat for your use!

The Sugar Suite is a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, ranch-style house on the Northeast side of the St. Mary's River (the mouth of Lake George). It is the perfect spot for boating, swimming, fishing (great water depths!) or even duck hunting! It is also close enough to the mainland (about 10.5 miles from the car ferry), that a day trip to the Historic Sault Ste. Marie as a 'fudgie' is always possible! In the Sault, you can visit the shops on Portage Avenue (Or 'Fudgie Lane', which is where tourists get the 'fudgie' name from, because they are known for purchasing a lot of fudge!'), the famous Soo Locks, the Tower of History, Valley Camp, the casino, or one of the few golf courses in town.

The property features 165 ft of waterfront, where you can find a fire pit and a grill for your use! We also have an updated dock (2016) and a few bicycles for your use, but you are welcome to bring your own as well! The most traffic you'll see from this location, is on the water!

As you walk into this house, you will enter through an entry way with a washer and dryer for your use. The kitchen features an electric stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Pots, pans, dishes and utensils provide everything but the food you need to prepare your meals.

The dining room features a dining room table with 6 chairs and a tall top table with 2 stools, views toward the back of the house (where you park) and toward the front of the house (through the large picture window facing the water).

The living room has a couch, an oversized chair with an ottoman, a futon, and the large picture window with water views.

The master bedroom has a Queen bed, with a desk, alarm clock, lamp and a 24' flat screen television with a DVD player included.

The 2nd bedroom 2 queen beds, a full bed, a closet with hanging racks, a night stand, alarm clock, lamp, and a 19' television with a DVD player included and a full size mirror attached to the door.

The 3rd bedroom has a Queen bed, a dresser, a night stand, alarm clock, a lamp, a closet with hanging racks, a 19" TV with DVD player and a full size mirror.

Do you want to bring your boat? You are more than welcome! In fact, there is a DNR boat launch about a mile from this location, so putting it in the water once arrive at the Sugar Suite will not be an issue and we have plenty of room for you park your trailer! OR, per first sentence! Use our Pontoon boat! Again, New for 2016, we have an older Pontoon boat that is available for your use (holds up to 1000 lbs)! If you plan to use the Pontoon boat, please bring life jackets (all children 12 and Under must be wearing their life jackets at all times - US Coast Guard regulation). We make sure the pontoon boat is full of gas for your arrival, and we have additional gas on-site, so that you can make sure it is full before you leave.

We'll provide all of the linens, but would appreciate it if you could bring your own beach towels and paper products.

If you possess your Michigan Fishing License, than you can not only use your own boat, or the pontoon boat for fishingC but you also have the option of biking a charter fishing trip just 3 docks down (Blue Heron Sishing Charter). Let us know if you are interested and we'll help you reserve your trip with the captain next door.

Other than that, we welcome your dog(s), but there is an additional $50 fee per animal.

We have a hose for your use, so if you have your own fish cleaning station, bring it and you can hook up to the hose!

Please, let us know if you have any questions! We'll do our best to accomadate special requests!

More Details

Owner
Laurie
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 August, 2018

About Laurie

My husband and I both grew up in the Eastern Upper Peninsula, but he's the 'life-long' Islander! In fact, we live in the house he was born and raised in, which is only 2 houses down from the Sugar Suite.

Laurie purchased this house in 2010

Why Laurie chose Sault Ste. Marie

My husband was determined that if the ranch-style home that his granfather built ever became available for sale, he wanted it! Therefore, when the house became available in 2010, we bought it! And now, we call it the Sugar Suite!

We feel that it is our way of letting others experience Island life!

What makes this house unique

We love the Island and the fact that we can have a camp fire every night if we want, or go for a peaceful boat ride anytime we want - as long at the weather cooperates.

Our nieces and nephews love that they can come over and enjoy, water skiing, wake boarding, tubing or jet skiing. Plus, they have the option of staying on the St. Mary's River system, or heading over to Lake George for some larger waves.

The best part of this 'Island Retreat' is that you can be as active or inactive as you want! There are definitely things that can keep you busy. However, if you are looking for a peaceful location, to read a book or lay in the sun without distraction, than this is also the place for you!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for allowing us to stay at the "cottage" as we called it.

Beautiful location and we loved it!

Thanks again!
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Sault Ste. Marie in Sugar Island Township

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 10:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 15:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Boat included: But please stay within 5 miles (either direction) from the house. Thank you!
Location Type:
  • rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Both Bathrooms were completely remodeled in 2014 (new shower, new toilets, new fixtures, new flooring, new vanities, and new counters.)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , *We do have play pens available if needed.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , There is a futon in the living room (along with couch).
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , *Play pen available upon request.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed
  • Each bedroom has a closet, dresser, lamp, alarm clock, and a 22' flat screen TV with built-in DVD player.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • swimming
Notes:
There is room for additional air mattresses in the house, if you would like to bring more people! There is also room for a camper or tents in the yard. The more the merrier! This is YOUR vacation! In 2016 we are adding a "boat" to the stay! We bought an older pontoon boat to rent with the house. If you are interested in using it, please let us know and we'll make sure it is full of gas for you and ready to go! If you are wondering about something, please ask! Chances are - we can try and accomodate!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
24% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Sugar Island-Waterfront property with pontoon (May-Sept). Open all year!
average rating of 4.413793 based on 30 reviews
5

Awesome get away. Clean and the morleys are so friendly.

  • 5 of 5

Awesome place clean and the morleys are so friendly. Been there 2 years in a row and each year brought another adventure. I will add that if you like and can’t live without cell phones this is not the best place for you. I personally love living off he Grid for a week. This is not the best place to swim. Water is very cold. There is a township park about 1/2 hour by boat that the kids can go swimming. Water is shallow which warms ups a little more. It’s a great place to relax with family.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoy the Sugar Suite and Pontoon boat! We have loved having you and your family!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Sugar shack

  • 4 of 5

This is the second stay for my group at the SugarShack. The house is very accommodating and the added air conditioner was a big benefit. The new dock and the addition of the pontoon made our stay very enjoyable. We had many nights of bonfires and enjoyed the water. We fished daily but just did not have any luck. Our group had children ranging in ages 7-17 and they all enjoyed the water and fishing. We boated out to a shallower spot around the bend of the waterway and went swimming for hours.

We had lots of fun and would definitely come back again!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Quiet get away

  • 3 of 5

We visited the Sugar Suite in July. We were hoping to be able to swim, but the water was too cold. The Sugar Suite did have everything we really needed, but it is well off the beaten path. No cell phone signal took a little getting used to. The island only has a couple small stores, so stock up in Sault Ste Marie before boarding the ferry.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Enjoyed our time as we stayed with friends. The owners we quick to respond to our questions.

  • 3 of 5

The owners were quick to respond to our questions on firewood etc. lots of room and great water view. Beds were very comfortable. This is a total relaxation island so if your looking for things to do this is not for you. Come with friends and just enjoy the quiet and it will be good. The boat in the photo is not the boat that comes with the rental. It is just OK. Grill was great as was the fire pit. If you are driving in I would suggest bringing a fry pan or two, the pans are in rough shape and the knives not sharp enough to cut a tomato or onion. I have stayed in several properties like this and it is normal to find old used pans and knives. If you plan to cook bring a knife and pan or plan to grill. Only one small restaurant on the island. Did not see any moose and we drove around a lot. Several websites say there are tons of moose but the locals never see them either. So again, great location and view on the river. Ok boat and plan to cook but bring a couple pans and a sharp knife and you will be all set. The owners are quick to help and if we had been staying longer than 4 nights I probably could/would have asked Laurie and she probably would have fixed us up with an egg pan. 😊?.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Sugar Suite

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay on Sugar Island. We had plenty of room at Sugar Suite. There were 8 adults and 2 kids. We enjoyed the pontoon boat rides. We brought our own fishing boat and the 3 guys got out everyday fishing. We liked not having a TV in the living room. We spent more time just visiting and playing games with the kids. We did take the ferry to town to do some shopping and tour the locks. The kids were disappointed they couldn't swim. The water was cold and not the best for swimming.

It was a very warm week and when we got there the window air conditioner was not installed. I called Laurie and she found out where it was and had it installed. That sure helped! Laurie was always great at answering my calls or text messages.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry your kids didn’t want to swim there. Many kids (including our own) love jumping off the boat, then getting back on the dock and re-jumping... However, it is cold, so I understand that. We do plan to make it easier to get out of the water and onto the dock, as I know it can be a challenge and it sounds like our dock ladder may have disappeared. :(. Overall, we are glad you had fun!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Haines City, Florida
5

Perfect place for our family vacation: clean, comfortable, & great location on St. Mary’s River!

  • 5 of 5

Laurie & Scott have a beautiful home that was perfect for our two week vacation. Sharon was more than helpful during our stay. We enjoyed: river view, beautifully remodeled 3 bedroom home, pontoon, fishing, bird watching, touring Sugar Island, visiting the Soo Locks, riding the ferry, campfires, and plenty of space for the family to be together or... apart.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Nora! We enjoyed having you there and are so glad you loved your stay! Keep in touch! Laurie :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Sault Ste. Marie, MI, US - CIU
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Hilltop
Nearest Ferry
10.5 Miles
Sugar Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
11 Miles
Country Club
Nearest Motorway
17 Miles
I-75
Nearest Restaurant
10.5 Miles
Clydes Drive-In
Nearest Ski
65 Miles
Searchmont - across the border
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Sugar Island Township Park
Car: necessary

There is a DNR boat launch about a mile away from this cottage.

Though Sugar Island may not have all of the things featured above, Sault Ste. Marie is only 10.5 miles away - and once you have reached the ferry, you are within a couple miles of downtown Sault Ste. Marie!

This is a great location for fisherman and duck hunters! Plenty of room in the large entryway for all of your gear (a decent amount of shelving and lots of hooks to hang things up).

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer w/boat!
15 May 2018 - 9 Sep 2018
1 night minimum stay
£258
for 1 night
From
£157
£886
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£258
for 1 night
From
£157
£1,042
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £39.22
Property fee £15.69
Pet Fee £39.22
Property Damage Protection £46.28

The Boat is only available for the "summer months" defined in the rates (Middle of May through the Sunday after Labor Day).
The gas grill will be available for your use.
We have bagged ice for sale ($2/bag) on premises.
We have wood for sale by the wheel barrow load - or you are welcome to bring (or hunt for) your own.
We have additional gas for the boat on the premises. It will be full when you get there and needs to be full when you leave. It takes regular gas.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable