HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

New A-frame Cabin With Gabled Windows, Cathedral ceiling,15 minutes to Telluride

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,350 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

Next to Angler Inn, Downvalley Park, Pond, San Miguel River, Red Rocks

Two King Sized Bedrooms and Two Full Bathrooms -- one on each level -- plus a living room and a beautiful large loft with cathedral ceiling and a sleep sofa out in the open right above it. The Living Room has leather sofas and a 42" Smart Television with wifi, Roku, Netflix, and Amazon Prime. Floor to Roof Windows and Cathedral Ceiling from Living Room to Loft. Gas Kitchen with Ice Maker and Dishwasher. Very Open and Spacious Floor Plan. Galloping Goose Bus stops just steps away for alternative transportation up and down valley. San Miguel River and Downvalley Park with a pond, beach, and scenic trails are just across Route 145. Plenty of Parking available. Pretty views from all windows. Quiet, scenic location with plenty to do nearby. Also, from January 1, 2017, there will be sleeping for up to 8. There are 2 leather sofas, and a nice glass top coffee table downstairs, as well as a futon type sofa and a bean bag chair that turns into a full sleeper mattress upstairs in the loft.


Owner
Chris Lawson
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
24 July, 2017

About Chris Lawson

My wife, our 2 growing children, and I love to ski and hike and bike and do everything great outdoors. I have skied all over the world and Telluride wins the award for beauty, and what a phenomenal ski area it is for everyone, so I built this home here.

Chris Lawson purchased this house in 2013

Why Chris Lawson chose Colorado

This home is in a beautiful rural but convenient location which is a very scenic, 15 minute drive to Telluride's Lift 7. The Angler Inn, a great new restaurant with a beer garden and espresso bar, is one minute away by foot. There is a bus stop there and another just across the highway and down a little bit that will get you to and from Telluride during the week, so it makes it easier if someone wants to go early, get up there at lunch time, or come home a little later than the others. We love Downvalley Park, just a 3 minute walk away. It has a field, heated bathrooms with real toilets, hiking trails, a stocked pond, and the San Miguel River as well for fishing. This home lets you have all that Telluride has to offer, except the crowds, while being cheaper, roomier, quieter, and lower down in elevation, meaning it's easier to acclimate to for those with altitude issues.

What makes this house unique

I'm happy that my home is away from the crowds in Telluride and Mountain Village. Go out during the day, and hike, bike, or ski, and then come on back and relax. Then take a walk over to the park with its own bathrooms, picnic tables, hiking trails, playground, pond full of trout and wildlife, and the river, or to the Angler Inn, or to all 3, over and over! Take a car or the bus to town. Take your bike along and ride downhill back home. No problems here with parking, and lots of elbow room to be comfortable in the picturesque and charming little neighborhood. The home has floor-to-roof windows showing the scenic red rocks and greenery, a spacious and modern kitchen, living room and loft, 2 large bedrooms with King Beds, 2 full baths, a loft area for quiet lounging and extra sleepers, and a beautiful open floor plan that brings mother nature in. The stars are unreal in this area as there is no artificial light, and it is as quiet as can be.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Placerville in San Miguel County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Just off the Bedroom 1 and the living area.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Accessible from the loft or Bedroom 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Bedroom 1 is on the first floor and has 3 windows (including a sliding door exit) and a walk-in closet. It adjoins the living area and the full bath and powder rooms. Bedroom 2 is on the second floor and has a 9' closet, 2 windows, and a dormer space to look out the window. There is also a beanbag chair in the loft that converts to a full sized mattress.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Come and Enjoy all the Area has to Offer. The hiking, concerts, music and film festivals, skiing, climbing, mountain biking, kayaking, fly fishing, wildlife, and restaurants are phenomenal, and suggestions for all are in my pamphlet at the Ski Cabin. If you love the great outdoors, and getting away from life's mad rush, you are bound to have a wonderful experience. There is a separate caretaker's unit on site.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

57% Complete
34% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
New A-frame Cabin With Gabled Windows, Cathedral ceiling,15 minutes to Telluride
average rating of 4.5 based on 26 reviews
Denver, CO
5

Great visit

  • 5 of 5

Lovely & peaceful mountain retreat.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful home in a beautiful setting

  • 4 of 5

This place is great overall. Very clean and feels brand new. The owner was quick to respond to any questions and very accommodating. We had a wonderful experience in the house and in Telluride. My only issues: we weren't aware that someone else would be living in the house at the same time we were there. If this information was available, we didn't see it and that is our mistake. We still would have reserved the home but it wouldn't have been a surprise when we heard someone behind one of the locked doors. The other inhabitants of the house were not loud at all. It was just a surprise. Secondly, the house is listed as "sleeps 8." It should be known that there are two real beds, very big and very comfortable, a futon that will sleep one adult somewhat comfortably, and a bean bag bed that will also sleep one adult comfortably. If you have 8 adults, people will either be sleeping uncomfortably or on the floor. The small futon and bean bag bed could sleep 4 small children comfortably. Also, not an issue with the home, but the shuttle which stops occasionally at the hotel (2 min walk) should not be relied upon for regular transportation to and from Telluride. The schedule is confusing and inconsistent, doesn't run on weekends, and the shuttle passed by us as we were standing at the stop, twice. All this to say, the rental home is very affordable and worth every penny, there are just a few things that people should know so as not to be surprised upon arrival. Thanks again to our host.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The buses are tricky. You have to be across highway 145 and down the hill a little bit to catch one to Telluride. To find the current schedule, google " telluride galloping goose schedule" . The buses that run downvalley are the "Downvalley" and "Norwood" buses, and the weekend schedule is more limited.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Really enjoyed it!

  • 5 of 5

We had 4 adults and 4 small children and we never felt crowded. We had a great time and would go back again!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I think the beanbag mattress can really help for those who need it for their group size. The internet has been upgraded subsequent to your visit, and the phone now allows long distance and Canadian calls for free. Glad you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

Fun place to stay. Not too far from Telluride, close to the river, parks .. will stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Downvalley Park is really awesome. I'm glad you enjoyed it. The pond and the benches by the river are so cool.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5

Chris is a great host-- incredibly responsive and helpful. Our deposit was returned within 24 hours of sending my email letting him know we had checked out. The home itself was great for our group-- plenty of space. Beautiful big windows and views of the canyon wall. The drive was about 15-20 minutes from Downtown Telluride. We liked being closer to downtown than to the village.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: And it's a pretty drive, too! ;) With wildlife and a market/liquor store along the way... The drive to Mountain Village is about the same, but I prefer to drive into Telluride. It has funk, as they say. And all you could want. ;)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was comfy and had everything we needed. Would definitely stay there again

  • 5 of 5

Everything met our expectations

  • Review Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have just added a bean beg chair that converts to a full bed, to give the loft more liveability. So come on back soon. ;)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Location

Blue Jay Cafe -- CLOSED
"The legendary Blue Jay Cafe has become the Angler Inn. Dynamite upscale cuisine at a good p..."
Nearest Airport
54 Miles
Montrose (MTJ) [Telluride "TEX" is closer but $$$$
Nearest Barpub
0.02 Miles
The Angler Inn
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Telluride Golf and Ski Resort
Nearest Motorway
0.04 Miles
State Route 145
Nearest Restaurant
0.02 Miles
The Angler Inn
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Telluride Golf and Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
0.06 Miles
The Pond at Downvalley Park
Car: recommended

An A-frame house with floor to roof views of Red Rock Cliffs from home on the sunny side of the valley at 7450 feet of elevation makes it warmer and easier to adjust to than Telluride/Mountain Village (8900 and 9400 feet). The Bus Stops to/from Telluride are 2 and 3 minute walks. The newly opened Angler Inn (formerly the Blue Jay Lodge and Cafe) is just behind house. It has a very nice restaurant and beer garden. Sawpit Mercantile, Gas, and Liquor, the Placerville General Store, Liquor, and Post Office are within a 5 minute drive. Downvalley County Park with a great fishing hole on the San Miguel River is a 3 minute walk. Peaceful neighborhood. Beautiful 18 minute ride to and from Telluride/Mountain Village. Plenty of free parking. We have never needed 4WD from this house, as the 250 feet of road from Route 145 to the house is almost flat and we do not get as much snow as Telluride/Mountain Village. Route 145 is cleared of snow well.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Placerville, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
August 2017
9 Aug 2017 - 29 Aug 2017
1 night minimum stay
£407
for 1 night
From
£252
From
£271
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
Pre-Christmas
8 Dec 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
1 night minimum stay
£349
for 1 night
From
£194
£1,474
£4,266
 
 
Christmas/New Years
16 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
1 night minimum stay
£388
for 1 night
From
£233
£1,706
 
 
Prime Ski Season
4 Jan 2018 - 25 Mar 2018
1 night minimum stay
£349
for 1 night
From
£194
From
£233
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,319
£4,033
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Skiing Season
26 Mar 2018 - 1 Apr 2018
1 night minimum stay
£330
for 1 night
From
£175
From
£175
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,280
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£310
for 1 night
From
£155
From
£175
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,086
£2,792
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £155.12
Additional Guest Fee £19.39 per person per night
Damage Deposit £155.12

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. There is a completely separate caretaker's lock-off unit onsite.
It is completely self-contained, with no sharing of space, and has its own entrance, Wash the sheets and linens and put them back where they belong if you have time. Leave a note to this effect. Any cleaning necessary after your departure is charged at a rate of $25 an hour and is subtracted from your cleaning deposit. If you have to clean on your arrival, you will be compensated at a rate of $25 an hour for your time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable