Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

170 ft. of private, secluded, sand beach

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Excellent scuba diving, snorkeling, fly fishing, beach combing & hikiing

This is in our private home in a gated community on the pristine, quiet east end of Roatan. We are located between Calabash Bight & New Port Royal on the south side. The snorkeling & diving here is excellent, with abundant fish, many types of coral. There are excellent do it yourself bone fishing flats within easy walking distance and we are located between 2 dive sites with an excellent PADI dive instructor close by.

Your ocean front casita is a newly built, compact 2 BR apartment with its own private entrance. There are 2 queen beds, 1 BA, combined kitchen & living area, laundry room & small deck as well as an outdoor grilling area & firepit. This is totally self catering. There is no daily maid service. We do have friendly, outdoor only, watch dogs, cats & employ a full time caretaker/watchman.

We enjoy life here in our own paradise and have few rules: mainly NO illegal drugs and no smoking.

More Details

Chuck or Barb Shogren
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
14 July, 2018

About Chuck or Barb Shogren

We are retired Americans from Minnesota enjoying life here on Roatan. After having traveled for many years, always keeping an eye out for our dream retirement spot, we found it here on beautiful Roatan.

Chuck or Barb Shogren purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Chuck or Barb Shogren chose World

We love the water. We have an unbelievable view which changes by the minute, our own beach, fruit trees. It is so peaceful it soothes the soul!

What makes this apartment unique

Listen to the sound of waves breaking over the reef. Quietly meditate with a cup of coffee in the morning or a drink at happy hour while the trade winds keep you cool. Relax in the hammock with a good book, maybe one about the fascinating pirate history of Port Royal.

Every hour of the day brings a new view. There are do it yourself bone fishing flats within walking distance and local guides can be hired to take you out for a day of fishing. The snorkeling on the pristine reef right off our beach is amazing.

We also have a PADI instructor nearby & stunning dive sites to explore. Check out Leif's website

Roatan Catamaran Adventures is based out of nearby Oakridge and offers top notch snorkeling adventures into Port Royal. Check their website for information & availability.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My stay at Barb and Chuck's casita on the east end of Roatan has been an absolute delight. It's a perfect 2 bedroom apartment 30 feet from the sea. It offers a nice shaded porch and hammock area right outside the door. The barbeque grill is a few steps away. The waves lull me to sleep and the trade winds keep me cool.There is great snorkeling 70 feet from the front door. The laundry and everything you need is right here.You can snorkel and catch your own lobster, or just pay a local to bring you fresh lobster, snapper, or my favorite, barracuda fried in locally made coconut oil. The area is serviced by road, or by water taxi that goes to the stores in the town of Oakridge. Mikey is the best water taxi operator. I have spent a great month here. Chuck and Barb respect my privacy, but are also very warm and welcoming when I stop by. They are willing to help with anything, and we also enjoy sharing some drinks and conversation. Mario is their security and maintenance man who helps with anything you need, and helped me learn a lot about the island. This month has been the most pleasant time I have had for a long time. I strongly recommend staying here and experiencing the real roatan. You will love it. Live the dream.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment around the World around the

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Tiled shower
  • Tiled shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Shelling
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
Do it yourself bone fishing flats are within walking distance. Bring your snorkel & dive gear as there is a pristine reef right outside your door and PADI diver nearby.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
15% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
170 ft. of private, secluded, sand beach
average rating of 4.65 based on 21 reviews

Good property. Poor owners. Great caretaker Mario.

  • 3 of 5

House was fine though with no a/c it was worse than I thought. That one on me. Bigger problem was that there was no internet or tv service as stated there was. Did have tv and some videos which was enough for me. Felt stranded without wi fi and was made worse since me version phone coverage I bought did not work on the island.

Was very thankful for their most excellent caretaker Mario. He explained a great deal to me, ran me around in his boat and even found an internet service I could use when needed. Without Mario this trip would have been a disaster.

Ad for property also said it had 170 feet of private, secluded beach which is not true since I found out there are no private beaches on Roatan. There was very little foot traffic however. Personally this was fine with me but the ad was misleading.

Again. Thank God for Mario .

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you had some problems on your trip. We have never claimed to have satellite TV, only dvds and streaming on the internet. The internet is excellent, but your service that you purchased before coming down here obviously was a mistake. I'm sorry we weren't here to help you navigate.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The hospitality was fantastic

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time. The owners were not there but the caretaker was there. Mario picked us up took us to the Casita and was there for us every day. He showed us places to snorkel and where the reef was. Got us wood for the BBQ when we needed it. Walked us to places that were unfamiliar to us and kept us safe. Mario makes this resort as he really looks after his guests. Thank you Mario

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winchester, On, Canada

Peace and quiet and snorkelling from shore!

  • 5 of 5

We left Canada late because of de-icing the airplane and then adding more fuel, and hence arrived in Roatan late. Chuck was waiting for us nonetheless as pre-arranged. ( He offers this service for a nominal fee , enough to cover his gas .) We went to Eldon's for groceries , and Chuck offered good advice on the local cheaper brands and other helpful suggestions. Then we went to Bojangles ( yes, Bojangles!) and bought two of the two - chicken breast dinners, senior discount included! Great for supper for two nights. The casita is below Chuck and Barb's upper level house, right on the beach. It is well equipped , clean, airy, and the entire week we were not lacking anything. We slept in the front bedroom with the windows open , catching the breeze. The watchee, Mario , was always nearby for answers , local history lessons, and to help with the kayak. He brought us free coconut , conch, and some red snapper through the course of our stay. As a bit of a side business, he offered to take us to Oak Ridge, Port Royal, or on a snorkelling and / fishing excursion in his newly- acquired boat . We were there for the off- shore snorkelling , and this visit decided to stay put. We did go snorkelling right in front of the casita, but the channel is a bit shallow, so afterwards we used with existing permission a dock three down to the left. The entry was much easier. I did tow the kayak as a marker for the occasional boats passing before we reached the reef, but next time would have a life jacket to tow or a diver's flag. (Mario would take the kayak to the dock and bring it back ). The reef itself was very nice , warm clear water, lots to see ,and we could spent up to two hours there at a time without anyone else around. We have a lot of experience snorkelling , and were well pleased. When we were on shore, we read some books of local flavour provided in the casita ( really, a must !) , as well as others we had brought. The area is very tranquil, an occasional person walking by ,and is in a community of 17 or so ex- pat homes, most unoccupied . We felt very safe. So very quiet! That is important to know. Just what we wanted!

  • Review Submitted: 04-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words Philip. I am happy that you enjoyed your time here, and we very much look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Castle rock, Colorado

A peaceful escape away from everything.

  • 3 of 5

We have been to Honduras several times before this and we fell in love with the Island and it's people. We chose this property for it's beach location and quiet area. We were not disappointed. This location is away from EVERYTHING. Buy everything you may need before you get there. Chuck will pick you up and take you to Eldons. Plan what you may need for your time there, I brought spices, crystal light, salad dressing, rice, wine, and some snacks. Eldons has everything you may need. As far as the apartment goes, it is BASIC. The fridge is tiny, the dishes are sparse, and some new ice trays are an absolute must. We needed to pin the fridge shut with a table. We felt the beds were comfortable, the lack of AC was fine while we were there, there was a considerable breeze. Bring DEET. We left a can there, but I still was eaten alive. No surprise, I am bug bait. I wish there were some drawers to put our stuff away, but, as I said...BASIC. No clothes dryer, but the clothesline works fine. The entire key to this place though, is Mario and his family. I believe the sole reason this place is still a rental is because of Mario. This man is incredible. He genuinely cares for his 'guests' and their enjoyment while there. He tirelessly showed us a good time, everyday. He's a never ending source of info. Getting us transportation to town when we needed groceries, taking us snorkeling, fishing, etc...he, along with Alba and Javier, are a treasure. Whatever they are paid, it is not enough. If you are considering staying here, this is my 2 cents. This place is a basic apartment, with enough to sustain 2 people. The owners seem like they are interested in only having adults stay there. The one time our teenager tried to take out the kayak out, it did not end well. It felt that they were more concerned with possible damage to their kayak, then the enjoyment and the adventurous nature of a 14 year boy trying out the kayak that was 'part' of the apartment (he wasn't being careless). What we were left with, was that we were only 'allowed' to use the amenities, so long as our 'keeper/babysitter' Mario was attending us. This was disappointing, and along with an insecure teen boy, he didn't try again. It definitely put a damper on our trip. We absolutely loved being here, warts and all. It was quiet, peaceful, relaxing. I don't know if I would stay here again without a mild kitchen upgrade. (fridge, garbage disposal, at least) and less micromanaging from Barb&Chuck

  • Review Submitted: 09-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We live on the ocean, and we are concerned about our guests and their safety. There is a reef around this island, and we only want kids to be safe when they are out in a kayak by themselves. That is why we have life vests here for guests to use. When a 14 year old boy and a ten year old girl are out in the kayak we want them to have life vests on. We are not trying to interfere with your vacation time, just trying to make it safe for kids.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Apartment is modest but functional. It was very neat and very clean.

  • 4 of 5

We had bad weather but the few tours we got out on with Mario showed a very healthy reef a short kayak trip from shore. Access to a kayak is critical to enjoy the snorkeling here and super Mario will set you up and take you out. He also has a small boat now and for forty or fifty dollars will take you for a tour to Jennings point to sight see and snorkel. That tour with Mario was our best day of the trip and would have been much too far to paddle. The beds look quite new but were a little firmer than we are used to so it took me a few days to adjust and sleep well. Chuck patiently collects you at the airport and takes you shopping. Somehow he always knows where there is sale on rum.

All in all this was the perfect location for our first retirement trip as we decompressed to island time. With a softer bed and less rain I would have been in heaven. The daily assistance from Mario is the reason I will go back. He also took me bone fishing and supplied the fly rod. He treated us to coconuts, sour sop, and fresh fish fillets. Can get you breadfruit too. Super Mario !

  • Review Submitted: 28-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that the weather was not better. We strive to give everyone a five star visit. The rates we charge are not luxury. they are basic, clean and honest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful! Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We spent the month of January (2018) at Casa Escondida. There was alot of rain; more than the locals have seen in the last 10 years --- but it really couldn't dampen our spirits! Our hosts were wonderful, our resident caretaker (Watchee), Mario, was constantly our local guide and the area was fantastic. It was difficult to access because of the rain/roads; but there was so much everywhere and there was always a way to 'make it happen', our days were filled with 'things to do and places to see'! Casa Escondida is unique that it is the only rental property in the immediate area and that offers a wonderful security of a residential community. We believe the area is on the path to development and investment and the locals seem to welcome each and everyone who comes. We loved our time!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jane and Tom We really enjoyed the time you spent with us. Please let Tom know that I did order a mass air flow sensor for the car, and hoping it gets here soon. I hope your trip home was pleasant, and things are not too cold in Wisconsin. I hope we see you again. It was great to meet you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Roatan, Honduras (RTB)
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Crow's Nest at Marble Hill Farms
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Crow's Nest at Marble Hill Farms
Nearest Beach
Our own at Casa Escondida
Car: recommended

Come get away from the crowds and enjoy New Port Royal's unspoiled snorkeling and dive sites. Fishing flats are a short walk away

* Scuba Diving nearby and fishing guides can be arranged. Pristine snorkeling right off our beach.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment around the World,

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £27.04

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals