HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992


Bedrooms 2
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights


About the property

House,2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5-8

The intersection of land and water is usually a very magical place. Our shore thing is just such a place. Our home is a Peaceful, Private, Scenic Lakefront Home on Augur Lake in upstate New York.

The house is a few miles from the Northway (Interstate 87) in Keeseville, NY.

Our lakeside cottage sits on approximately 3 acres of forested land that winds its way to over 490 feet of Augur Lake shoreline. The lake itself is approximately 400 acres in size and Our shore thing is a new home built in 2007 that offers tranquility, beauty and a chance to get away from it all. Our quaint cottage is perfect for couples or small families looking to combine lakeside living with the conveniences of a new house.

Whether you choose to sip your coffee on the wrap around porch, read a book in the screened in lakefront gazebo, or just breathe in the fresh air while wandering the property, guests here at Our shore thing will not see another home in sight, except for those homes located on the other side of the lake. Beautiful Augur lake contains no public access and no public boat ramps. In short, this body of water is used by only a handful of lucky Augur Lake property owners. The lake’s water quality is good and is stocked with smallmouth bass, yellow perch, walleye, northern pike, pumpkin seed and black crappie. Our lake shore also is habitat to a family of beavers, we enjoy watching them swim back and forth nearly every evening! The swimming directly on our shoreline is not ideal, there is milfoil we have tried unsuccessfully to groom our lake front the best we could. It is not swampy though And is certainly a nice spot to dip your feet from the dock or hop into one of many of our watercrafts and go out for an adventure, you can find plenty of places to further enjoy the water on this quiet adirondack lake.

If you are looking for rowdy parties, the bar scene and tee shirt shops, this is not the lake for you.

Our shore thing offers new appliances such as a full size oven and microwave oven as well as a washer and dryer. The kitchen is equipped with newer refrigerator, a coffee maker, toaster and all the utensils that you have in your own home. A queen size bed and walk in closet awaits guests in the master bedroom. Upstairs in the loft area, the kids will sleep soundly in two twin beds. A new queen size pull out couch in the Main living room as well as a new full size pull out sofa with inflateable air over spring mattress in the lower living space offers the opportunity for additional guests to enjoy the comforts of this house.

The (2) bathrooms offer a shower, toilet and sink. The cottage is equipped with a charcoal barbecue grill for those summer time cookouts. Guests are invited to use our dock that extends into Augur Lake and to make use of our kayak, canoe, row boat and paddle boat to explore the lake and catch some of the many types of fish that populate this body of water.

One of our favorite amenities Our shore thing has to offer is a 6 person Hot tub just out the back door of the home, a great way to unwind after a fun filled day of adirondack living!

Our shore thing is situated on a county maintained paved road and is less than ten minutes away from both a grocery store, hardware store and convenience stores.

Speaking of short distances, a fifteen minute drive from Our shore thing will bring guests to the either the Harmony Golf Club or the Adirondack Golf and Country Club. Fifteen minutes will also take you to the Ausable Chasm where guests can ride horses or tube down the Ausable River. In that same time frame, guests can drive to Lake Champlain and board the Port Kent Ferry which will transport guests and their vehicles to Burlington, Vermont, home of the University of Vermont and Burlington International Airport (BTV). From Burlington, numerous highways connect to the rest of historic New England.

A twenty minute drive from Our shore thing will take guests to Plattsburgh, NY, home to a regional mall, a large campus of Plattsburgh State University of New York and the Plattsburgh International Airport (PLB).

A thirty mile drive from the cottage will take guests to the majestic alpine village of Lake Placid, New York, home of the 1932 and 1980 Winter Olympics. Whiteface Mountain provides winter sports enthusiasts with world class skiing and snowboarding.

A mere 80 miles to the North of Our shore thing lies the captivating European inspired city of Montreal, Quebec (bring your passports). Eighty miles to the South lies the summer tourist Mecca of Lake George, NY.

We invite you to enjoy Our shore thing for some well deserved relaxation. Use the cottage to recharge your batteries in a truly peaceful setting or use it as a centrally located base for exciting day-trips to New England, Canada or the Adirondack State Park. Either way, we think you will love this house, this lake and this region as much as we do. We could think of any number of great reasons for people to come and enjoy the Adirondacks at any time of the year we have four full beautiful seasons in upstate New York to explore and enjoy.

More Details

Janette Meppen
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2018

About Janette Meppen

When we first saw this home we had to have it! Now we would love to share the beauty and peacefulness of the adirondacks with others.

Janette Meppen purchased this house in 2013

What makes this house unique

with 490 feet of lakefront a canoe, kayak, row boat and paddle boat


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Keeseville in Town of Chesterfield

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • This home has two full bathrooms one on the main living floor and one in the Walk Out finished basement living area.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Open Loft - 2 Single Bed
    Living Area - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Fold Out Futon in Living Area
    Walk Out Basement - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Fold out sleeper in walk out basement.
  • Our home has one bedroom with a queen sized bed on the main living floor. There is a nice futon couch in the main living room that can be folded out for sleeping. There is a Open loft bedroom with two twin sized beds. In the Walk Out basement living area there is a fold out Sleeper/Sofa with inflateable air over spring mattress for maximum comfort (the walk out also leads to the Hot Tub!).
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(47 traveller reviews)

76% Complete
14% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
average rating of 4.617021 based on 47 reviews

Winter retreat

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time as always House has several amenities very private

  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well maintained property with excellent access to the lake!

  • 5 of 5

Excellent location with easy access to the lake. The kitchen is well well equipped and we stacked up on groceries for the weekend from the Hannaford Superstore in Plattsburg. Close to Lake Placid and Ausable canyon. The sofa beds are very comfortable and the hot tub was perfect!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Not worth the money

  • 2 of 5

Let's just start with the peace and quiet. A giant construction site, right across from the house was there alllll week. From morning and way past sun down. When you want to get away from a busy city, let's just say it wasn't the place to go.Although the ad says you can dip your feet on the dock, well, let's just say, your feet won't touch the water if you sit on the dock. It is true that you can't swim by the shore on the property.The kitchen does NOT offer "all the utensils you have in your home". The ad makes you want to go fish, but bring your gear, because you won't be able to clean and cut your fish if you're planning on eating it. The pans were mostly broken, loose handle on one, missing handle on other. We also had to clean the dishes before using them

About the beds. Don't get excited about the words "new", because all of the beds were pretty uncomfortable. We were two couples,and the 4 of us had back pain. So bad sleep at night, construction at day.Charcoal BBQ: tiny little thing, on the side of the road, lovely, not.

Fire pit: located by the shore, so you can't combine a nice fire view from the spa (which is unfortunate). Bring your wood.

Linens: so, when they say they can sleep 8 people, they definitely don't "clean" 8. We only had 2 face clothes for 4 people, 5days. Only 5 bath towels (if you consider spa, swimming, and showers,it makes no sense, maybe it would've if we didn't have to pay $ to wash them:pay machines). + in the kitchen only one cleaning rag and 2 thin drying rags. Oh and you can't expect to be more then 4 people and eat together. Not enough chairs, not big enough of a kitchen table.

We got plastic wine glasses that were so ** we went to buy glass ones, which we left there, so you might be able to use them. The comments from previous reviews were saying how far the lake actually was from the house,yeah it's far(and down pretty decent hill)Think about it this way: going to the lake is like a trip to the beach. Pack-up, don't forget snacks, water, change of clothes, towels... oh and use the bathroom before you go, because you won't want to go back up just because you forgot something. If you're not in shape, just don't go.

+ a lot of things are broken in the house, from toilet paper holders to door knobs missing to screen doors fixed with duck tape, all together pretty cheap.

but we did caught plenty of fish + Ausable Chasm is a kick! Go for the region, not the place.

Basically, not worth the money.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay, but am confused about a "construction site" as we were just there last week and there's no construction? Unfortunately it must have been coincidentally on the weekend you were there, which we can't control and had no knowledge of. We sleep there all the time and have no issues with the beds we have return guests which means they are fine with the beds as well. As far as the dock being too far above water that is true at this moment the lake level is way lower than we have ever seen it and the dock which was set at water level is now well above it, we don't get up to the house all that often and had no way to know that. The walk to the lake is also something we can't control but are honest about sorry it seems to have been to much of a walk for you. Finally it is fall which means the busy summer and fall rental seasons are behind us which also means we run " damage control" on all of the things guests have broken, mistakenly taken home with them and so on so many of the issues you had will be taken care of once we can get in to take a look at what's needed. This is also why there are plastic wine glasses at the house we were constantly replacing them so we purchased the plastic type. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the house like the rest of our reviewers and guests. You can't please everyone.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Camillus, NY

The perfect get away!

  • 5 of 5

This home is a perfect get away and escape from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. The home and patio are beautiful. The lake access wonderful as well. We did so much fishing using the canoe and enjoyed several days on the calm, private lake. The hot to be was AMAZING as well. Such a peaceful spot. My only advice is to bring bottled water, toilet paper, and something to chop firewood. We unfortunately only enjoyed one fire because we didn't have anything to cut up the downed trees by the fire pit area (next to the lake) and the hill you have to go down to get to the lake would be difficult to go down and carry firewood if you happened to buy some in town. Overall though this was a great spot, and we would love to visit again!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We provide a starter supply only of toilet paper, which is in the rental agreement, so bringing along some of your own is to be expected. We allow our guests to use any wood they find on our large private property we used to have a large pile of split wood our busy summer rental season must have depleated that this year. We do not advertise that we provide wood for the fire pit but welcome people To use what they can find and there is a lot, enough to let us years ;) Thank you and come again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Grat place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Nice suclued spot. Fishing is good. Lots to do around the area. Hot tube is clean and works good.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Property

  • 5 of 5

Perfect vacation spot. Clean, new home on a beautiful lake. Kayaking, fishing, hiking - we had a wonderful week. Property is well kept and had everything we needed.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
plattsburgh international
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
port kent/burlington
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Harmony golf club or adirondack golf &country club
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
interstate 87
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
whiteface moutain
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Port douglas
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Keeseville, Adirondacks

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
7 Apr 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
2 Jun 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
8 Sep 2018 - 1 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Linen Fee £53.65
Pet Fee £21.46
Refundable Damage Deposit £143.06
Cleaning Fee £67.95

Weekly Rentals run from Saturday to Saturday
Pet fee is per pet with 2 pets maximum. No Dog breeds that have ability o reach over 40lbs are permitted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question