Beautiful Home, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, 3 Fireplaces (Comfortably Sleeps 13)
About Ken Lightcap
I love coming and literally smelling the roses of our bending waters estate. I live very busy and demanding live that I truly love. For me, there is nothing like coming here because this is a beautiful serene place where the stresses of life just seem to float away down the river. The majestic views from our beautiful home inspire my creativity and romance while rejuvenating my souls. Living on the land and enjoying the scenic clear waters is refreshing and exhilarating, while providing lots of fun and adventure for me and my entire family. As I leave this safe harbor, I am always strengthened and rejuvenated to face the stormy sea of life once again!
Ken Lightcap purchased this Estate in 2002
Why Ken Lightcap chose Park Hill
I discovered this sublime secluded piece of property that inspired me to personally design, build and furnish my dream home to complement the beauty of God's majestic handiwork in this place of serenity. This elegant home I call, Bending Waters, is nestled in the foothills of the Ozark Mountains, surrounded with dogwood forests, hilly terrain and beautiful foliage from spring through fall with the scenic crystal clear waters of the Illinois River boarding the back of the wooded acreage.
What makes this Estate unique
Bending Waters is a private retreat of vegetation and wildlife where you can enjoy the beauty and sounds of nature. This is a place of refreshing tranquility and peace! We like taking our kayaks to the water's edge of our back acreage for a brisk ride down the river to Lake Tenkiller, just 1/4 mile away. The lake provides lots of fun, adventure and excitement for the whole family! I know you will enjoy your stay as you soak in as much of the relaxation and fun that you have time for while remembering there is more to offer that can be experienced in your next trip to our amazing home, Bending Waters!
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Check in time is 4:00 PM on the date of your arrival Check out time is 11:00 AM on the date of your departure No Smoking allowed in the House The non refundable Cleaning Rental rates apply to parties of 6 or less A additional cleaning fee of $10 per person for parties of more than 6 will be added to the $140.00 base cleaning fee An additional charge of $30 per guest over the 13 guest maximum will be charged An additional pet fee of ($150.00) is required with ($75) withheld from the refundable deposit for each additional pet Any items left can be returned to you by mail with a $50.00 return fee
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Peace and Quiet overlooking the river
Very nice house with everything we needed (except Wi-Fi). It has a nice large kitchen area where most of the family congregated during our stay. However, the is a nice lower level family room where the teenagers enjoyed hanging out. It has a nice deck with gas grill overlooking the river with wildlife everywhere (hummingbirds, deer, etc.) Nice fire pit out front where we enjoyed an evening around the fire. We rented the kayaks with the trailer and everyone enjoyed getting on the water. Because the river was high due to a lot of recent rain, the favorite kayaking area was @ Cherokee Landing, about 15 miles away. We had 10 adults and two children and everyone enjoyed their stay.
A vacation heaven.
This is such a lovely place. We had all the kids and grandkids and had plenty of room. It's so peaceful and serene, watching all the birds and hummingbirds through those big picture windows! Everybody just loved it.
Great getaway house
We had an awesome time! House was perfect. Great views of the river, secluded location. Perfect for our family and friends! We had 9 people and 2 dogs and had plenty of space to roam the property and mingle in the house. Very comfortable and the master shower ways amazing!!! We would love to go back!
Beautiful house but not water accessible
This is a beautiful house and property. We saw wildlife and had plenty of room.
However, I rented it to enjoy the water. I knew Oklahoma had received a lot of rain but I was led to believe it didn’t hamper access. The trail to the water is dangerous and not just anyone would be able to make it. So even if the water was okay, I’m not sure we could’ve made it to enjoy it.
I sent multiple emails to Mr. Lightcap expressing how excited we were to enjoy the water. I even spoke with him on the phone asking if we could hang by the water a few minutes until the house was ready. He never told us that the water would not be accessible. We were not even able to fish because of the trail and things floating in the water.
I know he can’t control rain but he should of told us. The house is 20 minutes from the main road. It took us 30 plus minutes to get to a marina.
We rented this house to be by the water. I was extremely disappointed and felt misled and misinformed. I also expressed this in a text to Mr. Lightcap and didn’t get a response.
I would not recommend this house if you are looking for water access. We spent most of our time away to enjoy the river and lake.
Andrea I am really glad your enjoyed the house but sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay at Bending Waters however it is hard for me to believe what a difficult time you had enjoying the water as the group before and after you had a great time. They rented the Kayaks and jet ski, floated the river and although the lake is very full (which is something that is quite
out of my control) enjoyed the lake as well. The house is 4.7 miles down a blacktop road (Horseshoe Bend Road)so if it took you 20 minutes to get to highway 82 you may want to buy a faster car. You asked me to recommend you the best Marina on Lake Tenkiller, not the closest which I believe is Burnt Cabin Marina it does happen to be on the other side of the lake but it is Just 11 miles from the house. The path to the water behind the house is very close but it is down a steep embankment which is pictured in the many phots of the home but hundreds and hundreds of people have been back and forth to the water for the last 6 years and no one has ever been hurt. And as far as me not responding to you I even personally met you at the house to give you a tour of the property and you never mentioned any problems you had with the home or the property. Andrea, I have had hundreds of very satisfied guests over the last 6 years, many who come back year after year. As i said to begin with so sorry you are not one of them.
I would (will) rent this home again.
The home is very spacious and comfy. Ken (the owner) met us there and made sure all was in order. The river was flooded due to heavy recent rains but we had fun in town and hiking around the area anyways. We will come back and use the kayaks sometime soon I hope. Rent this home with confidence.
It was wonderful!!
It was a great weekend! The house was beautiful and very comfortable, the weather, the river and the lake were perfect!
We kayaked the river on Saturday and rented a pontoon boat from Burnt Cabin for Sunday afternoon.
The show the eagles, with a young one, put on for us beat anything on Broadway! Birds, deer and squirrels were abundant.
I asked each of us to describe the weekend in one word. The answers were; magnificent, rejuvenating, tranquil, relaxing, wonderful, enjoyable, and comforting.
We will be back.
Take a step back in time to the orginal location used in the Classic Movie 'Where the Red Fern Grows' at Jincy's Kitchen & General Store For Yummy Home Cooking.
We are 10 miles South East of Tahlequah on the North end of Lake Tenkiller.