HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Julie Shaffery

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks English

Luxury Log Home 3 miles off Prkwy! Mntn View! Pool, Putt Putt Golf

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cabin in Tennessee - Cabin Joy

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom (Sleeps 1-8)

Located in Bear Creek Crossing! Escape every day life and come stay at Cabin Joy. Located just five minutes off of the fun filled Parkway, you will enjoy all that this luxury log home has to offer. You will love the wrap around porch with country rockers and top of the line 6 person hot tub with water fall and fiber optic lighted tub and jets. You will be in awe walking into the great room with vaulted ceiling, brand new stainless appliances, all brand new dishes as well as bakeware, pots, small appliances etc. You will have all of the comforts of home. You will enjoy eating at the beautiful custom log dining table with cushioned log seats. You will feel at home in the living area with floor to ceiling fireplace, bear themed furniture and flat screen TV for watching Direct TV with all of the premium channels. There is a sofa bed. There are 2 king suites with all new furnishings and each have their own black bear theme. The children will love the open loft with a new log bunk bed featuring a full and twin bed. The loft is also complete with a new pool table, new air hockey, new stand up video arcade, new futon, and new card table.

Cabin Joy has everything that you would need to enjoy a relaxing luxury log home vacation in the Smokys. Make it your family vacation today. This cabin will sleep 8 people comfortably and 10 if need be.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Julie Shaffery (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Julie Shaffery

My name is Julie Shaffery and I am from New Jersey. I am a real estate broker. My husband Michael and I have three children. We all enjoy riding our horses and vacationing in the Smokys. We are so happy that we can make our dream part of yours by sharing our vacation home with you. This picture was taken in August 2011 in Cades Cove when my husband and I renewed our wedding vows. I brought 18 family members with us from NJ.

Julie Shaffery purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Julie Shaffery chose Tennessee

This property was a stones throw away from our other cabin and we thought it would be nice to keep our family close by during gatherings.

What makes this cabin unique

We take extra special care of our property. We expect the cabin to be clean and pest free exactly the way we want to stay in a vacation home. We are so happy that we can share this with other families.

Reviews

4.7
based on 27 holidaymaker reviews

Luxury Log Home 3 miles off Prkwy! Mntn View! Pool, Putt Putt Golf
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 27 reviews
Townley, Alabama
5

Fabulous getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Arriving after sunset was not wise! Finding the cabin was a bit challenging; however, the description and pictures are true to reality. Opening the door after a long journey to a beautiful home complete with decorated Christmas tree was a treat!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Robin. Thanks for staying at Cabin Joy. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you come visit again soon Thanks Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cabin Joy

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our stay, would select this cabin again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Nathan. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you stay again in the future. Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Super clean cabin in a great location

  • 5 of 5

Great home base for a busy trip! The location was great because it was far enough away from all the comotion of the Parkway, but close enough to get where you want to be for excursions/dining/etc. Nice view out back, and the cabin was super clean. Loved the game loft and the kitchen has pretty much everything you need. It is in a gated community, so there is a nice feeling of safety in that respect especially if traveling with children but it is not as private/isolated as other cabin rentals may be just as a reference to other renters who may be looking for that. Enjoyed your place and will make it a home base again on a future trip!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Teresa! I am so glad that you all enjoyed you stay. I really do hope you stay again. Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was very clean and comfortable. Rented this cabin for 4 nights. There were 5 adults (ages 31-63) and 4 children (ages 2-5). The parents loved it because children were within eye view basically with the open loft game/sleep area. Deck wraps around most of house and wooden rails and posts are sturdy and safe for small children. Nice view of mountain off back deck. Kitchen adequately supplied. Outdoor pool was still open and nice size. Children enjoyed it. Location was very convenient to grocery and Parkway. Also could avoid Parkway on way out of town with back route out. Owner provided great customer service, very accommodating. Had a late night visit from a bear on back deck as we forgot to empty the drip pan on the grill. Only drawback is both bathrooms are accessible only from each bedroom which made grandma, who slept in upstairs loft reluctant to disturb families in bedrooms but they didn't care at all so neither did I. And when you gotta go, you gotta go :) Would definitely rent this beautiful cabin again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Barbara. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our cabin. Thank you so much for letting me know about the black bear getting into the grill drip pan. Because of you letting me know, I have included a note in our welcome email to our guest about cleaning it out to avoid unwanted visitors. Hehe. I do hope that you stay with us again. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Mini Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Our stay at Cabin Joy was very relaxing. We were only there for three days but made the most of our stay. My husband and children loved games up in the loft although there were some minor issues with the air hockey table. Loved being able to grill on the back deck and relax in the hot tub. We did leave a corkscrew for the next guests because there wasn't one in the cabin. ENJOY!! We could not locate any new garbage bags for the kitchen garbage but we had some with us. There were some minor repair issues that the owner said would be taken care of after our stay. The description given and information needed for the stay were very accurate. The grounds are beautiful and we did see a black bear. Definitely a great place to stay for families with children of all ages. It is close enough to Pigeon Forge for day excursion but just far enough away to enjoy nature.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Trisha. Thanks for staying at our cabin. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I wish you would have called me to drop off garbage bags. I was just up the street and could have brought them by. I hope that you do stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wilmette, IL
3

Nice, but some issues

  • 3 of 5

We have used VRBO a dozen times and this property was probably our least favorite. Be aware that the cabin is part of a huge community of cabins, stacked on top of each other. But the area is very pretty, woodsy, hilly and close to restaurants. The cabin itself, like the majority of the units, have tiny bathrooms and an open layout. After speaking with many visitors, the cabins are not insulated well, so you can hear everything in other rooms w/i the cabin and outside of your cabin. There are many guests and some partying going on, so you will hear it at night. Our particular cabin wasn't clean. The cleaning crew failed to clean out drawers and cupboards so there were crumbs every where. The hot tub smelled of mold and we had problems with it. We contacted the owner a few times and she was very responsive, but I'm not sure the couple that she hired to take care of the property are prompt or detailed enough. The community pool was filthy when we got there so we called the owner and within 2 days someone cleaned it. But the issue is, there's no office so you're relying on the homeowners association to be on top of things. For such a massive community, there should be some sort of on-sight office. The indoor pool is pretty yucky as well as the bathrooms in the pool area. There's a bee problem down by the pool that drove people away and could be cured with bee traps. The waterfalls down by the pool were broken and the water was brown and moldy. Bringing the garbage cans into the cabin every night is not an answer to the "bear" problem (actually raccoons). All of the other cabins had animal proof containers outside each unit. Hopefully the owner will invest in these. Also, be aware that the town of Pigeon Forge is a carnival type atmosphere (Vegas for kids). It's a long strip that takes up to 40 minutes to get through if you're tying to cross town. It may be really great for some, but not what were were looking for (our bad for not researching PF). All in all, the cabin works, but needs some tlc with cleaning and updating (rugs, bedspreads, pots and pans, additional floor lamps as all the overhead lights are extremely bright with no dimmer switches). We had a great time in the mountains and all of the restaurants are super good. Hillbilly golf is great and white water rafting is a must.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tracy, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our cabin or resort. Let me begin by saying that if you called me with complaints I would've sent someone right out to address them. If there were crumbs somewhere, I would've sent our cleaning company right out. Same goes with the hot tub. The hot tub is drained and cleaned after every guest departs. There is a new cover on it and it does have a little odor so I think that may be what you're talking about. The resort Bear Creek Crossing is one of the nicest resorts in the area not to mention one of the closest to the Parkway (3 miles). It is far enough for piece and quiet and close enough to everything. Before we purchased out vacation homes here, we researched and visited every resort in the area. This was our top choice. I understand that you are not happy with "insulation" of the cabin. There is NO insulation whatsoever because these are REAL logs. This is a real log home with 12 inch logs. You will be able to hear through them especially if you are close to where the logs meet. Purchasing a fake, log sided home was not an option. We, along with our friends and family love Pigeon Forge. It is our favorite place to go on vacation and has something for everyone. I understand that it might not be for everyone. I do believe you called me for a jump start when your car battery died at which time I sent someone right out. I came in just after you left and the cabin was not filthy. We just had our carpets cleaned and had a deep clean. There were 2 frying pans that needed to be replaced but we are very hands on and keep the maintenance up on it. The furnishing for this cabin were purchased 2 years ago so I don't understand your comment about it not being updated. We are here to help make everyone enjoy their vacations as much as we do. We enjoy sharing our vacation home with our guests. I just read our guest book and all of the notes are very heartwarming. We will continue to share it with our guests. Again, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy it as much. Perhaps it just wasn't for you. God bless.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Memorial Day
26 May 2016 - 30 May 2016
3 night minimum stay
£964
for 3 nights
From
£269
 
 
summer
1 Jun 2016 - 15 Aug 2016
2 night minimum stay
£495
for 2 nights
From
£169
From
£177
Fri,Sat
 
 
Labor Day
1 Sep 2016 - 5 Sep 2016
3 night minimum stay
£906
for 3 nights
From
£250
 
 
Fall
1 Oct 2016 - 30 Oct 2016
2 night minimum stay
£495
for 2 nights
From
£169
From
£177
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
23 Nov 2016 - 27 Nov 2016
4 night minimum stay
£1,542
for 4 nights
From
£346
 
 
Christmas
15 Dec 2016 - 25 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£791
for 3 nights
From
£212
 
 
New Year
26 Dec 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£1,465
for 4 nights
From
£327
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£402
for 2 nights
From
£123
From
£154
Fri,Sat
£964
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £102 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £40
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Tennessee, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Decorated in a black bear theme
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Double Bed , Full and twin log bunk beds
  • Both are King suites with new log furniture. One suite has a jetted tub. There is a children's loft bedroom with a full/twin log bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote