HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

New A-frame Cabin With Gabled Windows, Cathedral ceiling,15 minutes to Telluride

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house


About the property

Next to Angler Restaurant, Downvalley Park, Pond, San Miguel River, Red Rock

Two King Sized Bedrooms and 1 Master Suite, each with their own Full Bathrooms -- plus a living room and a beautiful large loft with cathedral ceiling and a sleep sofa out in the open right above it. The Living Room has leather sofas and a 42" Smart Television with wifi, Roku, Netflix, and Amazon Prime. Floor to Roof Windows and Cathedral Ceiling from Living Room to Loft. Gas Kitchen with Ice Maker and Dishwasher. Very Open and Spacious Floor Plan. Galloping Goose Bus stops just steps away for alternative transportation up and down valley. San Miguel River and Downvalley Park with a pond, beach, and scenic trails are just across Route 145. Plenty of Parking available. Pretty views from all windows. Quiet, scenic location with plenty to do nearby. Sleeping for up to 6 adults with 4 children; or for 8 adults. There are 2 leather sofas, and a nice glass top coffee table downstairs, as well as a futon type sofa and a bean bag chair that turns into a full sleeper mattress upstairs in the loft.

Chris Lawson
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
3 March, 2018

About Chris Lawson

My wife, our 2 growing children, and I love to ski and hike and bike and do everything great outdoors. I have skied all over the world and Telluride wins the award for beauty, and what a phenomenal ski area it is for everyone, so I built this home here. I have a mountain bike and just bought a dual sport motorcycle last summer to enjoy all the dirt roads in the area. I ride my mountain bike home from Telluride as much as possible, and go soul searching on my motorcycle almost every nice evening.

Chris Lawson purchased this house in 2013

Why Chris Lawson chose Placerville

This home is in a beautiful rural but convenient location which is a very scenic, 15 minute drive to Telluride's Lift 7. A great restaurant named the Angler is just behind the house, and there are upvalley and down valley bus stops there and just down valley on Route 145. During the week, it makes it easier if someone wants to go early, get up there at lunch time, or come home a little later than the others. We love Downvalley Park, just a 3 minute walk away. It has a field, heated bathrooms with real toilets, hiking trails, a stocked pond, and the San Miguel River as well for fishing. Also, Sawpit Mercantile and M&M Mercantile (both markets with liquor stores) are only 5 minutes away by car. This home lets you have all that Telluride has to offer, except the crowds, while being cheaper, roomier, quieter, and lower down in elevation, meaning it's warmer, sunnier, and easier to acclimate to for those with altitude issues.

What makes this house unique

I'm happy that my home is away from the crowds in Telluride and Mountain Village. Go out during the day, and hike, bike, or ski, and then come on back and relax or hit then Angler restaurant. Then take a walk over to the park with its own bathrooms, picnic tables, hiking trails, playground, pond full of trout and wildlife, and the river, over and over! Take a car or the bus to town. Take your bike along and ride downhill back home. No problems here with parking, and lots of elbow room to be comfortable in the picturesque and charming little neighborhood. The home has floor-to-roof windows showing the scenic red rocks and greenery, a spacious and modern kitchen, living room and loft, 3 large bedrooms with King or Queen Beds, 3 full baths, a loft area for quiet lounging and extra sleepers (up to 4), and a beautiful open floor plan that brings mother nature in. The stars are unreal in this area as there is no artificial light, and it is as quiet as can be.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Placerville in San Miguel County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Just off the Bedroom 1 and the living area.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Accessible from the loft or Bedroom 2
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Bedroom 3 is actually a master suite, with kitchen & bath
  • Bedroom 1 is on the first floor and has 3 windows (including a sliding door exit) and a walk-in closet. It adjoins the living area and the full bath and powder rooms. Bedroom 2 is on the second floor and has a 9' closet, 2 windows, and a dormer space to look out the window. There is also a beanbag chair in the loft that converts to a full sized mattress.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Come and Enjoy all the Area has to Offer. The skiing, hiking, concerts, music and film festivals, climbing, mountain biking, dirt biking, kayaking, fly fishing, wildlife, and restaurants are phenomenal, and suggestions for all are in my pamphlet at the Ski Cabin. If you love the great outdoors, and getting away from life's mad rush, you are bound to have a wonderful experience. There is no longer a caretaker on site, but help is usually available when needed.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
31% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
New A-frame Cabin With Gabled Windows, Cathedral ceiling,15 minutes to Telluride
average rating of 4.551724 based on 29 reviews

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

Very convenient to Telluride. We loved the nearby park. The caretaker, Erich, was very welcoming and friendly; clear, courteous communication with the owner, Chris. The only downside was that we didn''t have enough vacation time to stay longer!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very good! Downvalley Park should not be downplayed. It is very nice.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Caretaker was very attentive to anything we needed

  • 5 of 5

Great place, quiet and has easy access to hiking areas and Telluride

  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had such a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect little cabin for a nice relaxed visit.

  • 5 of 5

a trouble free experience with a nice comfortable cabin in a great location especially for families with younger kids. The San miguel county park is right down the road and access to Ouray and Telluride are both easy.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you liked the Ski Cabin. Even just this past summer, I discovered some truly spectacular places within a 20 minute drive.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, CO

Great visit

  • 5 of 5

Lovely & peaceful mountain retreat.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home in a beautiful setting

  • 4 of 5

This place is great overall. Very clean and feels brand new. The owner was quick to respond to any questions and very accommodating. We had a wonderful experience in the house and in Telluride. My only issues: we weren't aware that someone else would be living in the house at the same time we were there. If this information was available, we didn't see it and that is our mistake. We still would have reserved the home but it wouldn't have been a surprise when we heard someone behind one of the locked doors. The other inhabitants of the house were not loud at all. It was just a surprise. Secondly, the house is listed as "sleeps 8." It should be known that there are two real beds, very big and very comfortable, a futon that will sleep one adult somewhat comfortably, and a bean bag bed that will also sleep one adult comfortably. If you have 8 adults, people will either be sleeping uncomfortably or on the floor. The small futon and bean bag bed could sleep 4 small children comfortably. Also, not an issue with the home, but the shuttle which stops occasionally at the hotel (2 min walk) should not be relied upon for regular transportation to and from Telluride. The schedule is confusing and inconsistent, doesn't run on weekends, and the shuttle passed by us as we were standing at the stop, twice. All this to say, the rental home is very affordable and worth every penny, there are just a few things that people should know so as not to be surprised upon arrival. Thanks again to our host.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The buses are tricky. You have to be across highway 145 and down the hill a little bit to catch one to Telluride. To find the current schedule, google " telluride galloping goose schedule" . The buses that run downvalley are the "Downvalley" and "Norwood" buses, and the weekend schedule is more limited.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Really enjoyed it!

  • 5 of 5

We had 4 adults and 4 small children and we never felt crowded. We had a great time and would go back again!

  • Review Submitted: 29-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I think the beanbag mattress can really help for those who need it for their group size. The internet has been upgraded subsequent to your visit, and the phone now allows long distance and Canadian calls for free. Glad you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Blue Jay Cafe -- CLOSED
The legendary Blue Jay Cafe has become the Angler Inn. Dynamite upscale cuisine at a good p...
The Angler Inn
The Angler Inn Restaurant
Nearest Airport
54 Miles
Montrose (MTJ) [Telluride "TEX" is closer but $$$$
Nearest Barpub
0.02 Miles
The Angler Inn Restaurant
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Telluride Golf and Ski Resort
Nearest Motorway
0.04 Miles
State Route 145
Nearest Restaurant
0.02 Miles
The Angler Inn
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Telluride Golf and Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
0.06 Miles
The Pond at Downvalley Park
Car: recommended

An A-frame house with floor to roof views of Red Rock Cliffs from home on the sunny side of the valley at 7450 feet of elevation makes it warmer and easier to adjust to than Telluride/Mountain Village (8900 and 9400 feet). A great restaurant named the Angler is right behind the house. The Bus Stops to/from Telluride are there and just down valley. Sawpit Mercantile, Gas, and Liquor, M&M Mercantile, Beer, and Liquor, and the Post Office are within a 5 minute drive. Downvalley County Park with a great fishing hole on the San Miguel River is a 3 minute walk. Peaceful neighborhood. Beautiful 18 minute ride to and from Telluride/Mountain Village. Plenty of free parking. We have never needed 4WD from this house, as the 250 feet of road from Route 145 to the house is almost flat and we do not get as much snow as Telluride/Mountain Village. Route 145 is cleared of snow well.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Placerville, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Mid February to Late March
15 Feb 2018 - 25 Mar 2018
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Spring Skiing Season
26 Mar 2018 - 1 Apr 2018
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
20 Jun 2018 - 5 Jul 2018
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £144.42
Refundable CleaningDepos £108.31

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Wash the sheets and linens and put them back where they belong if you have time. Leave a note to this effect. Any cleaning necessary after your departure is charged at a rate of $25 an hour and is subtracted from your cleaning deposit. In the unlikely event that you may have to clean on your arrival, you will be compensated at a rate of $25 an hour for your time. I am always available by phone and there is a caretaker with a separate apartment onsite who is more than happy to assist you with any issues that arise. We are here to serve you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals