Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

NEW LISTING! Charming Belfast Cottage! Great Bay Views! Easy Walk to Town!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,250 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

This cottage has "feel good" bones!! Completely exhale the minute you step foot in the door of this 3 story home! Two bedrooms: one queen, one double. Additionally, a loft with a double mattress and twin pull out couch, plus a bonus "tower" room with one twin bed. One bath, full kitchen, large living room facing the bay, and dining area. Walk out basement and balconies facing the bay off the main floor, master bedroom, and "tower". Quiet residential neighborhood, only a 1/2 mile walk to restaurants, shops, food co op, galleries, and boatyard! Two minute walk to pebble beach! Gas grill, beach chairs. Spectacular sunrises, plentiful birds, star lit nights! Close to walking path along the Passagassawakeag River and bountiful farmer's markets!

Please note that there are spiral stairs leading up to the master bedroom on the second floor, which are not suitable for children and may not be suitable for people who may have trouble navigating them. There are regular stairs leading to the "Cottage Room" in the basement.

Also please note that the bathroom is on the main floor, not the same floor as the bedrooms.

More Details

Kelly Pickering
Member since: 2017
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
11 May, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Belfast in Waldo County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • No lighting of candles. All areas of our home are to be respected. Leave any wet towels/wash cloths hanging.
  • Absolutely no smoking on or near premises. This includes cigarettes, pot, and vaping!!
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Please note that the bathroom is on the main floor, not on the same floor as the bedrooms.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , Cottage style basement room with walkout to bay views.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Second floor master, large closet, balcony with great views!
    Second Floor Loft - 1 Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Open loft with double mattress and twin sofa sleeper.
    Tower bedroom - 1 Single Bed , Bright room in the 3rd floor tower.
  • Please note that the stairs leading up to the second floor are spiral.
  • Books
  • Games
  • Stereo ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming


3.8/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
NEW LISTING! Charming Belfast Cottage! Great Bay Views! Easy Walk to Town!
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews

Very cute place, walking distance from dowtown

  • 4 of 5

Loved the cottage. Very rustic so don't expect 5 star but plenty of room for my family of 5. Really enjoyed the old school feel and the view of the ocean. The top floor "lookout tower" as my son called it was really neat. The walk to downtown (breakfast, lunch, dinner) couldn't have been easier!! Great shopping in downtown Belfast especially Colburn Shoe Store such a cool place!! Great town, great place to stay! Would definitely go back.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay Jeremy, and the "old school" feel! The front part of our cottage is 105 years old, which gives it it's charm and great, homey feeling! The "tower" is a favorite among our renters and the views are even better once the leaves have fallen! Easy access by foot to town is a wonderful perk that our guests enjoy! Yes, Coburn's is great... I believe it is the oldest shoe store in the country!! Thank you for treating our home with respect... you are welcome back anytime!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

All the comforts of home.....with a FABULOUS view!

  • 5 of 5

Watching the sun rise over Penobscot Bay was breathtaking.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cute little house

  • 5 of 5

This house is pretty much as advertised. I can't say how easily it would handle a group of five or six, but for the two of us it was nice. It is not at all a fancy house (Belfast doesn't feel like a fancy town), it feels like a winterized summer cottage (although plenty warm at least in the two bedrooms we used on a very cold winter night). Kitchen was reasonably well equipped, again not fancy but functional. Beds were comfortable. I would think this would be a nice spot in the summer, deck looks out over the water, and it's walking distance to town (although not right next door). The owner was very accessible and responded to inquiries promptly. The owner reasonably brought to our attention one thing to be aware of before we rented, namely that three of the bedrooms are on the second and third floors, and the staircase to the second floor is a metal spiral staircase. Not at all a problem for us, but those with mobility restrictions should be aware of it. All in all the house is reasonably priced and I would stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that our sweet cottage was just right for you and appreciate your sentiments immensely!!! True, Belfast is not a fancy town, which is why we love it so!! Please know that you are welcome back anytime!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Belfast, ME

Very nice

  • 4 of 5

Spectacular views of the bay and delightfully gracious and accommodating hosts.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Dick for your review, and we are so glad you enjoyed our view... it is something to behold!!! Thanks for choosing our Belfast cottage for your stay! Best to you and Nancy!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The stay ok

  • 1 of 5

We had a great time visiting Maine and this house is nice. We had no issues during our stay at all. However, we currently have a dispute with Kelly the property owner as she withheld a portion of the damage deposit we paid. Her reason is that we used 9 paper plates, 4 trash bags and 2 towels. These items are listed as being included and have nothing to do with the damage deposit. We are in dispute. Also we paid a cleaning fee but i guess that doesnt cover washing 2 towels we uses. Be sure to bring your own everything and dont expect your full deposit back, she'll find a reason to keep it. Very disappointed that this is allowed to happen.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nowhere in our description of why we withheld a reasonable amount of the deposit does it state the number of items used. We stated paper plates because they are not listed as included and we listed trash bags because we felt that they were used in excess for just a 2 night stay. As for the towels, we did not state that there were 2 used, only that they were left wet in a heap in the basement when we asked of them to be hung because they sour easily. It was also brought to the renters attention that we are missing a bedroom flashlight, had to replace a burned kitchen utensil, and had to have a queen sized comforter cleaned because it had been sprayed with some sort of freshener/perfume. There was also a large stain on the one carpet we have that needed cleaning. These are all well within our discretion to withhold funds. In addition, it clearly states in the house rules that there were to be no large gatherings/parties, yet we received calls from several neighbors that there was a large amount of people gathered in our yard partying. While we have nothing against alcohol, the renter said that they are a dry family and that absolutely no drinking happened at all, yet there was a large amount of beer returnables left behind. It also clearly states in the house rules section that there is to be absolutely no smoking on the premises yet cigarette and pot smoking in our yard were observed by neighbors, as well as vaping off of balconies. Having a large amount of people using our property is considered wear and tear. We also agreed that there would be no pets in sleeping areas, yet there were. We have had close to 2 dozen renters outside of Home Away and this is the first time we have ever withheld funds. All we ever ask is for our renters to be responsible and respectful of our cottage and our simple house rules.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £56.39
Damage Deposit £225.57

We have a "leave it as you found it" policy. This Belfast cottage is our beloved home and we are happy to share with people who will love it as we do and treat it and our belongings with great respect! If you move things, please put them back before you leave. If you break something (things happen), please let us know. No smoking anywhere on premises (this includes cigarettes, pot, and vaping) and no lighting of candles. We are diligent recyclers and have boxes in the basement for sorting. Please be respectful of this so as to keep trash at a minimum. All toilet paper, paper towels, tissues and napkins are provided as well as baggies, wraps. Paper plates, bowls, plastic cups are NOT included. Please provide your own personal care items. We also ask that renters please not have food or drinks in the sleeping areas.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals