HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lots of Beautiful Pine trees, horse shoe pit, Lg bedrooms, Cozy Mountain Retreat

14 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cabin in Forest Lakes Estates - 1644 Little Pine Trail

3 large bedrooms, sleeps 10 comfortably, 2 baths, Cozy Mountain Retreat

This is a perfect getaway for a memorable family getaway, come relax and get away from city life at this cozy quaint forest retreat or just get away from the Heat. Our cabin features 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, a wood burning fireplace, full kitchen with all cooking amenities and toys and games for the kids. Wifi and basic cable. This cabin has electric heating. There is plenty of room for everyone, with our favorite times sitting on the enclosed patio while the kids explore the great outdoors! Or enjoy the outdoors while sitting on the covered patio. BBQ grill is available for those nice family cookouts and a portable fire pit to sit around and enjoy in drive way some good old s’mores and family time. (needs to follow community burn regulations).

Horseback riding is available within a couple miles from the cabin, as well as, many hiking trails. Within a 10 minute drive, there is Willow Springs & Woods Canyon Lake which are both ideal for fishing and boating. There are several other lakes within close proximity including Black Canyon Lake, Bear Canyon Lake, Knoll Lake and Blue Ridge Reservoir. There is much to do for those that enjoy the outdoors! 2 General stores and Restaurants within 8 mins.

Forest Lakes Estates is a two hour drive from Phoenix, Arizona, you can be on top of the Mogollon Rim at 7700 foot elevation. (30 minutes east of Payson off of Highway 260). Temperatures in Forest Lakes are typically much cooler than in Phoenix, which makes for a lovely 'escape the heat' vacation or great for a frolic in the snow during the winter months. Access to our getaway in winter when snowing is plowed from county. Easy access.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
11 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Darrell

We have enjoyed the Forrest Lake Area as a summer home since I was 10yrs old. My parents have the cabin across street. We love the area and great get away from the hot summers and the winter fun with sledding and snowmobiles so we purchased our own place. We have been able to enjoy watching the fun it has brought to our grandson. We now live in Colorado so have decided to share our home with others to enjoy.

Darrell purchased this cabin in 2003


based on 14 holidaymaker reviews

Lots of Beautiful Pine trees, horse shoe pit, Lg bedrooms, Cozy Mountain Retreat
average rating of 3.9285715 based on 14 reviews


  • 4 of 5

We needed something very basic, in the pines of Forest Lakes and that's exactly what we got. Spacious, with privacy for all. Our needs were met. We appreciated Ron's welcome from across the street. Having two bathrooms was nice. Beds were comfortable and the neighborhood was quiet. We appreciated the opportunity to stay close to the wedding where our dear friends were tying the knot. Great price.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice Place

  • 4 of 5

Nice place for an older home, it was clean and roomy. It sleeps 10, but I had 12 in my group and asked if we can bring in a couple of cots.

The owners had no problem accommodating us. We had a great time. Everything work, wifi, tv, clean linens.

Just one little down side, the coffee pot leaked so we did not get to make any coffee.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property

  • 5 of 5

There for 8 days, it had everything to feel like home. Owners were very helpful and friendly. The only thing you need to take are paper products, food and wood for the fireplace.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Old and dirty

  • 1 of 5

The house was dirty and smelled. There were spiders all over. The sheets and bedspreads were old and stained. I would not stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice location

  • 3 of 5

We have rented several cabins from this site , this experience was a little different . When we arrived the owners father came over to walk us through the cabin , he was very nice and helpful. The cabin is spacious but it's furniture is very out dated, has a thrift store vibe to it. We absolutely love spending time out side playing horseshoe, the kids had plenty of space outside to run . The weather was perfect ! The owners response time was quick and they are very easy to work with .

  • Review Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Dirty, Poorly-Maintained Cabin

  • 1 of 5

We rented this property for a full month. If we had known that it would take two of us two full days cleaning the interior of the cabin to a level acceptable for use, we would not have paid what we did for it. For instance, everything was covered in dust. If it had been cleaned within the past two weeks, that would not have been the case. We had to remove the bulb covers from the lights in the ceiling fan and clean them in order to see through them, and clean the filthy fan, too. The kitchen floor was so filthy that after three moppings, and the mop and water still being filthy, we had a family member who was coming to visit bring our steam cleaner from our home so that we could clean it. The pots and pans were nonstick, but most of the nonstick surface was peeling away, and they were all greasy. The rugs, carpet and couches all smelled dirty. The couch that advertises as a pull-out bed is unusable as such, and sinks down so low that only children could sit on it. Not a single one of the beds had a blanket on it, only stained bedspreads. The baseboards looked like they hadn't been even dusted in 20 years. We washed down both sides of every door in the house, as well as the door knobs and light switches, because they were so filthy. The freezer seemed to cycle through a defrost cycle every couple of days, and would cause ice to melt into the lower section of the fridge, ruining some of our food and covering the ground around the fridge with water. If you need to count on the internet even half of the time, forget it. It was not functional much of the time. When a thunderstorm fried the modem, my husband and I of our own accord drove 70 miles one way to get a new one at the Frontier office in Show Low.

This is our fifth time renting through this site, and every other time, the place we stayed received five stars across the board from us. We love Forest Lakes and will rent there again, but certainly won't waste our money on this huge disappointment, and feel others deserve to know what they're getting into before doing so.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately the client failed to mention that they asked to see the property (cabin) two weeks before they were scheduled to arrive. She stated they wanted to view the cabin to see what supplies were needed for their month long stay. So we made the proper arrangements for them to inspect the property. After they had been to the cabin we spoke by phone and she stated that everything was good, but did mention she felt like it was a little dusty inside. I explained that due to the dirt road and the amount of traffic it tends to get that way in a few days. As such we did send our regular cleaner over to wipe things down. There was nothing said about the bed spreads which were replace at the beginning of the rental season, along with a new set of pots, and pans. We did leave the old dishes and pans in the event they were needed. We are not aware of any refrigerator problems, as is previous renters have not reported issues. We did give them access to another refrigerator we don't normally allow access to. They never reported this issue to us during their stay or we would of had someone there asap to fix issue. We will have that inspected immediately. The ( MODEM!!!) are you kidding me! We did not arrange for a thunderstorm to sweep in, and take out the internet. The client called me on Friday and told me what happen. I spent an hour on the phone with Frontier, who stated they were three weeks out due to the storm damage. I made an appointment in the in case it was more serious than a modem. I also arranged for them to send a new modem over night and since this was on a fri the new modem arrived on Monday. I called and told them the new modem would be there in two days. THEY CHOSE TO DRIVE TO SHOWLOW. We have a care taker across the street, which checked on them at least three times. None of these items were mentioned. If a renter brings something to our attention we respond as quickly as possible as we did with the modem. In closing I am sorry that their expectations were not met. However our track record shows we are responsible landlords. We have had a numbers of endorsements from previous renters which also shows we care. I find it interesting that this posting popped-up the day after they received notice that the carpet needed cleaning from staining that incurred during their stay. Thank you for your time:
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Phoenix International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Rim Resort
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
hwy 260
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Rim Resort
Nearest Ski
90 Miles
Sunrise Sky Resort
Car: recommended

Forest with big pine trees. National Forest is about 1 mile. Lakes 5 miles. Heber shopping and resturants 15 min. Payson 40 min. Horse rentals 3 min away. General store and gas 5 min away.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Forest Lakes Estates, Arizona

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
23 Oct 2016 - 31 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
25 May 2017 - 29 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

nonref cleaning fee £78

Rates are subject to change until payment has been made. Snow removal is paid by renter if needed. Contract will be e- mailed and all terms of contract apply. We are not responsible for Issues with mother nature conditions or Aps, internet or tv issues do to unpredictable issues. You can view Contract attached before e-mailed to you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Forest Lakes Estates, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Across from master bed room
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , accross from 2 bedrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • All bedrooms large size
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • ski
  • Snowmobiling
75.00 snow removal if need paid by tenant

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties