HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Julie Shaffery

Member since: 2012
Speaks English

Luxury Log Home 3 miles off Prkwy!Mntn View! Pool, Putt Putt Golf

28 Reviews
People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cabin in Tennessee - Cabin Joy

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom (Sleeps 1-8)

Located in Bear Creek Crossing! Escape every day life and come stay at Cabin Joy. Located just five minutes off of the fun filled Parkway, you will enjoy all that this luxury log home has to offer. You will love the wrap around porch with country rockers and top of the line 6 person hot tub with water fall and fiber optic lighted tub and jets. You will be in awe walking into the great room with vaulted ceiling, brand new stainless appliances, all brand new dishes as well as bakeware, pots, small appliances etc. You will have all of the comforts of home. You will enjoy eating at the beautiful custom log dining table with cushioned log seats. You will feel at home in the living area with floor to ceiling fireplace, bear themed furniture and flat screen TV for watching Direct TV with all of the premium channels. There is a sofa bed. There are 2 king suites with all new furnishings and each have their own black bear theme. The children will love the open loft with a new log bunk bed featuring a full and twin bed. The loft is also complete with a new pool table, new air hockey, new stand up video arcade, new futon, and new card table.

Cabin Joy has everything that you would need to enjoy a relaxing luxury log home vacation in the Smokys. Make it your family vacation today. This cabin will sleep 8 people comfortably and 10 if need be.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Julie Shaffery (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks English

About Julie Shaffery

My name is Julie Shaffery and I am from New Jersey. I am a real estate broker. My husband Michael and I have three children. We all enjoy riding our horses and vacationing in the Smokys. We are so happy that we can make our dream part of yours by sharing our vacation home with you. This picture was taken in August 2011 in Cades Cove when my husband and I renewed our wedding vows. I brought 18 family members with us from NJ.

Julie Shaffery purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Julie Shaffery chose Tennessee

This property was a stones throw away from our other cabin and we thought it would be nice to keep our family close by during gatherings.

What makes this cabin unique

We take extra special care of our property. We expect the cabin to be clean and pest free exactly the way we want to stay in a vacation home. We are so happy that we can share this with other families.

Reviews

4.6
based on 28 holidaymaker reviews

Luxury Log Home 3 miles off Prkwy!Mntn View! Pool, Putt Putt Golf
average rating of 4.607143 based on 28 reviews
3

Family Vacation

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was advertised as suitable for 10. Maybe 6 adults and 4 children but definitely not 10 adults. Two of my adult children could not make it so it all worked out. There are two bedrooms (4 adults), a loft with a bunk bed with a double on bottom and a single on top (three kids), and a futon that folds out (maybe one more kids) and a very worn out and uncomfortable fold out sofa in the great room downstairs (two adults would not last the full week). My 22 year old daughter wound up sleeping with me and my wife in the bedroom.

The owner/manager was responsive when we called with a problem.

We had to go buy trash bags after the first kitchen bag was full (first day). A $3.00 box of trash bags would not be too much to expect. Most VRBO properties I have used before had a box of trash bags available.

The two large trash cans outside were not picked up during the week. We had 8 staying in the cabin and accumulated a lot of trash. The cans were overflowing when we left. We hoped this might mean we would see some bears, but no luck.

It worked out well with 4 adults one adult child and 3 grandkids. We may have opted for a larger cabin had the description of the accommodations been a bit more realistic. If my other son and daughter in law had been able to make it, I would not have been a happy camper!!!!!

We were told that we could not bring our Weiner dog because the properties prided themselves on being allergen free. But there were dust bunnies hanging from the ceiling joists.

Overall not an unpleasant vacation, but it could have been a bit more comfortable.

On a brighter note, I rode some rides at Dollywood with my grandkids that a 60 year old man should not be allowed to ride!!! Got my blood flowing!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stanley, I am glad that you had a good vacation but upset to see that you were not happy with some things at our cabin. First, the description of our cabin is right on and very realistic as are our pictures. The pictures and reviews cannot lie. There are 2 king suites, a queen pull out sleeper sofa, a twin/full children's bunk bed and futon in the loft. I am sorry that you didn't see this. In your review you say that you contacted me but I didn't hear from you. If I had, I would've sent our cleaning company up with some extra garbage bags and to pick up the garbage. In my welcome email it says what is provided and also says that if you run out, it will be your responsibility to purchase extra. I am not sure how you missed this in your welcome email. Again, I am sorry. Had I have known there was only 1 extra bag, I would've sent someone up. I am certainly happy that you didn't have any bears from the overflow of garbage. In your welcome email it explains that any food or garbage left outside will attract bears and we will have a huge mess to clean not to mention, it is not humane to have bears eating people food and therefore having to euthanize them because of losing their fear of people due to this. You are correct about our cabin being pet dander free. With having a dry cabin because of having the air conditioning run constantly, we do have some dust which our cleaning company may have missed on the rafters. Most of the cabin has 25 foot ceilings so it can be difficult to get them all. Thank you for letting me know, I will let our cleaning company know. Thank you for staying at our cabin. We really do enjoy sharing our home with our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Townley, Alabama
5

Fabulous getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Arriving after sunset was not wise! Finding the cabin was a bit challenging; however, the description and pictures are true to reality. Opening the door after a long journey to a beautiful home complete with decorated Christmas tree was a treat!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Robin. Thanks for staying at Cabin Joy. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you come visit again soon Thanks Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cabin Joy

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our stay, would select this cabin again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Nathan. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you stay again in the future. Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Super clean cabin in a great location

  • 5 of 5

Great home base for a busy trip! The location was great because it was far enough away from all the comotion of the Parkway, but close enough to get where you want to be for excursions/dining/etc. Nice view out back, and the cabin was super clean. Loved the game loft and the kitchen has pretty much everything you need. It is in a gated community, so there is a nice feeling of safety in that respect especially if traveling with children but it is not as private/isolated as other cabin rentals may be just as a reference to other renters who may be looking for that. Enjoyed your place and will make it a home base again on a future trip!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Teresa! I am so glad that you all enjoyed you stay. I really do hope you stay again. Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was very clean and comfortable. Rented this cabin for 4 nights. There were 5 adults (ages 31-63) and 4 children (ages 2-5). The parents loved it because children were within eye view basically with the open loft game/sleep area. Deck wraps around most of house and wooden rails and posts are sturdy and safe for small children. Nice view of mountain off back deck. Kitchen adequately supplied. Outdoor pool was still open and nice size. Children enjoyed it. Location was very convenient to grocery and Parkway. Also could avoid Parkway on way out of town with back route out. Owner provided great customer service, very accommodating. Had a late night visit from a bear on back deck as we forgot to empty the drip pan on the grill. Only drawback is both bathrooms are accessible only from each bedroom which made grandma, who slept in upstairs loft reluctant to disturb families in bedrooms but they didn't care at all so neither did I. And when you gotta go, you gotta go :) Would definitely rent this beautiful cabin again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Barbara. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our cabin. Thank you so much for letting me know about the black bear getting into the grill drip pan. Because of you letting me know, I have included a note in our welcome email to our guest about cleaning it out to avoid unwanted visitors. Hehe. I do hope that you stay with us again. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Mini Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Our stay at Cabin Joy was very relaxing. We were only there for three days but made the most of our stay. My husband and children loved games up in the loft although there were some minor issues with the air hockey table. Loved being able to grill on the back deck and relax in the hot tub. We did leave a corkscrew for the next guests because there wasn't one in the cabin. ENJOY!! We could not locate any new garbage bags for the kitchen garbage but we had some with us. There were some minor repair issues that the owner said would be taken care of after our stay. The description given and information needed for the stay were very accurate. The grounds are beautiful and we did see a black bear. Definitely a great place to stay for families with children of all ages. It is close enough to Pigeon Forge for day excursion but just far enough away to enjoy nature.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Trisha. Thanks for staying at our cabin. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I wish you would have called me to drop off garbage bags. I was just up the street and could have brought them by. I hope that you do stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
summer
1 Jun 2016 - 15 Aug 2016
2 night minimum stay
£553
for 2 nights
From
£190
From
£198
Fri,Sat
 
 
Labor Day
1 Sep 2016 - 5 Sep 2016
3 night minimum stay
£1,014
for 3 nights
From
£280
 
 
Fall
1 Oct 2016 - 30 Oct 2016
2 night minimum stay
£553
for 2 nights
From
£190
From
£198
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
23 Nov 2016 - 27 Nov 2016
4 night minimum stay
£1,725
for 4 nights
From
£388
 
 
Christmas
15 Dec 2016 - 25 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£885
for 3 nights
From
£237
 
 
New Year
26 Dec 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£1,639
for 4 nights
From
£366
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£450
for 2 nights
From
£138
From
£172
Fri,Sat
£1,079
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £115 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £45
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Tennessee, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Decorated in a black bear theme
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Double Bed , Full and twin log bunk beds
  • Both are King suites with new log furniture. One suite has a jetted tub. There is a children's loft bedroom with a full/twin log bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

Travellers who viewed this property also viewed...