HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Chesapeake Bay Waterfront Retreat

28 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Mayo - Bear Neck Creek House

4BR, 4 Baths, w/Pool, Dock, Fantastic View, just south of Annapolis

Kick back and enjoy some stress-reducing Chesapeake Bay living, in a rustic waterfront home on the beautiful Rhode River. Perfect for boating, swimming (either in the Bay or in the pool), fishing and crabbing, or just relaxing with a good book and a pretty view. This house is all about the water, with a spacious waterside lawn for casual gatherings and family games, a dock for fishing and crabbing and keeping a boat, and a waterside deck with grill for outdoor dining.

House is suitable for a maximum of 8-10 adults, and up to 12 with children.

MAIN house has:

--Master BR w/King-size bed, water views and balcony, plus a spacious Master Bath with shower, jacuzzi tub, and sauna.

--Second BR, upstairs, with full bath, skylight, and 2 twin beds.

--Third BR with full bath and double bed.

--High ceiling Living Room with big windows for water view, and sliding door to waterside deck

--Dining Room, with table for up to 10, also with water views and sliding door to deck.

--Fully equipped kitchen

--Spacious waterside deck, with grape arbors for shade, grill, two outdoor tables, and lots of space for outdoor dining.

--Study/office with water views and space for extra air bed if needed.

--Laundry/utility room with full washer and dryer.

--Separate pool house has a large open room with double bed, double futon, full bathroom, microwave, and exercise equipment.

--three kayaks come with the house, for paddling, bird watching, and exploring.

House is on the pretty Rhode River, with space for a boat or jet skis at the dock, and launch ramps just minutes away. It is just 25 minutes from the sightseeing, restaurants, and activities of downtown Annapolis, and 10 minutes from restaurants and shopping for all your needs in Edgewater. Easy access to movie theaters and outlet shopping. BWI airport and Amtrak just 30 minutes away.

For walking and birdwatching, there is an idyllic county park, with woods, trails, kettle ponds, and beaches, just a few minutes away.

If you are into bicycling or motorcycling, there are numerous spectacular rides through Chesapeake country, that wind along the Chesapeake Bay, past horse farms, through waterside towns, and down shaded, rural roads.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Tim Zimmermann
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Norwegian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
5 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Tim Zimmermann

I am a writer, sailor, and cyclist, who loves spending time on the Chesapeake with my wife and two children.

Tim Zimmermann purchased this house in 1996

Why Tim Zimmermann chose Maryland

If you live in the Washington DC region and want to spend time on the water, there is no place more beautiful than the Chesapeake Bay. My family loves to fish, boat, swim, and crab, and a week (or even a weekend) relaxing at Bear Neck Creek House is the best getaway we can imagine.

What makes this house unique

I spent many years sailing the Chesapeake Bay, but when I first saw this house I knew I had to move there. The house is simple yet open, full of light, and comfortable. The access to the water is unbeatable, the open Chesapeake Bay is just around the corner, and the Rhode River just off the house opens up into a bay that offers everything from daysailing to quiet paddling. There is always something fun and interesting to do on the water, and ospreys and crabs to keep you company. What I especially love is the quiet of the sunrise, and the perfect light of the sunsets.


based on 28 holidaymaker reviews

Chesapeake Bay Waterfront Retreat
average rating of 4.678571 based on 28 reviews

Good house pleasant owner

  • 4 of 5

We spent a nice weekend at this beautiful house. Tim response all question quickly. Very pleasant

  • Review Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Breathtaking View!

  • 5 of 5

The property is large and beautiful. The view from the master bedroom and bath is breathtaking. The master bath is big enough to have a slumber party haha. The whole house was amazing and the pool was a great addition to the stay. It was exactly what we needed for my group and I would absolutely stay again. Tim was also very easy to get a hold of and was in constant communication throughout the weekend. Everything was exactly where he said it would be and that made the stay easy to navigate. Thank you Tim for being such a great host and for use of your amazing house!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Almost perfect! Stunning location and views!

  • 4 of 5

The place was almost perfect! We had 12 folks from ages 3-78 to celebrate a blended family reunion. There was more than enough room for all of us to spread out between the pool, deck, front lawn, and waters! The views were spectacular, the location was perfect, we relaxed on the deck a lot, used the kayaks all day long, and fished for crab. Almost perfect...only issues were minor so we really weren't too bothered; neighbor house on one side is quite large which is not issue itself but it's close and the owners were not friendly. They like it very very quiet. We were not very loud despite having young children and a large group but we were being so conscientious and proactive with each other and our kids. This could be a bigger issue for some. We cook a lot and are snobbish about kitchen utensils. We wanted to sharpen the knives and get a few extra things like a vegetable peeler, but again we're a bit picky on that front and this may not be noticed by others. The pool was spectacular with equal sun and shade and there was a bathroom in the pool house too which was nice. The only thing is the pool house Windows had no blinds or curtains for privacy even in the bathroom which my in laws mentioned after our stay.

The place was so great otherwise, the few issues were minor for us. In a nut shell, we would stay there again! The owner was extremely available and accommodating! Thank you for a wonderful beautiful weekend.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your weekend, Abigail. I will go ahead and install shades in the pool house to increase the privacy within (one other guest mentioned this). And I will check to see where my knife sharpener is!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

The owner Tim was quite helpful and willing to work with you. The setting was great. The pool was very nice. However I was disappointed in the home. The first floor bedroom mattress was very lumpy and there was no air conditioning in the room. Most of the windows had no curtains. The kitchen lacked basics like potholders. The poolhose was one large room that was undecorated and no curtains which could have been a problem when the pool service arrived. There was no wifi available in the poolhouse. As we were there during the Olympics it was disappointing to watch them on low def tv's at least 15 years old.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bruce, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The house is indeed more rustic than fancy, more comfortable old-school getaway than wired-up modern vacation home, so I guess it is not for everyone (though this is the first time I've had anything other than a positive review). I am sure the air conditioning was fully taxed by the mega heat wave you experienced, which was unfortunate weather luck. However, the kitchen is the most complete rental kitchen I've ever been in (it was my family's kitchen for years) and definitely has potholders (in a drawer by the fridge), so I wish you would have e-mailed or texted if you couldn't find something. Again, sorry it wasn't the vacation you hoped it would be. Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved this property!

  • 5 of 5

A group of friends and family rented this space for an easily accessible getaway from DC. The house was lovely and Tim was extremely helpful during our reservation process as well while we were at the house. The location and views of the river are beautiful. We loved having the pool and use of the kayaks. We highly recommend this property and look forward to renting again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful view! Family friendly and a comfortable home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

Tim was very accommodating! We had more than enough room for our family of six. There was plenty to do... We played kickball in the yard, kayaked, fished off of the dock and swam in the pool. My kids had a wonderful time! It is a short drive to Annapolis and we found a playground nearby too! Thanks Tim for wonderful accommodations!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
South River Golf Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
New Carrolton
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Triton Beach Park/Mayo Beach
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Mayo, Maryland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
15 Sep 2016 - 5 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
6 Dec 2016 - 15 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
16 Mar 2017 - 1 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
USNA Commissiong Week
20 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £245
Cleaning £106

Cancellation Policy:

–- Cancellation before 60 days prior to arrival results in refund of deposit, less $250 non-refundable inconvenience fee.

-- Cancellation after 60 days prior to arrival and before 45 days prior to arrival results in refund, less $750 non-refundable inconvenience fee.

--Cancellation after 45 days prior to arrival and before 21 days prior to arrival results in refund, less $1000 non-refundable inconvenience fee.

--No refunds for cancellations 21 days or less from arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Mayo, USA

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Upstairs, next to BR 2.
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Ground floor, across from BR 3
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , In pool house, with BR 4
    Bathroom 1 (Master Bath) - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Spacious, with light and views. Double sink vanity, plus dre
  • Four full bathrooms, all with showers. Master bath also has large jacuzzi tub and sauna. Bathroom 1 is shower/tub combo.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , Ground floor, w/full bath across hall.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Upstairs, next to Master BR, w/separate full bath.
    Bedroom 1 (Master BR) - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , With water view, and sliding glass door to balcony.
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Large Double Bed , In pool house, with full bath, and room for extra beds.
  • Four bedrooms total, including large sleeping area in pool house. Plenty of space, if needed, in house or pool house, for extra air bed. Prefer booking of a maximum of 8 adults, plus kids.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties